List Mgmt. 2016 AFL Draft

Not a Berry fan.

Low production yet good endurance, regularly injured and average usage.

He doesn't excel at one position. I can see him being a less explosive Yeo, without the big leap. Roaming flanker mid, who gets 10-15 touches, has the odd brain fade and works through injury.

Not a popular opinion, but I rate Simpkin and would happily see us take him.

If I could sum up my positions, I wouldn't be unhappy with SPP, I think he will do well, but his handpassing is more worrying than kicks. I want him playing as a defensive forward or mid, who can burst from stoppages. People talk Dustin Martin, but I would prefer him in a Toby Greene type role. Not as big a ball winner, but better on the move. Still, strong mark, tackle, ability to collect a moving ball and good goal sense.

Bolton will find the AFL a challenge at first, the pressure will make his average footskills worse and his tendency to blaze away will take seasons to iron out. Will be better around contests with time than his low pressure style can sometimes indicate.

SPS could be a star, his kicking is overrated though. Should be an inside mid, not flanker. Has cruised this year and any team that passes him over after pick 3 will regret the decision.

Logue will make it. Could end up one of the best of the draft. Underrated by some, improve his marking/hands and he will be a beast KPD.

Not a fan of English, big time boom/bust. Better ruck than Lobb, but lacks Lobbs wiry core. No marking game as yet.

Taranto could be a top 3 pick. Way better than 7-15. Has it all.

Scrimshaw won't be a mid. But he will be an epic flanker. Shocked he could slide. Has KK like dash and Birchal like decision making. Stuff needs, if he is available, take him.

Marshall isn't a typical KPF. Will also require patience. Reckon he will be a good utility in the right team, but is a 20+ player.

Rotham is underrated and if he slides till our second could end up a good role player. Think Schofield improved. Great athleticism, good intercept play, but low production and needs to use his run a bit more. Skinnyness isn't an issue, but he is a flanker, and should stay in that role.

Here's the issue. We end up going best available and the chips fall for scrimshaw and rotham. Just what we need, another 2 back flankers.

Not a Berry fan.

Low production yet good endurance, regularly injured and average usage.

He doesn't excel at one position. I can see him being a less explosive Yeo, without the big leap. Roaming flanker mid, who gets 10-15 touches, has the odd brain fade and works through injury.

Not a popular opinion, but I rate Simpkin and would happily see us take him.

If I could sum up my positions, I wouldn't be unhappy with SPP, I think he will do well, but his handpassing is more worrying than kicks. I want him playing as a defensive forward or mid, who can burst from stoppages. People talk Dustin Martin, but I would prefer him in a Toby Greene type role. Not as big a ball winner, but better on the move. Still, strong mark, tackle, ability to collect a moving ball and good goal sense.

Bolton will find the AFL a challenge at first, the pressure will make his average footskills worse and his tendency to blaze away will take seasons to iron out. Will be better around contests with time than his low pressure style can sometimes indicate.

SPS could be a star, his kicking is overrated though. Should be an inside mid, not flanker. Has cruised this year and any team that passes him over after pick 3 will regret the decision.

Logue will make it. Could end up one of the best of the draft. Underrated by some, improve his marking/hands and he will be a beast KPD.

Not a fan of English, big time boom/bust. Better ruck than Lobb, but lacks Lobbs wiry core. No marking game as yet.

Taranto could be a top 3 pick. Way better than 7-15. Has it all.

Scrimshaw won't be a mid. But he will be an epic flanker. Shocked he could slide. Has KK like dash and Birchal like decision making. Stuff needs, if he is available, take him.

Marshall isn't a typical KPF. Will also require patience. Reckon he will be a good utility in the right team, but is a 20+ player.

Rotham is underrated and if he slides till our second could end up a good role player. Think Schofield improved. Great athleticism, good intercept play, but low production and needs to use his run a bit more. Skinnyness isn't an issue, but he is a flanker, and should stay in that role.
Not worried about Simpkins injury aswell ?

Nope.

More worried about Berry's shoulder and SPS hammys as these injuries relate to their areas of strength.

Look, every year I say, fans project onto players what they want them to be and fixate, not what they are. Hence why I was a big Sheed and Duggan fan, yet many found them uninteresting.

For example Berry is imagined as an athletic tall flexible mid, whereas he is in reality physically gifted low production flanker with a poor kick. He isn't so much a utility as he is someone who struggles to impact in a role, and for such a good athlete with high workrate, his innability to play as a mid at junior level must worry.

Also why as much as I rate SPP, I see it unlikely he becomes a Dangerfield type bull or Martin type ballwinner. He lacks the smarts and workrate of Dangerfield and the ball winning and skill of Martin.

The Martin comparison is poor, because SPP is more agile and more direct, but less able on the overlap, not as adept at reading the play and way less skilled. SPP would make a great defensive HF who could impact at the stoppage. Good collect, solid mark, awesome tackle, his best kicking is forward of mid and seeing him hit stoppages near goal at pace would make teams nervous.

Simpkin has real HFF talent. Like him a lot and am not usually sucked in by flashy smalls.

Nope.

More worried about Berry's shoulder and SPS hammys as these injuries relate to their areas of strength.

Look, every year I say, fans project onto players what they want them to be and fixate, not what they are. Hence why I was a big Sheed and Duggan fan, yet many found them uninteresting.

For example Berry is imagined as an athletic tall flexible mid, whereas he is in reality physically gifted low production flanker with a poor kick. He isn't so much a utility as he is someone who struggles to impact in a role, and for such a good athlete with high workrate, his innability to play as a mid at junior level must worry.

Also why as much as I rate SPP, I see it unlikely he becomes a Dangerfield type bull or Martin type ballwinner. He lacks the smarts and workrate of Dangerfield and the ball winning and skill of Martin.

The Martin comparison is poor, because SPP is more agile and more direct, but less able on the overlap, not as adept at reading the play and way less skilled. SPP would make a great defensive HF who could impact at the stoppage. Good collect, solid mark, awesome tackle, his best kicking is forward of mid and seeing him hit stoppages near goal at pace would make teams nervous.

Simpkin has real HFF talent. Like him a lot and am not usually sucked in by flashy smalls.
I would be more concerned about Simpkins injury no one is sure how he comes back from it.

Berry came back from his injuries and smashed the combine and played some good games

My 2 cents.

Given his qualities, I do understand the SPP love, but he has deficiencies and this is a very strong draft. Reality check guys, he is not worth our first pick. I am confident the club won't take him at 12, and I would be disappointed if we did. Just because he likes the "don't argue" doesn't make him another Dustin Martin. At the same age, Martin had already proved himself an elite kick and high production player. He was miles ahead of where SPP is at the same age...

The talk of Brodie sliding is bemusing. Clearly top 5 on performance, so maybe there is something else going on there... if he lasted till our pick it would be a gift from the gods. If we passed on him, it would be the definition of insanity (unless, as I say, there is something else going on...).

Unless one of SPS, Taranto or Brodie were to somehow slide (all unlikely), I am vouching for Berry. He is tough, quick, versatile, good overhead, good user, good tank and is a leader. If he is available, he would be a great get at 12, and is the sort of player I see the club picking.

At the risk of being overly bias to the nth ballarat boys, I would also love to see us nab Drew at our second (unless there was an obvious slider like SPP). We need ball winners.

Cue the universal condemnation for my (realistic) SPP comments...

I think you've nailed it TBH.

We won't pick SPP at 12/15 whatever it ends up. Berry fits the bill of what we desperately need.

Its just a shame we couldn't land a pick in the early 20's.

We all need be be prepared for SPP to be playing elsewhere for the next few years:D

I would be more concerned about Simpkins injury no one is sure how he comes back from it.

Berry came back from his injuries and smashed the combine and played some good games
He did well at the combine, good games is an exageration.

We won't pick SPP at 12/15 whatever it ends up. Berry fits the bill of what we desperately need.

We all need be be prepared for SPP to be playing elsewhere for the next few years:D
I just don't see how Berry is what we need.

We have an athletically superior version in Yeo, who is at least proven as a defender. Only his endurance is worse.

Could you explain how Berry fits our needs more then SPP?

I just don't see it.

He did well at the combine, good games is an exageration.

I just don't see how Berry is what we need.

We have an athletically superior version in Yeo, who is at least proven as a defender. Only his endurance is worse.

Yeo has yet to deliver on his potential in any position. repeated flops in big games is a concern and he seriously lacks leadership qualities.

He's been described as a bit of a FIGJAM and also questions regarding professionalism.

Nope.

Have you actually seen Simpkin live? I have not given his asbsence this year so keen to know at what level he excelled and got you interested .

Highly rated, big bodied midfielder / flaker who is hard at the contest with great character and leadership qualities.

He's rated higher than SPP by every industry so called expert.
Low production, poor kick, lack of dominant or even good games, not an impact player, underutilises his athleticism and isn't a mid.

He is tallish, has a solid athletic base, and is a good guy/leader. Athlete>footballer without anything standout.

Looks like you know it all so no point arguing....
Don't dummy spit.

I don't rate Berry and have solid reasons not to. That isn't knowing it all. Every season this happens. A bunch of fans overrate a prospect based on their ideal traits, form a consensus and have a fit when people point out the issues with their opinion.

Most recently it happened with Acres and Cockatoo.

Brodie is the Duggan/Sheed style pick in this draft, though he is probably a greater talent and won't be available. But there is a fairly broad pool of smalls. I like SPP as a better prospect than Berry, but think both are a stretch at our pick, I also don't see SPP as a long term inside mid.

I would rather wait and see who slides, and if we are super fortunate maybe it will be a Scrimshaw or Brodie, though I doubt it.

Don't dummy spit.

I don't rate Berry and have solid reasons not to. That isn't knowing it all. Every season this happens. A bunch of fans overrate a prospect based on their ideal traits, form a consensus and have a fit when people point out the issues with their opinion.

Most recently it happened with Acres and Cockatoo.

Brodie is the Duggan/Sheed style pick in this draft, though he is probably a greater talent and won't be available. But there is a fairly broad pool of smalls. I like SPP as a better prospect than Berry, but think both are a stretch at our pick, I also don't see SPP as a long term inside mid.

I would rather wait and see who slides, and if we are super fortunate maybe it will be a Scrimshaw or Brodie, though I doubt it.
Every year there is someone who multi quotes to defend his posts and doesn't take onboard any valid points from other posters....

This is Quigleys assessment of SPP who has him ranked as the 11th best player in the draft. It's a fair description imo. I'll level it for others to decide for themselves of the merits of where he's been ranked

11. Sam Powell-Pepper

SPP was widely considered to be a top 10 pick at the start of the year but has fallen away for most people since that time. I am keeping the faith though albeit I have him just outside the top 10 here. SPP is the kind of superior power athlete that is made for the AFL and I see him as a Tom Bell type who can actually kick the ball (I acknowledge that some will be sceptical with this statement as to his kicking ability). He is very strong, has great endurance, is explosive off the mark and is elusive. That kind of package should be attractive to a lot of teams and I think he can become a weapon at the next level.

Lets deal with the two big perceived negatives first. The first is his kicking. I think a lot of the negativity about his kicking this year probably comes from game against Metro where he could not hit the side of a barn. He missed target after target that day. I acknowledge people should be worried by that game but for me that is an anomoly and is not reflective of how far he has come. He was very raw last year with his kicking and I think he has made great progress over the last 12 months ironing out the flaws. Now I think he has a well-balanced, uncomplicated kicking style that generally works well. There are still off days but there has been definite improvement and that was very evident in the All Star game where I thought his kicking looked very tidy. There is still room to improve but he is trending in the right direction and he is already better than most appreciate. I think the big weakness with his disposals is not with his kicking but with his handballing. He is very untidy by hand and it is something which still needs a lot of work. The kid will work though and I think he gets there.

The bigger issue for me is the simple fact that he does not find enough of the ball. For someone with his physical gifts he should find more of the ball. At the Champs he only averaged about 15 disposals a game and it was not like he was stuck in a pocket. He was on a flank mostly with significant time onball and on the wing. He improved on that a bit in the Colts and the WAFL but not enough to give me comfort that his feel for where to run to receive has gotten good enough. Most of his disposals are hard won and he does not get out and link up enough or find space for the cheap and easy possessions. There is going to need to be a fair bit or work done on his running patterns but if they can teach Tom Bell where to run I am sure SPP can be taught as well.

What SPP does better than anyone else in this draft is hit a pack at pace and come away with the ball. He is a big unit (already 90kgs) and opponents are reluctant to get between him and the ball. He is powerful, well balanced and has explosive pace and that makes him difficult to contain when he gets it. He also has a devastating sidestep which is going to be as effective at AFL level as it is at junior level. It is a big sidestep and he executes at pace which makes him very difficult to tackle even if he was not as big as he is. Unless you get your shoulder behind the tackle he will just brush through and come out the other side. Teams are going to want to get him the ball more than he is now as he can turn teams around. He might not have fantastic top end speed but he is not slow and he has recorded a 15.5 beep previously (he only managed 14.5 at the Combine where I think he was carrying a bit of extra poundage).

Speaking of the Combine, he was one of the stars there and certainly reminded teams of what he can do. In addition to the beep test he was also top 10 in the agility test with an 8.24 which is excellent for such a bulky guy. His 10m 28sec in the 3km was good and 3.00 for the 20m very solid. I am generally not the biggest fan of the skills test but it is worth mentioning that SPP lead the way in the goal kicking test with a perfect score and was in the top 10 in the clean hands. The one negative he had for the weekend was the repeat sprint which was quite poor for some reason. Overall it is hard not to be impressed with his performance given how many of those who played the week before in the All Star game, like he did, did not have good performances at the Combine.

Whether SPP succeeds at AFL level could very well come down to where he plays. If he is played in defence I think he could very well flop. In defence he tightens up with his kicking and turns it over a lot. He also tends to curb his natural attacking game and gets too conservative. Where he needs to be played is on a forward flank with some time on the wing. He is not the best mark of the ball but with the ball in hands he will attack a defence and can find a seam. He is a pretty good kick of the ball into 50 and can create opportunities. He has good penetration on his kicks and can kick them from outside 50 if needed. With the ball on the ground I think he has pretty clean hands (maybe not elite but good for a forward) and he can finish. He has been a consistent goal kicker in the west this year. He is particularly dangerous in contested situations up forward as he can use his big body to clear the way and create opportunities and his attack on the ball makes things happen.

SPP might be the best tackler in the draft this year. He tackles hard and often and opponents know when he is about and this can make things happen as they make sure they get it away quickly. To finish the year SPP had 7 tackles in the Colts GF and another 5 in the All Star game. He influences games with his defensive work and coaches will like that from a forward / midfielder. Speaking of the All Star game, I thought he was very influential in that one and looked like one of the better prospects out there. He again only managed 18 disposals but he was certainly an impact player. He is likely to start his career as an impact player off the forward flank but hopefully he learns to find more of it and he moves into the midfield. If he learns to find more of the ball he could be a very important player for a team.

Hardly low production for his position ......

View attachment 311518
Certainly is.

He plaid plenty of midfield minutes, not just along HB. If you get sub 15 disposal games playing midfield in TAC, it is a big problem. Conversely, there are plenty of AFL players who never cut it as a mid but got huge midfield numbers at that level.

His season, even with injury wasn't great. He doesn't show a lot of dash. When he plays in the mid, despite having big time endurance struggles to win the ball. Is a genuinely avg kick.

A bit like Simpkin he was projected from his 2015 junior footy, to come on strong. Both have had injuries, though Simpkin was a fracture. Berry really hasn't excelled.

It's that hope based on his alright athletic talent and leadership that he comes good, but he isn't a jet like Scrimshaw in defence, nor does he have the footy brain of someone like Duggan, who traversed the flanks and mid. Isn't a forward either, no goal sense and bad goal kicking.

We have so many HB, that unless they are a standout, don't need another.

This is Quigleys assessment of SPP who has him ranked as the 11th best player in the draft. It's a fair description imo. I'll level it for others to decide for themselves of the merits of where he's been ranked

11. Sam Powell-Pepper

SPP was widely considered to be a top 10 pick at the start of the year but has fallen away for most people since that time. I am keeping the faith though albeit I have him just outside the top 10 here. SPP is the kind of superior power athlete that is made for the AFL and I see him as a Tom Bell type who can actually kick the ball (I acknowledge that some will be sceptical with this statement as to his kicking ability). He is very strong, has great endurance, is explosive off the mark and is elusive. That kind of package should be attractive to a lot of teams and I think he can become a weapon at the next level.

Lets deal with the two big perceived negatives first. The first is his kicking. I think a lot of the negativity about his kicking this year probably comes from game against Metro where he could not hit the side of a barn. He missed target after target that day. I acknowledge people should be worried by that game but for me that is an anomoly and is not reflective of how far he has come. He was very raw last year with his kicking and I think he has made great progress over the last 12 months ironing out the flaws. Now I think he has a well-balanced, uncomplicated kicking style that generally works well. There are still off days but there has been definite improvement and that was very evident in the All Star game where I thought his kicking looked very tidy. There is still room to improve but he is trending in the right direction and he is already better than most appreciate. I think the big weakness with his disposals is not with his kicking but with his handballing. He is very untidy by hand and it is something which still needs a lot of work. The kid will work though and I think he gets there.

The bigger issue for me is the simple fact that he does not find enough of the ball. For someone with his physical gifts he should find more of the ball. At the Champs he only averaged about 15 disposals a game and it was not like he was stuck in a pocket. He was on a flank mostly with significant time onball and on the wing. He improved on that a bit in the Colts and the WAFL but not enough to give me comfort that his feel for where to run to receive has gotten good enough. Most of his disposals are hard won and he does not get out and link up enough or find space for the cheap and easy possessions. There is going to need to be a fair bit or work done on his running patterns but if they can teach Tom Bell where to run I am sure SPP can be taught as well.

What SPP does better than anyone else in this draft is hit a pack at pace and come away with the ball. He is a big unit (already 90kgs) and opponents are reluctant to get between him and the ball. He is powerful, well balanced and has explosive pace and that makes him difficult to contain when he gets it. He also has a devastating sidestep which is going to be as effective at AFL level as it is at junior level. It is a big sidestep and he executes at pace which makes him very difficult to tackle even if he was not as big as he is. Unless you get your shoulder behind the tackle he will just brush through and come out the other side. Teams are going to want to get him the ball more than he is now as he can turn teams around. He might not have fantastic top end speed but he is not slow and he has recorded a 15.5 beep previously (he only managed 14.5 at the Combine where I think he was carrying a bit of extra poundage).

Speaking of the Combine, he was one of the stars there and certainly reminded teams of what he can do. In addition to the beep test he was also top 10 in the agility test with an 8.24 which is excellent for such a bulky guy. His 10m 28sec in the 3km was good and 3.00 for the 20m very solid. I am generally not the biggest fan of the skills test but it is worth mentioning that SPP lead the way in the goal kicking test with a perfect score and was in the top 10 in the clean hands. The one negative he had for the weekend was the repeat sprint which was quite poor for some reason. Overall it is hard not to be impressed with his performance given how many of those who played the week before in the All Star game, like he did, did not have good performances at the Combine.

Whether SPP succeeds at AFL level could very well come down to where he plays. If he is played in defence I think he could very well flop. In defence he tightens up with his kicking and turns it over a lot. He also tends to curb his natural attacking game and gets too conservative. Where he needs to be played is on a forward flank with some time on the wing. He is not the best mark of the ball but with the ball in hands he will attack a defence and can find a seam. He is a pretty good kick of the ball into 50 and can create opportunities. He has good penetration on his kicks and can kick them from outside 50 if needed. With the ball on the ground I think he has pretty clean hands (maybe not elite but good for a forward) and he can finish. He has been a consistent goal kicker in the west this year. He is particularly dangerous in contested situations up forward as he can use his big body to clear the way and create opportunities and his attack on the ball makes things happen.

SPP might be the best tackler in the draft this year. He tackles hard and often and opponents know when he is about and this can make things happen as they make sure they get it away quickly. To finish the year SPP had 7 tackles in the Colts GF and another 5 in the All Star game. He influences games with his defensive work and coaches will like that from a forward / midfielder. Speaking of the All Star game, I thought he was very influential in that one and looked like one of the better prospects out there. He again only managed 18 disposals but he was certainly an impact player. He is likely to start his career as an impact player off the forward flank but hopefully he learns to find more of it and he moves into the midfield. If he learns to find more of the ball he could be a very important player for a team.
Agree with heaps of this. Needs to win more ball, his handpassing is the issue, solid kick in the forward, should start as a forward impact player, though I differ in that I reckon as a defensive HFF.

Only thing I disagree with is that I reckon he is a solid mark.

Certainly is.

He plaid plenty of midfield minutes, not just along HB. If you get sub 15 disposal games playing midfield in TAC, it is a big problem. Conversely, there are plenty of AFL players who never cut it as a mid but got huge midfield numbers at that level.

His season, even with injury wasn't great. He doesn't show a lot of dash. When he plays in the mid, despite having big time endurance struggles to win the ball. Is a genuinely avg kick.

A bit like Simpkin he was projected from his 2015 junior footy, to come on strong. Both have had injuries, though Simpkin was a fracture. Berry really hasn't excelled.

It's that hope based on his alright athletic talent and leadership that he comes good, but he isn't a jet like Scrimshaw in defence, nor does he have the footy brain of someone like Duggan, who traversed the flanks and mid. Isn't a forward either, no goal sense and bad goal kicking.

We have so many HB, that unless they are a standout, don't need another.
He played more off half back and half forward

Struggles to win the ball - But half his disposals were contested

No goal sense - kicks 3 goals in a quarter and half when moved forward...

It's ok that you don't think he's a good selection but he's a serious talent and that's why he should go top 15 in a strong draft...

He played more off half back and half forward

Struggles to win the ball - But half his disposals were contested

No goal sense - kicks 3 goals in a quarter and half when moved forward...

It's ok that you don't think he's a good selection but he's a serious talent and that's why he should go top 15 in a strong draft...
He played mostly HB, more time in the mid than HF. High contested number ratio for sub 20 touches is worrying. It's great being tough, and having good endurance, but if you can't win loose ball, receive or use that endurance along with read the play and get to enough stoppages as a TAC player, with so little emphasis on defence it should concern.

He has played a bit forward in earlier seasons. He kicked 5 goals from his 8 matches, which in context isn't great. He doesn't have good goal sense and is a poor kick on goal. The best mids/or flankers regularly kick more goals at that level. See Taranto, or Mcluggage.

It isn't unusual for the real talents to have massive games. He didn't have any of those. When you compare him to other top 15 flankers and mids, he performed poorly.

He is overrated, which is why he has slid over the year. People projected big things, based on his height and athletic talent, but again a guy with that level of fitness doesn't make enough contests, is a poor kick and doesnt use his run.

He played mostly HB, more time in the mid than HF. High contested number ratio for sub 20 touches is worrying. It's great being tough, and having good endurance, but if you can't win loose ball, receive or use that endurance along with read the play and get to enough stoppages as a TAC player, with so little emphasis on defence it should concern.

He has played a bit forward in earlier seasons. He kicked 5 goals from his 8 matches, which in context isn't great. He doesn't have good goal sense and is a poor kick on goal. The best mids/or flankers regularly kick more goals at that level. See Taranto, or Mcluggage.

It isn't unusual for the real talents to have massive games. He didn't have any of those. When you compare him to other top 15 flankers and mids, he performed poorly.

He is overrated, which is why he has slid over the year. People projected big things, based on his height and athletic talent, but again a guy with that level of fitness doesn't make enough contests, is a poor kick and doesnt use his run.
Most likely a rookie selection then ?

List Mgmt. 2016 AFL Draft