Game Day 2017 Collingwood Intra Club

To be honest, it looked a lot like last year's intra. Unfortunately a lot of easy goals over the top. If anything, I reckon the heat made the intensity even lower than last year. The players did seem to play on a lot and try to keep the ball moving.

I don't think we can read too much into it. In the end it is less about structure and more about conditioning. We'll know more from the JLT series
Agree with this. With all the draftees and VFL players running around, 3 having 1st game for 12 months, half a dozen there 1st game at Collingwood its impossible to read anything much into gamestyle or plans

Big things were Elliott, Shaz, Ramsay and Wells having significant game time and all looking to be round 1 ready and the enjoyment of seeing 1st and 2nd year players and new recruits.

Treloar having a full pre season is big too.

Agree with this. With all the draftees and VFL players running around, 3 having 1st game for 12 months, half a dozen there 1st game at Collingwood its impossible to read anything much into gamestyle or plans

Big things were Elliott, Shaz, Ramsay and Wells having significant game time and all looking to be round 1 ready and the enjoyment of seeing 1st and 2nd year players and new recruits.

Treloar having a full pre season is big too.

That's one that can be easily overlooked. I don't think we'll see a significant step up from here on out, rather incremental increases, but having the full pre-season behind him will do a world of good.

I probably came across to critical or too down on the team, I just had certain things that I would of liked to see from the team that were not present all be it early on in an intra match. You can't take too much out of it but you can get a general idea on some things.

Also some of the play on was sideways movement or into trouble where they had to stop prop and go backwards, no point playing on just for the sake of playing on.

I probably came across to critical or too down on the team, I just had certain things that I would of liked to see from the team that were not present all be it early on in an intra match. You can't take too much out of it but you can get a general idea on some things.

Also some of the play on was sideways movement or into trouble where they had to stop prop and go backwards, no point playing on just for the sake of playing on.

It is a Intra Club. They won't be doing anything Special

Anyone popped over to the Dons site to see the 10 min highlights vid of their intra match? Thought I'd have a look for a comparison to where we are at since we play them in a week.

Obviously it is only highlights of an intra so can't take too much from either team, but I must say they seem to have been well drilled by woosha and have genuine smooth set plays.
Look a lot less haphazard with their transition and forward entries and Daniher looks primed.

Will be an interesting game.
Injected turbo?

I thought Aish was OK and certainly would not be singling him out for special attention. There again I do have a bit of a bias in his favour.

Our lack of key forwards certainly gave little indication of how good or ordinary our key backs are. Goldsack surprised me with his bulk - is it just me or has he been hitting the weights heavily over summer? Still he is never going to be a great KPD. That time has past and he is in the twilight of his career. Schade is too skinny for the role, and I have already remarked upon the lack of height of Dunn, who I swear did not look over 183 cm up close. Certainly we will have more mobility down back as well as better and quicker disposal by foot. The first side we play that boasts good KPF's is going to really test out the quality of our key backs.

That's discounting Keeffe who I think will be a fixture for the reasons you highlight. I'm not entirely convinced by Keeffe but at his best has shown he is up to it. Keeffe and Reid in the key posts and we have some decent medium options up our sleeves to support them. I think we can go okay on tall forwards if Keeffe stands up. He's a key to our season, which is a little daunting, a big test.

I hadn't forgotten Keeffe, but didn't mention him because he didn't play in the intra, and to be frank, I don't truly believe he will be anything other than serviceable. But time will tell. Reid I do not believe is best suited to a KPF role, though he will probably have to play that position given a lack of suitable alternatives. Besides, it is probably not necessary for him to be released to be the designated kicker given the removal of Brown, Williams and Frost from defence, and the potential inclusion of Ramsay, Maynard, Dunn, Howe and Scharenberg.

IMO in the limited games i have watched : He is capable in a contest but not his forte or weapon (in the way of say T.Adams or Luke Ball kamikaze style), but have seen him extract from time to time more in the Pendles style if you get my drift.
Is also good at making space for himself or others with good vision in traffic and decent first few steps, like in the goal he kicked in the intra.

*(Before anyone jumps down my throat I am comparing only the style of which he keeps his feet in congestion when winning the contested footy. Ie: rarely do you see pendles dive into the bottom of a pack, or go in kamakaze like Luke Ball used too and Adams currently does, nor does he need too.)

Daicos main things will be working on an AFL tank, an AFL body, getting his numbers up across the board as he has tendency's to drift in and out of matches at jnr level.

Agreed on all counts. Saw him play for Bulleen every week a few years back, teammates with Callum. Has a penetrating kick, excellent awareness, very good balance etc. He needs to build his engine, and a body that can withstand injury. The kid is polished and has all the talent required.

I hadn't forgotten Keeffe, but didn't mention him because he didn't play in the intra, and to be frank, I don't truly believe he will be anything other than serviceable. But time will tell. Reid I do not believe is best suited to a KPF role, though he will probably have to play that position given a lack of suitable alternatives. Besides, it is probably not necessary for him to be released to be the designated kicker given the removal of Brown, Williams and Frost from defence, and the potential inclusion of Ramsay, Maynard, Dunn, Howe and Scharenberg.

Sorry I meant key posts down back. I do think Reid should be playing at CHB. It would be nice to have the luxury to play him forward because he goes alright there also.

I doubt he would have even been drafted if he wasn't a f/s.
The Josh Daicos recruiting and father son?

You likely right.

If his name was josh smith it's more likely be recruited as a rookie from a state league, if he showed heaps at that level.

But because his name was Daicos and he is the seed of Peter, we would have looked at him closely.

So if the club thought he's even a fifty fifty bet, they'd take the punt.

It was afterall a late draft pick and what's the prognosis, either a Matthew Goodyear type or speculate that Josh's upside might throw some what more to Daicos Snr.

Well worth it in my view.

Treloar obviously doesnt need a huge pre season to dominate. He is the type that can just come in and pick up the pace straight away.

That said, he works so hard that his kicking can be very ordinary...often because he is just exhausted.

So if he has had a full pre season and he is really fit, then it should improve his kicking and decision making. Its the only real knock on him at the moment.

Just I guess I was hoping to see a change or better systems in play, if you want to know what I'm talking about watch the Bombers highlights and you can see the way they are
a) moving the footy from defence to the forwardline
b) delivering the ball to advantage side of the target
c) fwds making leads to space and being honored
d) having multiple smalls at the feet of packs creating goals.
You could just as easily say that Essendon showed:

a) giving up easy and quick movement all the way from defense to the opposition's forward line.
b) poor positioning and anticipation by their defenders, failing to get to the fall of the ball
c) no loose men cutting off space or pressure on the ball carrier
d) allowing the forwards to outnumber the defense at the contest

It always baffles me that people can focus on what a team is doing well in an intra club without considering that the team is also the opposition in the match.

You could just as easily say that Essendon showed:

a) giving up easy and quick movement all the way from defense to the opposition's forward line.
b) poor positioning and anticipation by their defenders, failing to get to the fall of the ball
c) no loose men cutting off space or pressure on the ball carrier
d) allowing the forwards to outnumber the defense at the contest

It always baffles me that people can focus on what a team is doing well in an intra club without considering that the team is also the opposition in the match.

You also want to see that your team is capable of it, regardless of opposition.

The Josh Daicos recruiting and father son?

You likely right.

If his name was josh smith it's more likely be recruited as a rookie from a state league, if he showed heaps at that level.

But because his name was Daicos and he is the seed of Peter, we would have looked at him closely.

So if the club thought he's even a fifty fifty bet, they'd take the punt.

It was afterall a late draft pick and what's the prognosis, either a Matthew Goodyear type or speculate that Josh's upside might throw some what more to Daicos Snr.

Well worth it in my view.

This should probanly go in the Daicos thread (but they're currently talking about preists there, so lets keep it here)

Everything about Josh seemed to suggest he would be a low pick and based mostly on potential than anything else. (The family pedigree adds to the potential but not much else - other than the PR hit if someone else gets him and he turns into the next Liam Picken).

I think we nominated him as a F/S because we were worried another club might take him low in the draft and this gave us the option to then bid (and thats why we had stockpiled midround picks). Once we had nominated him we were forced to use our last pick.

I think if we had the choice, and knowing that noone else would try to take him, we would rather have him as a rookie and have more flexibility with our list... but in reality I dont think it will make that much difference given where our list is at.

At the end of the day, I'm glad we got him, and position 40 vs a rookie spot isnt much difference. I don't expect anything this season (hopefully gets a couple of games), but hope that one of him or Kirby becomes a good crumbing forward over the next few seasons.

Man if JOM really gets back to 100% Hawks will be right up there again.
If?
He's apparantly got or had the worst type of knee injury

But all reports he's a potential elite

If there's a team to pull it off it's the Hawks. Probably will play into his 30's magically.
I know, I know....
Somehow they pull it off

But with O'Meara that is one tough injury to over come.
Be interesting

Just watched the replay of the intra club game.

Taylor Adams looked seriously good with ball in hand. Ball use excellent. Not afraid to take on the game. Best he has ever looked.

Mason Cox was on top of Grundy at centre bounces but at stoppages around the ground Grundy outmuscled and outpositioned him. Cox pleasingly showed some signs around the ground, getting involved here and there and taking one or two strong marks. I'm looking forward to seeing Cox get more senior games in 2017. As I did last year, I have Cox ahead of White in my preferred depth charts and I see Cox creating separation certainly at centre bounces.

Ramsay can slot straight back into the clubs best 22. He played like he hasn't missed time.

Elliott showed rust working his way into the game. After some preseason games he'll be a difference maker up front and will again be that high quality small forward.

Dunn looks like an instant starter down back. Played well and played as strongly as he did late 2016 for those who watched much of Casey in the VFL. I fully expect him to line up alongside Reid as the clubs preferred other key defender.

Mayne can fit into the front half fine and is one of those guys who just fits in and plays his role fine. He's a piece but not the difference maker his contract would suggest.

Wells was quiet (when on) but used it well. Like Mayne obviously the contract was ridiculous, but if he stays healthy (big concern) he'll certainly help.

Hoskin-Elliott some good moments but needs to be more involved more often to establish himself as a best 22 player.

Scharenberg started well early. He intercepted and won his 1v1 contests. Found enough of it. Used it mostly well except for one poor turnover by foot. I look at him as a best 22 player.

Moore was very quiet. Perhaps he took it easy given it's just a practice game. Well below the standard you'd expect. Impact near invisible other than a mark i50 and quick kick to a man on the goal line for an easy goal.

De Goey was poorly utilised. Not playing through the midfield/at centre bounces. Had some good moments late, but this doesn't look like the year he'll breakout which really limits out team chances of making any meaningful ground on the competition.

Tom Phillips was involved and good. He has chances to establish himself as a regular this year as a hf/wing.

The game suited Josh Daicos and he fit in well. Skills good and involved enough. Good first sign. Has visibly put on bulk. Has put in the work over the offseason. The outside/uncontested style of game suited him.

Game Day 2017 Collingwood Intra Club