List Mgmt. 2020 Draft Thread

Bulldog and Sydney NGA's won't attract compo. They may cause a shuffling of the order. If I was a betting man I'd bet Doggies & Sydney will trade their 1st round picks.

As to FA's, scuttlebutt is that Couch won't generate more than an end of 1st round pick. Jezza likely the only player whose salary would generate a higher than ladder position pick. Williams could.

Yep, Madge is still a Cat B and needs a senior list spot for 2021.

EDIT: What Apex said....
If Sydney’s Academy player isn’t going to be picked up before their pick 3 then no way will they trade it.

If they even consider it, we should be all over trying to get it.

If Sydney’s Academy player isn’t going to be picked up before their pick 3 then no way will they trade it.

If they even consider it, we should be all over trying to get it.

Yeah, he's in the discussion for a lot of the top 5's but where exactly is hard to say. Shame the Hawks won and Sydney lost as they dropped another spot. Pick 4 or 5 might have made them very nervous.

Highlights clips always look good but that one in particular was pretty good. Definitely one to consider based on that.

What I took from that is that he looks genuinely dual sided. No hesistation and very natural on his left side. I assume he's a righty as most of his set shot were right footed. But if you didn't know it would be hard to tell. I much rather see this in a player than blokes trying to kick bananas in general play coz they get stuck on their opposite foot

Who are the FA's on the move that will merit a front of 1st round pick as opposed to a later pick (after their current pick, end of 1st round etc)?

None of them - there isn't really provision for that in normal FA compensation, as band 1 compo is a pick immediately after your first round pick. Despite all the brouhaha about the Buddy compo nothing was ever done in that respect.

The only way it happens is if the AFL deems a club needs further assistance and nobody is in that category currently.

Highlights clips always look good but that one in particular was pretty good. Definitely one to consider based on that.

Yep massive tick for mine - he's wiry at the moment but solid enough through the core and certainly not afraid of contact.

Its about time we got some naturally skilled players through the door and I think Cox would be a good fit. Also has work ethic in spades which is another massive plus.

Yep massive tick for mine - he's wiry at the moment but solid enough through the core and certainly not afraid of contact.

Its about time we got some naturally skilled players through the door and I think Cox would be a good fit. Also has work ethic in spades which is another massive plus.
Think his Dad played some AFL footy too

You dont often see a key position player kicking off both sides of the body as naturally as he does, looks the goods
He’s legit ambidextrous, I don’t think he’s a right or a left footer. He actually took set shots in those highlights on both feet lol

If we missed out on a KPP for our first pick but were miraculously able to draft Phillips, I would still be thrilled tbh. Phillips, Reef and Daicos in 2021 would terrify opposition midfields for the next decade. We’d definitely need to try to take a chance on a slider like Baldwin later in the draft though (assuming clubs are scared off by his knee).

Phillips looks good but Campell looks a flipping weapon Sydney have done it again.

Phillips looks good but Campell looks a f*n weapon Sydney have done it again.
Hard for us to complain, we’ve done bloody well over the past few years with the NGA. I’ll start complaining again once they take bidding rights for NGA’s away and keep the northern rorts as they are.

Read he only runs a 3.17 20m time. Is it a concern?

DGB looks like the next Naughton. Hopefully he falls to us.

There are a number of instances of him running past or away from away from opponents in those highlights, so I don't think pace will be a massive concern.

Also seems to have his fair share of spatial awareness and footy smarts which will help at AFL level.

The key thing though is that he hasn't even remotely filled out in his underage year and it's physical power leads to improved speed, so I'm not the concerned about a lack of speed over short distances now.

Hard for us to complain, we’ve done bloody well over the past few years with the NGA. I’ll start complaining again once they take bidding rights for NGA’s away and keep the northern rorts as they are.

Well we got Quaynor and Atu, but as for star only Quaynor fits it.

They have got Heeney, Mills and Blakely as top 5 or so first round talents to date and now Campell.

What I took from that is that he looks genuinely dual sided. No hesistation and very natural on his left side. I assume he's a righty as most of his set shot were right footed. But if you didn't know it would be hard to tell. I much rather see this in a player than blokes trying to kick bananas in general play coz they get stuck on their opposite foot

Yep. Really nice disposal off both sides. I was actually surprised when he kicked on the right at one stage.

I know they we’re planning on playing him back this year based on reports but he kinda looks like a CHF to me. For 199cm he seems ok in traffic and leading up at the ball and I reckon he’ll deliver inside 50 well.

There are a number of instances of him running past or away from away from opponents in those highlights, so I don't think pace will be a massive concern.

Also seems to have his fair share of spatial awareness and footy smarts which will help at AFL level.

The key thing though is that he hasn't even remotely filled out in his underage year and it's physical power leads to improved speed, so I'm not the concerned about a lack of speed over short distances now.

It does improve but usually quick people also get quicker as they strengthen and improve their builds. I just get turned off a bit if they arent at least in the 2.90 - 2.99 ranges as they rarely go from 3.17 down to under 3.

List Mgmt. 2020 Draft Thread