2019 Trade thread

Geez, you’ve got Matt Rowell saying going to the Suns won’t be “too daunting” as the most positive thing he can say, and Greenwood’s manager openly saying the Suns were his safety fallback option after Brisbane didn’t offer enough.

Sucks a bit of oxygen out of the positivity of the rescue package.
He also said if it’s the Gold Coast I’ll really look forward to it and grab the opportunity along with "It would be really exciting if both of us could go up to the same club."

I think you are way off the mark. I think he was very much groomed in Hodges role and he has a brilliant Footy IQ for a guy his age. whether he is the back-line general next year is up for debate, but he is very much a guy who is capable of that role, he is always giving out instructions and him and Hodge chat the whole game. I also think he doesn't do an excessive amount of social media? not sure what you're implying there? stay away from cameras? he has done a few posts during the last couple of weeks but not a serial offender throughout the year. He keeps a pretty low profile. I agree he can and should improve his running but he will never be a great runner / line breaker, his disposal is his tool. He has just finished his third year of football and we get an extremely, high level, professional service from him given how young he is. I think he needs to add a few more strings to his bow but we are generally on an absolute winner there, came in at an astonishingly high level and has been a big contributor to our rise.
He definItaly has the pinpoint pass to the corridor ability to further develop, and can read the flight of the ball well and spoil so I think he can play the role well to stop players from getting out the back too.

Geez, you’ve got Matt Rowell saying going to the Suns won’t be “too daunting” as the most positive thing he can say, and Greenwood’s manager openly saying the Suns were his safety fallback option after Brisbane didn’t offer enough.

Sucks a bit of oxygen out of the positivity of the rescue package.

Yes and no. What’s important is getting them there.

Can’t run out of sight on a dark night witherdon . Huge ego from what I have seen and regularly gives his team mates sprays when he doesn’t live up to the same standards . Hope I’m wrong but I genuinely think he reads his own press too much and it’s no surprise that him and his mate Rayner aren’t the fittest blokes rolling around and they live together standards not exactly being set.

Might want to lay off the assumptions and potshots. Your posting is quite appalling.

Pretty personal post regarding a player you probably haven't met. Plenty of assumptions being made.

Maybe reflect on whether that's fair.

Still would hate for NRobbo to go but hard to argue with him going home to WA. Would save his old man on flights for finals at least.

Is Papley worth similar to what we paid for Charlie? Pick 12?

He’s probably performed better than Charlie had before he was traded but has less upside as a small forward.

Still would hate for NRobbo to go but hard to argue with him going home to WA. Would save his old man on flights for finals at least.

Is Papley worth similar to what we paid for Charlie? Pick 12?

Probably has the ability to play in the midfield for longer periods than Charlie but is not quite as damaging.
With him being contracted for a longer period, I very much doubt they will get away with paying much less.

I think pick 12 is about spot on for Papley.

The 4 year contract complicates things but I was genuinely surprised that the consensus on the main board was that pick 8 was the basement for Papley's value.

Hello all sorry if I'm intruding at all, just thought I'd ask a bit about Nick Robertson since he's been linked to a move to us. Is he any good? What kind of player is he?

Runs hard and long. Ragdolled buddy a few years ago and it was pretty cool. His Dad is lovely and posts on bigfooty a lot.

His big knock in my opinion is his disposal under pressure but honestly he's gotten better with that. Might be good on a Wing when Hill and Langdon leave.

Everything I said is fact . He is not an elite runner and he regularly gives team mates sprays during the game when he doesn’t do half the stuff himself .
You have something in common with 42% of Americans. They can't distinguish fact and opinion either.

Everything I said is fact . He is not an elite runner and he regularly gives team mates sprays during the game when he doesn’t do half the stuff himself .

It is fact... in your opinion. Yes he does communicate on the field to his team mates, like most of our players out there. You can't say he doesn't do half the stuff himself when you dont even know what he is saying to his team mates. So it is your opinion he doesn't do what is required.

Projected as a big bodied midfielder with elite endurance when we drafted him but he's turned into more of a utility type who we've mostly used as a medium defender in his recent senior appearances.

Pretty personal post regarding a player you probably haven't met. Plenty of assumptions being made.

Maybe reflect on whether that's fair.

I met him

He put in appearance at my grandson's Under 10 match at Morningside Footy Club 6 a couple of months ago and spoke to the players from both sides at half time. Just general encouragement and smiles all round

He spent the second half watching the game from behind the goals.

I said hello to him when he came back on the ground to give the players another pat on the back at full time

I only had a brief interaction with him but he seems like a ripper bloke, No arrogance or sense of entitlement that I could detect. To the contrary, he seemed a pretty quiet and humble guy to me.

I met him

He put in appearance at my grandson's Under 10 match at Morningside Footy Club 6 a couple of months ago and spoke to the players from both sides at half time. Just general encouragement and smiles all round

He spent the second half watching the game from behind the goals.

I said hello to him when he came back on the ground to give the players another pat on the back at full time

I only had a brief interaction with him but he seems like a ripper guy. No arrogance or sense of entitlement that I could detect. Actually he seemed a pretty quiet and humble guy to me.

Is this fact or opinion though?

The 4 year contract complicates things but I was genuinely surprised that the consensus on the main board was that pick 8 was the basement for Papley's value.

Paps is a great player, can't see him being traded for anything less than 8, I'd be asking more to be honest given he's contracted for a few more years.

Go to the stats section of the AFL site & do a player to player comparison of Tom Papley & Jordan De Goey.

Edit* and just to clarify, I'm not saying he's as good as De Goey, it's just handy to see them compared side to side.

2019 Trade thread