Player Watch 2022 AFL National Draft Discussion - read the pinned post

Who will you be happy with Hawthorn selecting with their first pick?

National AFL draft Monday November 28(first round only).
All other selections to be held on Tuesday November 29.
The pre-season and rookie drafts will then take place at 3pm (AEST) on Wednesday November 30.

I watched the first half of round 16 Oakleigh vs Sandringham last night.

Tsatas is such a no brainer. If you need to convince yourself just go watch that half.

The scum will take him and will let parish leave as a DFA.

Calling it now, we end up with the humper.
Why would the club prefer Humphries to Mackenzie, Philipou or Ginbey?

Why would the club prefer Humphries to Mackenzie, Philipou or Ginny?
I am reading into what Twomey says on his podcasts and on the AFL website. He basically parrots the enthusiasm recruiters have for different prospects. He was gushing over ed Allan months ago as a smokey and now he is in the top 20 mix.

He is very enthusiastic about Humphrey being one of the best players in the pool and strongly links him to essendons pick. Mackenzie he always places toward the back end of top 10 convos. Phillipou he said today has interest between picks 4 and 8 but he doesn't seem like a hawthorn pick.

So I think we take humper. Just speculation

Why would the club prefer Humphries to Mackenzie, Philipou or Ginbey?
Humper is the bolter. Decides games off his own boot.

Hope you mean he decides them in a positive way. Not through his poor kicking! That vic m vs vic c final he missed a few sitters but geez he looked like the best player on the ground when he went near it.
From what I've seen he will definitely influence results through his conversion rate both positive and negative.

Will be some extremely frustrating moments for the supporters of the club that picks him but also he will be the type of player that could win multiple norm smiths.

Do you think if Ashcroft wasn't around Mckenzie would be viewed a lot higher. I mean, would he have stood out even more with Vic metro to the point he'd be considered the top pick or top 3 in the draft?

I think it's the other way around. Some players are made to look better because of who they are playing with and I think McKenzie is a classic example of that. McKenzie is the third guy you'd worry about playing against Sandy and he benefits from that a lot.

I’m getting a bit sick of hearing how we need all these additional first round picks to get more quality to challenge again ….. have you been watching us closely recently? Confident we are on the right track and building very very nicely. Who ever we pick it will be a bonus on top of the quality young group with some good experience we already have. When 95% of the best 22 are 50+ games we will be back baby

Sheezel
14 games in nab league 36 goals and 19 disp per game. 2.6 goals per game.

Humper
11 games in nab league 21 goals (18 behinds I think) and 19 disp per game. 1.9 goals per game.

You fix humpers goal kicking and he is pushing 2.5 goals a game easy.

He is the second best fwd/mid in the draft and he is a tackler and contested beast when he goes inside. Why wouldn't we take this bloke?

Not sure why suns would take ginbey over humper? I’m expecting tsatas and humper to be gone (or us to snap up if still there). Ginbey/McKenzie/pou/jefferson is a more difficult choice.
This is my fear. Hopefully the rumours around ginbey are true

I am reading into what Twomey says on his podcasts and on the AFL website. He basically parrots the enthusiasm recruiters have for different prospects. He was gushing over ed Allan months ago as a smokey and now he is in the top 20 mix.

He is very enthusiastic about Humphrey being one of the best players in the pool and strongly links him to essendons pick. Mackenzie he always places toward the back end of top 10 convos. Phillipou he said today has interest between picks 4 and 8 but he doesn't seem like a hawthorn pick.

So I think we take humper. Just speculation

Intertest in McKenzie as a top 10 pick is luke warm. I think some on here have him over-rated.

Do you think if Ashcroft wasn't around Mckenzie would be viewed a lot higher. I mean, would he have stood out even more with Vic metro to the point he'd be considered the top pick or top 3 in the draft?
It's a bit of a chicken-egg situation. Do we notice Mackenzie because of Ashcroft, or is he being overshadowed by him? I think he's a brilliant player and is a great stand alone midfielder, but he certainly works best in a team environment. This isn't a bad thing, at AFL level everyone's an under 18s star, but I think without Ashcroft there he doesn't reach his highest highs he has this season. That being said, it's possible he would slot into Ashcroft accumulator role a lot better without him there. One of his biggest knocks is that he doesn't get a ton of the ball every week, maybe that's something being a priority ball winner will bring.

I'm representing us in a Phantom on the draft board at the moment. Have taken Mackenzie at 7 and Charlie Clarke at 27 (pushed out after bids).

Traded 3 picks to land Brisbanes 35. Have two picks in the 30's coming up soon.

If this happens in the real draft I'm intrigued about who we might select. I'm not set on any 1 player for either of those picks yet.

I'm representing us in a Phantom on the draft board at the moment. Have taken Mackenzie at 7 and Charlie Clarke at 27 (pushed out after bids).

If this happens in the real draft I'm intrigued about who we might select. I'm not set on any 1 player for either of those picks yet.
Just do Munkara with either of those picks. Whatever you do!!

A tall forward and an outside speedster please mr Blackhawk sir.

Lemmey and Munkara:)

Agree that we need small forwards more than small defenders, but that doesn't mean we shouldn't take a potentially good one who's right under our noses. By the time he's ready for senior footy there's every chance Morris will be gone. How will our lockdown small defender depth look then?

fwiw, I reckon Tank will make it. I just hope it's with us and he doesn't request a trade back to SA when his contract is up.

Now is the time I let everybody down by saying I'm not as keen on Munkara as the rest of this board.

His best is exhilarating, however his consistency in relation to body and form concerns me a bit. Plus he is quite resolute in wanting to playing for Essendon. In this current climate of player movement he's potentially less than 24 months away from requesting a trade to them if he lands somewhere else. At this point in our rebuild I'm looking more towards players I don't have multiple questions about. I do have a particular skillset I'm looking to focus on for my remaining picks however. All will be explained at the conclusion of the phantom draft.

Now is the time I let everybody down by saying I'm not as keen on Munkara as the rest of this board.

His best is exhilarating, however his consistency in relation to body and form concerns me a bit. Plus he is quite resolute in wanting to playing for Essendon. In this current climate of player movement he's potentially less than 24 months away from requesting a trade to them if he lands somewhere else. At this point in our rebuild I'm looking more towards players I don't have multiple questions about. I do have a particular skillset I'm looking to focus on for my remaining picks however. All will be explained at the conclusion of the phantom draft.
It's a mock mate. Just do it for the LOLs