2010 AFL Grand Final St Kilda vs Collingwood 25/9/2010

For three and a half quarters I was relaxed and composed on my couch, every now and then yelling at the umpires and cheering great Saints play. The last 15 minutes were spent wandering around the loungeroom. Hell, I got so nervous that I went and got some dirty clothes and started doing laundry. I just could not sit there and watch that.

Hopefully next week is easier on the heart muscle.

For three and a half quarters I was relaxed and composed on my couch, every now and then yelling at the umpires and cheering great Saints play. The last 15 minutes were spent wandering around the loungeroom. Hell, I got so nervous that I went and got some dirty clothes and started doing laundry. I just could not sit there and watch that.

Hopefully next week is easier on the heart muscle.

Completely the opposite. Used to be a mega wus and leave when things got tight, even in H&A games. The last 15 minutes was the period where i was most relaxed, have NFI why. I think maybe watching at the live site with a shitload of other Saints supporters who were experiencing the same emotions helped that.

At the time of the siren i was somewhat happy about the result, but now im not sure what to make of it all.
Im not sure weather i should be relieved and proud that we were able to peg back a 4 goal defecit, and get another shot at it. Cloke really should've had us buried at half time.
Or be dissapointed we weren't able to seal it when the Pies were just about buried.
(Am a little dissapointed that BJ's mark and goal didn't deliver the cup St Kilda has been waiting 44 years for. Could not have scripted it any better.)

Are the Saints going to take more from the match, or are the Pies?
Are the Pies going to recover better, or will the Saints?
Am i going to die at some point during the replay?

Saints were abo****ely awesome today, just deserved the win...I think that you will glean more from today than them, I reckon you can win next week...

I think that hurts more than anything... they had chances, we had chances... but the general perception that we are the underdogs and showed up the way we did just pulls at me.

Am I more confident next week? I'm not quite sure about that. We played our Grand Final today for sure... it is a tough game to replicate, especially the way we went about it. Imagine it could be a lot more open next week.

Ive just watched the replay after being at the game today... Did anyone draw a large amount of faith from the way we reacted? Ross pulled them in, BJ's interview.. they just seemed focused and like this was just another hurdle for our bizzarre year... I also believe Collingwood will be feeling worse than us.. in a way even tho it was taken from us in the end.. we got out of jail... we looked gone but fought back remarckably and Collingwood will be wondering how the **** they even ended up in this position now.....

We have the steam now, do what you gotta do... COME ON!!!!

Ive just watched the replay after being at the game today... Did anyone draw a large amount of faith from the way we reacted? Ross pulled them in, BJ's interview.. they just seemed focused and like this was just another hurdle for our bizzarre year... I also believe Collingwood will be feeling worse than us.. in a way even tho it was taken from us in the end.. we got out of jail... we looked gone but fought back remarckably and Collingwood will be wondering how the **** they even ended up in this position now.....

I agree with this, post match your guys seemed more grounded, I reckon emotionally and mentally it will affect them, Saints experience will be a factor and would expect Nick to play better, just think the Saints will win (Saints were bloody awesome today..the intensity of that match was unbelievable)

this.
they shoulda been 8 goals up at half time. we were shot. we played like shizen up to half time. their inside 50 entries were terrible. they shouldve creamed us. they were very good. make no mistake about that. the game shouldve been over at half time. we should have been buried.
up to half time our best players were our backs like blake, gilbo and fish because the forwards hardly saw it!
we fought back. we didnt give up.
also post game, roo pulled the boys in. talked to them.
maxwell bitched about extra time.
there's your difference.

Still so drained. Just watched it again man anyone who didnt get to the ground really should channel 7 are terrible for atmosphere.
Hopefully after a rough nights sleep I will not feel so bad and drained. I am spent cant imagine the players terrible that they have to get up and do it again.

I dont feel any more confident in beating them next week, that being said I was more confident than most other people who follow footy but still extremely worried. Don't feel as frustrated as I did before watching the replay though. Both teams can be equally annoyed.

I queued for over 15 hours to get my seat, getting maybe two hours of sleep in the process. Whether or not it's worth it is hard to say yet.

Does this mean the premier DVD is going to be a two disc set?

:thumbsu:
[youtube]157QAvz9Pxs[/youtube]

That mark was f***ing unreal.

Goddard was enormous in that 2nd half, along with Fisher and Hayes. So disappointed we couldn't get across the line for them but also relieved as hell we didn't lose at the same time.

Hopefully we can recapture that magic for next week.:thumbsu:

Completely the opposite. Used to be a mega wus and leave when things got tight, even in H&A games. The last 15 minutes was the period where i was most relaxed, have NFI why. I think maybe watching at the live site with a shitload of other Saints supporters who were experiencing the same emotions helped that.
Well they do say girls mature faster than boys. I'm 35 and still get as nervous as a kitten when things are close.

Outstanding game by the Sainters today... really liked watching the over-rated Pies slowly crumble and crowd silenced! The ludicrous replay the ENTIRE game just stinks, you would have run all over them with just 5mins more.

Good luck next week - you deserve the win.

Besides say Eddy, Ray, Gram and Peake everyone was absolutely awesome. They all did some good things but need to lift a lot next week

Ray shut Swan out of the game after half time :thumbsu:

His reaction when RL told him..

Holy Shit

Kosi/Blake - Well done, great game by both
Gwilt - Gun. What a season he's had.
Fish/Lenny/BJ - Freaks
Seanie D - Best Finals Player '10

I could praise the boys for ever.. but Im physcially and mentally spent, I think rest is on the cards.

GO SAINTS!

Outstanding game by the Sainters today... really liked watching the over-rated Pies slowly crumble and crowd silenced! The ludicrous replay the ENTIRE game just stinks, you would have run all over them with just 5mins more.

Good luck next week - you deserve the win.

Not trolling but just curious to the views of todays major supporters and this comment from a Freo fan surprises.

On what grounds do they deserve to win. From an outsider looking in one could say the Saints were blessed (pardon the pun) as the Pies choked in front of goal at least 5 times which would have buried the game.

Lyon will be thanking his lucky stars for them to be given another opportunity like this as he would strongly believe his side wont play as poor a first half as they did.

Great for the nuetral...absolute hell if your a Saints or Pie fan.

Great second half effort by the saints. Goddard and Hayes efforts today were tremendous. I'm just as nervous about next week though.

The dumbass AFL should've given us extra time instead of making us start all over again next week. They've changed so many rules over the years, why not this?

:thumbsu:

That mark was f***ing unreal.

Goddard was enormous in that 2nd half, along with Fisher and Hayes. So disappointed we couldn't get across the line for them but also relieved as hell we didn't lose at the same time.

Ditto brah

Was at the game with an old mate who goes for the Sainters and he was more shattered than me.
****ed if i know why Goddard didn't get the Normie.

While Maxwell was lost for words at the end, and bless him for it since hearing him talk is tantamount to hearing fingernails on a chalkboard, I don't think he understood the flow of the game in his bitching for extra time considering we had the run of play from half time onwards and a fe wminutes more would have led to a more than likely St Kilda score (rushed or otherwise).

Would he then be thinking that extra time was a joke and it would take "that result" for the AFL to wake up and have a replay next week instead?

Should have stuck with his address to the boys in the rooms with "I dunno" as it might have made him look, dare I say, more intelligent.

Not trolling but just curious to the views of todays major supporters and this comment from a Freo fan surprises.

On what grounds do they deserve to win. From an outsider looking in one could say the Saints were blessed (pardon the pun) as the Pies choked in front of goal at least 5 times which would have buried the game.

Lyon will be thanking his lucky stars for them to be given another opportunity like this as he would strongly believe his side wont play as poor a first half as they did.

Great for the nuetral...absolute hell if your a Saints or Pie fan.

As they say poor kicking is bad footy, and for all the things Collingwood did right in the match their achilles heel as always is their forwards can have a day when they can kick 4.21 or 21.4 and you dimply dunno what one it's going to be.

I'm not going to say we deserved it, because we didn't as we didn't win it, however, they left the door open and we graciously walked in and tried to rob the place. Sure it wasn't a 1970's esque comeback, but generally speaking, Aussies love an underdog and hey love a comeback by an underdog which we were in this match and by half time.

I also wouldn't say it's absolute hell for a Saints fan, a fair chunk of us have sat through '97, '09 and now '10 part 1, a fair chunk of us have watched and own the '66 game as well as subsequent finals series. It's inherently a 44 year wait, why would we be bothered that we may have to wait 7 more days?

I might be in the minority here, but in seeing the stats with 62 I50's to 35 and seeing a draw as a result, I am very happy to be coming back next week, and I am very happy for it to be called a draw this week.

I'm like Lenny in regaining my voice, I pretty much had to visit the can during every interval as I was riding every bump and shitting myself when the Pies went forward, but hell, nothing we can do about it, I'm happy to wait 7 more days to get the premiership instead of whinging about unchangeable elements.

Enjoy the replay guys.

That game was amazing and the most amazing combination of emotions I've eve had in 5 minutes of my life.

I'm sadly on a field trip until next Sunday, which is specially planned so everyone can watch the GF...

Wow I hate my life.

So you kids wont be hearing from me for the next week, I'm gonna miss the build up agian, miss teams, and probably miss the whole ****ing game.

Good luck guys, Go Sainters! And I'll hopefullhy see you guys next Sunday when I'll be making up for not being there with many beers being devoured, hopefully happiliy!

I can't add much more to what has already been said. In fact I don't think I can actually describe the feeling and emotion that I felt when Goddard took the mark and kicked that goal.

I think it actually dawned on me in that particular moment that we were actually a chance to win the Grand Final. For a split second it was the greatest feeling I had ever experienced and then it was replaced by an even greater need to vomit. :)

I also have a confession. I didn't give us a hope in hell today. It was reassuring reading some of the positive comments from the rest of you though.

Anyway having been in bed all week with bronchitis and now sounding worse than Lenny accepting his richly deserved Norm Smith I'll be having a quiet week on the track.

See you all next week.

PS - Thanks rdhopkins. Kildonan and I were at the game and I'm not sure if Kildonan will be making the trip down from Queensland for next week but we do appreciate somebody keeping an eye on this board in our absence.

Enjoy the replay guys.

That game was amazing and the most amazing combination of emotions I've eve had in 5 minutes of my life.

I'm sadly on a field trip until next Sunday, which is specially planned so everyone can watch the GF...

Wow I hate my life.

So you kids wont be hearing from me for the next week, I'm gonna miss the build up agian, miss teams, and probably miss the whole ****ing game.

Good luck guys, Go Sainters! And I'll hopefullhy see you guys next Sunday when I'll be making up for not being there with many beers being devoured, hopefully happiliy!

Win and the party will be going for 6 months so plenty of time to catch up. ;)

What a game of footy. 120 minutes and you still can't split them, you should be mighty proud of your boys, they showed an amazing amount of heart today. Disappointed with the result of course, but strangely enough seeing the players out there giving it their all and having it end like that has calmed me down about how much it means. I still want to win next week, but maybe a Saints premiership wouldn't be that bad. All the best, lets hope the contest is as tight and tough next week, with an actual result of course. ;)

2010 AFL Grand Final St Kilda vs Collingwood 25/9/2010