Mega Thread 2013: Trade Hypotheticals

This and the question over why Yarran is being classed as a "dickhead". What has he done wrong exactly?
I know for a fact that Hawthorn had him on the "do not draft under any circumstances" policy similar to Dayle Garlett. But that was a few years ago so he could have grown up a bit.

He was a bit of a sook the other week but apart from that nothing. Provides great run and sets up play with his pin point passes.

Yeah, I think the dickhead tag being waved about by Two Planks was well over the top.

He does have things he needs to improve in his game, but he also does a lot of things right and has a lot of talent to work with. At 22yo, he's still largely an unmolded block of clay.

I know for a fact that Hawthorn had him on the "do not draft under any circumstances" policy similar to Dayle Garlett. But that was a few years ago so he could have grown up a bit.

Good for them and your "I know for a fact" claim. I mean hey, the Hawks did draft Mitch Thorp after all.

And Yarran didn't have a history anywhere near that of Dayle Garlett, so drop that comparison right now. The issues were over whether his attitude would be committed enough for AFL level footy and whether he would get home sick coming over to Melbourne.

Since arriving at Carlton, he's not done anything to suggest he deserves the tag of "dickhead". Your comment didn't make sense on a couple of fronts really, probably should just accept it and move on.

For the right first rounder he might. Look it really depends how much game time he gets this season. As an Essendon fan I would be hesitant to trade as if Ryder goes down we are left with Daniher bearing the brunt of the ruck work and that isn't ideal. That said I am a beliver that no-one is 'un tradeable", so a player from Collingwood like Steele Sidebottom could be a pretty fair trade for both sides IF we were dealing with Collingwood. I would rather get Sidebottom than get a pick 15+ (you will finish top 5-6).

How would you approach Bellchambers for Sidebottom?

I'd be happy to do the trade straight up.

Good for them and your "I know for a fact" claim. I mean hey, the Hawks did draft Mitch Thorp after all.

And Yarran didn't have a history anywhere near that of Dayle Garlett, so drop that comparison right now. The issues were over whether his attitude would be committed enough for AFL level footy and whether he would get home sick coming over to Melbourne.

Since arriving at Carlton, he's not done anything to suggest he deserves the tag of "dickhead". Your comment didn't make sense on a couple of fronts really, probably should just accept it and move on.

The hawks knew in about 3 months they had made a mistake on Thorp who was just not mature enough for the move to the big smoke. It was after this that they decided to rule out guys based on behavior and attitude rather than just picking players on talent. One of Yarrans best mates growing up was Michael Walters and he on talent was a potential top 10 pick but slipped dramatically for the above reasons. If Yarran has none of these issues why isnt he playing full games every week. On talent he would be in Carltons best 10 players. He had a very good 2011 but went ordinary in 2012. Malthouse is treating him this way for a reason. He is forcing him to change his ways or will show him the door. My way or the highway is what Mick will be preaching to Yarran.

3 months? He was on the list for 3 years

If Yarran has none of these issues why isnt he playing full games every week. On talent he would be in Carltons best 10 players. He had a very good 2011 but went ordinary in 2012. Malthouse is treating him this way for a reason.

Whoa! Yarran was playing full games and leading the Blues goal kicking until he strained a hammy. Second game back from the hammy on a wet track he was made the sub, and then had that issue of body language that's been addressed; and his effort and workrate coming on from that last week was really good.

He was ordinary in 2012 after sustaining a toe-turf injury in the preseason that plagued him most of the year. Sandilands was kept out most of the season with the same injury.

Your post is hyperbolic rubbish and your claim he is a dickhead is completely unsubstantiated in reality. But rather than concede you perhaps overdid it, you push on adding up 1+1 into 3 o_O

Paul Roos just said that the blues should give Kruiser and Yarran for pick 1..

I agree with him, carlton people love to overate Kruiser on here, i know im going to cop shit from these people.. But i just dont see what others might be seeing..

Interesting.
I thought Yarrans problems stemmed mainly from his father, rather than Garlett just being a bit of a dickhead. Think Yaz will end up making his mark of the wing/high HFF.

Didn't realise that McGuane was a free agent :eek: Yeah, Polec has been fairly injury prone but still, when he has been fit, it's not like Vossy has been giving him great opportunities. I guess he has done that a bit with Docherty (sub/subbed/not playing) which is a little puzzling for two first round picks. From a Tigers point of view, I'd love to get Polec. But he won't be cheap. Voss will want something good in return. Not sure what that'd be though.

Because he has not warranted them. Been injured and then is worked back through the two's to get his touch back and as soon as he starts showing some signs he get injured. Endurance is not up to scratch as he hasn't completed a full pre season from memory. The defensive side of his game needs work.

Was good to see him named in the best in his second game back for the reserves.

They would need to trade Kreuzer and Yarran together to get pick 1.

One of them wont do it.
If that's the case then I'd rather not do it then. Trading away two top ten (in our side) players for a guy who may or may not be a gun is too steep imo. I understand that others will think the risk is worthwhile but I'd rather look into other options.

If it was Pick 9, I'd rather go for the best tall available at that pick and keep Yarran and Kreuzer.

I'd do that actually, pretty fair to both sides actually, sort of a win-win trade. Now whether Essendon would go for it, who knows but that is the type of player I would want- someone who is elite in big games.

What's the latest on young Bulldog Jarrad Grant? Hasn't played a game this year at all. Would he be a good fit at a club in need of a young forward to develop? I reckon Jake Stringer and Liam Jones are ahead of him now.

Would McEvoy and pick 3/4 for Taylor Adams and pick 1 be reasonable or am I off?

Fairly close, but I doubt the Giants would do it, only because Adams is performing, so you MAY need a sweetener, not much but you probably need a sweetener.

What's the latest on young Bulldog Jarrad Grant? Hasn't played a game this year at all. Would he be a good fit at a club in need of a young forward to develop? I reckon Jake Stringer and Liam Jones are ahead of him now.

Playing crap at Willi. I'd be very, very surprised if he wasn't delisted at the end of the year.

A Club like Fremantle, St Kilda and even Melbourne need a key forward. He would be a good fit at one of those Clubs.

He's a key forward height, but he's far from one. He's pretty much a 192cm small forward.

james-hird-o.gif

Mega Thread 2013: Trade Hypotheticals