Draft Review 2010 - Revisit the 2010 Draft

I agree that Heppel looks a better prospect and probably the best so far out of the class but it in no way reminds me of Tambling over Buddy.

This. Remember folks that in his first season, Tambling only reached 10+ touches in a game four times. Conca has already done it eight times. Now some might say that Conca is more of a natural midfielder than a HFF/wing type, but this is the point: Richmond have drafted a midfielder, not a flanker. Thank god too. I mean after only the first year the gap between Franklin and Tambling was already apparent. I don't see really much gap at all between Heppell and Conca. Two good young prospects.

I don't know if much has changed since draft day regarding this debate. Richmond had their reasons to avoid Heppel knowing full well he would probably come in and play some very good footy early on.

I don't think we avoided him, we just wanted different things. Heppell looks a gun. So does Conca. I don't want Heppell to be a dud to vindicate our selection, if Conca becomes a star and or plays 200 games for Richmond, that alone does.

Like Selwood to Geelong, Essendon could get a bargain. Or Richmond's recruiters could be spot on.

They already have. As for recruiters being spot on, Jackson doesn't need Heppell to not be that good to be spot on, what he needs is for Conca to be a star to be spot on. Again, for mine not picking Heppell is not a slight on Heppell, just a comment about how Jackson liked Conca. There's more than one player from each draft and more than one star. No one club can draft them all (unless the afl gives gws all the picks which very well might happen). All they can hope is their picks play well. So far so good.

The best performed players right now are:
1. Swallow
2. Heppell
3. Conca
4. Darling
With not much splitting them

But it is useless to compare them now it is far too early.

Also Conca has not been anywhere near Swallow's level in terms of inside work, or getting hard balls, although Conca has been better outside.

That was exactly Francis Jackson's criteria with using our first round draft pick, we needed a player with good outside pace with excellent skills, although in saying that Conca isn't exclusively an outside mid, he was rated as a very good Inside/Outside midfielder that doesn't excel in to many aspects but is very good in all, his kicking though would be considered Elite at this point in time.

Heppell 2011

Ranked number 1 for kicks
Ranked number 1 for marks
Ranked number 1 for handballs
Ranked number 1 for Disposals
Ranked number 5 for inside 50's
Ranked number 7 for tackles

On performence everybody should have Heppell at number 1.

Swallow and Darling the next best.

Heppell 2011

Ranked number 1 for kicks
Ranked number 1 for marks
Ranked number 1 for handballs
Ranked number 1 for Disposals
Ranked number 5 for inside 50's
Ranked number 7 for tackles

On performence everybody should have Heppell at number 1.

Swallow and Darling the next best.

Ranked 50th for goals contributed

Name me an 18 year old KP forward who has done as well as Darling in his first year in say the last 15 years

Darling's performance has been the equal of heppell in a position that is considerably harder

Ranked 50th for goals contributed

Name me an 18 year old KP forward who has done as well as Darling in his first year in say the last 15 years

Darling's performance has been the equal of heppell in a position that is considerably harder

This.

I know people are going to pump up their own players, but I'm struggling to think of a 1st year KPP that has performed as well as Darling has to date to start his career over the last two decades.

Darling and Heppell clearly the standouts in regards to performance to date.

I know people are going to pump up their own players, but I'm struggling to think of a 1st year KPP that has performed as well as Darling has to date to start his career over the last two decades.

Hurley is at least his par (only played 9 games in his first year) has dropped off quite a bit through injury but his games in the first year were outstanding, people were talking him at as the next big thing and still are to a certain extent based mainly on his first season form. Maybe not as good up forward, but I have never seen a 1st year player so trusted as a genuine KP swingman where ever he was needed most.

This.

Scott Cummings started pretty strongly.

Kicked bags and bags of goals in the ressies (think he kicked 12 the week before getting picked) before forcing his way into the seniors then kicked 8 on debut and averaged 3 goals per game in his first season.

Scott Cummings started pretty strongly.

Kicked bags and bags of goals in the ressies (think he kicked 12 the week before getting picked) before forcing his way into the seniors then kicked 8 on debut and averaged 3 goals per game in his first season.

yup 7 possessions and 3 goals a game - and under a tackle a game

still - 3 goals is a fair effort

don't reckon it's as good as jack's all-round game - and you have to go back 17 years.

Hurley is at least his par (only played 9 games in his first year) has dropped off quite a bit through injury but his games in the first year were outstanding, people were talking him at as the next big thing and still are to a certain extent based mainly on his first season form. Maybe not as good up forward, but I have never seen a 1st year player so trusted as a genuine KP swingman where ever he was needed most.

I rate Hurley very high - and i even made comparisons to Glen Jakovich in his debut year - the guy is a star

however in his first year - he earned more plaudits (IMO) for some of his defensive work.

But again - it highlights the point - i'd rather Hurley to Heppell in my team.

This.

Agreed. It is hard to split them. Very good first year performances from both.

Id say Smith would be the leader atm, in the same way Darling is an amazing KPP Smith is a first year ruckman who is killing it atm.

How many other 21 year old ruckman are this good? This kid has all the talent to be the best ruckman in the game in a couple of years and i would say he is already in the best half dozen in his position in the game.

For me he will win the Rising star, ahead of Heppel and Darling.

Whether or not that translates into number 1 at the moment i dont know, i guess you need to compare the overall package for that, but based purley on performance so far he is my number 1

Id say Smith would be the leader atm, in the same way Darling is an amazing KPP Smith is a first year ruckman who is killing it atm.

How many other 21 year old ruckman are this good? This kid has all the talent to be the best ruckman in the game in a couple of years and i would say he is already in the best half dozen in his position in the game.

For me he will win the Rising star, ahead of Heppel and Darling.

Whether or not that translates into number 1 at the moment i dont know, i guess you need to compare the overall package for that, but based purley on performance so far he is my number 1

He is a great first year player but he wasn't in the draft mate.

1) Darling- Everyone was Crazy to over look the big fella.
2) Swollow- Still rate him very high, will be a star.
3) Heppell- Showing his class.
4) Matera- Class and really should be playing at WCE.
5) Conca- Again really showing his class and a very good selection by Richmond.

The rest have been rather ordinary TBH but I believe Polec will be good as well as Gaff and in 2 years the list may change a bit.

BUMP

Mature age recruits are really playing well this season and alot of clubs have overlooked these guys for a few years.

now season is over for majority of the teams will be interesting on peoples thoughts.

I know a bit early yet but thought it would be a good thread. I think the recruiters have got it mostly right so far. If I was to re do it, my top 20 would be:

1. Swallow (1)
2. Bennell (2)
3. Gaff (4)
4. Heppell (8)
5. Darling (26)
6. Day (3)
7. Lynch (11)
8. Fasolo (45)
9. Guthrie (23)
10. I.Smith (19)
11. Caddy (7)
12. Karnezis (25)
13. Prestia (9)
14. B.Smith (14)
15. Smedts (15)
16. Atley (17)
17. Harper (27)
18. Duigan (70)
19. Puopolo (66)
20. Conca (6)

Mine would be
1. Heppell
2. Bennell
3. Swallow
4. Darling
5. Gaff
6. Fasolo
7. Prestia
8. Day
9. Lynch
10. Puopolo
11. Duigan
12. Conca
13 Smedts
14 I. Smith
15. Caddy
16. Karnezis
17. Guthrie
18. B.Smith
19. Atley
20. Harper

Mine would be.

1. Swallow
2. Heppell
3. Gaff
4. Darling
5. Bennell
6. Parker
7. Prestia
8. Conca
9. Day
10. Lynch
11. Howe
12. Guthrie
13. I. Smith
14. Fasolo
15. Harper
16. Batchelor
17. A. Johnson
18. B. Smith
19. Puopolo
20. T. McDonald (will rocket up here; jobs done on Reiwoldt, Reid and Darling have all been good)

Plenty of slow starters in this draft.

Draft Review 2010 - Revisit the 2010 Draft