Mega Thread 2012 - your best 22's, your forward structures and team set-ups

Yet again another side picked without Murphy in it.

We all know he will be in the side round 1 if he is fit

I'm not so sure RR. I'd say it's very likely but not necessarily a lock.

I've been a huge advocate for Murph over the years and I can see him taking his game to another level again this year, but with the improvement shown of late by the likes of youngsters Litherland and Langford who play similar roles to Murphy, it'll only take a few impressive showings in the NAB Cup from these boys to get the coaches thinking twice come round 1.

By **** I would be, and I don't even know Clarko.

Haha

I couldn't see either playing Round 1 - pretty sure both will be given time to build fitness & form at BH before being thrown in the deep end again. Both need to be hitting some real form this year, for the sake of their own careers - giving them an extra 6 weeks in the 2's to get there won't be time wasted IMO.

Back to the OP - I have about 3 x "Best 22's" on my desktop now - 1 of which is how I think we will line up; the other 2 are slightly less conventional; however, no matter which way I do it, I am always trying to fit 24 guys into 22 spots...

I'm not so sure RR. I'd say it's very likely but not necessarily a lock.

I've been a huge advocate for Murph over the years and I can see him taking his game to another level again this year, but with the improvement shown of late by the likes of youngsters Litherland and Langford who play similar roles to Murphy, it'll only take a few impressive showings in the NAB Cup from these boys to get the coaches thinking twice come round 1.

My read of Clarko on Murphy is that provided Murphy is fit for round 1 having done most of the preseason he is an absolute lock. Especially against the Pies with the likes of Didak and co. Langers and Lithers have few runs on the board at VFL level - both can hardly stay on the park to date. They are definately promising and are showing signs of promise on the track but are waaay behind challenging an established senior player such as Murph who plays a niche role.

What are people thoughts on this forward setup

HF : Rioli, Roughead, Franklin
FF : Gunston, Hale, Bruest

Roughead could learn to play the CHF role obviously once his achillies is 100% there is no reason he cant play like Cloke. Also i think it would benefit him getting in the game more and having less set shots on goal as he is not that great at set shots.

Hale i think is our best stay at home option in the goal square and he is also generally a very accruate set shot, can also drop down the crumbs for Rioli and Bruest to pounce on.

Franklin on a HFF becasue he plays more like a HF anyway. This allows him to roam free.

Gunston as a lead up forward pocket similar to Mark Williams or even Tim Boyle from a few years back.

Rioli and Bruest crumbing at there feet. Depth in the crumbing department would come from Whitecross and Osbourne.

Overall may be a little tall but imagine the headaches it would give the opposition.

What are people thoughts on this forward setup

HF : Rioli, Roughead, Franklin
FF : Gunston, Hale, Bruest

Roughead could learn to play the CHF role obviously once his achillies is 100% there is no reason he cant play like Cloke. Also i think it would benefit him getting in the game more and having less set shots on goal as he is not that great at set shots.

Hale i think is our best stay at home option in the goal square and he is also generally a very accruate set shot, can also drop down the crumbs for Rioli and Bruest to pounce on.

Franklin on a HFF becasue he plays more like a HF anyway. This allows him to roam free.

Gunston as a lead up forward pocket similar to Mark Williams or even Tim Boyle from a few years back.

Rioli and Bruest crumbing at there feet. Depth in the crumbing department would come from Whitecross and Osbourne.

Overall may be a little tall but imagine the headaches it would give the opposition.

Too tall. Do you remember early last year, when we had a forward line with Buddy, Roughy and Hale in it? We were glacially slow, and teams were just running it out of our forward line freely. Add another tallish player in Gunston to that, and it spells disaster. More height will not cause problems for teams like Geelong and Collingwood. Both have enough talls down back, and Gunston could be taken by a medium sized defender. If more height was good, we would have 6 tall players down there.

It will give us more nightmares than our opponents. Buddy, Rough, Hale, Breust, and from what i have seen, Gunston, are all leading, marking forwards. There is only so much ball coming in that can be marked by players, meaning, Buddy would get his 9 or 10 shots on goal, and guys like Hale, and Gunston will barely see the ball. More smalls required, and specifically, better balance.

This should be our forward set up

Breust Franklin Osborne
Gunston Roughead Rioli

3 Talls 3 Smalls With Hale Floating there at times when Buddy or even Gunston push further up the ground.

I hope Breust, never ever ever wears that Green vest again! :thumbsu: Why waste a players talent for 3 quarters of a match on the bench? This guy could possibly kick 35-45 goals this year with more game time. :)

My read of Clarko on Murphy is that provided Murphy is fit for round 1 having done most of the preseason he is an absolute lock. Especially against the Pies with the likes of Didak and co. Langers and Lithers have few runs on the board at VFL level - both can hardly stay on the park to date. They are definately promising and are showing signs of promise on the track but are waaay behind challenging an established senior player such as Murph who plays a niche role.

Good thing Clarko has a few assistants to help him out then ;). No playing favourites this year please HFC (not suggesting Murph doesn't deserve his spot).

Valid point though mate, kind of forgot we had the Pies first up, and with Geelong and West Coast not long after that, your probably spot on about Murph. Too risky to throw in such inexperienced youth for those early games.

So many options this year!

B: Stratton Gilham Guerra

HB: Birchall Schoenmakers Gibson

C: Lewis Mitchell Smith

HF: Rioli Franklin Burgoyne

FF: Pouopolo, Roughead, Bruest

R: Bailey Hodge Sewell

I/C: Hale, Shiels, Murphy

Sub: WX

Hawthorn - Both heroes of the Hawks' 2008 premiership win, Xavier Ellis and Clinton Young have since stalled thanks largely to persistent injury problems, and now find themselves battling for a place in the club's best 22. Young played only 10 games in 2011 and spent the last part of the year battling an ankle problem. The 25-year-old's booming left foot can be a major asset, but his penchant for kicking long doesn't match coach Alastair Clarkson's precise, short-passing game plan. Ellis was on the park even less than Young, making only eight appearances. When the former No. 3 draft pick was fit, he played some good footy - particularly against the Brisbane Lions in round 16 when he collected 29 disposals. But, after playing in the Hawks' final round win over Gold Coast, Ellis was left off the team sheet for the first game of the finals and didn't return. Given a clean bill of health, the talented pair has plenty to offer. But with Hawthorn boasting a bagful of talented youngsters desperate to make their mark, time is running out.

Also feeling the heat: Considering the depth and quality of Hawthorn's list, Kyle Cheney's days as a Hawk could be numbered. The tough mid-sized defender made only eight appearances last year after crossing from Melbourne. Competes well, but might face extended stints in the VFL due to Hawthorn's enviable depth.

I find that to be well very surprising. Gilham is 27 turning 28 later this year, Gibson is 28 next month. I see Cheney as a long term player for us. Great on the small/medium forwards. He played 8 games, i reckon 7/8 last season were pretty good. He play's a similar game style to Murphy. Perhaps a little more attacking. Just another victim of our great depth! Yes he might struggle to force his way into our team this year, but i reckon we won't see his best football until he is 23-24 perhaps. I rated him highly when he was at Melbourne, when we traded for him i was happy. Another year or 2 and he will flourish! :thumbsu:

Source AFL.com

Hawthorn - Both heroes of the Hawks' 2008 premiership win, Xavier Ellis and Clinton Young have since stalled thanks largely to persistent injury problems, and now find themselves battling for a place in the club's best 22. Young played only 10 games in 2011 and spent the last part of the year battling an ankle problem. The 25-year-old's booming left foot can be a major asset, but his penchant for kicking long doesn't match coach Alastair Clarkson's precise, short-passing game plan. Ellis was on the park even less than Young, making only eight appearances. When the former No. 3 draft pick was fit, he played some good footy - particularly against the Brisbane Lions in round 16 when he collected 29 disposals. But, after playing in the Hawks' final round win over Gold Coast, Ellis was left off the team sheet for the first game of the finals and didn't return. Given a clean bill of health, the talented pair has plenty to offer. But with Hawthorn boasting a bagful of talented youngsters desperate to make their mark, time is running out.

Also feeling the heat: Considering the depth and quality of Hawthorn's list, Kyle Cheney's days as a Hawk could be numbered. The tough mid-sized defender made only eight appearances last year after crossing from Melbourne. Competes well, but might face extended stints in the VFL due to Hawthorn's enviable depth.

I find that to be well very surprising. Gilham is 27 turning 28 later this year, Gibson is 28 next month. I see Cheney as a long term player for us. Great on the small/medium forwards. He played 8 games, i reckon 7/8 last season were pretty good. He play's a similar game style to Murphy. Perhaps a little more attacking. Just another victim of our great depth! Yes he might struggle to force his way into our team this year, but i reckon we won't see his best football until he is 23-24 perhaps. I rated him highly when he was at Melbourne, when we traded for him i was happy. Another year or 2 and he will flourish! :thumbsu:

Source AFL.com

Cheney isn't in any danger. Was a really interesting pickup because we all knew he wasn't going to be an automatic best 22 selection, but the number of games he played shows he's on fringe. How much improvement does the guy have? I like him, but find him unremarkable, compared to a guy like Puopolo who's a similar age and also a small backman. But you can't have 22 superstars, and I like that we picked up Cheney and Gunston from other clubs after a few development years. He certainly contributes more than almost any 18 year would, it's just a matter of where the ceiling is. Plays taller than I realised and he takes the game on.

I find it ironic that the Puoplolo pick was bundled in with the Cheney deal when he is one of the people keeping Cheney out of the side. He certainly impressed me when he dd play. Was very solid but as you said, quite unremarkable at the same time. He certainly doesn't look out of place at AFL level, but is stuck in limbo, probably a level above AFL but not quite good enough to get an AFL gig.

Even if he fails completely I will love him for bringing pops to the side :)

Cheney is only 22. He seems much older. He is doing an old-style apprenticeship.

He improved last year but then dropped off. If given the opportunity to play a full season he will improve. He is already reliable at AFL level.

He is almost your Mick Malthouse prototype being a bloke who isnt particularly polished but has a strong build and doesnt take a backward step. Mick just kept playing these types and they always improved.

As others have pointed out, he might not get a chance this year but next year things should start to look more favourable for him. He isnt a list clogger for mine.

Interseting to read thru and notice that Murphy isn't in most peoples best 22.

A far cry from 2 years ago when you couldn't mention him in reality without been houndered.:cool:

I believe he isn't best 22,said as much over the course of the last couple of years...albeit he's improved alot since 09',I'll give him that.

I reckon he's position is crucial this year and if Suckling or Litherland take the next step they and others will offer more than Murph ever will.

In saying that he's obviously highly regarded within, so we'll have to see how things unfold this year.

Puopolo Gilham Gibson
Birchall Stratton Suckling
Smith Mitchell Lewis
Rioli Franklin Savage
Gunston Roughead Bruest
Bailey Hodge Shiels
Sewell Burgoyne Hale Ellis

Interseting to read thru and notice that Murphy isn't in most peoples best 22.

A far cry from 2 years ago when you couldn't mention him in reality without been houndered.:cool:

I believe he isn't best 22,said as much over the course of the last couple of years...albeit he's improved alot since 09',I'll give him that.

I reckon he's position is crucial this year and if Suckling or Litherland take the next step they and others will offer more than Murph ever will.

In saying that he's obviously highly regarded within, so we'll have to see how things unfold this year.

He's deserved his spot over the course of the last couple of years.

This year will be much harder for him with the progression of some of our youngsters and the genuine competition for spots we have now, though I have faith he'll play more than a handful of games.

No disrespect to Murphy, he has been a rock in defence for us in the last couple of years. Doesn't stand out but shuts down small/mid forwards and really limits their output. He will get games this year because he is very good at playing a shutdown role but he does face some strong competition of players fighting for a gig in defence.

My current best 22:

FB: Stratton Gilham Suckling
HB: Gibson Shoenmakers Birchall
C: Savage Sewell Smith
HF: Puopolo Franklin Rioli
FF: Breust Roughead Lewis
R: Bailey Mitchell Hodge

Int: Hale, Burgoyne, Shiels, Osborne (sub)

Emg: Murphy, Lowden, Gunston

No doubt missed someone

No disrespect to Murphy, he has been a rock in defence for us in the last couple of years. Doesn't stand out but shuts down small/mid forwards and really limits their output. He will get games this year because he is very good at playing a shutdown role but he does face some strong competition of players fighting for a gig in defence.

My current best 22:

FB: Stratton Gilham Suckling
HB: Gibson Shoenmakers Birchall
C: Savage Sewell Smith
HF: Puopolo Franklin Rioli
FF: Breust Roughead Lewis
R: Bailey Mitchell Hodge

Int: Hale, Burgoyne, Shiels, Osborne (sub)

Emg: Murphy, Lowden, Gunston

No doubt missed someone

Goo. Decent crack... i'd say Ossie may make way for him in that team.

RR - sorry for the delay in responding.

I like Murph and think he has deserved a spot in our side. I can also see him playing a lot over the course of the year. Although I agree he is likely to start first round, I do not see him as a lock-in for our finals side. He wasn't in 2008, and was very unlucky and I can see that again.

I am happy to see him in the team, as that means he is playing great footy to keep someone else out. I think the team I chose had balance and someone like Stratts or Gibbo offer more in rebound than Murph, but can also do a pretty good negating job. If anyone loses out, it is likely to be Suckers as he is probably the most suspect defensively and all the others can rebound. I want him in the team for his capacity to pull a zone apart:)

It will be interesting to see what happens:). I am getting very frustrated waiting:mad: God the silly season seems long:(

.... Was a really interesting pickup because we all knew he wasn't going to be an automatic best 22 selection, but the number of games he played shows he's on fringe. How much improvement does the guy have? I like him, but find him unremarkable, ......

Boccha is in the 25 to 30 range on our list. Cant see that improving. He is a genuinely valuable depth player. How long he stays on our list will probably end up being his decision and if he wants more game time.

Getting harder to pick a best 22...:thumbsu:

B: Guerra / Stratton / Suckling
HB: Gibson / Schoenmakers / Birchall
C: Smith / Mitchell / Lewis
HF: Burgoyne / Franklin / Shiels
FF: Rioli / Hale / Bruest
R: Bailey/ Hodge / Sewell

Int: Puopulo / Savage / Whitecross
Sub: Osborne

Emg: Ellis / Bateman / Murphy

Depth / Not 100% fit yet: Gilham / Roughhead / Gunston / Young / Bruce / Cheney / Boumann

Getting harder to pick a best 22...:thumbsu:

B: Guerra / Stratton / Suckling
HB: Gibson / Schoenmakers / Birchall
C: Smith / Mitchell / Lewis
HF: Burgoyne / Franklin / Shiels
FF: Rioli / Hale / Bruest
R: Bailey/ Hodge / Sewell

Int: Puopulo / Savage / Whitecross
Sub: Osborne

Emg: Ellis / Bateman / Murphy

Depth / Not 100% fit yet: Gilham / Roughhead / Gunston / Young / Bruce / Cheney / Boumann

There is really nothing wrong with this lineup other than perhaps one extra option in defence, except i don't know who would miss out for Murphy..

On the form he showed in the latter half of '11 Murphy should not be outside the best 22.

Despite that I second this team, and do not envy the selectors when we have a full list to choose from. There will be some very unlucky players. Maybe we use rotations to keep players fresh?

IMO the weakest links at the moment are Shoe and Bruest, its up to them to firmly establish themselves in the first 22, otherwise when Roughead and/or Gilham are fit and firing they may be struggling to retain there posi, let alone all the other potential talent.

This is going to be the season where players will have to demand a spot in the team, i cannot see any automatic inclusions with the depth we have.

On the back of reports coming out of the preseason and intr club match, I have to applaud the Clarko and the recruiting team - our list is primied for a tile at the flag.

FB Guerra Gibson Stratton
HB Suckling Shoey Birchall Burger
C Smith Mitch Lewis
HF Gunston Buddy Rioli
FF Poupolo Hale
R Bailey Hodge Sewell
Bench Sheils Savage Whitecross (Bruest)

Depth (Played AFL and Physically ready)
Osbourne*
Ellis*
Gilham (inj)*
Young*
Bateman*
Roughead (inj)*
Cheney
Bruce
Murphy
Patinson
McCauley
Boumann
* Denotes Premiership Player

Possible Debut (Good Preseason)
Litherland
Hill
Woodward
Grimley
Lowden

No idea what to do once roughy comes back . . . drop Hale? Compeitition for spots will be fierce!

Mega Thread 2012 - your best 22's, your forward structures and team set-ups