2019 AFL Crowds & Ratings Thread

Fighting a losing battle on this one Mr K?

The fact is 53,000 went to a domestic Womens Football match what other female sport has ever achieved that in Australia?
That doesnt matter, because 50K watched the US womens national team in the US, ipso facto, your all cheer leaders.

Show us your pom poms.

Fighting a losing battle on this one Mr K?

The fact is 53,000 went to a domestic Womens Football match what other female sport has ever achieved that in Australia?

The Hawks & Bullies game couldnt pull 40k to a game in Melbourne, WHAT DID YOU SAY :

Very bad idea. Freo struggle to get more than 40,000 already at the new stadium and they have been in the AFL for 25 years so a new team from scratch would struggle even more!

25 years for Freo to get 40k you sneer, 200+ years of history at play cant get 40, oops!

& to your lazy back hander for our round ball international the Matildas:
Makes all the other female football codes look mickey mouse including the Soccer Matildas!

This comp will go from strength to strength over the next ten years.

The Matildas pulled over 50k at the Brazil Olympics, go & check Mr Google, unless of course you found it necessary to need to limit it to Aus NOW, it is an international team you slagged, they dont just play locally as well you know.

Lazy. lazy, lazy ..... the Khyber kid , you are blowing hard !!

The Hawks & Bullies game couldnt pull 40k to a game in Melbourne, WHAT DID YOU SAY :

25 years for Freo to get 40k you sneer, 200+ years of history at play cant get 40, oops!

The Matildas pulled over 50k at the Brazil Olympics, go & check Mr Google, unless of course you found it necessary to need to limit it to Aus NOW, it is an international team you slagged, they dont just play locally as well you know.

Well someone's blowing hard....not sure he does self awareness that well unfortunately

This thread took a turn for the bizarre...

Why on Earth are we comparing a women's olympics game to the AFLW GF? The Matildas have had some respectable crowds more recently than that olympic games. To use that as a comparison is really weakening the whole argument though, since it clearly has nothing to do with Australian sporting interests.

The Matildas are getting some very good crowds in NSW over the past couple of years - particularly in Western Sydney. Admittedly, I don't know if it's paid entry or not (it says "sold out" so I assume so), but that has a much more clear connection than a soccer game in the Rio olympics against Brazil.

The AFLW GF was a fantastic crowd. The Matildas have been getting some fantastic crowds. The real story here is that womens soccer and footy are up and about. It's a great thing for both codes and for women as a whole.

25 years for Freo to get 40k you sneer, 200+ years cant get 40, oops!

The Matildas pulled 50K to a match in Brazil?

Could it possibly be that Brazil pulled 50K to a match in Brazil? Could it be that 50K would have turned up regardless of who they were playing?
Matildas played in front of 50K, Yes
Pulled 50K, No.

The cheerleader collective ....
Mate we are all on to you.
You are a very thinly disguised troll for other codes and when you are called out you dont like it and resort to personal abuse!
BTW when your other codes do sometimes get a 40k crowd they think its xmas.

Just to let you into another little secret the AFL had 7 over 30,000 crowds over the weekend!

The Matildas pulled 50K to a match in Brazil?

Could it possibly be that Brazil pulled 50K to a match in Brazil? Could it be that 50K would have turned up regardless of who they were playing?
Matildas played in front of 50K, Yes
Pulled 50K, No.

So they played in front of 50, it has never been a secret & there is nothing mickey mouse about it.

Makes all the other female football codes look mickey mouse including the Soccer Matildas!

This comp will go from strength to strength over the next ten years.

Of course the AFL cheerleader collective will continue to equivocate .....

Mate we are all on to you.
You are a very thinly disguised troll for other codes and when you are called out you dont like it and resort to personal abuse!
BTW when your other codes do sometimes get a 40k crowd they think its xmas.

Just to let you into another little secret the AFL had 7 over 30,000 crowds over the weekend!

Not sure you can tell me anything about AFL footy, e.g your foolish remark about a 40k crowd for Freo, even the capacity of the Cattery ... do your homework. As for mickey mouse ..... the collective are on cue.

Hatred, get a life, a pathetic & ignorant attempt at a put down called out.

Fair call on the hatred and I really don't like the word at all. Good on you for calling it out no issue there at all.

Absolutely right a great day for our game, for womens sport, for SA footy.

Indeed.

Hey abcde12345, are you Brisbane based?

Just wondering whether channel 7 multis played the AFLW GF and the Lions game at the same time yesterday arvo?

Hey abcde12345, are you Brisbane based?

Just wondering whether channel 7 multis played the AFLW GF and the Lions game at the same time yesterday arvo?

Yes Brisbane based.

Honestly don't know for sure. We watch on Fox. Internet says the Lions were on the main channel and the AFLW was on 7mate though.

Yes Brisbane based.

Honestly don't know for sure. We watch on Fox. Internet says the Lions were on the main channel and the AFLW was on 7mate though.

Ahh, OK fair enough

23K is very impressive on 7 Mate is impressive for Brisbane anyway but particularly given it was up against the Lions as

AFLW had a high FTA/Fox ratio as well. Tends to indicate that it's more of a new audience as opposed to hard core footy fans (Although most footy fans on Fox were watching the North v Lions game).

Also doesn't help the AFLW that the North Lions game was a pretty close contest while the AFLW game was super one-sided.

Let's not turn into league unlimited lads, just keep it about footy, lets not worry about other codes.

As a general proposition, you are quite right, but when women's footy is pulling such good ratings, and getting a monster crowd to boot, well, how best to understand how big the numbers are than to compare to other mens sport on the weekend?

Problem is it turns into a dick measuring contest and we start getting nonsense talk. Look i don't like NRL, certianly don't like soccer but i keep it to myself. This thread is about our crowds and we should just worry about ourselves and not fall into the trap of constantly having to snipe others.

2019 AFL Crowds & Ratings Thread