Prediction 2020 Fixture

How I would do the 2020 Fixture

1 - Brisbane Lions - Optus Stadium - Sunday, March 22 - 4.20pm
2 - Essendon - Marvel Stadium - Sunday, March 29 - 1.10pm
3 - Geelong Cats - Optus Stadium - Saturday, April 4 - 6.10pm (7)
4 - Sydney Swans - Optus Stadium - Friday, April 10 - 6.10pm
5 - GWS GIANTS - GIANTS Stadium - Saturday, April 18 - 4.35pm
6 - Fremantle - Optus Stadium - Saturday, April 25 - 6.10pm
7 - Port Adelaide - Optus Stadium - Saturday, May 2 - 2.35pm
8 - Collingwood - MCG - Saturday, May 9 - 7.25pm (7)
9 - Richmond - Optus Stadium - Friday, May 15 - 6.10pm (7)
10 - Melbourne - TIO Traeger Park - Sunday, May 24 - 2.50pm (7)
11 - Adelaide Crows - Optus Stadium - Sunday, May 31 - 3.20pm
12 - Gold Coast SUNS - Metricon Stadium - Sunday, June 7 - 4.40pm

14 - Essendon - Optus Stadium - Thursday, June 18 - 6.10pm (7)
15 - Geelong Cats - GMHBA Stadiumn - Friday, June 26 - 7.50pm (7)
16 - St Kilda - Optus Stadium - Sunday, July 5 - 3.20pm
17 - Western Bulldogs - Marvel Stadium - Saturday, July 11 - 7.25pm (7)
18 - Hawthorn - Optus Stadium - Saturday, July 18 - 6.10pm
19 - North Melbourne - Marvel Stadium - Saturday, July 25 - 1.45pm
20 - Fremantle - Optus Stadium - Saturday, August 1 - 6.10pm
21 - Richmond - MCG - Sunday, August 9 - 1.10pm
22 - Carlton - Optus Stadium - Sunday, August 16 - 3.20pm
23 - Port Adelaide - Adelaide Oval - Sunday, August 23 - 4.10pm

Fixture looks good! Only thing is swapping rd 4&5. We don't have two consecutive away trips as AFL makes sure that teams alternate H&A in two team states.

Also - Geelong at GMHBA? no thanks. I'd love to avoid this at all costs. Would rather a trip to Brissie to play the lions and move our game against GCS to Darwin.

How I would do the 2020 Fixture

1 - Brisbane Lions - Optus Stadium - Sunday, March 22 - 4.20pm
2 - Essendon - Marvel Stadium - Sunday, March 29 - 1.10pm
3 - Geelong Cats - Optus Stadium - Saturday, April 4 - 6.10pm (7)
4 - GWS GIANTS - GIANTS Stadium - Saturday, April 11 - 4.35pm
5 - Sydney Swans - Optus Stadium - Saturday, April 11 - 6.10pm
6 - Fremantle - Optus Stadium - Saturday, April 25 - 6.10pm
7 - Port Adelaide - Optus Stadium - Saturday, May 2 - 2.35pm
8 - Collingwood - MCG - Saturday, May 9 - 7.25pm (7)
9 - Richmond - Optus Stadium - Friday, May 15 - 6.10pm (7)
10 - Melbourne - TIO Traeger Park - Sunday, May 24 - 2.50pm (7)
11 - Adelaide Crows - Optus Stadium - Sunday, May 31 - 3.20pm
12 - Gold Coast SUNS - Metricon Stadium - Sunday, June 7 - 4.40pm

14 - Essendon - Optus Stadium - Thursday, June 18 - 6.10pm (7)
15 - Geelong Cats - GMHBA Stadiumn - Friday, June 26 - 7.50pm (7)
16 - St Kilda - Optus Stadium - Sunday, July 5 - 3.20pm
17 - Western Bulldogs - Marvel Stadium - Saturday, July 11 - 7.25pm (7)
18 - Hawthorn - Optus Stadium - Saturday, July 18 - 6.10pm
19 - North Melbourne - Marvel Stadium - Saturday, July 25 - 1.45pm
20 - Fremantle - Optus Stadium - Saturday, August 1 - 6.10pm
21 - Richmond - MCG - Sunday, August 9 - 1.10pm
22 - Carlton - Optus Stadium - Sunday, August 16 - 3.20pm
23 - Port Adelaide - Adelaide Oval - Sunday, August 23 - 4.10pm
Too many Sunday games, swap a few for Friday nights & I’d be happy with that.

I actually hope we get a few more Sunday games. The time slot itself sucks, but we clearly play better footy on a dry deck, and a Perth winter in the mid late arvo is probably the best chance of that. The slippery night games ruined us at times this season. Let's go back to the prelim type day and destroy anyone that comes to town.

Too many Sunday games, swap a few for Friday nights & I’d be happy with that.

I'd like to minimise 6-day breaks. We were 3 wins and 2 losses this year off 6-day breaks - but the wins were Melbourne, GC and North - and the losses were Collingwood and Hawthorn (i.e. we struggled when playing the better teams off shorter breaks - hardly groundbreaking news but if we can avoid it then it would be great). I note that we looked really tired/slow in both of those games (later on in the Collingwood game, and sadly from the start in the Hawks game) not sure if the 6-day break is an excuse/reason. Also they are the 2 games that most here (myself included) pretty much think cost us any chance this season (cost us top 4).

I would prefer double ups against Richmond, Brisbane, Freo, Essendon and one of Adelaide/North/Port. Not sure we will get it that easy though... (Geelong, WB, GWS would be terrible double-ups for us).

Eagles double up games going back to 2010:

10 Fremantle
5 Western Bulldogs
4 Adelaide
4 Port Adelaide
4 Collingwood
4 Hawthorn
3 Brisbane
3 Melbourne
3 St Kilda
2 Essendon
2 Gold Coast
2 GWS
1 Carlton
1 Geelong
1 North Melbourne
1 Sydney
0 Richmond

2012 and 2014 the only years without playing an Adelaide team twice. The last time we played Geelong twice was 2010.

I think I might have a fixture fetish, anyway this is my final crack at it.

ROUND 1 - Optus Stadium - Sunday, March 22 (4.20pm AWST)
West Coast Eagles vs. St Kilda

ROUND 2 - Marvel Stadium - Sunday, March 29 (1.10pm AEDT)
Essendon vs. West Coast Eagles

ROUND 3 - Optus Stadium - Sunday, April 5 (3.20pm AWST)
West Coast Eagles vs. Brisbane Lions

ROUND 4 - MCG - Sunday, April 12 (1.10pm AEST)
Collingwood vs West Coast Eagles

ROUND 5 - Optus Stadium - Saturday, April 18 (2.35pm AWST)
West Coast Eagles vs. Sydney Swans

ROUND 6 - Optus Stadium - Saturday, April 25 (6.10pm AWST)
Fremantle vs. West Coast Eagles

ROUND 7 - GIANTS Stadium - Saturday, May 2 (4.35pm AEST)
GWS GIANTS vs. West Coast Eagles

ROUND 8 - Optus Stadium - Friday, May 8 (6.10pm AWST) Seven
West Coast Eagles vs. Geelong Cats

ROUND 9 - MCG - Friday, May 15 (7.50pm AEST) Seven
Richmond vs. West Coast Eagles

ROUND 10 - Optus Stadium - Saturday, May 23 (6.10pm AWST)
West Coast Eagles vs. Port Adelaide

ROUND 11 - Metricon Stadium - Saturday, May 30 (7.25pm AEST)
Gold Coast SUNS vs. West Coast Eagles

ROUND 12
BYE

ROUND 13 - Optus Stadium - Thursday, June 11 (6.10pm AWST) Seven
West Coast Eagles vs. Essendon

ROUND 14 - MCG - Saturday, June 20 (1.45pm AEST)
Melbourne vs. West Coast Eagles

ROUND 15 - Optus Stadium - Sunday, June 28 (3.20pm AWST)
West Coast Eagles vs. Adelaide Crows

ROUND 16 - Blundstone Arena - Sunday, July 5 (3.20m AEST)
North Melbourne vs. West Coast Eagles

ROUND 17 - Optus Stadium - Saturday, July 11 (6.10pm AWST) Seven
West Coast Eagles vs. Hawthorn

ROUND 18 - Optus Stadium - Saturday, July 18 (6.10pm AWST)
West Coast Eagles vs. Fremantle

ROUND 19 - GMHBA Stadium - Saturday, July 25 (7.25pm AEST) Seven
Geelong Cats vs. West Coast Eagles

ROUND 20 - Optus Stadium - Friday, July 31 (6.10pm AWST) Seven
West Coast Eagles vs. Richmond

ROUND 21 - Adelaide Oval - Saturday, August 8 (4.05pm ACST)
Port Adelaide vs. West Coast Eagles

ROUND 22 - Optus Stadium - Sunday, August 16 (3.20pm AWST)
West Coast Eagles vs. Carlton

ROUND 23 - Marvel Stadium - Sunday, August 23 (3.20pm AEST) Seven
Western Bulldogs vs. West Coast Eagles

All I know is that this is the dead zone of football...and will be for awhile.
Ho Hum...when does training etc start again?

Gold Coast later in the season when they are cooked please. Preferably rounds 18-23, somewhere in there. A healthy percentage booster and a lovely tune up before finals. The boys can also get their pipes nicely tanned to perfection before showing them off in September.

I actually hope we get a few more Sunday games. The time slot itself sucks, but we clearly play better footy on a dry deck, and a Perth winter in the mid late arvo is probably the best chance of that. The slippery night games ruined us at times this season. Let's go back to the prelim type day and destroy anyone that comes to town.

I’m quite a big fan of the Sunday arvo.

3 Sunday’s
4 Saturday nights
3 Friday’s (1 Good Friday)
1 Thursday

But I reckon we’ll lose a Friday for a Saturday arvo. We only ever have one of them a year

Eagles double up games going back to 2010:

10 Fremantle
5 Western Bulldogs
4 Adelaide
4 Port Adelaide
4 Collingwood
4 Hawthorn
3 Brisbane
3 Melbourne
3 St Kilda
2 Essendon
2 Gold Coast
2 GWS
1 Carlton
1 Geelong
1 North Melbourne
1 Sydney
0 Richmond

2012 and 2014 the only years without playing an Adelaide team twice. The last time we played Geelong twice was 2010.

It’s such a bizarre way to schedule games. And there’s not a lot of consistency to the teams you play once a year. You don’t really play them home one year away the next.

Things I’d do to fix it.
1. Alternate (not including finals) where you play a team home-away-home-away etc

2. Double up games.
A) Non-Vic side double ups: local derby + play every other side once in 4 years

B) Vics play every other side 5 times in a 17 year span.

Otherwise play everyone 22 times in 17 years OR

It’s such a bizarre way to schedule games. And there’s not a lot of consistency to the teams you play once a year. You don’t really play them home one year away the next.

Things I’d do to fix it.
1. Alternate (not including finals) where you play a team home-away-home-away etc

2. Double up games.
A) Non-Vic side double ups: local derby + play every other side once in 4 years

B) Vics play every other side 5 times in a 17 year span.

Otherwise play everyone 22 times in 17 years OR

No what is bizarre is that the fixture's primary goal is revenue maximisation and as an equalisation method. Competitive integrity is a distant, distant 3rd.

It's kinda incredible if you think about it. How many other leagues can you think where the governing body deliberately gives some clubs easier games to tilt the playing field?

No what is bizarre is that the fixture's primary goal is revenue maximisation and as an equalisation method. Competitive integrity is a distant, distant 3rd.

It's kinda incredible if you think about it. How many other leagues can you think where the governing body deliberately gives some clubs easier games to tilt the playing field?
On face value this is a bit of a worry:

"Coming off one of the most competitive seasons seen in 2019, Seven has promised its AFL coverage of the 2020 Premiership Season will remain "captivating viewing", despite also suffering a dip in the ratings, particularly the Grand Final.
The introduction of dynamic scheduling of matches enables flexible scheduling of matches, placing the more of the biggest matches in prime time and creating more opportunities for Seven's advertising partners."

On face value this is a bit of a worry:

"Coming off one of the most competitive seasons seen in 2019, Seven has promised its AFL coverage of the 2020 Premiership Season will remain "captivating viewing", despite also suffering a dip in the ratings, particularly the Grand Final.
The introduction of dynamic scheduling of matches enables flexible scheduling of matches, placing the more of the biggest matches in prime time and creating more opportunities for Seven's advertising partners."

A bit of a worry is a bit of an understatement

“Biggest matches” is code for big Victorian clubs playing each other. This is a disaster waiting to happen for non-Victorian clubs

Also, in that article is mention of strategic timeouts in the BBL. Seriously WTF is wrong with sporting administrators

Seriously WTF is wrong with sporting administrators

2WWbesi.gif

TV rights have become a huge bubble. Viewers are dropping, ad revenue is down, but sporting bodies want each deal to be bigger than the last one so they have to make stupid choices to keep networks happy.

Prediction 2020 Fixture