List Mgmt. 2017 Trade & Free Agency Discussion Thread

And that's my 2nd tweet as well that he's had a go at.

Didn't even know if it was the same poster so they're just having this stuff relayed to them at best.

Is that what he said?
Paraphrasing, said it in a much longer more round about fashion.

Caller named John brought up our injury list, compared it to Swans going 0-6 with injuries.

Wallace explained that away using such examples as "It was really wet in sydney in the preseason".

Barrett then stepped in and basically said he can see Wallets hand written notes, knows how much time he puts into it and that he is essentially always right and that he appreciates people call up passionately but that Wallace's review is essentially spot on and bringing up such stuff as logic will not change that.

Not sure we're that interested in Stringer, but if we are, can't see a way we'd agree on a trade
You guys would want pick 4 in the deal and there's no way we're giving up our first top 5 pick in nearly a decade for a player as risky as Stringer is
We'd be reluctant to trade future picks given we need them for F/S and academy players next year
Unless you guys are willing to accept something like Goldstein + 21 for him, then I wish you good luck in trying to deal with Dodoro
Cheers mate. The excitement on our board is re pick 4, so thanks for the feedb

Agree the defence of the arguments were poor and they didn't take into account injuries.

However, other than not recognising our kids, he isn't too far wrong. I see our list as having a lot of options but unless we see them playing from Round 1 onwards, not Round 12, then we can't be surprised we don't get rated.

We are more likely to play McMillian on a wing to replace Gibson than Josh Williams and as long as we have that philosophy, we will continue to have a watered down vanilla feel.

Gotta remember Terry Wallace being the "list manager" and Damien Barrett being a "footy expert" is about a relevant as Corey Wagner being a "Social Media Expert".
#sendintheclowns
Damo reaching Caro levels for professionalism.....what a friggin sook. You've made a dick of yourself mate, we've got long memories.
Terry Wallace....just.....I .....just.....wtf??? Proof that if you try hard enough, eventually, through repetition and practice, eventually, apparently, you can self-fellate.

Lets face it Terry would be eating his words if we had of won all our close matches by under a goal, finishing the year near the eight. Henceforth better than most other sides who would have finished below us. We weren't that far off being a good side this year, luck just was not on our side in those games.

IMO there is more upside than down from the year, we blooded younger kids and nearly won those close matches against mature bodies.

Bring in another mature kid in the draft and we will be knocking on the door before Terry can wipe the tears from his eyes.

But Terry, the point is that you are paid to do this stuff and all you demonstrate is superficial knowledge, misconceptions and lack of analytical ability. No need to pat yourself on the back for calling it as you see it, when the way you see it is no more informed than a 5 year old who has just started watching football.

I'll give wallace a clap for at least replying

But Terry, the point is that you are paid to do this stuff and all you demonstrate is superficial knowledge, misconceptions and lack of analytical ability. No need to pat yourself on the back for calling it as you see it, when the way you see it is no more informed than a 5 year old who has just started watching football.

Chill out guy!
Google his ladder predictions for 2016, I'm quietly confident we can win the flag after reading them. Ha!

It was an injury list of 14 by memory. Either way its still a lot :(

18 by my count - only 3 listed North players played for Werribee - Taylor Zurhaar and Fordham the rest all missed with injury as follows -

Wiiliams Jacobs Ziebell Ahern Wright Waite Wood EVW MacMillan Hibberd Nielsen Garner Pruess Maj Larkey Wagner Williams Watson

19 if you include Junker - so we had 22 v Brisbane 3 for Werribee and 19 out - that equals the list size of 44.

Was it that bad? He is probably right in that next year should be a tough year unless our 20-23 year olds like Garner, Wood, Turner, Simpkin, Dumont, Clarke, EVW, Ahern, Neilson, Durdin etc all take a leap forward...Can that happen? Absolutely, but most outsiders wouldn't expect it. Lets face it as well...we want a season of blooding young kids with the hope they jump up but if they don't we can look forward to what could be an absolute star coming in next year in Rankine/Lukosious etc.

He hasn't got a great understanding of our list but he is probably correct in expecting we are expected to go a bit lower than last season. That might not be a terrible thing in the long term.

Was it that bad? He is probably right in that next year should be a tough year unless our 20-23 year olds like Garner, Wood, Turner, Simpkin, Dumont, Clarke, EVW, Ahern, Neilson, Durdin etc all take a leap forward...Can that happen? Absolutely, but most outsiders wouldn't expect it. Lets face it as well...we want a season of blooding young kids with the hope they jump up but if they don't we can look forward to what could be an absolute star coming in next year in Rankine/Lukosious etc.

He hasn't got a great understanding of our list but he is probably correct in expecting we are expected to go a bit lower than last season. That might not be a terrible thing in the long term.

Your probably right in where we may finish but the analysis was superficial at best and it's the same for all of the reviews. He doesn't really drilldown on where might be areas of improvement, it's always losing player x will hurt. He mentioned via twitter that our top end is old Goldy, Thompson, Swallow and Thomas of those only Thompson would be anywhere near top end in 2017.