Preview 2019 Qualifying Final - Cats v Pies, 7:50pm Friday

Who will win?

RE: Pubic Service Annoucement for Friday night, for those catching pubic transport/trains from Geelong

Basically, be prepared to be screwed unless you want to head to Melbourne earlier in the day. Things to note, our game starts at 7:50pm, while across the road at AAMI Park, Melbourne Storm will be playing with their game starting at 7:55pm

From Geelong Addy:

Geelong footy fans could face a very tight squeeze on the way into Friday night’s qualifying final due to no extra V/Line trains running.
Around 92,000 footy fans are set to pack out the MCG for the final blockbuster between Geelong Cats and Collingwood.

But fans who opt to take the train to Southern Cross from Geelong might be squashed in like sardines, as a normal train timetable will apply with trains running every 20 minutes.

Public Transport Minister Melissa Horne confirmed to the Geelong Advertiser three additional V/Line services would run after the game on the Geelong line, with additional carriages added to the 11.30pm service.

However, no extra trains will be running to the game which starts at 7.50pm.

Public Transport Users’ Association spokesman for Geelong Paul Westcott said the decision was “unusual” as extra trains had previously run for other footy games.

“It’s unusual that there aren’t extra trains to the game,” he said.

“Obviously after the game the demand is pretty high and going to the game the demand is a bit more spaced out.

“But even when other teams are playing — teams that have a reasonable degree of support they will put on extra trains, so it is strange.

“Last week, there was an extra train even when Geelong weren’t playing in Melbourne.”

The Addy understands the decision to not run additional trains to the game follows from last year, with carriages maintaining “ample” room.

In another commuter blow, an MCC spokesman confirmed the Yarra Park car park would be closed for “safety and security reasons” on Friday night.

“The Melbourne Cricket Club (MCC) strongly advises fans attending Friday night’s Qualifying Final at the MCG to use public transport to get to the stadium and arrive early,” he said.

“The car park is closed for safety and security reasons for marquee matches where crowds are expected above 80,000.”

Limited parking will be available for accredited and disability permit holders via Gate 3, but the spokesman confirmed this option was “subject to change” and also “weather dependent”.

Nine train services will run from Geelong to Southern Cross between 3-6pm.

Key departure times after the game from Southern Cross station to Geelong after the game include: 10.54pm, 11.10pm, 11.20pm, 11.30pm, 11.50pm and 12.15am.

For further details visit: ptv.vic.gov.au

Just need VicRoads to announce they're doing night works on the West Gate now, and we'd have hit the jackpot.

Well exactly, I almost stopped watching after 1990, it was the end of a journey and more importantly it was a day I'd come to believe I would never see before I died. You went through exactly the same thing if you are old enough, decades without a flag and the GF losses starting to mount, we felt cursed! but I walked out of the G that day and I couldn't feel my body, that expression walking on air is based on something real, dopamine serotonin, I don't know what it was but my body felt weightless, it was like a religious experience. 2010 was like a bonus DVD after you watched the main movie, I just couldn't feel the same way about it.
So I don't really care how many I see, I've seen the one that matters, the one I prayed for

I understand what you mean - breaking a drought - the joy you get etc etc - however after youve won a few - ( and youve seen the losses and the wins ) my view is that the Premiership winning teams get miles too much credit in the grand scheme of things

You take your side Collingwood - i actually went to the 1970 Grand Final ( and Coll should have been 12-14 goals up at half time -it was a massacre - but were inaccurate and left the door ajar ) Now even though Coll didnt win the flag that year - i still rate that 1970 Coll side as a great side - and it was a great side - with alot of topline players . You contrast that to 1990 ( and that team wasnt in the same street as your 70 side re talent ) it won a flag - however i thought it was just a side - 3-4 weeks from the finals that year Haw flogged you by about 15 goals out at Waverly - that type of stuff didnt happen to your 70 team - i can remember as a kid you kept Carlton to 2 goals one day at Victoria Park

So the 1990 side gets all the credit - they are marvelled over - however when i think of great Coll teams i immediately think of 1970 - i dont think of 1990

Its like Geel this year - if they somehow win the flag - i will be very happy - but its just a team - nothing great about it at all

RE: Pubic Service Annoucement for Friday night, for those catching pubic transport/trains from Geelong

Basically, be prepared to be screwed unless you want to head to Melbourne earlier in the day. Things to note, our game starts at 7:50pm, while across the road at AAMI Park, Melbourne Storm will be playing with their game starting at 7:55pm

From Geelong Addy:

Geelong footy fans could face a very tight squeeze on the way into Friday night’s qualifying final due to no extra V/Line trains running.
Around 92,000 footy fans are set to pack out the MCG for the final blockbuster between Geelong Cats and Collingwood.

But fans who opt to take the train to Southern Cross from Geelong might be squashed in like sardines, as a normal train timetable will apply with trains running every 20 minutes.

Public Transport Minister Melissa Horne confirmed to the Geelong Advertiser three additional V/Line services would run after the game on the Geelong line, with additional carriages added to the 11.30pm service.

However, no extra trains will be running to the game which starts at 7.50pm.

Public Transport Users’ Association spokesman for Geelong Paul Westcott said the decision was “unusual” as extra trains had previously run for other footy games.

“It’s unusual that there aren’t extra trains to the game,” he said.

“Obviously after the game the demand is pretty high and going to the game the demand is a bit more spaced out.

“But even when other teams are playing — teams that have a reasonable degree of support they will put on extra trains, so it is strange.

“Last week, there was an extra train even when Geelong weren’t playing in Melbourne.”

The Addy understands the decision to not run additional trains to the game follows from last year, with carriages maintaining “ample” room.

In another commuter blow, an MCC spokesman confirmed the Yarra Park car park would be closed for “safety and security reasons” on Friday night.

“The Melbourne Cricket Club (MCC) strongly advises fans attending Friday night’s Qualifying Final at the MCG to use public transport to get to the stadium and arrive early,” he said.

“The car park is closed for safety and security reasons for marquee matches where crowds are expected above 80,000.”

Limited parking will be available for accredited and disability permit holders via Gate 3, but the spokesman confirmed this option was “subject to change” and also “weather dependent”.

Nine train services will run from Geelong to Southern Cross between 3-6pm.

Key departure times after the game from Southern Cross station to Geelong after the game include: 10.54pm, 11.10pm, 11.20pm, 11.30pm, 11.50pm and 12.15am.

For further details visit: ptv.vic.gov.au

Thanks, I'd heard they were going to feck us up somehow. People finishing work at five should prepare to imitate sardines.
I wonder, would it have been the same pathetic response if we'd won a home final?

I think a certain ex Collingwood head / would be journalist might be perusing theses pages.
Pretty much direct quotes after the fact.
Either that or we're smarter than we think we are.

I understand what you mean - breaking a drought - the joy you get etc etc - however after youve won a few - ( and youve seen the losses and the wins ) my view is that the Premiership winning teams get miles too much credit in the grand scheme of things

You take your side Collingwood - i actually went to the 1970 Grand Final ( and Coll should have been 12-14 goals up at half time -it was a massacre - but were inaccurate and left the door ajar ) Now even though Coll didnt win the flag that year - i still rate that 1970 Coll side as a great side - and it was a great side - with alot of topline players . You contrast that to 1990 ( and that team wasnt in the same street as your 70 side re talent ) it won a flag - however i thought it was just a side - 3-4 weeks from the finals that year Haw flogged you by about 15 goals out at Waverly - that type of stuff didnt happen to your 70 team - i can remember as a kid you kept Carlton to 2 goals one day at Victoria Park

So the 1990 side gets all the credit - they are marvelled over - however when i think of great Coll teams i immediately think of 1970 - i dont think of 1990

Its like Geel this year - if they somehow win the flag - i will be very happy - but its just a team - nothing great about it at all
If Tuddy hadn't knocked McKenna out (I was there too, mum and I got in on ladies tickets just asking the members if they had a spare) after kicking 8 goals it may have been different, he didn't kick one after halftime

The 1970 team was the best I've seen but it had a fatal flaw, no CHF, Jerka Jenkins lined up there and relieved Thompson but he was a shit truck ruck, not a key forward. 1990 was a weird one, Manson Gayfer Turner are some of the most ordinary players to win a flag but they all lifted and played beyond themselves.. Our CHF was Crosisca (a half back flanker) and our FF was Gavin Brown (a winger/mid) but it had Daics as well for a bit of flair... the current side is very similar but more the 3rd or 4th best team, 1990 we were clear 2nd

And I don't see your team that way at all... the stars have aligned to bring Danger Yablett Selwood baby Huey and that new kid you are trying to hold onto together and they are all in form, it's the best shot since 2011

If Tuddy hadn't knocked McKenna out (I was there too, mum and I got in on ladies tickets just asking the members if they had a spare) after kicking 8 goals it may have been different, he didn't kick one after halftime

The 1970 team was the best I've seen but it had a fatal flaw, no CHF, Jerka Jenkins lined up there and relieved Thompson but he was a s**t truck ruck, not a key forward. 1990 was a weird one, Manson Gayfer Turner are some of the most ordinary players to win a flag but they all lifted and played beyond themselves.. Our CHF was Crosisca (a half back flanker) and our FF was Gavin Brown (a winger/mid) but it had Daics as well for a bit of flair... the current side is very similar but more the 3rd or 4th best team, 1990 we were clear 2nd

And I don't see your team that way at all... the stars have aligned to bring Danger Yablett Selwood baby Huey and that new kid you are trying to hold onto together and they are all in form, it's the best shot since 2011
That 90 team was very fortunate in one sense. The draw meant Essendon effectively had 3 weeks off, and sentimental Sheedy insisted on all 4 Danihers playing the last H & A game together, giving at least 3 players effectively a 4 week rest as it turned out. Collingwood did well to endure the replay game, but Essendon was so underdone- that was unprecedented.
The 70 Pies team and the 77 Pies team were awesome teams. I loved watching them play. But tbh, that 90 team was not the most attractive, yet very effective.

That 90 team was very fortunate in one sense. The draw meant Essendon effectively had 3 weeks off, and sentimental Sheedy insisted on all 4 Danihers playing the last H & A game together, giving at least 3 players effectively a 4 week rest as it turned out.
yes... that was hilarious from the supercoach :D

I know you guys have a lot of players out, but you'd know better than I, as to how many best 22 you'll have missing? I've maintained all year that if you guys had minimal injuries like us, you'd be 5 goals better than anyone.
Best 22 missing the finals:
Dunn
Langdon
Cox
Beams
Wells
Reid
Sier
Not a big fan of Langdon. His hesitancy with the ball slows us down when we should be transitioning into attack.
Off the field Sier is an undisciplined and foolish young buck, but so is Stephenson for that matter. JDG was also a problem child for awhile there also.
Beams mental state worries me. Makes me wonder how much good football we can now get from him.
Wells and Reid are finals wild cards. If either gets a game and don't break down during the match they could be a winning factor.
Wish we had Dunn in our back six right now but that is not going to happen. May have played his last game.
Cox would have been a handy psych against the Tiggers. Hope his eye recovers 100%

We have to win 3 matches either way. Just don’t believe it’s anywhere near over if we lose.
I consider WCE, Bris (a) an easier task than Collingwood and Richmond on there home grounds being completely outnumbered.
GF Day is more neutral.

Obviously I’m predicting Brisbane to beat Richmond whom I consider a completely different side away from the G.

Anyway look I’m gonna concede because what idiot is going to want to lose a final haha
I just won’t be acting like it’s all over should we lose this week and i’ll be looking at reaching a GF as still very achievable.

Same. Pies did it last year.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Burbank.

Remember what board you are on please.

Go Catters
If you'd like to join in SoCal GF festivities with a couple of hundred fellow Aussies why not hit the 405 South and make new friends. The beer is cold and the pizza hot.
Irvine, California - Hosted by: Orange County Bombers
7:30pm PDT
Original Pizza II - 2675 Irvine Ave, Costa Mesa, CA 92627
Event Poster
Join us Friday September 28th at Original Pizza II in Costa Mesa for Orange County’s biggest and best AFL Grand Final viewing party! Free entry and fun guaranteed!!!

Remembering Varcoe in the 2011 GF, I was chuffed to have him in Pies colours. He is a ripper! Love how he sets up fellow team mates to score. Both Elliott and Thomas benefit greatly from Varcoe's smarts.

Like my Pies in 2011, you are now Minor Premiers, yet there seems to be an insidious malaise at the Cattery. Ironic that CFC, whom WHO you so handily dispatched in 2011, now embarks upon this finals series with so many more missing or iffy fit key players yet far more positive mindset by coach and supporters. It now comes down to the players of these two great clubs. May the best team on the day win.

'Whom' should be used to refer to the object of a verb or preposition.

😊😊😊

Unsure if posted already?

"No extra V/Line trains planned for Geelong-based fans heading to Cats v Pies qualifying final
Thousands of Geelong footy fans could face a tight squeeze on the way into Friday night’s AFL qualifying final after revelations no extra V/Line trains are planned to ferry people to the MCG.

Public Transport Minister Melissa Horne confirmed to the Geelong Advertiser three additional V/Line services would run after the game on the Geelong line, with additional carriages added to the 11.30pm service."

https://www.geelongadvertiser.com.a...l/news-story/37fbfc72db0c63ce84f6db130fbb58bb

Compared to Richmond supports I have almost become fond of Collingwood supporters.

Living in Sydney + taking my darling Mum to Swans' games, I was petrified of Pies fans! Their behaviour was atrocious!

At one game, some Pies' fans grabbed a Swans' supporter, who was mentally slow + shoved him head first into a blocked toilet. The poor guy was so distressed + humiliated. Wonderful result though, my Mum spoke to Barassi, who arranged new clothes, including a guernsey signed by some of the Swans' players + he had some players spend time with him.

At half time in the 11GF I was kidnapped by Pies' fans 🙀🙀🙀 I was so terrified. Anyhooo, they forced beer + Winnie Reds upon me + were absolutely charming. One woman said she was so happy they were playing Geelong, because our supporters were so lovely + friendly. I thought to myself: 'That's because we're scared s***less* you're going to savage us!'.

The 11GF win put an end of my horror + hatred of Pies.

But I'm quite keen to discover if that would be the case if we defeated Hawthorn in a GF?

Thanks, I'd heard they were going to feck us up somehow. People finishing work at five should prepare to imitate sardines.
I wonder, would it have been the same pathetic response if we'd won a home final?

What would finishing at 5 do?
Traffic will be going against you....
The reason they aren't running extra to the game is because the Geelong line runs at no more than 20 minute services, you bump the 5/6 different services to 6 cars and you're done.
Trains don't go to Richmond anymore so that's all you need to do.
It's just shit that there's 2 massive games on at the exact same time.

Living in Sydney + taking my darling Mum to Swans' games, I was petrified of Pies fans! Their behaviour was atrocious!

At one game, some Pies' fans grabbed a Swans' supporter, who was mentally slow + shoved him head first into a blocked toilet. The poor guy was so distressed + humiliated. Wonderful result though, my Mum spoke to Barassi, who arranged new clothes, including a guernsey signed by some of the Swans' players + he had some players spend time with him.

At half time in the 11GF I was kidnapped by Pies' fans 🙀🙀🙀 I was so terrified. Anyhooo, they forced beer + Winnie Reds upon me + were absolutely charming. One woman said she was so happy they were playing Geelong, because our supporters were so lovely + friendly. I thought to myself: 'That's because we're scared s***less* you're going to savage us!'.

The 11GF win put an end of my horror + hatred of Pies.

But I'm quite keen to discover if that would be the case if we defeated Hawthorn in a GF?

You can get idiots following any club... there is no iq test before they hand out scarfs and hats at the cats shop.

I have known a multiple of Pies supporters , one all my life who is quite close to me .. been to many games together and we always have a understanding of each other which buttons to push an which ones not to , and enjoy the experience as much as the result. One of my fondest memories is him dragging me out of Vic park before we got in a blue , some black and white clad barrickers were starting to get grumpy cause of geelong coming from behind , now winning and my verbose support of the cats , especially Mansfield as he kicked a heap in the second half. Of course I have known others , especially those who live in geelong that hated geelong with all the venom them could muster. Its sometimes a failure to grasp by those who live outside geelong that half the football followers in town go for other teams.. and yet media is catscatscatscats .... and it tends to be sun on sunburn to them... Generally Collingwood supporters have the residue of their historical domination but that is tempered by the years of disapointments and hard losses from the 60's on.. Hawthorn supporters on the other hand ....

Best 22 missing the finals:
Dunn
Langdon
Cox
Beams
Wells
Reid
Sier
Not a big fan of Langdon. His hesitancy with the ball slows us down when we should be transitioning into attack.
Off the field Sier is an undisciplined and foolish young buck, but so is Stephenson for that matter. JDG was also a problem child for awhile there also.
Beams mental state worries me. Makes me wonder how much good football we can now get from him.
Wells and Reid are finals wild cards. If either gets a game and don't break down during the match they could be a winning factor.
Wish we had Dunn in our back six right now but that is not going to happen. May have played his last game.
Cox would have been a handy psych against the Tiggers. Hope his eye recovers 100%
Cheers mate. 7 players is a heap to have out, yet you keep managing to handle it.

re: the trains. VLine are stretched in peak with the number of trains they have. It sucks, but that’s what underinvestment does.