Prediction 2019 "Hypothetical Trade, FA, random player you wish we could get" thread..

Who will you be happy with Hawthorn landing?

• Patton

Votes: 164 71.0%
  • Finn Maginness

Votes: 198 85.7%
  • Greenwood

Votes: 48 20.8%
  • Frost

Votes: 111 48.1%
  • Bonar

Votes: 66 28.6%
  • Pepper

Votes: 35 15.2%
  • Cox

Votes: 36 15.6%
  • Petracca

Votes: 77 33.3%
  • Elliot

Votes: 68 29.4%

Reckon the Patton deal may balance out with something else in the works.
Dee's up to something after getting 8. Considering that we traded pick 50 and a future second and got in Frost, Patton and picks 42 and 61 I wonder if there is evening out to happen across the board. As much as I would love getting that pick I just cant see how

Would think that unless we have another deal with one of our players moving out to bring in another pick that ends the chatter of Bonar too. If we were getting him without shuffling our picks or a player out to bring in a pick then it would of happened at the same time. Just my opinion

An interesting fact about Bigfooty is that if you removed all posts about needing a heap more serious talent in order to win premierships, Hodgeyroad would drop from 15,088 posts to only 12 posts.

And you'll be hearing a lot more about it when super coach Clarkson doesn't go close to another flag in the next 3 seasons.

Crap.
Reports surfacing that Port are trading pick #10, with #12 and #18 going back them.
I reckon Port will take Finn, however, this is actually good for us, as we can Match with our next pick inline plus what ever points are needed, meaning we can fully use pick #11 in the draft.
Why would stkilda trade out of pick 6 into 12 and 18 only to trade back into 10?

Dee's up to something after getting 8. Considering that we traded pick 50 and a future second and got in Frost, Patton and picks 42 and 61 I wonder if there is evening out to happen across the board. As much as I would love getting that pick I just cant see how
Reckon the Dees could be looking at getting Wines

Why would stkilda trade out of pick 6 into 12 and 18 only to trade back into 10?
basically 10 will be part of the Hill deal. Gave them the ability to get Ryder and Howard in too

Start of the period they were offering 6 and a second for Hill and Freo wanted two firsts. Splitting 6 gave them the option to get them all in for that pick 6 plus sweetener like next years first or something

Time will tell, hopefully I'm wrong but we'll judge in 36 months time I suppose.

If he never wins another premiership, in your eyes he's not a 'super' coach?
He's a legend already for mine, as in AFL legend.
You can only beat the pants off your contemporaries in a way nearly no other coach has, for a period as long as he has, before things change.
The message that works with one generation might not work for another.
The game changes in a way that you can't account for with your understanding of all that has happened in your time in it.
Other coaches and teams get to be good as well.
No coach goes on forever with endless success. Popovic is the greatest basketball coach of all time for mine, but he too can only coach the players his team assembles, and sometimes the other crew is just better. He will exit the game having not looked even likely to be a serious contender for a world championship in the last 6 + years of his tenure.

Clarko is a ****ing Superior coach, that's better than Super, and you can check back with me in 36 months to confirm.
;)

Sheesh HODGEYROAD your being harsh. From the day Clarko walked in the door we have seen a competitive Hawthorn off field, on field, week after week, season after season with and without the cattle.

Now competing within the AFL's socialist era of, ambassador payments, 'unequalisation', academies and compromised drafts etc the club is fighting around the fringes to put a winning side together. We are not going to yield despite the AFL's shitty playing field.

Which ever way it goes it is a marvelous time to be a Hawk fan. I really find it difficult to criticise the club given the way the the league is structured, as the HFC is doing everything they can to be competitive. Nothing but admiration for mine.

According to Cal Twomey Dees were trying to trade pick 3 for a pick later in the top 10 and another top pick but instead did it this way. Keen on Cody Weightman after missing on Jamie Elliott
Big risk though to hope he's available at their pick (he should be) but risky play for something that's not certain.

If he never wins another premiership, in your eyes he's not a 'super' coach?
He's a legend already for mine, as in AFL legend.
You can only beat the pants off your contemporaries in a way nearly no other coach has, for a period as long as he has, before things change.
The message that works with one generation might not work for another.
The game changes in a way that you can't account for with your understanding of all that has happened in your time in it.
Other coaches and teams get to be good as well.
No coach goes on forever with endless success. Popovic is the greatest basketball coach of all time for mine, but he too can only coach the players his team assembles, and sometimes the other crew is just better. He will exit the game having not looked even likely to be a serious contender for a world championship in the last 6 + years of his tenure.

Clarko is a ******* Superior coach, that's better than Super, and you can check back with me in 36 months to confirm.
;)

Brilliantly said, in another thread I said for all NBA followers I've likened us to the San Antonio Spurs. Expecting a few 5-8 finishes next few seasons before Clarko rides off into the sunset.

Sheesh HODGEYROAD your being harsh. From the day Clarko walked in the door we have seen a competitive Hawthorn, on field, week after week, season after season with and without the cattle.

Now competing within the AFL's socialist era of, ambassador payments, 'unequalisation', academies and compromised drafts etc the club is fighting around the fringes to put a winning side together. We are not going to yield despite the AFL's shitty playing field.

Which ever way it goes it is a marvelous time to be a Hawk fan. I really find it difficult to criticise the club given the way the the league is structured, as they are doing everything they can to be competitive. Nothing but admiration for mine.

I think people are misinterpreting what I said a touch, he's a brilliant coach as shown in 2018 by somehow finishing top 4 with the group we had, but much the same as the current day San Antonio Spurs brilliant coaching only gets you so far.

Brilliantly said, in another thread I said for all NBA followers I've likened us to the San Antonio Spurs. Expecting a few 5-8 finishes next few seasons before Clarko rides off into the sunset.

The only difference is, I reckon Clarko might be even better than Pop.
If Clarko can re-invent his message, or game style, or use of assistants to get the mojo going again, he will have once again found a way to re-climb an everest no other coach has ever managed.
Over such separated playing groups and eras.

If that happens, you've got to come back and say it was churlish and unfair, and you'll sit at the knee of the great one as his loving man servant for all time as penance. :tearsofjoy:

I think people are misinterpreting what I said a touch, he's a brilliant coach as shown in 2018 by somehow finishing top 4 with the group we had, but much the same as the current day San Antonio Spurs brilliant coaching only gets you so far.

San Antonio lost the best 2 way player in the NBA by mismanaging his injury and alienating him. If they'd handled that better, this wouldn't be an issue. They'd still be challenging.

This is all in a much more player oriented sport too. Coaches have a lot less impact on a game of basketball than they do on a game of AFL footy; almost 4 times the amount of active players on the field, no time outs.

In the NBA, talent is far more important. It's not even a comparison that can be made.

San Antonio lost the best 2 way player in the NBA by mismanaging his injury and alienating him. If they'd handled that better, this wouldn't be an issue. They'd still be challenging.

This is all in a much more player oriented sport too. Coaches have a lot less impact on a game of basketball than they do on a game of AFL footy; almost 4 times the amount of active players on the field, no time outs.

In the NBA, talent is far more important. It's not even a comparison that can be made.

Yeah that part is true regarding the Spurs, don't disagree with any of what you've said in that tbh, but I still think when push comes to shove in any sport at the pointy end talent really comes to the fore unless its a Leon Cameron Led GWS.

It depends, I'm not of that opinion. I think the more you have going on, the more important coaching and game plan is. A game like tennis you live and die by your talent and your ability to work hard, because it's just you out there. Sports like the NFL and the AFL, there's so many people and so much going on that strategy and game plan is at the forefront.

It's a bit of a digression but look at the start of WWI, countries trying to acclimate to warfare that was driven by hundreds of thousands as opposed to thousands. Tactically it changed things. You couldn't just run towards each other and meet in the middle anymore.

With a salary cap in the AFL ensuring that all teams have a somewhat equitable amount of talent, the detail work and the strategy is super important. Richmond are unbeatable at their best but it's just as much guys like Castagna doing the damage as it is Cotchin or Riewoldt, but Castagna isn't on their level talent wise.

He performs a role that is important to that team; he "gets on base".

Apparently Bonar on a good wicket so teams arent really coming for him on his current deal. GWS wanting a pick in the second round also doesnt help. Teams not sure he came on this season obviously only getting a couple of games.

There also hasnt been a single mention of Cedric Cox since this period started. Is he a DFA chance or is he still in contract?

Graeme Wright been 15 minutes away from joining Trade Radio for about 45 minutes now...must be busy
Probably just trying to delay doing the interview until 3 so he can get Kane and Plough instead of Derwayne and the bogan red head.