2013 crowds thread

It's time to stop games in Cairns and Northern Territory. We don't need to advertise the game in Northern Territory. Just build a 30,000 stadium in melbourne and stop being tight afl. Aim for a tassie team in 5 years and get north and hawthorn out of there

Its not about advertising, its about the NT government paying clubs that desperately need money to play there. The story is similar in Cairns. Its why you guys went to both after all.

It's time to stop games in Cairns and Northern Territory. We don't need to advertise the game in Northern Territory. Just build a 30,000 stadium in melbourne and stop being tight afl. Aim for a tassie team in 5 years and get north and hawthorn out of there
We wouldn't have them if it wasn't for Etihad bleeding clubs dry. So why not treat the root cause and fix the stadium problem in Melbourne?

And of course, the AFL wants them out of there as well. The scraggers wanted to play home games at Kardinia Park, but they were denied by the AFL. Even Carlton, whose own self serving criminal president got them into that mess, have asked the AFL to play home games in Perth, but they were denied.

If the AFL was 'tight', they would've done the economically rational thing and stuck with Waverley Park, upgrading the parts that were "uncomfortable". It was no worse than the MCG pre-90s. I don't know how they could get it so so wrong, but they did, and clubs are suffering for it. The clubs that, funnily enough, are responsible for the AFL's revenue. Funny how that works.

I think it suits the AFLs agenda to have some games played in the NT in the long term for the sake of league promotion too (so yeah I guess in a way it is about advertising too). Its literally two games a season with clubs that are more than happy to go there. In the short term I think the Cairns experiment will end unless the Suns or Lions play a game there - and one of them should.

I received an email from GWS today - they are offering 20% off on pre-booked tickets for the home game against Geelong this Saturday. Hope it boosts the crowd to around 10k but I doubt it.

We wouldn't have them if it wasn't for Etihad bleeding clubs dry. So why not treat the root cause and fix the stadium problem in Melbourne?

And of course, the AFL wants them out of there as well. The scraggers wanted to play home games at Kardinia Park, but they were denied by the AFL. Even Carlton, whose own self serving criminal president got them into that mess, have asked the AFL to play home games in Perth, but they were denied.

If the AFL was 'tight', they would've done the economically rational thing and stuck with Waverley Park, upgrading the parts that were "uncomfortable". It was no worse than the MCG pre-90s. I don't know how they could get it so so wrong, but they did, and clubs are suffering for it. The clubs that, funnily enough, are responsible for the AFL's revenue. Funny how that works.

So the MCG deal is OK? :mad:

Not necessarily, but they're nowhere near as bad as our Princes Park deal during the 1970s/80s, which isn't as bad as the Etihad deals. Of course, when the AFL owned their very own 80000 seater stadium, it was used to their advantage to get better MCG deals for the tenant clubs. As well as this, less clubs were forced to play there in the pre stadium rationalisation (a.k.a. golden) era. And the MCG doesn't offer other sports like soccer vastly superior deals while shafting the sport that lines the prick's pockets.

The MCC has the AFL bent over backwards at the moment, but still the MCG deals are relatively decent compared to what we have at Collo's cesspit. If the AFL had kept Waverley, and upgraded it similar to what the MCG got in the 90s, they'd be better still. Sir Kenneth Luke was a forward thinker, Wayne Jackson was a nong.

Not necessarily, but they're nowhere near as bad as our Princes Park deal during the 1970s/80s, which isn't as bad as the Etihad deals. Of course, when the AFL owned their very own 80000 seater stadium, it was used to their advantage to get better MCG deals for the tenant clubs. As well as this, less clubs were forced to play there in the pre stadium rationalisation (a.k.a. golden) era. And the MCG doesn't offer other sports like soccer vastly superior deals while shafting the sport that lines the prick's pockets.

The MCC has the AFL bent over backwards at the moment, but still the MCG deals are relatively decent compared to what we have at Collo's cesspit. If the AFL had kept Waverley, and upgraded it similar to what the MCG got in the 90s, they'd be better still. Sir Kenneth Luke was a forward thinker, Wayne Jackson was a nong.

This is something i never understood. If the lad was available at Victoria Dock, then the AFL could have just sold Waverly and buiilt its own ground there. It controls the fixture so guaranteeing returns to the bank was never going to be an issue. Waverly sold for 110 million, thats not a bad amount of cash to put forward when the league makes before distribution profits of more than than 150 million a year (at the time)

If I was the league Id be giving people free entry to GWS games. The league can afford it

It may sound silly considering the size but I wouldn't be to worried about the GWS crowds at the moment.

The way the club is being built I reckon they will start pushing crowds from next year when the team becomes more competitive. Long term it may do more harm than good to give free tickets to new fans to see the kids being outclassed by teams like Adel, Eagles and the Cats who are all hungry for % so are ruthlessly exploiting our lack of tall defenders and running up huge scores.

In time when the team is competitive I don't think we will have any trouble selling out Skoda. Travelling clubs will themselves bring loads more fans when they are facing a competitive Giants outfit, which will add to what will be great atmosphere at Skoda and just like the Swans have achieved over time locals will turn up to see a contest even if footy may not be their number 1 passion in life. People who say that GWS will fail always seem to overlook that due to the size of the population just how small a % of people have to take an interest and attend to fill a 25k seat stadium.

At the moment the crowds of 6 to 8k are made up of only local rusted on fans who turn up because they can see the future will be bright. It is unlikely that even giving away tickets to people who currently have little interest in footy to see a team that has 2 wins from 33 starts, facing its 5th straight 100 point defeat will have achieve a great deal other than to cheapen what will be strong product long term.

If I was the league Id be giving people free entry to GWS games. The league can afford it

Nah, that's just going to shit the people that paid for a membership at the start of the year. And TBH, they're the last people you'd want to be annoying - they should be giving them all a medal for actually wanting to watch the dross that's currently being served up.

And really, whilst they're currently so uncompetitive it's in their interests for as few people to be watching as possible. Attracting a few more people through on free tickets to watch yet another hammering isn't going to have them lining up next week.

It may sound silly considering the size but I wouldn't be to worried about the GWS crowds at the moment.

The way the club is being built I reckon they will start pushing crowds from next year when the team becomes more competitive. Long term it may do more harm than good to give free tickets to new fans to see the kids being outclassed by teams like Adel, Eagles and the Cats who are all hungry for % so are ruthlessly exploiting our lack of tall defenders and running up huge scores.

In time when the team is competitive I don't think we will have any trouble selling out Skoda. Travelling clubs will themselves bring loads more fans when they are facing a competitive Giants outfit, which will add to what will be great atmosphere at Skoda and just like the Swans have achieved over time locals will turn up to see a contest even if footy may not be their number 1 passion in life. People who say that GWS will fail always seem to overlook that due to the size of the population just how small a % of people have to take an interest and attend to fill a 25k seat stadium.

At the moment the crowds of 6 to 8k are made up of only local rusted on fans who turn up because they can see the future will be bright. It is unlikely that even giving away tickets to people who currently have little interest in footy to see a team that has 2 wins from 33 starts, facing its 5th straight 100 point defeat will have achieve a great deal other than to cheapen what will be strong product long term.

Having originally agreed with Wookie's point I find on reading your post that I now agree with you.

You're advising against panic measures and you're probably right long term.

Home Game Averages after Rd 10
West Coast (5)
High: 38,674 v Carlton Rd 4
Low: 36,163 v Western Bulldogs Rd 6
Av: 37,830

Nice, only a 6% variation (2,511) between our highest crowd and our lowest crowd. There's consistency for you.

Seems likely the highest-drawing match of the round will involve Richmond for the fifth time this season.

I think we can both safely say that was more to do with coincidence than draw-power, this time ;)

It was a dick measuring contest back then. Kennett, the afl and others wanted state of the art and more importantly, private stadium rather than what was best for the code

Nice, only a 6% variation (2,511) between our highest crowd and our lowest crowd. There's consistency for you.

I think we can both safely say that was more to do with coincidence than draw-power, this time ;)

Given that Subi is sold out for each Eagles game, the discrepancy would be purely the members who decide to turn up or nor. You will be found out once the new 60k Perth stadium arrives...

Well that's unexpectedly aggro. I wouldn't invest too much of your self-worth into anticipating us being "found out" in a new stadium.

Only 6% of members (assuming its all members) not rocking up is still impressive though. Often in Melbourne we are seeing 30k-40k crowds for teams with 50k+ members when a dud game is on.

Well that's unexpectedly aggro. I wouldn't invest too much of your self-worth into anticipating us being "found out" in a new stadium.

Not aggro at all. You are the only club that sells out its stadium every match. That in itself is a cause for celebration and also a catalyst for a much needed larger stadium which you will get in time. Once you get that stadium, I doubt your variance will be as small as it is now.

Only 6% of members (assuming its all members) not rocking up is still impressive though. Often in Melbourne we are seeing 30k-40k crowds for teams with 50k+ members when a dud game is on.

Very impressive. I wonder if they have a system in place whereby members who are not attending a particular match are able to sell their tickets back to the club. With demand in Perth for WCE tickets through the roof, that would be a smart system. i think the AFL and the MCC have tried something similar for ANZAC Day. Game sells out every year but its s shame when less than 90k turn up (not this year though).

I think they do, but not sure how well it works (I believe Swans did similar in the past too)

Yes, there is a member resale system - they are released first to In The Wings members, then to general public. Awareness of it is somewhat limited in the public but growing. It's important because about the only thing shifting member tickets these days is the bankruptcy or death of the member (and sometimes not even then).

2013 crowds thread