2018 Trade and FA thread (opposition supporters post in Trade Hypotheticals thread)

Would love Tom Scully. Would probably trade next year's first for him.

Midfield of Stef, Beams, Zorko, Neale, Scully along with Berry, Clug, Cutler, Rayner and all the kids coming through would push us into the top 8

I'm betting this phrase doesn't get used all that much over the coming weeks.

Why though? A round the clock news source on trades, player manager interviews each morning.. in depth follow up to each trade and its implications.. who cares if there is some padding or hypothetical discussions in between, its an amazing media source at this tine of year, id be shattered if it wasnt there come monday morning. Do not get the media angst.. its just a ride.

AFL.com.au reporting this morning that Saints and Blues much keener to trade next years pick for Shiel instead of this years.

Both clubs want to use their pick this year, Blues on Walsh Saints on King.

Can’t have strong non-Vic clubs getting even better at the expense of Vic clubs. Trade ban incoming.
Had to laugh at Sydney’s Andrew Pridham earlier in the week blasting the AFL saying that Richmond should now be banned from drafts for acquiring Lynch as Sydney we’re following the recruitment of Buddy.

He makes a fair point, but the AFL Commission is so toothless it wouldn’t dare impose the same penalty on a Victorian club as it did Sydney.

Would love Tom Scully. Would probably trade next year's first for him.

Midfield of Stef, Beams, Zorko, Neale, Scully along with Berry, Clug, Cutler, Rayner and all the kids coming through would push us into the top 8
Please don't forget Bailey. Reckon he will be enormous for us in the midfield, possibly as soon as next year.

Would have to be pick 1 for McGovern and another first round pick going back at least.
If pick 1 were ever on the table, it wouldn't be for McGovern. Even Adelaide don't reckon he's worth it, regardless of what comes back.

Had to laugh at Sydney’s Andrew Pridham earlier in the week blasting the AFL saying that Richmond should now be banned from drafts for acquiring Lynch as Sydney we’re following the recruitment of Buddy.

He makes a fair point, but the AFL Commission is so toothless it wouldn’t dare impose the same penalty on a Victorian club as it did Sydney.

Still the biggest disgrace in footy in the last 5 years (essendon drug saga aside) - the Commission imposed the penalty and didn't actually understand how COLA worked!

It still scares me for the future of our club - what happens if we have a period of success and we have a potential top 5 academy player coming through? You can bet that they AFL will be spineless and agree to change the rules on us if the big Vic clubs demand it. Non-afl state solidarity is going to be really important to maintain going forward.

FWIW (absolutely nothing at all) Damo's incorrectly titled column says we should have a crack at Cyril.

If anyone heard Cyrils interview recently - he said ''I am still young" and "you never know" and "i'm enjoying my year off"... he will 100% play again, I reckon it's either with us or the Hawks.

Sydney were entitled to trade in other players if they stuck to the same salary cap as everyone else. It was only while their additional cap was phased out that they were prevented from bringing in new players.

So Pridham has gotten his wish. Every club is 'banned' from trading for players if they can't stay within the salary cap.

It's cute that Geelong fans have the go home factor go against them once and lose their shit.
What I will say is that with our players that left the vast majority were out of contract so they are within their rights to go where ever they want.

I have a real issue with players that get drafted and them demand a trade after 1 year, you nominate for the draft being fully aware you could go anywhere. The sooner the AFL introduces longer contracts for draftees the better.

Something like Picks 1-10 - 4 years, 11 -30 - 3 years and then 2 years from then on the better for all clubs and I think the players as well.

What I will say is that with our players that left the vast majority were out of contract so they are within their rights to go where ever they want.

I have a real issue with players that get drafted and them demand a trade after 1 year, you nominate for the draft being fully aware you could go anywhere. The sooner the AFL introduces longer contracts for draftees the better.

Something like Picks 1-10 - 4 years, 11 -30 - 3 years and then 2 years from then on the better for all clubs and I think the players as well.

Obviously you have to make sure you aren’t limiting the earning potential of those top 10 players in year 3-4.

Tricky but I’m sure there are ways to manage it with team “options”.

Sydney were entitled to trade in other players if they stuck to the same salary cap as everyone else. It was only while their additional cap was phased out that they were prevented from bringing in new players.

So Pridham has gotten his wish. Every club is 'banned' from trading for players if they can't stay within the salary cap.

I can't remember who wrote the best article on this but its pretty clear now that this wasn't the case - the Swans were on track to phase out COLA and the AFL didn't trust them to do it. Mike Fiztpatrick (Commission Chairman) also didn't understand how COLA worked like a lot of supporters - it was a 10% payment available on each player contract, so it couldn't be banked to pay for specific players (i.e. Buddy).

They were within the salary cap and if a specific trade would have put them over, then the AFL could have prevented that transaction or fined them or penalised them with draft picks. The trading ban was primarily an attempt punish the Swans for being successful imo.

I can't remember who wrote the best article on this but its pretty clear now that this wasn't the case - the Swans were on track to phase out COLA and the AFL didn't trust them to do it. Mike Fiztpatrick (Commission Chairman) also didn't understand how COLA worked like a lot of supporters - it was a 10% payment available on each player contract, so it couldn't be banked to pay for specific players (i.e. Buddy).

They were within the salary cap and if a specific trade would have put them over, then the AFL could have prevented that transaction or fined them or penalised them with draft picks. The trading ban was primarily an attempt punish the Swans for being successful imo.

Yeah, more specifically, the AFL was trying to massage Buddy to GWS for marketing purposes and the Swans outmaneuvered them.

It then became very personal for Fitzpatrick. Then you had Eddie et al pushing the "Swans got Buddy with COLA" false narrative hard and it was a PR environment very friendly to a vengeful AFL.

Perception beats facts every day of the week. Eddie was equally successful in saying we unfairly bought our premierships with our salary cap concessions despite the fact that Collingwood actually outspent us in TPP in one of the two years we beat them in the grand final.

As fans of non-Victorian teams we need to be on high alert for these double standards and manipulations of fact involving us or other non-heartland teams, and call them out when we see it. This isn't crazy conspiracy stuff. There is a clear disproportionate concentration of political power within the Victorian heartland that continues to manifest in policy decisions.

I think if the AFL are serious about the integrity of the draft then they need to clamp down on players seeking a trade inside their first two years. While there will always be exceptions, for example, on genuine compassionate grounds where a change of family circumstances has occurred, the idea that a player can seek to return to his home state just to be close to family really is a cop out. In Kelly's case, he wasn't an immature 18 year old kid when drafted and he knew what he was getting himself into. His wife and three kids came with him. They don't like living in Geelong, plenty probably wouldn't. But the Cats gave him his chance in the big time and the AFL should make him serve out his contract. They have the power to refuse any trade but they also need to start enforcing the draft rules - two year minimum contracts are there to protect the interests of both player and club. Neither side should be able to tear it up at its discretion.

It's cute that Geelong fans have the go home factor go against them once and lose their shit.

Particularly considering there was a lot of talk well before he was drafted that he was deeply embedded in Perth and would be a flight risk if taken interstate. Geelong knew what they were getting into.

Good on them for 'backing in their systems' but it didn't work in this case. Move on.

Obviously you have to make sure you aren’t limiting the earning potential of those top 10 players in year 3-4.

Tricky but I’m sure there are ways to manage it with team “options”.
Would be interesting to see but I guess things like position in rising star, B&F, brownlow or All Australian could trigger a review situation and allow player to seek a review or increased contract.

I tend to think the clubs already do this for a lot of players by loading onto their next contract as a "keep happy" premium.

Particularly considering there was a lot of talk well before he was drafted that he was deeply embedded in Perth and would be a flight risk if taken interstate. Geelong knew what they were getting into.

Good on them for 'backing in their systems' but it didn't work in this case. Move on.
So did he - a two year contract. Time to start holding players to their contract where there are no compelling compassionate grounds. As far as I know there aren't here.

I think if the AFL are serious about the integrity of the draft then they need to clamp down on players seeking a trade inside their first two years. While there will always be exceptions, for example, on genuine compassionate grounds where a change of family circumstances has occurred, the idea that a player can seek to return to his home state just to be close to family really is a cop out. In Kelly's case, he wasn't an immature 18 year old kid when drafted and he knew what he was getting himself into. His wife and three kids came with him. They don't like living in Geelong, plenty probably wouldn't. But the Cats gave him his chance in the big time and the AFL should make him serve out his contract. They have the power to refuse any trade but they also need to start enforcing the draft rules - two year minimum contracts are there to protect the interests of both player and club. Neither side should be able to tear it up at its discretion.
He hasn't said tear up my contract and Geelong haven't said we will tear up your contract.

I think you'll find Kelly has been really upfront with the club all along. He and the family have stayed in Geelong post season to try and settle in and for whatever reason it hasn't worked.

He has requested a trade, Geelong have said they will try and accomodate a trade but if it's not satisfactory that he will stay for year 2 of his contract.

That's what should happen in 99% percent of cases.

So did he - a two year contract. Time to start holding players to their contract where there are no compelling compassionate grounds. As far as I know there aren't here.

As far as I am concerned the AFL and clubs are showing contracts mean nothing. They either need to enforce them or might as well just have everyone on one year deals. That is virtually what is happening now anyway.

With Kelly like Freo with Neale and Demons with Hogan they all have 1 year left. Even though Kelly only played one year.
So if they stay they will be out of contract then its chook lotto what you get from AFL in compo.
Also media crap all year about them going.
Best to trade off the year before now to avoid that and make sure you get a deal now.
Will be the way now going forward for most clubs, if they know they will not resign sell them off a year early.

Do newspapers still exist, haven't read or seen one in a fair while, I watch zero MSM TV news/current affairs as well, all I want to know about what is going on in the world is right here on BF.
And even everything that is NOT going on in the World.