2019 AFL Crowds & Ratings Thread

MCG predicting:

58k for Melb / Ess
58k for Coll / WC
35k for Haw / Nth

They’ve been pretty accurate so far.

Would be WC’s 2nd highest H&A crowd in Melbourne behind the 62k against Collingwood in 2012, next best 55k against Essendon in 1999.

Anything over 55k would be the highest Ess/Melb crowd since 2000.

Would be WC’s 2nd highest H&A crowd in Melbourne behind the 62k against Collingwood in 2012, next best 55k against Essendon in 1999.

Correct. If only the Bombers / Dees had been more respectable the last 2 weeks with a win each and this would’ve shaped as something well towards 70,000 with a massive MCC walk up. I’m surprised they’re saying 58,000 tbh.

Yeah I'd be surprised (hope I'm wrong) that this game will get to the 58k MCC are predicting. Both teams coming off 2 losses - at least one team (hopefully Melbourne) will break their duck.

Correct. If only the Bombers / Dees had been more respectable the last 2 weeks with a win each and this would’ve shaped as something well towards 70,000 with a massive MCC walk up. I’m surprised they’re saying 58,000 tbh.

It’s been over 55 years since this fixture has got to 70k with only 3 games of 60k+ in that time. The closest is the 2000 game which was 62k. I’d suggest it would need more than a win each going in to get to 70k, but anything’s possible.

Incidentally, I know it’s not a massive shock given their record over the last 50 years plus the fact that they had access to the biggest ground much earlier than everybody else, but I still find it remarkable that most of Melbourne's biggest crowds versus every other Vic team (& Sydney/South) were set over 50 years ago and only 1 is from the last 20 years.

1554100311037.png

^ remarkable record. I wonder what the Fitzroy/Brisbane record is? Might find it's the oldest of the lot.

The combined record is against Brisbane - 36,396 from 2010.

Their highest ever crowd against Fitzroy was only 33,758 and was set in 1983.

And thats with a US population of 360 million compared to our puny 25 million and only 1.6 million in Adelaide
what!!!!!!

What does that have to do with anything?

whatever.
Incidentally, I know it’s not a massive shock given their record over the last 50 years plus the fact that they had access to the biggest ground much earlier than everybody else, but I still find it remarkable that most of Melbourne's biggest crowds versus every other Vic team (& Sydney/South) were set over 50 years ago and only 1 is from the last 20 years.

View attachment 646310
Is that just for Melbourne Home H/A games

Shocked by the North figure. I guess it makes sense as they both have never been good at the same time.

AFL
Round 2 of the 2019 AFL Season finished with good ratings being reported by Seven for both Hawthorn v Western Bulldogs and the AFL Womens Grand Final. A total of 4.549 million viewers watched the mens footy over 9 matches with 2.996 million watching on Seven/7mate and 1.553 million watching on Foxfooty or Foxsports. Friday nights Sydney v Adelaide clash was the top drawer with 1.073 m total viewers.

AFL Ratings are up in Sydney (+22%), Melbourne (+13.5%), down in Brisbane (-1.5%), up in Adelaide (+12.7%) and down in Perth (-12.7%). Although this time last year, we'd had the public holiday clash on Easter Monday as well. Regional ratings are up 33%, and Foxtel is up 1.2%

AFLW
The AFLW Grand Final attracted 409,000 viewers nationally (+71% on 2018). This included 321,000 in the metro areas (+58%), broken down into the following - Sydney 20k, Melbourne 154k, Brisbane 23k, Adelaide 91k, and Perth 33k) The womens finale rated 88,000 regionally.

Streaming on 7plus was up 59% on 2018, while Foxtel rated 73,000. (not publicly reported last year)

It’s been over 55 years since this fixture has got to 70k with only 3 games of 60k+ in that time. The closest is the 2000 game which was 62k. I’d suggest it would need more than a win each going in to get to 70k, but anything’s possible.
Unfortunately you can’t really look at this fixture the last 20 years for a true guide to its pulling power. Both Essendon and Melbourne have been a non factor in majority of the years since 2000 and have rarely met together whilst both are having good years together. Interestingly the majority of those crowds between 50-55K occurred when one or both teams have been low on the ladder. Good crowds given form lines.

If you look back, most Essendon V Melbourne games draw very well considering form and ladder positions.. Have a look and you will see for yourself these fixtures draw well. These clubs have the largest MCC following and this underscores a strong crowd almost every time. I can only think of one ordinary crowd at the G about 4 years ago but that was effected by a day where rain fell all day. It’s like the Richmond V Melbourne fixture until recently where these clubs despite poor ladder positions consistently drew 45-55K.

A match up between Essendon and Melbourne, with both teams a finals factor, on a fine Friday is a 70,000 draw. If 58,000 turn up this Friday this would basically prove this point.

When Essendon really get rolling, the crowds will be enormous.

Unfortunately you can’t really look at this fixture the last 20 years for a true guide to its pulling power. Both Essendon and Melbourne have been a non factor in majority of the years since 2000 and have rarely met together whilst both are having good years together. Interestingly the majority of those crowds between 50-55K occurred when one or both teams have been low on the ladder. Good crowds given form lines.

If you look back, most Essendon V Melbourne games draw very well considering form and ladder positions.. Have a look and you will see for yourself these fixtures draw well. These clubs have the largest MCC following and this underscores a strong crowd almost every time. I can only think of one ordinary crowd at the G about 4 years ago but that was effected by a day where rain fell all day. It’s like the Richmond V Melbourne fixture until recently where these clubs despite poor ladder positions consistently drew 45-55K.

A match up between Essendon and Melbourne, with both teams a finals factor, on a fine Friday is a 70,000 draw. If 58,000 turn up this Friday this would basically prove this point.

But in 2000 Essendon were undefeated and Melbourne were third when you met.

And it drew over 62,000 on a Sunday as a Melbourne home game. I’m not trying to create a tit for tat with this. Simply if Essendon played Melbourne in a match at the G on a fine Friday night with high stakes it’s a 70,000+ crowd.

If they are going to stick with that Sunday time slot they should play only 2 Sunday games and have the 3 oclock game at a ground that will definitely not host (ie scg for the moment, Etihad, Tasmania etc)

Problem with that slot, and it nearly arose this year, is if a WA team hosts. It would result in either an Under 10s-style morning start in Perth, or playing it later and still being left with a TV clash despite all schedule-shuffling attempts.

I think the best way around that is to fix the grand final to a 4.05pm AEDT opening bounce, and having the men's games get underway at like 1.10pm and 1.25pm. If Ch 7 could re-allocate one of their No AFL Sundays (in Victoria) to that weekend, everybody wins.

Just make it a sunday 620edt start time and have a fri night double header for mens and six on super saturday and one sunday early. And that sunday early is either tassie, ballarat etc
Wouldn't deter me personally but that seems like a good way of hurting both the turnout and Channel 7's ratings.

Problem with that slot, and it nearly arose this year, is if a WA team hosts. It would result in either an Under 10s-style morning start in Perth, or playing it later and still being left with a TV clash despite all schedule-shuffling attempts.

I think the best way around that is to fix the grand final to a 4.05pm AEDT opening bounce, and having the men's games get underway at like 1.10pm and 1.25pm. If Ch 7 could re-allocate one of their No AFL Sundays (in Victoria) to that weekend, everybody wins.

That's a good point.

I'd go a step further than Billy Ray even and have no men's games on the Sunday at all.

i.e. one Thursday, two Friday and 6 Saturday

Given everything (i.e. the earlier time, up against a men's game, horrendously one-sided) the ratings surely encouraged CH7 that this game could smash it in the late arvo Sunday time slot

2019 AFL Crowds & Ratings Thread