2013 crowds thread

They should do something for the last Giants home game.
I remember the Storm giving free tickets for the last game in 2010 to thank fans for supporting them even though they were disqualified and finished last.
I went - with my dad, kids, etc.
Almost a full house.
Rnd 22 v Richmond - Sheedy's farewell.
Great way yo get new people.

Lets be honest mate, you'll be lucky to crack 6,000 even after overstating it :thumbsu:
No way GWS and Gold Coast figures have been legit. last year I woud see 1/3 filled (generous estimate) and they were posting 10k-12k crowds ie half capacity. It almost looks like the AFL are buying the tickets that they then give away. Would explain GC's profit from the first year.

Technically 10k is only 2/5 (i.e 40%) full which usually looks about right.

And for the upteenth time, the GWS crowd figures are reported by the Royal Agricultural Society of NSW but I guess they have good reason to be fudging numbers :rolleyes:
Not sure who reports GC's crowds though

As someone who has been to the new Carrara (I'm not calling it Metricon) several times, I can assure you that the crowd will always look like less than the official figure on TV because of the standing areas.

Good to see Fremantle is getting a very good average at home and now not far behind WC.

Not sure it really means a whole lot, we've had mostly high-drawing teams so far (WC/Ess/Coll/Rich), will be interesting if we can maintain a decent average with games against Brisbane, North and Saints to come.

With our "blockbuster" run of home games early tbh it's a little disappointing we weren't able to crack 40k once.

Not sure it really means a whole lot, we've had mostly high-drawing teams so far (WC/Ess/Coll/Rich), will be interesting if we can maintain a decent average with games against Brisbane, North and Saints to come.

With our "blockbuster" run of home games early tbh it's a little disappointing we weren't able to crack 40k once.

Extremely tricky to crack 40k outside of finals at Subi because only finals clear the fugly member seating situation (something you note from the resale seats is that there are a surprising number of single seats being offered up because of how they've shoehorned people around). Fremantle is well into the percentage of capacity that make shifting members to more efficiently make use of space increasingly difficult. After all, I can't remember the last time I've looked at Subi by quarter time and seen noticeable blocks of empty seats.

Yeah it's always surprising when the crowd figure comes up as 36-37k and you just wonder where the hell 7,000 extra people could be crammed in.

Just a couple of charts that highlight the Darwin and Launceston (average) crowd trends. Make of it what you will :thumbsu:
2z9cwpi.png

ay0fat.png

With consistent scheduling of lower drawing teams over the years you would think there would be a more gradual decline at Aurora (like Darwin). But that's a dramatic drop off this year for Aurora crowds. Only reason I could think of would be the presence of a team like GWS.

I think we'll find out after their games against Brisbane and Western Bulldogs. The Fremantle crowd was only down a few hundred from last year but if the crowds are say sub 14k then it becomes a bit of an issue. I think we're just about guaranteed a significant drop off unless those two games to come draw an aggregate of 35k+

Or the Tassie people havent got the money to spend on going to the footy when they can watch it for free on TV.
The Hawks claim they have 8000 Tassie members so even if they all turned up (not likely to happen) plus maybe 1000 Hawks supporters fly in it still needs 7000 pre sold tickets or walkups to fill the ground

Looks like they have dropped about 20% this a season and thats a lot.

The Darwin situation is more of a slow decline.

The Tasmanian situation is overstated to an extent by the clubs we've played in Launceston. With games against the Brisbane Lions and W Bulldogs to follow, the Launceston average will more than likely jump to 13-14k

In the past our Tassie games have been:
2007 Geelong, West Coast, Kangaroos, Port Adelaide (all 2007 finalists as was Hawthorn)
2008 Adelaide, Port, Bulldogs (2 v 3 clash on ladder), Brisbane (Crawf 300th)
2009 West Coast (ANZAC Day), Brisbane, North, St Kilda
2010 North (ANZAC Day), Adelaide, Brisbane, Fremantle (Freo 2nds vs Hawthorn!)
2011 West Coast, Gold Coast, Brisbane, North
2012 Sydney, Fremantle, North, Port
2013 Fremantle, GWS, Brisbane, Bulldogs

I've bolded the best 10 of the 28 matches... anyone surprised the crowds have slipped?

The 4 matches in Tassie used to be 3 against Vic/Swans/Lions & 1 against Perth/Adelaide sides, since 2011 it's been 2 against Vic/Swans/Lions & 2 against Perth/Adelaide/GC/GWS.

Looking at 2013... GWS, Brisbane and Bulldogs would be 3 of the worst possible fixtures we could get here. The Fremantle match would've drawn a larger crowd you'd think had it been a few weeks later in the season

Looking to the medium term future Tassie represents a real question for Hawthorn.

Scheduling may or may not be less attractive this year ( let's accept its less attractive for the sake of discussion ) but thefact remains that the best team in the country playing good footy and winning every game it plays is seeing a steep drop off in what I'll call its "home from home".

This really shouldn't be happening surely. At some stage form is going to desert the club and there will come the reality of turning up at Launceston to play a set of teams which - whoever it does include won't include the Collingwoods and Carltons of this world - whilst scrabbling about for wins and form.

Will turnout be down to the probable core of 8,000 represented by the membership? will that be sustainable? I don't know the answers but the questions are there.

Answer to the above depends on whether the AFL will continue to support Hawthorn games in Tasmania. I have no doubt that, as per above, the drop in Tasmanian attendances is in no small part due to the drop in attractive fixtures being scheduled in Tasmania. Where once we played 2/3 of our 4 games against attractive fixtures, the AFL now shunts 3/4 of our 5 least desirable fixtures in Tasmania.

Part of this shift is due to the shift in crowds for Hawks home and away games in Melbourne (a 15,000 'bounce' on 2006) but also and perhaps more tellingly the willingness of the AFL to shift Hawthorn from Tasmania and provide the league with greater flexibility over Ethiad/MCG scheduling.

In 2006 we played 3 games in Tasmania (drawing 17,889 across the matches) however the difference in attendance between the Fremantle fixture in 2006 and 2013 was negligible (13,862 v 12,619). In all likelihood the same 12,000 Hawthorn fans are attending all Launceston fixtures (save for the customary 15-20% drop in Gold Coast/GWS turnouts across the league) its just that we're no longer getting Geelong, Richmond, St Kilda in Launceston anymore...

Until the next generation of Tasmanian supporters come through the system (Hawthorn supposedly has a 25% share of the youth) we're not going to move much from the 12,000 supporters/8,000 members we currently have. For all the talk about Hawthorn's relationship with Tasmania that vast majority of our crowd and membership escalation has been on the back of our Victorian support base.

To be honest, i don't see any problem for Hawthorn with the crowds in Tassie. Most of the money we get from Tassie comes from the sponsorship and memberships, not neutral fans turning up to the game. The difference between a 12k crowd and a 15k crowd is probably negligible for Hawthorn. This is especially true when you consider that the alternative to Tassie is paying Etihad to play in front of 25-35k crowds for most of the games.

Having said all that, the future for Hawthorn in Tassie is bright. If we do have the amount of support amongst kids that is stated, then in 10 years or so, we could have 15k+ Tassie members, and we may begin to sell out the ground most games. That's when the Tassie profits start to skyrocket, as the price of memberships go up.

The only reason one would be worried about the Tassie deal, is if they wanted to participate in the dick measuring contest that is BF. But in terms of profits, it is fantastic for us. Even once we go down the ladder, we will have grown our supporter base enough, (and our non-football income) that the inevitable drop in memberships will not be enough to put the club in financial danger.

Looking to the medium term future Tassie represents a real question for Hawthorn.

Scheduling may or may not be less attractive this year ( let's accept its less attractive for the sake of discussion ) but thefact remains that the best team in the country playing good footy and winning every game it plays is seeing a steep drop off in what I'll call its "home from home".

This really shouldn't be happening surely. At some stage form is going to desert the club and there will come the reality of turning up at Launceston to play a set of teams which - whoever it does include won't include the Collingwoods and Carltons of this world - whilst scrabbling about for wins and form.

Will turnout be down to the probable core of 8,000 represented by the membership? will that be sustainable? I don't know the answers but the questions are there.

Thanks for your concern...

Hawthorn get terrific $$$ from the overall Tassie deal irrespective of the crowds

However, if the crowds were to drop off significantly then the Tassie Govt might be reluctant to keep the deal going...

We'll probably get a game against the Saints there next year which will be good for crowds, and the Crows are due for a visit as well.

I'd expect one of the four games will be against GWS or GC for the next couple of years as well

Personally I think that the AFL will make Hawthorn a terrific offer to leave Tassie in the next few years... 10 years of guaranteed 9 MCG / 1 Etihad / 1 Tassie Home games with minimum 7 games against Vic Clubs/Swans/Lions and guarantee of 3 MCG Home games against Cats/Pies/Bombers/Blues/Tigers and a Tassie Away match against North with a significant ca$h sweetener (You need to sign deals with the AFL... it's the only way we'd get a Home match against Carlton!)

The AFL are dirty at us for not letting North have Tassie, but they'd need to make a very good offer to encourage us to walk away from there.

The AFL are pissed at us for not allowing North to move their

The 4 matches in Tassie used to be 3 against Vic/Swans/Lions & 1 against Perth/Adelaide sides, since 2011 it's been 2 against Vic/Swans/Lions & 2 against Perth/Adelaide/GC/GWS.
Simply not true.
Only 2009 was as you say.
Crowds will drop because there are now game in Hobart as well.
Plus, crowds in general (for non blockbusters) have dropped since GC & GWS.

2013 crowds thread