List Mgmt. 2015 Trade, Draft, Rookie Draft and FA Megathread

We need to start finding out if someone else can take those intercept marks.
No doubt and Goddard certainly looked good didn't he? I just mean that opening the flood gates may not be the best way to develop the team. I understand you are suggesting we test new guys, and I agreed. Balance, as always, is the key!

yep...Long Game.

same with Geary.

In a perfect world he'd play 15 games in 2016, 8 in 2017 etc

Daddy_Barrels" post: 40005819 said:
Ah Chee is too good for 25 and too patchy for 5; and he's not a natural mid IMO.

For disposal skill you're looking at Fiorini and Bonner, maybe even Oakleigh's Tom Phillips with a later pick.
for disposal you couldnt do much better than keiran agius from sa. problem is his tank is about the same as spencers. we already have one siposs..

Will get dropped next week Ross will not play him , they will turn up next week with best side.

Need to finish top to avoid the Hawks.

Body language was pretty interesting actually, really think he will come home myself.

Yeah he gave Armo and Steven a taste down in Tassie then put them back in the reserves for a few more years- they only unexpectedly won us the game.

I'll probably get shut down for saying this but i dont think its right for 19 yo players to demand being traded. Especially first rounders.
Teams pretty much have to go for best available in the first round. Sometimes the difference between one draft spot can be tremendous. Weller went 13 and their next pick was 34.
This is starting to happen every year now and you just know recruiters get in their ears.
In the future are teams meant to only pick from their state for first rounders? To me this seems like a big issue.
They should probably raise the minimum first contract to 3 years for first rounders to try and stop this from happening.
Dont get me wrong. I'd love lachie at our club and hope we get him cheap. But this will happen to us one day and it wont be pleasant unless the AFL change the rules....
Its only a real big issue with first rounders too so i dont think you can compare Cripps with this either.

@lachieweller: Thanks to all the purple army there yesterday! The roar from the crowd is something I will never forget! #foreverfreo

YUCK @ forever freo

@lachieweller: Thanks to all the purple army there yesterday! The roar from the crowd is something I will never forget! #foreverfreo

YUCK @ forever freo
Reminds me of...

:p

Brett Anderson clearly doesn't rate pick 6 in this draft, as when I asked him he reckons we should trade it. He also reckons we're still in the picture for Treloar.
Our pick will end up being about pick 7 at the current rate, we're in an odd situation. I don't think we're good enough to only have a pick 7, and pick 7 this year probably isn't what it has been in the past few years. Interesting off-season to come.

YUCK @ forever freo
Lol, the kids a fool if your mail is right mate - or the PR person from Freo hacked his account. #foreverhomesick #prayforlachie #bringourboybacktohisfamily

Reminds me of...

Our pick will end up being about pick 7 at the current rate, we're in an odd situation. I don't think we're good enough to only have a pick 7, and pick 7 this year probably isn't what it has been in the past few years. Interesting off-season to come.

Why do you think we will get pick7? Run rate suggests pick 5

Reminds me of...

Agree Rahul, thats why I am all for trading our first pick for multiple picks or a quality player ect.

Such a shame the academy players are excluded from the open draft otherwise we'd be looking at adding either Hopper, Parish, Mills or Francis.

Who do you like at pick 5 (7)?

I'll probably get shut down for saying this but i dont think its right for 19 yo players to demand being traded. Especially first rounders.
Teams pretty much have to go for best available in the first round. Sometimes the difference between one draft spot can be tremendous. Weller went 13 and their next pick was 34.
This is starting to happen every year now and you just know recruiters get in their ears.
In the future are teams meant to only pick from their state for first rounders? To me this seems like a big issue.
They should probably raise the minimum first contract to 3 years for first rounders to try and stop this from happening.
Dont get me wrong. I'd love lachie at our club and hope we get him cheap. But this will happen to us one day and it wont be pleasant unless the AFL change the rules....
Its only a real big issue with first rounders too so i dont think you can compare Cripps with this either.
I'm with you.
Kids are bloody sooks. If I was 18 again and someone paid me 100k a year to move to sunny Perth or Brisbane I'd take it in a heartbeat.

I'm with you.
Kids are bloody sooks. If I was 18 again and someone paid me 100k a year to move to sunny Perth or Brisbane I'd take it in a heartbeat.

But what about if after one year you could return home to family and friends for 10 x's that amount a year?

Is Trent McKenzie out of contract at years end? Would be a good replacement for Dempster

Dempster is one of the better HBF Defenders in the game. Unfortunately McKenzie relies on his Left Boot a bit too much.

Comments please,

Yesterdays game highlighted what we need (using past players as a guide) a Nick Dal & BJ type player to add to the mix, maybe not the quickest but skillful under pressure and can press forward when necessary (BJ) and another quality back to eventually replace Chips. Do we go to the draft and take Parish et al at 5 and be satisfied, or do we do a bit of horse trading. If Pelican has any influence at Carlton, they will discard a number of players and load up with as many first and second rounders as they can. Melbourne need players more than draft picks, Gold Coast who knows, but they must be looking for leadership role model type players. GWS have to jettison players and stockpile draft picks for academy selections, Essendon need well almost everything inc a new coach!!... so where does that leave us? With a supposedly thin draft could see a fair bit of player movement.

Lachie Henderson or Jake Carlisle would do us nicely. Would pick 25 do that with the addition of a fringe player who cannot get a game. Dare I say Murdoch??

Melbourne will get a deal done for a player I reckon they need a forward & will swap pick 6, maybe Henderson from Carlton or Dixon/Bennell from GCS, I do not think we have anything there to add into the mix. Tommy Lee....... (attempt at humor)

Still reckon Hickey and 5 for a quality player from GWS & pick say 10 could be a deal worth considering.

We are on the right path, maybe leave it all alone and just take Parish!

Henderson is overrated

Not shutting you down but maybe put thinking this way
To enter system a 18 year old kid , who has played sport all their life under parental support .
Sent to the other side of the country away from friends , family because that is the system.
Going to meetings , after meetings non stop .Learning team structures ,
Training , then any free time is controlled .Diet , skin folds checked regularly.
After 2 years you have the opportunity to control where you play football, probably able to earn more
$ and be close to family & friends.

Hence why development is the key area of football clubs , getting kids settled in new environment.
If clubs don't Brisbane scenario arises hence the academies .
Think this a major reason ,why Stkilda have focused on character more recently in their recruiting
and development has been beefed up significantly.

Not easy.

This thread is struggling, let's get back to the task at hand.
Mitch Brown Sandy worth a 4th rounder? We were keen on him two drafts ago but nothing eventuated.
I've posted here many times that he was finished at AFL level, but his VFL form this year can't be ignored.

Also I see Matthew Young's son Alex has made All Australian, just our luck that Youngy played 97 games for us!