Opinion 2020 Draft picks 1/9/22/23/40/56/66/80 (2021 + Melb 2nd, 4th, Haw 4th)

which mythological creature you think would win in a fight, Bigfoot or Santa?

Nov 24, 2007
DTC Frat House
Team Lambda Variant

Crows Draft Hand Tweet

KEY DATES

Oct 30 – Nov 6: AFL Free Agency Period
November 4 – 12: AFL Trade Period
November 20: List Lodgment 1
November 27: List Lodgment 2
November 30: AFL Draft Nominations close
w/c December 7: NAB AFL Draft and Rookie Draft (exact date to be confirmed in due course)
Mid-December: Final List Lodgment & TPP estimates​

As God is my witness, finding anything useful on the AFL.com.au site is practically impossible, may whoever designed it burn in hell.

Did he also mention something along the line, even tho they will stick with the talent order, there are some considerations with local and balance,
Miss that part of that conversation, had to answer a message on another PC.
He did. Said we add a weighting to SA talent followed by a few buts...

Then said we also need to consider balance.

Which I took to mean the gaping hole in our midfield.

gotta love geelong supporters...going onto the GWS board and hanging sh1t on us for getting Hately in the PSD..saying that we are not acting in good faith. The flogs should look in the mirror re Dangerfield and trading out that 1st for Henderson before the trade went ahead for Dangerfield

Most entitled club and supporters in the land.

Just heard an interesting Pick trade, no proof or any cred, but thought I put it up,
I still would not take it but it sounds OK,
Pick 1 and 23 for Sydney pick 3 and 2021 1st rd pick,
We don’t need to add the 23. Pick 1 after all. 3 and their next years 1st would work.
then trade that 2021 1st to GC for 5, and take Hollands and Grainger Barras, move McAsey forward. Another elite mid at 9.

Yea Our Midfield is a problem not only in 2021 but Liard and Sloane are on the back end, Keays is a workhorse but B grade at best, leaving only M Crouch and the Kids
So unless are kids make the Jump we will not have a Midfield in 2022,

Correction made to M Crouch

Yea Our Midfield is a problem not only in 2021 but Liard and Sloane are on the back end, Keays is a workhorse but B grade at best, leaving only B Crouch and the Kids
Think you'll find B Crouch will have a low output for us 😉

Yea Our Midfield is a problem not only in 2021 but Liard and Sloane are on the back end, Keays is a workhorse but B grade at best, leaving only B Crouch and the Kids
I'm still holding a little bit of faith in Nicks being serious when he said we really want a fast versatile type that can play through the midfield

I.e. Hollands 🙏

One of the knocks you often hear on the monster forwards/rucks that get picked up in the top 10 is that after spending their draft and underage year beating up kids in the junior ranks, some of them don’t develop the skill set to translate that dominance to AFL level.

Forunate then (if we do go down that path) that Thilthorpe has been playing against men in the SANFL all year, hopefully that has taught him a few things and reduced the likelihood of developing any lazy habits.

Might also have meant the gaping hole in our forward department class wise with Tex closing in on the end, Himmelberg still too early to call he's truly "arrived" and Frampton only ever recruited as Ruck/Forward insurance?

Not with the same level of class, silky one handed pick ups, nailing targets by foot off both feet and slotting goals from 55.

Can also get talls with later picks.
Agree Holland’s is the star, however Macrae is getting no love, and he is brilliant on both feet and looks a clone of his brother who just made all Australian.
Is the drop off from Holland’s to MacRae/Bruhn less than McDonald/Tillthorpe to any other talls.

Might also have meant the gaping hole in our forward department class wise with Tex closing in on the end, Himmelberg still too early to call he's truly "arrived" and Frampton only ever recruited as Ruck/Forward insurance?

So what you're saying is we need to draft more defenders then?

Possibly. I tend to look at us and North Melbourne as quite similar in recent times. An unwavering belief in tall lead up forwards and a bull inside dominated midfield.

I don't think it has gotten either of us very far.

You really need those classy running types that can play midfield, burst out and hit targets in F50 or push forward and kick snags.

That's where the game has evolved to imo.

So what you're saying is we need to draft more defenders then?
What I'm saying is what we think will in the end have no influence on whoever we may take so why push one way or the other when it comes to mids or forwards...For the record I'm all for mids and mid/forwards that have speed, acceleration from the contest and a degree of versatility....acceleration the No.1 ingredient.

Bickley pushing for a KPF at pick 1: But will you take a mid with pick 9 Reidy?

Reid: Look Bickley, there are 3 or 4 talents we're looking at with pick 1.
The whole media "They've settled it between 2" is a load of rubbish IMO. They won't have ruled Hollands or even Phillips out yet.

Possibly. I tend to look at us and North Melbourne as quite similar in recent times. An unwavering belief in tall lead up forwards and a bull inside dominated midfield.

I don't think it has gotten either of us very far.

You really need those classy running types that can play midfield, burst out and hit targets in F50 or push forward and kick snags.

That's where the game has evolved to imo.
I'm hoping like hell Jones can start doing that on a regular basis. With Hately in there it does give us a different look, and im sure we'll give Milera more of a run too.

I think our forwardline needs more star power too though, which is why we need another pick inside 6. I'd throw almost anything at the Suns to get 5. Take Hollands at 1 and hope Thilthorpe is still there at 5

Can we still delist any contracted players to improve our draft. Eg Davis, Seedsman. I feel they will get limited time if any.

I'm hoping like hell Jones can start doing that on a regular basis. With Hately in there it does give us a different look, and im sure we'll give Milera more of a run too.

I think our forwardline needs more star power too though, which is why we need another pick inside 6. I'd throw almost anything at the Suns to get 5. Take Hollands at 1 and hope Thilthorpe is still there at 5
Mate that would be ideal.

I have deep concerns about Milera tbh. When he gets on the park he seems to overthink everything. Rabbit in the headlights stuff.

Left? Right? Left? Right? Bang.

Need a coach that will unburden him and give him really simple instructions/a licence to play.

Q: Would Thilthorpe be in the discussion for #1 if he wasn't from SA? Would any club outside SA select him at #1?

We know that the club gives additional weighting to selecting players from SA, if they are in a group of similarly rated players. However, if the SA weighting is what's getting him into the group in the first place, then we shouldn't be selecting him.

My understanding, removing the SA factor, is that JUH is a clear #1, followed by Hollands & Logan (split only by whether you want KPF or a midfielder), with Thilthorpe in the next group back.

Mate that would be ideal.

I have deep concerns about Milera tbh. When he gets on the park he seems to overthink everything. Rabbit in the headlights stuff.

Left? Right? Left? Right? Bang.

Need a coach that will unburden him and give him really simple instructions/a licence to play.
His contract extension atm looks a bomb.

Can we still delist any contracted players to improve our draft. Eg Davis, Seedsman. I feel they will get limited time if any.
We can... but it's highly unlikely that we will at this stage. If that was going to happen, then it would have happened when we announced the delistings after the exit interviews.