List Mgmt. 2015 Trade, Draft, Rookie Draft and FA Megathread

I honestly don't see Weller leaving the dockers, he's going to be a regular player for them next season. He's developed nicely in the WAFL and Ross Lyon recently praised him and Alex Pearce.
Cripps was playing well for the Saints and was being praised by the coach.

Sometimes there are greater desires at play and you simply have to follow them.

Carlton poster on our board has declared Billings is seriously talking to Essendon.

I love this time of year, so many people have so many rock solid sources. :D

I
On Pearce, according to Fremantle's draft bio he was an elite cricketer and only played local footy in Tassie for Ulverstone ahead of his drafting.

Apparently no key position player ever tested better for endurance at the combine considering he recorded a 15.5 beep test and a 10.06 3km time trial. He also apparently ran on average 13.8km a game for Ulverstone, having grown a whopping 10cm in 2012.
mpressive numbers,how would these compared toR Stanley.
I think Stanley was asprinter rather than a true endurance beast ?

Carlton poster on our board has declared Billings is seriously talking to Essendon.

My sauces say pick 5 for Shaun McKernan.

Are there even any Weller rumours? Or has that been perpetuated by trade hypotheticals in this thread?
i just think Freo will do anything to get McCarthy over, and Pick 5 would be a massive enticement for GWS to trade him.

They are also targeting Bennell, so need as many early picks as possible

Rough Edges and Daddy Barrels. Yes you are correct the Brownlow is a midfield award and KPP'S don't get a look in.

However plenty of KPP'S got votes last night coupled that with B&F and AA and the form line is ordinary.

I am simply stating that calling Carlisle a gun based on last two years is incorrect .

Certainly with a new start and away from the Dopers he may get his zest back. However that is an unknown.

He has potential but so has Freeman. We are not getting Rance but someone who hadn't played well for two seasons

Lmao. One of my best mates bumped into a power-walking Billings on his way to the BnF. My mate (goes for the bombers), shouted out: "Look forward to seeing you in the Red and Black next year at the Bombers", Billings kept going, but turned around and yelled out: "Not a chance in hell mate."

no chance.

Lmao. One of my best mates bumped into a power-walking Billings on his way to the BnF. My mate (goes for the bombers), shouted out: "Look forward to seeing you in the Red and Black next year at the Bombers", Billings kept going, but turned around and yelled out: "Not a chance in hell mate."

no chance.
Classic.

I honestly don't see Weller leaving the dockers, he's going to be a regular player for them next season. He's developed nicely in the WAFL and Ross Lyon recently praised him and Alex Pearce.

While both players have talent this finals series has clearly demonstrated that Freo are going nowhere unless they can get some talent, and in particular TALL talent into their forward line. Plus Pav will either retire, or if he plays on will be one year older and slower.

The only way to get a Key forward will be Freo giving up a lot, and they do not have at present any early draft picks.

So they will have to trade players either directly, or indirectly to land a key power forward. They need it now while they still have the basis fora good team.

There is an opportunity for the Saints to extract overs for our pick 5 from Freo for them to on-trade to GWS (or for us to also be part ofa three-way).

If true it would simply suggest to me that he made up his mind he was going to come back East after his first contract expired as sson as he was taken by the Dockers.

Maybe given the inevitability of him leaving, and other trade scenarios involving the Dockers being raised, young Lachie thinks he may as well get it done now?

That would be the most likely reason but then it would seem he never gave Freo a chance to retain him.

Don't love the idea of players dictating terms after just one year.

no chance.
Look I agree there is about as much chance of Billings being at Essendon as there is me playing at St Kilda next year buuuuut

You kinda reinforced my point ;).

Thanks MG. Also I was wondering, the insiders on here seemed to be dead against giving up pick 5 for Carlisle (which I totally agreed with) since the rumours started, but over the last week, this seems to have changed slightly with more willingness to think about trading pick 5 (with a 'significant return back').

Has something changed in the last week for this to happen?

just people thinking that because he hasn't nominated a club yet he surely must be going somewhere else

“He comes back next week and then we’ve got plenty of time to work through it. I’m not jumping at shadows, nothing can be organised at this point in time anyway,” McConville said.

“We’ll talk through the conversations I’ve had with clubs and then he’ll meet with a couple of them and go from there.”
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/afl/jake-carlisle-set-to-decide-between-st-kilda-carlton-and-western-bulldogs-as-his-new-club/story-fnp04d6y-1227545073451

as i have said before, managers do the talking, players only meet when then is stuff to talk about, He's on holidays, and there is tons of time to commit when he returns

That would be the most likely reason but then it would seem he never gave Freo a chance to retain him.

Don't love the idea of players dictating terms after just one year.

Well the whole draft concept is a restraint of trade and was proven to be so by the NRL.

If Freo want McCarthy and they think Weller will leave for understanding next season, I can see Mr Development Lyons doing the deal. What does he care about the list? He will be gone in 2017

Rough Edges and Daddy Barrels. Yes you are correct the Brownlow is a midfield award and KPP'S don't get a look in.

However plenty of KPP'S got votes last night coupled that with B&F and AA and the form line is ordinary.

I am simply stating that calling Carlisle a gun based on last two years is incorrect .

Certainly with a new start and away from the Dopers he may get his zest back. However that is an unknown.

He has potential but so has Freeman. We are not getting Rance but someone who hadn't played well for two seasons

We aren't going to agree here mate.

This is a 23 (nearly 24) year old key position player who has demonstrated on numerous occasions he is a player.

I think he had a down year this year, i think you'd agree a number of Essendon players struggled this year.

Played 85 games and at the very least we can be very confident that he will be at least a good player. Possibly a great player if he naturally progresses.

A natural backman, which we are crying out for with Fisher, Dempster soon to move on and he is ready made. He has also shown he can make an impact up forward at times.

Couple that with the fact he is the perfect age for our current list profile.

Let's not forget that not so long ago Alex Rance was the whipping boy at Richmond.

Freeman is completely different. Don't get me wrong, i like the kid - however we have no idea how he will go in AFL football, as he's never played.

Here's a question for you all...

Carlisle, and pick 5 gone (to the Injectors or elswhere doesn't overly matter), or;

Pearce and keep it?

Let's not forget that after the 2012 season we tried to attract Mitch Brown to the club with pick 16 and were turned down by West Coast.

He was a very similar age to Jake at the end of that year.

He'd played just 51 games, which included just 14 in the previous two years as he wasn't able to break into the 22.

I think without doubt Jake is worth more than Mitch and us getting a KPB now is more important than it was then.

That being said I will repeat myself in saying that ideally Carlisle nominates us and we are able to get him on the cheap.

Let's not forget that after the 2012 season we tried to attract Mitch Brown to the club with pick 16 and were turned down by West Coast.

He was a very similar age to Jake at the end of that year.

He'd played just 51 games, which included just 14 in the previous two years as he wasn't able to break into the 22.

I think without doubt Jake is worth more than Mitch and us getting a KPB now is more important than it was then.

That being said I will repeat myself in saying that ideally Carlisle nominates us and we are able to get him on the cheap.
Not trying to be smart but Brown was contracted, Carlisle is not - end of discussion.