Player Watch 2022 AFL National Draft Discussion - read the pinned post

Who will you be happy with Hawthorn selecting with their first pick?

National AFL draft Monday November 28(first round only).
All other selections to be held on Tuesday November 29.
The pre-season and rookie drafts will then take place at 3pm (AEST) on Wednesday November 30.

So what is the story ?
Why won’t the Suns pick Tsatas if Essendon pick The Poo?
Is it a gimme that they will not take him?
I cannot see McKenzie picking anyone else if he is available!

Flight risk mate. No chance GC pick him. None.

One is a proven midfielder at the top level and bnf winner of an AFL side - the other struggled to match it with his peers at junior level, is only 18 and has his work cut out to match it in the midfield at AFL level. He himself would probably admit he has his work cut out and has a lot of development ahead of him to make it as a midfielder at the top level.

Clark is not a noted goal kicker, unlike The Poo who slammed home 25 goals this year from limited games, most from about 1,726 meters out from goal and from all angles, Clark barely troubled the goal scorers or point scorers - but hey he could miraculously develop into a Joel Selwood / Buckley/ Danger / Fyfe type over summer, gain 20 meters in penetration in his kicks and get 5 yards quicker. Heck he could even grow 20 cms put on 30kgs and play Ruck. He could also change his name to Sheezel.

Some posters have even suggested that he has these miraculous “winning ways” - that’s a whole new category of assessment right there.

Next he’ll have super sensory flex capacitor type time travelling skills that can teleport him into another dimension freeze time and win games of footy for us all before a ball is bounced.

I mean why we haven’t traded away all our picks this year and next year plus a half a dozen players and the Kennedy statue at Waverley to secure him is baffling and bordering negligent.

He could even run for President and build the new training stadiums at Dingley over a weekend using a butter knife, a pair of nose hair clippers and a second hand magic bullet fruit juicer.

Sorry what was your question? 🤣
Coach Killer, i appreciate your takes on things, brings a new fond view on it all.

But you're off here.

Clark is a very good prospect, he brings a winning mentality, desire at the contest, a great footy iq and ability around the stoppages to read where the balls going and to direct himself to where the ball will be, he's a tidy user, great by hand, quick and clean and he moves well through traffic.

He is a very good defensive mid in his ability to lay tackles and run both ways, he's on the smaller side but he is very good athletically in terms of his ability to leap at the ball, he is dangerous forward because he's smart and will leap at the ball no matter where he is.

I'd be happy to get him, but just as happy to get MacKenzie, Phillipou, Humphrey in order.

So, am I right in saying that we have two seconds next year? How about swapping that and 24 to get another pick in the top 12-14 this draft? Remember, these youngsters are a full one season of development behind where they should be, missing out on footy at the ripe age of 15-16 , so this year's draft has a bit more to it (development and class) wise then most give credit for. Other than the clubs!! Most are onto it. Would love a one-two punch of Tsatas / Humphrey or Clark!

Yes we have 2 seconds. You wouldn’t do it unless you really wanted someone potentially a slider. None of those will slide to 12-14 the only chance might be philippou. Then you need a buyer who wants to give up a first round for 2 seconds which would only make sense for bid matching. There’s no one in this draft who needs that. Next year Gold Coast do thats why I floated a complex pick exchange in that thread to get their f1 2023 and that’s where I believe we should focus our efforts.

Twomey has reported there is a standout 12 players this year where all recruiters know who is getting picked. Then the next batch of 20 there is a drop off with a lot of variation in views on prospects. Meaning you could rate someone at 15 and them be available towards pick 30.

It is definitely not the draft to try and turn two seconds into a mid-teen/early teen pick and no one is trading a top 10 for two seconds.

If any young draftee already has welfare issues before they are drafted, then the AFL need to step in and stop them from being drafted in the first place!
Maybe it’s not his talent that will see him get through to the rookie draft maybe it’s his maturity and less pressure gets put on rookie draft players by media and fans and the aim is to give the best talent opportunity not to punish them for being immature.

It’s not unknown for clubs to play mind games on other clubs

Hawks in the buddy draft. Tambling even stayed with buckenara - since over ruled by AFL

Eddie Maguire over Dale Thomas

Earlier picks affect later picks

Whatever will we do when Twitter crashes and we no longer get these peals of wisdom?

I've always chuckled by the line, 'what club 'x' decide with their selection could dramatically change the course of the draft'.

"With Pick 4, Essendon have selected... Mattaes Phillipou. Disorientated and confused, Hawthorn have gone for projected rookie selection Maxwell Higginbottom."

So are the Essendon conspiracy theories the draft period version of the Cats conspiracy theories from the trade period?

Yeh I reckon it’s dildo playing games. Cannot see them overlooking Tsatas if he’s still there. Remember this is the guy who chose McGrath with pick one as he was generally viewed by most as the “ safest” pick at number one. Think the Phillipou talk is a smokescreen now, my personal view is that he hasn’t got the balls to pick Phillipou