List Mgmt. 2018 Trade, Free Agency & Draft Thread MK 3 [JP✔️ JPII✔️ Hall✔️ BScott✔️ Tyson✔️ Clarke➡️ Preuss➡️]

What an absolute cluster**** of a year. Didn’t play many young guys because the view was the older guys would help us end higher on the ladder, to help attract free agents. Didn’t attract any free agents. Didn’t end low enough to get a top 5 pick, which could have ended up being pick 5 + Thomas + Scott. Attracted a solid B+ player that will cost us our first round pick and a boatload of cash.

I would have much rathered pick 5, Thomas, Scott, 15 extra games in LDU, 15 extra games in McKay, 10 extra games in Larkey, and a chance for more young guys to shine. Instead we got practically no games into young guys, no first round pick, a solid B+ ‘icing rather than cake’ style player, and a public pantsing for the second consecutive year. The only situation where flooding the team with old veterans for the whole year to limp to a middle of the table result would have been acceptable was if it resulted in Gaff, which it didn’t. Wasted year. Terrible outcome.
Holy crap. Put down the Knife and back away slowly. Everyone predicted we'd finish last and we finished ninth. A whole heap of our players (Dumont, Anderson, Daw) took massive strides forward. We identified a need in our side and targeted Polec and Hall who fulfill that need. An all Australian winger chose us as his destination club, and if he hadn't smashed someone's jaw and had actually played in the premiership he'd have been in blue and white next year for sure. I have no doubt our side next year will be better than this year. It's a setback, but we're still on the upward trajectory.

What an absolute cluster**** of a year. Didn’t play many young guys because the view was the older guys would help us end higher on the ladder, to help attract free agents. Didn’t attract any free agents. Didn’t end low enough to get a top 5 pick, which could have ended up being pick 5 + Thomas + Scott. Attracted a solid B+ player that will cost us our first round pick and a boatload of cash.

I would have much rathered pick 5, Thomas, Scott, 15 extra games in LDU, 15 extra games in McKay, 10 extra games in Larkey, and a chance for more young guys to shine. Instead we got practically no games into young guys, no first round pick, a solid B+ ‘icing rather than cake’ style player, and a public pantsing for the second consecutive year. The only situation where flooding the team with old veterans for the whole year to limp to a middle of the table result would have been acceptable was if it resulted in Gaff, which it didn’t. Wasted year. Terrible outcome.

Exactly.

Played ourself out of a superdraft. Didn’t make finals.

McKay 0 games and Thompson resigned

Clarke played a backman, and then traded

McDonald comes 5th in the B&F off the wing, then starts playing down back.

Preuss 0 games

Durdin 1 game

Interesting comment from my mate today who is connected to *.

Was whingeing about missing Gaff today and said that we have a Plan B which must be pretty bad as all the other freeagents are already spoken for. He said that even the bombers have Plan B targets that they were looking for last year that won’t free agents but didn’t want to pay the price for them at that time. They were better players that will cost a lot more. Here’s hoping that our Plan B is a good player that’s a little bit more inconvenient than a free agent.

Aight boys and girls with the news of gaff resigning I will be leaving now for an extended period. I hope when I come back that you old blokes will still be around! See you soon just for future I tip brown to kick 66 goals in 2019, kelly to return in 2020. LDU for rising star. Imma miss you guys 2D9A4127-2CEF-4509-9774-4DF4982DACA0.gif
My votes for poster of the year award
3 votes giantroo 2 votes Jindrrk and final darko cause he likes my posts majority of the time.
2AA9A5B9-8FBE-4005-BF48-C5CA5A5A77F9.gif

So let me get this straight. Lycett agreed to leave as a free agent and has changed his mind as well? Wtf is going on.
One thing's for sure, if Lycett does stay at WC, Port v Eagles next year will be must see TV. I suggest that Port use Lycett's salary cap cash to lure Dale Kickett out of retirement.

I just don't see it with Cam, nice guy I'm sure but if his dealings behind closed doors are anything like his presentation in interviews then oh boy you can see why he wouldn't be taken seriously. Would have liked to see his position given to Gubby Allen, very surprised we let him go to the saints.

How long was Gubby at the club?

Felt like all of 6 weeks then he was off.

And if he doesn't pan out? He's widely considered a 20-30 prospect in this draft pool, there's a very good chance he doesn't even make it as an AFL footballer.

Every second year is supposedly a "super draft", and no one has Scott anywhere near the top end of this one. I enjoy your posting but it's an absurd idea.

Thomas is no certainty, either is LDU. Didn't we extend LDU to 3 years before he played a game?

There are always risks, you can't succeed without taking risks.

I don't get why we just don't say, to Bailey Scott. Here is $1m as a signing bonus for year 1 if you choose us instead of Shit Coast or Sleepy Hollow. We have the cap space and it would be like getting a first round pick for nothing in this draft. Surely a wad of cash would tip the balance and it would still give us the freedom to use that $1m next year on Kelly.

out : Joyce
In : TAS

Holy crap. Put down the Knife and back away slowly. Everyone predicted we'd finish last and we finished ninth. A whole heap of our players (Dumont, Anderson, Daw) took massive strides forward. We identified a need in our side and targeted Polec and Hall who fulfill that need. An all Australian winger chose us as his destination club, and if he hadn't smashed someone's jaw and had actually played in the premiership he'd have been in blue and white next year for sure. I have no doubt our side next year will be better than this year. It's a setback, but we're still on the upward trajectory.

There’s no knife, and no need to back away from anything. I’m perfectly calm. The fact that someone doesn’t believe it’s all sunshine and lollipops and that we’ll definitely improve on last year (based on nothing but hopeful optimism) doesn’t make them suicidal. The fact remains we invested heavily in this year by way of games spent on older guys in order to attract a free agent, which we didn’t do. Polec will cost us our first round pick, so that’s not a win. Hall is pure icing on a cake that’s hasn’t been baked yet. The reality is we would have been better served biting the bullet on a tough year this year, and then aiming for improvement next year to attract Kelly, but the leadership of our club got cold feet at having to tough it out. It is what it is, but it’s a very poor outcome.

The Plan B is there is no Plan B.

It’s a gafftastrophy - wait for the dire predictions of the dullard footy journalists for next season.

More fuel for my unhinged West Coast hate - they are like a big dumb entitled idiot from a private school that never has to suffer

Just ****ing gutted

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-10-07/trade-wrap-contracted-dog-chooses-new-home

Race to 10am opening on Monday
As all 18 club representatives converge on Marvel Stadium on Monday for the beginning of 'official' talks, all eyes will be on the first trade lodged.

Among the contenders include Tiger Sam Lloyd's move to Whitten Oval, his former teammates Corey Ellis and Anthony Miles arriving at Gold Coast, Cat Lincoln McCarthy's deal to Brisbane, Aaron Hall's signing at Arden Street and St Kilda's acquisition of Demon Dean Kent.

Others to consider include Braydon Preuss (Melbourne), Tyson Stengle (Adelaide), Gary Rohan (Geelong), Kade Kolodjashnij (Melbourne), Nic Newman (North Melbourne), Aaron vandenBerg and Ryan Clarke (Sydney).

WHO'S LEAVING YOUR CLUB? All the latest retirements and delistings

Bigger deals for Dan Hannebery (St Kilda), Tim Kelly (West Coast), Mitch McGovern (Carlton), Neale (Brisbane) and Jared Polec (North Melbourne) are tipped to take longer into the week.

Decisions on where a host of players want to be in 2019 and beyond are still yet to become public. They include Giants Dylan Shiel, Lobb, Will Setterfield and Jeremy Finlayson, Port's Wingard and Karl Amon, Gold Coast's May and Melbourne's Hogan.

The official end of the NAB AFL Trade Period will fall at 8.30pm AEST Wednesday 17.

Late play for Neale?

I’d back us over lions

lol they reckon pick 4 is not enough for him. I'd give him a wide berth.

Besides, dwarves should be shot out of a cannon or set on fire by St Kilda. :stern look

How long was Gubby at the club?

Felt like all of 6 weeks then he was off.
Three months
Lasted the winter and has been at St.Kilda for a few weeks now
Waste of time it turned out to be

As far as I'm aware we haven't paid either $1m up front.

Man you are fixated with this dollar amount. As I said, it would be something like $350k per year for 3 years, front loaded $1m next year so we can use it after 2019 on Kelly. If he was a first round pick and played all 22 games he would make $200k. Stop acting like I have said give him $10m over 10 years.

I just don't see it with Cam, nice guy I'm sure but if his dealings behind closed doors are anything like his presentation in interviews then oh boy you can see why he wouldn't be taken seriously. Would have liked to see his position given to Gubby Allen, very surprised we let him go to the saints.
Joyces and Scotts have the Board Conned. When was the last time we had a thorough review of our Football Department? Posters bring up Thompson, Hardwick and Buckley when saying we should stick Phat with Scotts. Difference is that Geelong, Richmond and Collingwood all had thorough reviews of their Football Departments prior to their climb up the ladder. :stern look