Preview 2019 Qualifying Final - Cats v Pies, 7:50pm Friday

Who will win?

Haven't really seen any evidence of that yet, though, have we? Last-minute positional changes heading into finals haven't worked out too well in the past.
True. At least he showed a glimmer of forward craft last game. Would probably be there at the expense of Atkins who hasn't troubled the scoreboard much in his stint as a pressure forward recently. Tuohy may threaten the goals more while applying similar pressure.
Otherwise he is surplus to requirements. Over to the MC :think:

CS has well admitted to liking the work Tuohy is doing on the forward line.
It solves the issue of him being in defence, plus he has some accuracy and speed.
Solves the issue of [Tuohy] being in defence?!
If we are thinking he is an issue in defence then surely the place for him is in the stands, not in the forward line.

He is totally unconvincing as a forward, in my books. Defensive pressure forward or otherwise.

Solves the issue of [Tuohy] being in defence?!
If we are thinking he is an issue in defence then surely the place for him is in the stands, not in the forward line.

He is totally unconvincing as a forward, in my books. Defensive pressure forward or otherwise.
The issue being that some posters here don't want him in defence. In fact, at times this year, and last, I've felt that. But he does have something that we should use.
Doesn't matter what we think of him in defence, or forward, as long as he does what the coach wants.

I liked your heat map analysis of Rougheads from earlier. If he plays forward* that's where he'll start (same positioning as Cox btw). Closer to your traditional pocket where he'll work up to half forward. Full forward will be one of the 4 I mentioned above. Mihocek will start traditional CHF or HF. Ball movement for us hasn't been an issue the last month but finals footy and Geelongs defensive mechanisms will make that interesting. The ball movement will be critical to the outcome.

*It'll be interesting to see if we send one of Roughead or Moore forward. And who it'll be. We may opt for a small forward line and play them both back. We're all guessing.

Yeah very interesting game on paper two really contrasting styles of play. Collingwood is no.1 ranked for disposals in the league at about (405) geelong is mid table around (366) the pies average about (104) marks per game to geelong (90)

I know geelong play a very rigid style of gameplan why this matchup fascinates me Collingwood will get ample opportunities to score but the way your forward line is setup it's pretty much exactly what geelong love to do behind the ball. Strangle the middle of the ground through numbers defensive side of the ball and push sides wide then force a bail kick long down the line. I totally expect collingwood to win the clearances or first possession and Geelong to win the intercepts.

Several switch defenders Stewart & Taylor realistically play a plus one role and cover a side of the ground with Blicavs serves as your focal point.

So it means Collingwood are looking for short hit ups a lot as the primary scoring source geelong love that game style because of the ability to roll off and backwards. And it really negates a dangerous portion of the ground or require silky players like pendlebury or sidebottom breaking you open by skill those are percentages you can handle.

Both sides generate very similar inside 50 numbers over the course of the year Pies (52) Gee (52.2) shots per game.

The contrast comes in with aggressive ball movement when forward of centre if you look at the contested ball counts geelong averages (150) contested possession to coll (147).

Geelong Stoppage clearances (28.4) to pies (25.2) overall clearances ( 40) to pies (36) a game.

But these numbers are all relatively close I think if you look at disposals per goal geelong ( 27.32) Coll (32.68) & then disposals per scoring shot geelong ( 15.25) coll (17.39) you can start to see the trends in how both sides look at the game offensively.

Geelong are aggressive forward of centre trusts the defensive mechanism from half back we can halve a lot of contests or create enough pressure to stop clean counterattacks.

The intrique I get from this game statistically is back of centre geelong have very slow ball movement when forced backwards. As I said rigid gamestyle it's like a choking a snake push sides wide take the corridor and therefore make the scoring avenues narrower.

But collingwoods high possession style and loaded forward pressure means the ball probably gets locked in the pies forward half a lot and they like to work the ball around through hands and short kicks a lot. So will they just overpower and wear the cats down slowly as we know takes a lot of energy to play like this behind the ball so you need to give the defence a break winning your share in the forward half. The cats won't be willing too press high up the ground vs the pies is my guess too dangerous over the back.

So continually over 4 quarters will geelong create enough offense from half back to be able to break the pies open. Collingwood's defensive numbers are excellent and not far behind geelong in terms of being scored against very well drilled.

So I personally think 12 goals will win this game I would be shocked if a side kicked (90) plus points. Or if you see a margin over 20 points either way.

It's just very interesting to me stylistically because both sides are very defensive just go about it through very different methods.

It's also a reason geelong struggles in finals just the predictability of how the cats like to operate behind the ball. It's one plan and not a lot of variation to that plan so will it be good enough no idea

I honestly have no idea who win this game most of the other games I would lean towards a side. It's going to be a cracker can't wait to see it live

Yeah very interesting game on paper two really contrasting styles of play. Collingwood is no.1 ranked for disposals in the league at about (405) geelong is mid table around (366) the pies average about (104) marks per game to geelong (90)

I know geelong play a very rigid style of gameplan why this matchup fascinates me Collingwood will get ample opportunities to score but the way your forward line is setup it's pretty much exactly what geelong love to do behind the ball. Strangle the middle of the ground through numbers defensive side of the ball and push sides wide then force a bail kick long down the line. I totally expect collingwood to win the clearances or first possession and Geelong to win the intercepts.

Several switch defenders Stewart & Taylor realistically play a plus one role and cover a side of the ground with Blicavs serves as your focal point.

So it means Collingwood are looking for short hit ups a lot as the primary scoring source geelong love that game style because of the ability to roll off and backwards. And it really negates a dangerous portion of the ground or require silky players like pendlebury or sidebottom breaking you open by skill those are percentages you can handle.

Both sides generate very similar inside 50 numbers over the course of the year Pies (52) Gee (52.2) shots per game.

The contrast comes in with aggressive ball movement when forward of centre if you look at the contested ball counts geelong averages (150) contested possession to coll (147).

Geelong Stoppage clearances (28.4) to pies (25.2) overall clearances ( 40) to pies (36) a game.

But these numbers are all relatively close I think if you look at disposals per goal geelong ( 27.32) Coll (32.68) & then disposals per scoring shot geelong ( 15.25) coll (17.39) you can start to see the trends in how both sides look at the game offensively.

Geelong are aggressive forward of centre trusts the defensive mechanism from half back we can halve a lot of contests or create enough pressure to stop clean counterattacks.

The intrique I get from this game statistically is back of centre geelong have very slow ball movement when forced backwards. As I said rigid gamestyle it's like a choking a snake push sides wide take the corridor and therefore make the scoring avenues narrower.

But collingwoods high possession style and loaded forward pressure means the ball probably gets locked in the pies forward half a lot and they like to work the ball around through hands and short kicks a lot. So will they just overpower and wear the cats down slowly as we know takes a lot of energy to play like this behind the ball so you need to give the defence a break winning your share in the forward half. The cats won't be willing too press high up the ground vs the pies is my guess too dangerous over the back.

So continually over 4 quarters will geelong create enough offense from half back to be able to break the pies open. Collingwood's defensive numbers are excellent and not far behind geelong in terms of being scored against very well drilled.

So I personally think 12 goals will win this game I would be shocked if a side kicked (90) plus points. Or if you see a margin over 20 points either way.

It's just very interesting to me stylistically because both sides are very defensive just go about it through very different methods.

It's also a reason geelong struggles in finals just the predictability of how the cats like to operate behind the ball. It's one plan and not a lot of variation to that plan so will it be good enough no idea

I honestly have no idea who win this game most of the other games I would lean towards a side. It's going to be a cracker can't wait to see it live

The teams that have beaten or worried us this year have defended the corridor and forced us wide and straight. If we want to win we can't fall into that because we have no dominant long target. Geelong does this really well so it'll be a challenge. I reckon it'll come down to who imposes their game style on the other the most effectively. That isn't particularly insightful but its true I think.

Small wonder that supporters of all stripes have come to despise the media and it's hacks. By now it shouldn't surprise to see the ludicrous and malicious "put the mozz" piece about the Cats on the AFL website. It's up to the players and coaches who prevails on any given game day, not some w***er who needs to write some crap to justify his or her paycheck.

The least nervous I’ve been about a final in a long time.
I don’t see the point of winning which gives us another week off we don’t want and playing Richmond at the G.
Reckon we are a better chance going the other route to a GF.
I’m quite confident we can win 2nd up against the eagles or bombers.

That was my general feel based on the flow of the discussion 👍

It’s definitely a mix that will trouble us more than most others would because of the combination of speed and ball winning. Narkle and Parfitt in particular concern me if you can win enough ball on the inside.

A lot of water has gone under the bridge since Rd 1 for both teams so this one should be a ripper and the only close one of the weekend, IMO.

Chris Scott questions the impact of Collingwood playing underdone stars in blockbuster
Collingwood could have four massive inclusions for their Qualifying Final clash with Geelong, but Cats coach Chris Scott wonders if that’s too many players who lack match fitness as the mind games begin.

Collingwood will back in Jordan De Goey’s excellent first-up record from injury as Chris Scott put the Pies’ list of underdone stars firmly on the finals agenda.
Geelong coach Scott believes Geelong will dodge any issues over its post-bye performance by training strongly through the bye in a manner contrasting the mid-season break.

He said yesterday he expected Gary Ablett to play on next year, and believed Tom Atkins would return to the Cats’ team after minor hand surgery saw him miss Round 23.

Scott said he expected De Goey (hamstring), Darcy Moore (hamstring awareness) and Jaidyn Stephenson (suspension) to play alongside Steele Sidebottom (ruptured testicle).

But he did throw up the poser of how many players a team could pick without regular football under their belt.

“I would be very surprised if they didn’t (play), he said.

“It’s not really for me to think about, it’s more of a challenge for them to work out how many underdone guys is too many but it tends to be a pattern when you have got highly talented players, they tend to find a spot for those guys.”

A lot of water has gone under the bridge since Rd 1 for both teams so this one should be a ripper and the only close one of the weekend, IMO.

Chris Scott questions the impact of Collingwood playing underdone stars in blockbuster
Collingwood could have four massive inclusions for their Qualifying Final clash with Geelong, but Cats coach Chris Scott wonders if that’s too many players who lack match fitness as the mind games begin.

Collingwood will back in Jordan De Goey’s excellent first-up record from injury as Chris Scott put the Pies’ list of underdone stars firmly on the finals agenda.
Geelong coach Scott believes Geelong will dodge any issues over its post-bye performance by training strongly through the bye in a manner contrasting the mid-season break.

He said yesterday he expected Gary Ablett to play on next year, and believed Tom Atkins would return to the Cats’ team after minor hand surgery saw him miss Round 23.

Scott said he expected De Goey (hamstring), Darcy Moore (hamstring awareness) and Jaidyn Stephenson (suspension) to play alongside Steele Sidebottom (ruptured testicle).

But he did throw up the poser of how many players a team could pick without regular football under their belt.

“It’s not really for me to think about, it’s more of a challenge for them to work out how many underdone guys is too many but it tends to be a pattern when you have got highly talented players, they tend to find a spot for those guys.”
Mind games my Aunt Fannie.
The players and coaches are now in intense focus mode and don't have time for this crap.

The least nervous I’ve been about a final in a long time.
I don’t see the point of winning which gives us another week off we don’t want and playing Richmond at the G.
Reckon we are a better chance going the other route to a GF.
I’m quite confident we can win 2nd up against the eagles or bombers.

*puts phone down walks away quietly*

You do realise if Richmond win that puts us in the prelim with them if the cats lose after going through via west coast.

And collingwood get Brisbane, WB, GWS at the MCG

I mean seriously if you wanted to take the most difficult route humanly possible sure by all means run a marathon

Steele Sidebottom played round (22)
Darcy Moore played 76mins round (23)

So it's only degoey who comes in completely underdone. Stephenson scenario is completely different as he could train the whole time and had a hitout in the VFL.

Scott just can't help himself he loves being in the headlines

Remember when he did this exact same thing with Lachie Henderson and played him forward.

Selwood after ankle surgery the joel variety.

Small wonder that supporters of all stripes have come to despise the media and it's hacks. By now it shouldn't surprise to see the ludicrous and malicious "put the mozz" piece about the Cats on the AFL website. It's up to the players and coaches who prevails on any given game day, not some w***er who needs to write some crap to justify his or her paycheck.

Dont know what you mean... very even handed without anything in their mind other than being informative... :rolleyes:

Late-season malaise
Chris Scott's team will attempt to become the first in 103 years to win a premiership after losing five of its last 10 games before the finals.

The Cats, whose alternating win-loss-win-loss pattern has stretched to 11 games, also face a century-old League hoodoo to claim the flag after failing to win successive home and away games on the run home.

By rights, Geelong actually stands to become the first team in the League's 122-year history to achieve both feats if we discount the efforts of two long-ago premiership teams who triumphed in unusual circumstances.

Chris Scott's team will attempt to become the first in 103 years to win a premiership after losing five of its last 10 games before the finals.

Post-bye syndrome
No matter what they've tried, the Cats don't seem to have been as hungry after a rest.

During Scott's nine-year reign as coach, Geelong has lurched to a pitiful 1-11 record after a week off.

Finals jitters
Scott guided the Cats to the 2011 premiership in his first season at the helm, and since then they have continued to defy gravity by making the finals in all but one season. But there's no escaping the fact they have largely been September flops.

Minor premiers, major problems
Geelong has claimed its first minor premiership in 11 years, but in recent times the No.1 position has become something of a poisoned chalice, given the past five minor premiers have failed to win the flag.

In fact, just six of the past 23 teams that have been the top-ranked qualifier have gone on to claim the premiership.

The losingest No.1 team in history
Geelong claimed an obscure League record this season, enduring the most home and away losses while on top of the ladder.

The Cats held top billing from rounds two to 21, regaining that status in the last round, and suffered an unprecedented six losses while sitting in first position.

The 1-11 thing off the bye ... how often have we played a club who was also off the bye? How often is it coming pre finals... do we count R1 of the season.. ?

This is the biggest self fulfilling neg vibe brain baffler stat there is ... clubs play off 5 days and 9 days .. ..but just like the finals record the stat becomes more of a burden than than obstacle to overcome...

Are we really saying that we come into finals like a waking sleep kid ..all groggy and bunny suited ..?

WE are hardly a side full of young guns... we have mature players who should feel great about having the week off to ensure their bodies are at their best..

WE should have the target of winning contested ball and getting to q time infront... and from there the game rolls on..