2019 AFL Crowds & Ratings Thread

Thursday night really seems to struggle for crowds. It does not really get much bigger than this game, so I’d have to think it’s a bit disappointing.
I'll be interested to see what my team pulls next thursday against the cats, 46k against them in the same timeslot last year, hopefully a similar number next week.

Its still surprising that the supposed two biggest teams in the comp cant pull over 80K on a perfect night.Imagine if it was a dirty night weather wise - maybe 50k tops?
Two biggest teams? Collingwood yes but Richmond??? If the Blues or Bombers won last week like Richmond did and played the Pies there would of been closer to 80K tonight.

Please stop with ur continuous undermining posts centered towards Richmond you have been trying your hardest to talk Richmond down on several threads on the main board and now here it just makes you look salty,.
Lol your assuming if ess or blues played tonight im telling you if it was ess or blues their would be less.

Secondly 71K on a Thursday with work and school next day (2 weeks in a row for us) takes its toll on families. Don't be so naive.

Tonight being our home game we had more than the pies, so Im not sure what you're trying to achieve by your salty post but come back if you can ever top the home and away attendances like we have in 3 of the last 4 years.

Im not sure if you got lost but i think the bay is more suited to your level of posting.

Thursday night really seems to struggle for crowds. It does not really get much bigger than this game, so I’d have to think it’s a bit disappointing.
Picking the same club for Thursday twice in a row wouldn't have helped either.

Now that Richmond are a mortal side again our crowds and membership will dip, much like Collingwood in 2012.

TV Audience Richmond V Collingwood:

FTA:
Melbourne:
Adelaide: 92,000
Perth: 70,000
Sydney: 25,000
Brisbane: 23,000

Regional: 211,000

Fox: 228,000

Total: 1,068,000

Please stop with ur continuous undermining posts centered towards Richmond you have been trying your hardest to talk Richmond down on several threads on the main board and now here it just makes you look salty,.
Lol your assuming if ess or blues played tonight im telling you if it was ess or blues their would be less.

Secondly 71K on a Thursday with work and school next day (2 weeks in a row for us) takes its toll on families. Don't be so naive.

Tonight being our home game we had more than the pies, so Im not sure what you're trying to achieve by your salty post but come back if you can ever top the home and away attendances like we have in 3 of the last 4 years.

Im not sure if you got lost but i think the bay is more suited to your level of posting.
I'm being salty look at what you posted.. just stating my opinion in the crowd thread.
😚

On a Friday night and with no transport disruptions,yes,add another 20k onto the crowd.

TV Audience Richmond V Collingwood:

FTA:
Melbourne:
Adelaide: 92,000
Perth: 70,000
Sydney: 25,000
Brisbane: 23,000

Regional: 211,000

Fox: 228,000

Total: 1,068,000

Almost disappointing numbers to be honest

I guess people would have been switching off in the last quarter but it was hardly that one-sided

I'm being salty look at what you posted.. just stating my opinion in the crowd thread.
😚

When you open your post with ??? on Richmond who are you trying to convince, yourself? with 100K members, topping home & away attendances i think we should leave that there. Secondly, put that game on a Friday or Sat like we did last year RD 19 V pies when we got close to 90K
My opinion is your post reeks of undermining the tiges and btw what do i have to be salty of lol im the one replying to your post which as stated came across salty, anyway dont want to go in circles we'll agree to disagree and leave it there.

Last night's crowd did nothing to dissuade me from my view that Thursday night football is a terrible idea for crowds, in Melbourne in particular. If it's a special event like the season opener or when it's ANZAC eve no worries, but on a regular night you're turning thousands of people off attending, which is never a good idea.

When you open your post with ??? on Richmond who are you trying to convince, yourself? with 100K members, topping home & away attendances i think we should leave that there. Secondly, put that game on a Friday or Sat like we did last year RD 19 V pies when we got close to 90K
My opinion is your post reeks of undermining the tiges and btw what do i have to be salty of lol im the one replying to your post which as stated came across salty, anyway dont want to go in circles we'll agree to disagree and leave it there.
I do not want to go in circles either but a minority of Richmond supporters brag on about them being the biggest club. And when they get reminded that there are several clubs bigger than Richmond they all get personal and go on about 100K members blah blah.

Look you won the flag 18 months ago and doing well on and off the field but going back to the topic of last night crowd yeah! had it been Blues or Bombers it would of drawn 75 to 80k.

Almost disappointing numbers to be honest

I guess people would have been switching off in the last quarter but it was hardly that one-sided
Bar the FTA in Melbourne, a bit down than expected. Surprised by the fox numbers 228,000, funnily the NRL got the same and yet there match went down to the wire.

NRL got poor foxtel numbers too, given it was field goal decided. Aggreagate under 500K seems very low for a Thursday night....but Wookie will now demonstrate that is perfectly normal I'm sure!

I do not want to go in circles either but a minority of Richmond supporters brag on about them being the biggest club. And when they get reminded that there are several clubs bigger than Richmond they all get personal and go on about 100K members blah blah.

Look you won the flag 18 months ago and doing well on and off the field but going back to the topic of last night crowd yeah! had it been Blues or Bombers it would of drawn 75 to 80k.

Have a look at manicmagpie a poster who i must admit says it like it is. You'll learn a thing or 2 about being unbiased. You have to be blind freddy to think that double up Thursday games didnt impact the attendance. Wake up and start understanding that Thursday games unless its the season opener arent favourable for families and country supporters plus work and school next day too.
Can you show me examples of all the times you have played pies or bombers v pies on a thurs night in the season and hit 80K and over?
Look im not going to go on with a hater like yourself about whos the biggest club etc i am talking solely about the Thurs night game schedule.

Last night's crowd did nothing to dissuade me from my view that Thursday night football is a terrible idea for crowds, in Melbourne in particular. If it's a special event like the season opener or when it's ANZAC eve no worries, but on a regular night you're turning thousands of people off attending, which is never a good idea.

Don't talk logic mate the AFL dont like it. And to think the MCG is free on sat :rolleyes:

Have a look at manicmagpie a poster who i must admit says it like it is. You'll learn a thing or 2 about being unbiased. You have to be blind freddy to think that double up Thursday games didnt impact the attendance. Wake up and start understanding that Thursday games unless its the season opener arent favourable for families and country supporters plus work and school next day too.
Can you show me examples of all the times you have played pies or bombers v pies on a thurs night in the season and hit 80K and over?
Look im not going to go on with a hater like yourself about whos the biggest club etc i am talking solely about the Thurs night game schedule.
I don't hate any club, actually have a soft spot for Richmond my elderly parents are Richmond supporters and was so happy for them when they one the GF. Even decked out the family home in yellow and black at their request.

Collingwood did play Carlton on a Thursday night after 4 day break in the 90's and got 83k. Point is in my opinion Blues and Bombers would of got 75 to 80K not over 80k due the same reasons you previously mentioned. I will leave it there but pity about Riewold, don't like seeing older players getting injured.

I don't hate any club, actually have a soft spot for Richmond my elderly parents are Richmond supporters and was so happy for them when they one the GF. Even decked out the family home in yellow and black at their request.

Collingwood did play Carlton on a Thursday night after 4 day break in the 90's and got 83k. Point is in my opinion Blues and Bombers would of got 75 to 80K not over 80k due the same reasons you previously mentioned. I will leave it there but pity about Riewold, don't like seeing older players getting injured.

I was just going to mention this as a terrible example

That was the Collingwood centenary match which also coincided with the opening of the new Southern Stand.

It was the epitome of a special occasion and had a huge build up, fireworks and pre game lap of Carlton and Collingwood champions.

It's not a valid comparison at all...

https://afltables.com/afl/stats/games/1992/030419920507.html

Carlton should stick to trying to compete with Collingwood, Richmond, Essendon and dare I say it Hawthorn, which in the case of home ground attendance against non big 4 opposition and club membership are leaving Carlton to dust.

Carlton is extremely fortunate that it has a number of marquee fixtures (like round 1) which has done much to feather its attendances despite a considerable slide in off field strength over the last 20 years.

Its interesting that for the 125th year anniversary game in 2017 the crowd attendance (on a much more supporter friendly Saturday Afternoon) was significantly lower then the centenary match. No doubt, despite being an extremely high drawing fixture Carlton v Collingwood no longer holds the same lure as it once did.

Whether Carlton can return to the same heights it had in the 1990's remains to be seen, certainly I never thought Richmond would (I have been proven wrong on this) but its interesting that despite having not won a final for 15 years and having a similar slide in on field fortunes Essendon has proven itself much more resilient and has been much more successful in keeping pace with Collingwood, Hawthorn and Richmond in the off field arms race.

The Carlton vs Essendon discussion is an interesting one, both have been managed terribly through the ASADA scandal and salary cap cheating yet Essendon has proven itself time and again to be a club that can generate massive crowds, grow its membership substantially and generate massive profits in spite of its incompetence. They've even be able to build their membership in spite of Docklands (which North, St Kilda, the Dogs and Carlton have all failed to do in a meaningful way).

In that way I think Richmond and Essendon are quite similar (as Richmond had a similar build up in the 2010-2016 period before their explosion following the premiership).

Carlton by comparison seems to be a club that is in a malaise.

It says 38,000 on the app. Must be the train work mentioned before

That record will get broken soon though, it's more indicative of us playing Hawks at Tassie and Ethiad all the time.

The best for the Hawks v Dogs at the MCG is just 47,474 in 2010

Although interestingly the last 3 games all at Docklands have drawn healthy crowds (46,808 in 2016, 48,090 in 2017 and 35,320 in 2018).

Remarkably, Hawks and Dogs havent played in an MCG home and away game since 2011. Much has changed in that time, with both teams having won 4 flags between them

2019 AFL Crowds & Ratings Thread