2020 HFC Pre Season Training

Get excited, Hawks fans! :D

Full replay of Sam Mitchell's presser:

Or the condensed version:

Jeezus Christ how good is Sammy Mitchell in handling the media. I wonder how many HC positions he got offered at the end of last season but one can only assume there would've been multiple.

Yeah will make Kennetts next call to sack the coach a lot easier to digest
Jeezus Christ how good is Sammy Mitchell in handling the media. I wonder how many HC positions he got offered at the end of last season but one can only assume there would've been multiple.
unnamed.gif

On SM-J530Y using BigFooty.com mobile app

The Axeman cometh.

Just back from training and it was hot, dam hot!

Spotted at training ace training reporter "The Axeman" so gird your loins and look out for his report. He is still there so will be a little while.

I was going to say that Sam Mitchell was doing the presser but that is old news.
Did hear him say he has more responsibility this year and is running todays session.

Several tv crews including Channel 10 covered the training.

Impey - just ran laps​
Mitchell Lewis​
Michington - on ya bike​
Howe - running​
Mitchell​
Jaeger O.​
CJ - ran laps​
On light duties.​
Max Bailey ran some specialised training with Patton and Timmy O in around the ground ball ups, working on holding their position etc.​
This new possible player Darcy looks the goods, looked right at home in the match sims and has the very big added bonus he is fit!​
I will leave The Axeman to describe the incident that got the crowd talking (well, if 3 is a crowd, then....) and that was during the match sim, the tackle laid on Mitchell. Hmmm, looks slower than I remember him, but I will let The Axeman explain.​
Go Hawks. did I mention it was hot out there!​

The man who warms up the crowd before the big show.

Okay, so it was an absolute scorcher out at Waverley this morning. We huddled under the shadow cast by the statue of the great John Kennedy while we watched the players sweat it out during a a fairly intense session.

There were lots of short match sim drills, generally 5 mins long, maybe 12 per side.

The stand outs today, in no specific order:

James Sicily = Weapon. Setting up the play with his ludicrously hard yet perfectly executed kicks And his contested marking a highlight. The only blemish for this session a dropped mark under pressure for which he loudly chastised himself.

Speaking of contested marking, TO’B is in very good form. He is oozing confidence, putting himself in front of packs and taking the mark at full stretch. Following up with some nice set shot goals.

Patton is so much more than a big forward. His field kicking is brilliant and he really gets involved around the ground. I always thought he was a one dimensional Hawkins type but he is so much more.

Harry Jones was scintillating. Really prominent in all the drills. Very clean skills, good positioning, high work rate and tough as nails. He was mixing inside work with some outside work, pushing forward. Much like Jaegar’s role as the release option out the back of the contests. Keep in mind that Jaegar was having a planned lighter session and Tom Mitchell is not doing contact work yet, so it wasn’t the A team of mids out there, but Jones looks to be ready for a crack at AFL. He would be first in line for a call up I reckon.

Worpel was pure class. Leading by example at all times, superbly clean with his ball work and really dominating the drills.

It is crazy how much Finn Maguiness looks like he belongs out there. Finn and Worpel combined a number of times with some outstanding center bounce clearance work with Finn as the in and under guy, first hands to the ball, releasing to Worpel as he charges past. Finn‘s ability to get his arms clear of the tackler and remain upright while being tackled is incredible for a guy that young As his one touch handling of the footy. Finn did not get outright beaten in a one v one contest all morning. Second in line behind Jones for midfield call up.

I am a becoming a big fan of Hartley. He is not far behind Sicily as a kicking weapon and is a very solid one on one defender to go with it. Also a really great bloke to chat to. He is loving being at Hawthorn. I’d be very comfortable with him playing seniors this year.

Isaac Smith was at his attacking best today. Very influential.

Scrimshaw continues to show he is an attacking weapon in the Backline.

Jackson Ross was again playing as a wingman, pushing forward and kicking goals. I think he is building nicely into this role. He always makes good decisions and uses the ball well. Good chance for a call up at some stage I would think.

Tom Mitchell taking part in match sim drills, looking really good. Does have the blue hat on and at one stage was nearly cleaned up before the player coming for him pulled up just in time. Still regaining touch with his disposal but having no issues getting his hands on the ball.

Darcy Cassar looks like a really good prospect. I’d love to see him get a spot on the list.

Harry Pepper also looks a likely type. very happy with him as a Rookie pick up.

I haven’t seen the players look that exhausted after a session for a long time.

Non participants doing boxing and bikes and stuff:
CJ
Nash
Lewis
Jaegar
and others.

Hawks are in Tassie next week where snow is forecast on Mt Wellington, so no training reports next week.

shout out to houdinihuddo and Rusty for their insights and help in identifying who’s who out there.

Okay, so it was an absolute scorcher out at Waverley this morning. We huddled under the shadow cast by the statue of the great John Kennedy while we watched the players sweat it out during a a fairly intense session.

There were lots of short match sim drills, generally 5 mins long, maybe 12 per side.

James Sicily = Weapon. Setting up the play with his ludicrously hard yet perfectly executed kicks And his contested marking a highlight. The only blemish for this session a dropped mark under pressure for which he loudly chastised himself.

Speaking of contested marking, TO’B is in very good form. He is oozing confidence, putting himself in front of packs and taking the mark at full stretch. Following up with some nice set shot goals.

Patton is so much more than a big forward. His field kicking is brilliant and he really gets involved around the ground. I always thought he was a one dimensional Hawkins type but he is so much more.

Harry Jones was scintillating. Really prominent in all the drills. Very clean skills, good positioning, high work rate and tough as nails. He was mixing inside work with some outside work, pushing forward. Much like Jaegar’s role as the release option out the back of the contests. Keep in mind that Jaegar was having a planned lighter session and Tom Mitchell is not doing contact work yet, so it wasn’t the A team of mids out there, but Jones looks to be ready for a crack at AFL. He would be first in line for a call up I reckon.

Worpel was pure class. Leading by example at all times, superbly clean with his ball work and really dominating the drills.

It is crazy how much Finn Maguiness looks like he belongs out there. Finn and Worpel combined a number of times with some outstanding center bounce clearance work with Finn as the in and under guy, first hands to the ball, releasing to Worpel as he charges past. Finn‘s ability to get his arms clear of the tackler and remain upright while being tackled is incredible for a guy that young As his one touch handling of the footy. Finn did not get outright beaten in a one v one contest all morning. Second in line behind Jones for midfield call up.

I am a becoming a big fan of Hartley. He is not far behind Sicily as a kicking weapon and is a very solid one on one defender to go with it. Also a really great bloke to chat to. He is loving being at Hawthorn. I’d be very comfortable with him playing seniors this year.

Jackson Ross was again playing as a wingman, pushing forward and kicking goals. I think he is building nicely into this role. He always makes good decisions and uses the ball well. Good chance for a call up at some stage I would think.

Tom Mitchell taking part in match sim drills, looking really good. Does have the blue hat on and at one stage was nearly cleaned up before the player coming for him pulled up just in time. Still regaining touch with his disposal but having no issues getting his hands on the ball.

Darcy Cassar looks like a really good prospect. I’d love to see him get a spot on the list.

CJ
Nash
Lewis
Jaegar
and others.

Hawks are in Tassie next week where snow is forecast on Mt Wellington, so no training reports next week.

Disappointing report - quite upset to hear that Sic dropped a mark under pressure.

Does anyone else see our lack of a prime small-forward a large obstacle to winning a premiership in 2020?

(Poppy's form pending)

Unfortunately it is, the best teams have multiple quality smalls. We will have to make up for it elsewhere. If we can still provide great pressure then the goals can come from the midfield or our zoning off.

Thanks for the report 👍

But doesn’t wearing a blue cap mean you don’t get tackled?

Oh, I am SORRY. I see the confusion, I should have said "S Mitchell" got tackled during the match sim. "He was not as fast as I remember him..." Tom ran the boundary and was wearing the blue cap. Sam just joined in match sim to help show the young uns... :p

I believe Mitch could still be dangerous out there, if anything he probably reads the play even better now...

CJ
Nash
Lewis
Jaegar
and others.

shout out to houdinihuddo and Rusty for their insights and help in identifying who’s who out there.
Did The Chad train fully today?

yep it is without doubt our major, major weakness. Something like a Sizzle and we more than sizzle !!! I would even suggest we could win it.

This is why Ollie is such a huge let down, not suggesting for one second he is a Rioli, but our lack of Xfactor is massive. MASSIVE !!
I would say that Ollie was anything but a letdown in 2019. Stepped up to AFL level better than anyone expected. Some had him as a delisting.

I note he isn't the hardest worker on the track and that is where you are coming from but I am not writing him off without a ball being bounced.

Classic, answered the questions in his own way. "Succession plan? Thats the end is it?"...

Thats our next coach right there...

Sent by shoephone via Tapatoe

Unfortunately it is, the best teams have multiple quality smalls. We will have to make up for it elsewhere. If we can still provide great pressure then the goals can come from the midfield or our zoning off.
I’d suggest that we need to be competent in the forward pressure acts rather that have elite small pressure forwards.
Last year my thoughts were that we would revert to some old school footy & bring back the “dinosaurs” with a large focus on contested marking & clean possessions from the midfield to score.
Inside 50 forward pressure isn’t an issue if we are taking marks & kicking goals.
I think we will be finding that Breust will not be doing significant midfield minutes to remain inside 50, Wingard to roll through there & a combination of midfield rotations and a midfield press to counter act the inside 50 pressure acts.
Having a high press & a very strong & tall backline with marking power should see us feast on contested marking & repeat entries stats if we are not scoring from Marks inside 50.
If we have a high press that needs to be kicked over then good luck with the likes of Sicily, Frost, Chip, Hartley, Sicily & Hardwick all very capable in the air to regain possession.
My only concern will be broken structure & speed from opposition rebound from defence. Over the back type plays. Every team gets burned with this though.

That’s my thoughts on what will evolve this year anyway.

Midfield clearances
Marks inside 50
High press forward of centre
Defensive marks
Repeat entries

Premiership

I’d suggest that we need to be competent in the forward pressure acts rather that have elite small pressure forwards.
Last year my thoughts were that we would revert to some old school footy & bring back the “dinosaurs” with a large focus on contested marking & clean possessions from the midfield to score.
Inside 50 forward pressure isn’t an issue if we are taking marks & kicking goals.
I think we will be finding that Breust will not be doing significant midfield minutes to remain inside 50, Wingard to roll through there & a combination of midfield rotations and a midfield press to counter act the inside 50 pressure acts.
Having a high press & a very strong & tall backline with marking power should see us feast on contested marking & repeat entries stats if we are not scoring from Marks inside 50.
If we have a high press that needs to be kicked over then good luck with the likes of Sicily, Frost, Chip, Hartley, Sicily & Hardwick all very capable in the air to regain possession.
My only concern will be broken structure & speed from opposition rebound from defence. Over the back type plays. Every team gets burned with this though.

That’s my thoughts on what will evolve this year anyway.

Midfield clearances
Marks inside 50
High press forward of centre
Defensive marks
Repeat entries

Premiership
Yep. It's how I imagine it happening. They zig, we zag, they go low, we go high
Do like your ending as well 😉👍

For those lamenting our lack of pressure small forwards remember Clarko likes to lead rather than emulate other coaches. Hawthorn led the charge in pressure small forwards and others followed.
I suspect Clarko’s game plan will evolve into something a bit different.
Exactly this. Trying to copy the best two or three sides usually leads to finishing straight in the middle.

Unless you have superior talent to everyone else by a margin, the best thing you can do is come up with the new style that teams try to follow.

Clarko has done this on a couple of occasions.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

2020 HFC Pre Season Training