Player Watch 2022 AFL National Draft Discussion - read the pinned post

Who will you be happy with Hawthorn selecting with their first pick?

National AFL draft Monday November 28(first round only).
All other selections to be held on Tuesday November 29.
The pre-season and rookie drafts will then take place at 3pm (AEST) on Wednesday November 30.

Some stats from today's games:

Gippsland Power v Sandringham Dragons

Will Ashcroft - 1.1 32d: 15k 17h, 3m 7t 8i50s
Harry Sheezel - 2.3 14d: 6k 8h, 2m 3t 1i50s
Cameron Mackenzie - 22d: 10k 12h, 3m 2t 5i50s
Charlie Clarke - 3.1 19d: 16k 3h, 3m 3t 6i50s

Bailey Humphrey - 1.0 14d: 8k 6h, 4t 3m 0i50s
Archer Reid - 3.1 11: 9k 2h, 4m 6t 5i50s

Very frustrating game from Humphrey today, seemed out of it after quarter time and a bit too focused on accounting for Ashcroft than winning his own footy. Archer Reid is King Bro's next product line to hit the market, kid was hitting spin moves and boundary snaps while taking big pack marks and crunching tackles. Very mobile for a 201cm 16-year-old, one to watch very closely next year. Cam Mackenzie was a star, it doesn't show on the stat sheet but his composure in packs and dash from packs won them the game. He's firming as my favorite right alongside Clark for our pick, and he could still catch him. Just doesn't have a bad game and likely misses out on racking up the big numbers out the back like Ashcroft. I like the look of him, he plays really well with other elite players and can either feed runners or receive on the edge of a pack. Charlie Clark could be a smokey with a later pick for us, he kicks goals and works hard all over the ground. He needs to work on his disposal around the ground, but I'd say he fits right in as a MacDonald/Butler-type half-forward who we can build toward. Ashcroft and Sheezel stars, but they are not heading our way any time soon.

Tasmania Devils v Dandenong Stingrays

Coby McKercher - 0.2 23d: 10k 13h, 5m 4t 4i50s
Lachie Cowan - 22d: 17k 5h, 5m 2t 4i50s 5r50s

Despite big outs for Dandenong, the Rays were able to get the one-point win. Unfortunately not a lot of draft-relevant players for us. Cowan would be great if we didn't have any running half-backs but alas, we have too many. Coby McKercher was a star on the wing, one to watch for next year as a potential one for our pick if we have one in a similar range.

While I'm here, I'll give a little top 10 for us to watch next year. However, when it comes to draft stuff I'd default to Davo-27 on pretty much everything, especially for non-current drafts.

1. Harley Reid | 185cm 82kg | EVERYTHING EVERYWHERE - Explosive, hard-working, agile mid-forward-backman who is just about the perfect prototype of a player. The only downside is he's a cats fan. I'm very sad Essendon is going to be close to picking him up.

2. Nate Caddy | 192cm 82kg | Centre Half Forward - Medium forward who has had some very good games further up the ground. His midfield craft needs some work, but if he puts it all together you have a Gunston-type forward and a Fyfe-type mid all in one. Great mark, great body work, good at ground level, excellent mop of hair.

3. Archer Reid | 202cm 85kg| Full Forward - I've talked about him already, but this kid is the real deal. Reads the ball well in flight, knows how to use his body to leverage his slender-man arms in contests, and has the agility of a forward half his height. He can play as a back, but his efforts up forward are rather remarkable. Definitely a project player, but watching Sam Darcy and Max King have field days against us, he's a player worth putting a development season into.

4. Zane Duursma | 188cm 73kg | High Half Forward - Zane is a very exciting half-forward who has the foot skills and agility to thrive anywhere on the ground. He can be deadly as a deep forward and he has been slowly building his mid craft to elite levels. Reminds me a bit of Rozee in his early days, funnily enough, someone with good goal sense and the skills to play in the guts after a bit of development. Needs to join Day and DGB in a bulking season for the ages though.

5. Colby McKercher | 181cm 72kg | Outside Mid - Colby is a speedy little mid with a penchant for hit-and-run dashes through packs, coming in from 20 meters away and ending up with the ball in hand and sprinting forward in the blink of an eye. He has those little fast hands that get the ball moving quickly, and a decent-sized kick for someone of his rather light frame. Another who needs to get on the protein shakes, his athleticism and drive will see him end up somewhere on a footy field, but with an extra bit of bulk, he could be a great clearance mid.

6. Ashton Moir | 186cm 77kg | Utility - Moir is a truly special player. Hops, burst, good hands, reads the ball well as both a forward and a back, and can kick pretty well on either foot. He's x-factor personified but doesn't keep up the production through the whole game. I'd never compare him to Cyril, but he has the same kind of impact in a game where he can be best on off 17 touches. If he builds his tank and brings a bit of consistency, the league will shudder. For now, he's a player to keep a very close eye on.

7. Jack Delean | ???cm ??kg | Half Forward - I have not seen a ton of Delean, but from what I have seen he is a star. All the x-factor and class you could ask for, with the scope to play that mid-forward role that is so in vogue these days. I've only had limited vision on him, I can't even find his height and weight, but with a better look next year he could cement himself as a Phillipou-style classy dash mid with a decent heaping of forward nous.

8. Nick Watson | 169cm 69kg | Small Forward - Look, let's get the elephant out of the room early. Nick Watson will be an AFL player. He has too much skill, too much fight, and too much drive to not make it. But I can't see him being anything more than a lively forward who cuts deep and snags a few goals. He isn't a player you build around, he won't make a decent team good or a good team great, but he's a player who makes a great team an excellent, dynastic one. That being said, if we are happy with our midfield next year and think we have the next-gen core all set up, the Wizard would slot right in as a game-winner and highlight machine. I can easily see him kicking game-winning snaps from impossible angles. He just might need a good team to get him there.

9. Sam Frangalas | 187cm 84kg | Half Forward - Another forward-mid with the hands and nous to be a target and the disposal and tank to play through the guts, Frangalas is a clean, strong midfielder with silky smooth hand in packs and a penchant for one-on-one contests. He isn't the most athletic, he hasn't got the hops and bursts of some of the others higher up the list, but his production is always solid and his disposal is always a consistent "good but not great".

10. Will McCabe | 196cm 75kg | Tall Utility - McCabe won't be this high up, but with he is definitely one to keep an eye on for Hawks fans. An agile, speedy tall with great hands and a knack for marking contests, McCabe has all the potential in the world. There are plenty of questions regarding his frame, accumulation, disposal under pressure, and the quality of opposition, but just keep an eye on him and hope he doesn't play too well. He's a player I can see spending two seasons developing at VFL level and coming out the other side a genuine superstar. To borrow some Collingwood flogs analogy style, it'll be a long road to get there but he's on the highway with plenty of gas.

Edit: I realised I didn't explain, but there are others who might be up there. However, I haven't watched enough of Koltyn Tholstrup and the WA kids, Philactides and Daniel Curtin are defenders we don't really need and Walter is a Gold Coast Academy, and honestly good for them to get a top talent out of their academy for once.

Great insights, thankyou.

Very frustrating game from Humphrey today, seemed out of it after quarter time and a bit too focused on accounting for Ashcroft than winning his own footy. Archer Reid is King Bro's next product line to hit the market, kid was hitting spin moves and boundary snaps while taking big pack marks and crunching tackles. Very mobile for a 201cm 16-year-old, one to watch very closely next year. Cam Mackenzie was a star, it doesn't show on the stat sheet but his composure in packs and dash from packs won them the game. He's firming as my favorite right alongside Clark for our pick, and he could still catch him. Just doesn't have a bad game and likely misses out on racking up the big numbers out the back like Ashcroft. I like the look of him, he plays really well with other elite players and can either feed runners or receive on the edge of a pack. Charlie Clark could be a smokey with a later pick for us, he kicks goals and works hard all over the ground. He needs to work on his disposal around the ground, but I'd say he fits right in as a MacDonald/Butler-type half-forward who we can build toward. Ashcroft and Sheezel stars, but they are not heading our way any time soon.

Despite big outs for Dandenong, the Rays were able to get the one-point win. Unfortunately not a lot of draft-relevant players for us. Cowan would be great if we didn't have any running half-backs but alas, we have too many. Coby McKercher was a star on the wing, one to watch for next year as a potential one for our pick if we have one in a similar range.

While I'm here, I'll give a little top 10 for us to watch next year. However, when it comes to draft stuff I'd default to Davo-27 on pretty much everything, especially for non-current drafts.

1. Harley Reid | 185cm 82kg | EVERYTHING EVERYWHERE - Explosive, hard-working, agile mid-forward-backman who is just about the perfect prototype of a player. The only downside is he's a cats fan. I'm very sad Essendon is going to be close to picking him up.

2. Nate Caddy | 192cm 82kg | Centre Half Forward - Medium forward who has had some very good games further up the ground. His midfield craft needs some work, but if he puts it all together you have a Gunston-type forward and a Fyfe-type mid all in one. Great mark, great body work, good at ground level, excellent mop of hair.

3. Archer Reid | 202cm 85kg| Full Forward - I've talked about him already, but this kid is the real deal. Reads the ball well in flight, knows how to use his body to leverage his slender-man arms in contests, and has the agility of a forward half his height. He can play as a back, but his efforts up forward are rather remarkable. Definitely a project player, but watching Sam Darcy and Max King have field days against us, he's a player worth putting a development season into.

4. Zane Duursma | 188cm 73kg | High Half Forward - Zane is a very exciting half-forward who has the foot skills and agility to thrive anywhere on the ground. He can be deadly as a deep forward and he has been slowly building his mid craft to elite levels. Reminds me a bit of Rozee in his early days, funnily enough, someone with good goal sense and the skills to play in the guts after a bit of development. Needs to join Day and DGB in a bulking season for the ages though.

5. Colby McKercher | 181cm 72kg | Outside Mid - Colby is a speedy little mid with a penchant for hit-and-run dashes through packs, coming in from 20 meters away and ending up with the ball in hand and sprinting forward in the blink of an eye. He has those little fast hands that get the ball moving quickly, and a decent-sized kick for someone of his rather light frame. Another who needs to get on the protein shakes, his athleticism and drive will see him end up somewhere on a footy field, but with an extra bit of bulk, he could be a great clearance mid.

6. Ashton Moir | 186cm 77kg | Utility - Moir is a truly special player. Hops, burst, good hands, reads the ball well as both a forward and a back, and can kick pretty well on either foot. He's x-factor personified but doesn't keep up the production through the whole game. I'd never compare him to Cyril, but he has the same kind of impact in a game where he can be best on off 17 touches. If he builds his tank and brings a bit of consistency, the league will shudder. For now, he's a player to keep a very close eye on.

7. Jack Delean | ???cm ??kg | Half Forward - I have not seen a ton of Delean, but from what I have seen he is a star. All the x-factor and class you could ask for, with the scope to play that mid-forward role that is so in vogue these days. I've only had limited vision on him, I can't even find his height and weight, but with a better look next year he could cement himself as a Phillipou-style classy dash mid with a decent heaping of forward nous.

8. Nick Watson | 169cm 69kg | Small Forward - Look, let's get the elephant out of the room early. Nick Watson will be an AFL player. He has too much skill, too much fight, and too much drive to not make it. But I can't see him being anything more than a lively forward who cuts deep and snags a few goals. He isn't a player you build around, he won't make a decent team good or a good team great, but he's a player who makes a great team an excellent, dynastic one. That being said, if we are happy with our midfield next year and think we have the next-gen core all set up, the Wizard would slot right in as a game-winner and highlight machine. I can easily see him kicking game-winning snaps from impossible angles. He just might need a good team to get him there.

9. Sam Frangalas | 187cm 84kg | Half Forward - Another forward-mid with the hands and nous to be a target and the disposal and tank to play through the guts, Frangalas is a clean, strong midfielder with silky smooth hand in packs and a penchant for one-on-one contests. He isn't the most athletic, he hasn't got the hops and bursts of some of the others higher up the list, but his production is always solid and his disposal is always a consistent "good but not great".

10. Will McCabe | 196cm 75kg | Tall Utility - McCabe won't be this high up, but with he is definitely one to keep an eye on for Hawks fans. An agile, speedy tall with great hands and a knack for marking contests, McCabe has all the potential in the world. There are plenty of questions regarding his frame, accumulation, disposal under pressure, and the quality of opposition, but just keep an eye on him and hope he doesn't play too well. He's a player I can see spending two seasons developing at VFL level and coming out the other side a genuine superstar. To borrow some Collingwood flogs analogy style, it'll be a long road to get there but he's on the highway with plenty of gas.

Edit: I realised I didn't explain, but there are others who might be up there. However, I haven't watched enough of Koltyn Tholstrup and the WA kids, Philactides and Daniel Curtin are defenders we don't really need and Walter is a Gold Coast Academy, and honestly good for them to get a top talent out of their academy for once.
Really appreciate your insights.

Mackenzie is fascinating.

Thanks for the write up mate.

Where do you think McCabe would end up being rated as it stands?

Really appreciate your insights.

Mackenzie is fascinating.

I agree, very consistent player but one that seems to support talent really well. Ashcroft is obviously a great player, but having Mackenzie as a partner lets him play inside and outside very effectively. It's strange, I think he's a composed and smooth decision maker who often makes very good plays to set up teammates. He's a great reader of positional gravity on the footy field, you see it in his timing of handpasses and running patterns that unleash his teammates and draw opposition players wide of packs, forcing them to run with him instead of attacking the pack lest he gets out wide and collects an easy clearance. It would be a very valuable skill if we are going into a run-and-gun era. Would be very excited to have him, a brilliant player that should thrive in a professional environment. Has gone ahead of Humphrey for me after watching today's game.

Thanks for the write up mate.

Where do you think McCabe would end up being rated as it stands?

McCabe is a Giannis-type player. Very good with the limited vision on him, and on paper could be a top 10 prospect. But right now he has played some decent games at SANFL u18s, a brilliant u16s carnival playing as an over-ager with dispensation, and some great Adelaide Private School League games. We really need to watch him next year, but right now I'd have him mid-late 20s on a big board.

Today Cam Mackenzie rose in my estimations. Sure, he doesn't have the makings of a superstar that Ashcroft has, but he does very little wrong and makes things happen for his side. He would be a suitable Titch replacement. His teammate, Charlie Clark, was also tremendous today. Before today, I had Hotton and Konstanty ahead of him, but I now want him to be our second choice. He's a delight to watch. Bailey Humphrey was very disappointing and has now shot to the bottom of my estimation for our top selection. As for next year's draft, Archer Reid and Colby McKercher are certainly individuals to watch out for at our top selection. Reid is an illustration of the typical 200-cm player that today's AFL key-position players are. He appears to be a rising star for the league and would complement Lewis well in the near future. With his speed and athleticism, McKercher seems like a fantastic outside midfielder.

I wouldn't be discounting Mackenzie quite yet, especially considering he was the best on in the first quarter just then. His kicking under pressure and movement in packs is as clean as I've seen this year, a few times he burst out of the centr clearance and hit up a player in goal range. Definetly a big option for us.

This is what I like about Mackenzie and something we lack in the team right now. Although I'm still hopeful we make a play for pick 2 and go after Tsatas or Sheezel.

His ground level game for his height is ridiculous as well, regular one grab pick ups at speed in a lot of the games I've watched him live. Obviously not the same position, but a lot of his movement around the ground, going for marks and picking up the ball reminds me a bit of Mac Andrew in that it's just crazily fluid for a 200cm player. Harley is the outright best talent for next year currently, but the upside of Archer at his height makes him second for me

If purely looking at fwds I would defiantly have Koltyn Tholstrup and Logan Morris in the top 10 fwds at this stage

His ground level game for his height is ridiculous as well, regular one grab pick ups at speed in a lot of the games I've watched him live. Obviously not the same position, but a lot of his movement around the ground, going for marks and picking up the ball reminds me a bit of Mac Andrew in that it's just crazily fluid for a 200cm player. Harley is the outright best talent for next year currently, but the upside of Archer at his height makes him second for me
Agree with this.

I mentioned it in my game recap earlier, but his spin move at half-forward to open up a bullet into Konstanty (which I believe he dropped?) was insane and I would love for him to be doing that for us in 5 years rather than against us. Morseoe than King or Darcy, he really does play like a 200cm small forward when he wants too.

we should be looking for a sml/med forward in the draft at some point, here are a few in the next 2 years that i like the look of.

Harry Sheezel - Sandringham - 13 gms 31.24 20d 3.5m 3.5t (kicked 6 goals in 3 games so far at the champs)
Brandon Leary - Tasmania - 14 gms 33.22 12.5d 3.5m 3t (speed) (kicked 5 goals in 2 games for the Allies at champs, is a 19 yr old who didnt play last yr)
Brady Wright - GWV - 12 gms 23.8 9d 4m 1t (has not played any rep footy and not on the draft radar, but i liked how skillful he was early in the year)
Jacob Konstanty - Gippsland - 14 gms 17.13 15d 3m 6t (kicked 3 goals in 2 games at the champs so far)
Brayden George - Murray - 8 gms 18.12 9d 3m 1t (got injured prior to champs, then returned and did an ACL)
*edit in * Charlie Clarke - Sandringham - 14gms 29.19 19.5d 3.5m 3.5t
Anthony Munkara - NT/West Adel - 2 gms 6.1 11d 1.5m 4t (looked great in pre-season, had a great game against Coll VFL, then went off the radar, moves like a Rioli, funny highlight of him throwing off a Collingwood tackler in the VFL game)
Shadeau Brain - Bris A/Allies - 2 gms 2 goals for Bris A V NAB League teams (reminds me of how Noah Cumberland burst on the scene for the Allies from Bris A was a revelation as a forward/flanker/mid for the Allies kicking 3 goals in 3 games could be an interesting prospect)
Toby McMullin - Sandringham/Vic Country - 6 gms 2.2 10d 2m 1.5t (2 goals in 2 games for vic country, looked an interesting prospect)

Chad Reschke - Sturt - 17 gms 68.22 9d 5m(2cm) 1t (medium sized forward who kicked 68 goals in the u18s and kicked 3 goals in 1 reserves sanfl game)
Zane Duursma - Gippsland - 14 gms 31.21 15.5d 4m 2.5t (kicked 2 goals in 2 champs games so far)
Logan Morris - Western - 14 gms 31.14 8d 4m 1t (is in the VM squad)
Ashton Moir - Glenlg - 10 gms 30.17 16d 5.5m 2.5t (kicked 4 goals in 2 games at the champs)
Koltyn Tholstrup - Subiaco - 12 gms 24.14 15d 4m 2.5t (kicked 1 goal in the champs but was 1 of WA's best players throughout)
Jack Delean - Sth Adel - 16 gms 28.22 13d 3m 3t (kicked 2 goals in 3 games in the champs)
George Stevens - GWV - Injured, but looked good last year for Vic Country
Nick Watson - Eastern - 7 gms 18.12 12d 2.5m 2.5t (kicked 4 goals in 2 games at the champs)
Jack Callinan - Tasmania - 15 gms 21.7 15d 4m 2t

we should be looking for a sml/med forward in the draft at some point, here are a few in the next 2 years that i like the look of.

Harry Sheezel - Sandringham - 13 gms 31.24 20d 3.5m 3.5t (kicked 6 goals in 3 games so far at the champs)
Brandon Leary - Tasmania - 14 gms 33.22 12.5d 3.5m 3t (speed) (kicked 5 goals in 2 games for the Allies at champs, is a 19 yr old who didnt play last yr)
Brady Wright - GWV - 12 gms 23.8 9d 4m 1t (has not played any rep footy and not on the draft radar, but i liked how skillful he was early in the year)
Jacob Konstanty - Gippsland - 14 gms 17.13 15d 3m 6t (kicked 3 goals in 2 games at the champs so far)
Brayden George - Murray - 8 gms 18.12 9d 3m 1t (got injured prior to champs, then returned and did an ACL)
Anthony Munkara - NT/West Adel - 2 gms 6.1 11d 1.5m 4t (looked great in pre-season, had a great game against Coll VFL, then went off the radar, moves like a Rioli, funny highlight of him throwing off a Collingwood tackler in the VFL game)
Shadeau Brain - Bris A/Allies - 2 gms 2 goals for Bris A V NAB League teams (reminds me of how Noah Cumberland burst on the scene for the Allies from Bris A was a revelation as a forward/flanker/mid for the Allies kicking 3 goals in 3 games could be an interesting prospect)
Toby McMullin - Sandringham/Vic Country - 6 gms 2.2 10d 2m 1.5t (2 goals in 2 games for vic country, looked an interesting prospect)

Chad Retscke - Sturt - 17 gms 68.22 9d 5m(2cm) 1t (medium sized forward who kicked 68 goals in the u18s and kicked 3 goals in 1 reserves sanfl game)
Zane Duursma - Gippsland - 14 gms 31.21 15.5d 4m 2.5t (kicked 2 goals in 2 champs games so far)
Ashton Moir - Glenlg - 10 gms 30.17 16d 5.5m 2.5t (kicked 4 goals in 2 games at the champs)
Koltyn Tholstrup - Subiaco - 12 gms 24.14 15d 4m 2.5t (kicked 1 goal in the champs but was 1 of WA's best players throughout)
Jack Delean - Sth Adel - 16 gms 28.22 13d 3m 3t (kicked 2 goals in 3 games in the champs)
Nick Watson - Eastern - 7 gms 18.12 12d 2.5m 2.5t (kicked 4 goals in 2 games at the champs)
Great insight!
I’m a big Sheezel fan, but geeze, the Chad (Retscke) stats (4 goals per game) seem crazy.
I’ve not seen much written up about him compared to others - is there a reason he’s not being talked about as much?

Anthony Munkara - NT/West Adel - 2 gms 6.1 11d 1.5m 4t (looked great in pre-season, had a great game against Coll VFL, then went off the radar)

Chad Retscke - Sturt - 17 gms 68.22 9d 5m(2cm) 1t (medium sized forward who kicked 68 goals in the u18s and kicked 3 goals in 1 reserves sanfl game)
Someone hasn't heard the Ginnivan news...

What do you think of Charlie Clarke, Jaxon Binns, and Blake Drury as 3rd/4th round selections?
Charlie Clarke - 182cm 75kg - 14gms 19.4d 3.7m 3.6t 4.4i50s 2.07 goals
Blake Drury - 178cm 73kg - 7gms 18.7d 6.1m 2.1t 5i50s 1 goal
Jaxon Binns - 182cm 73kg - 6gms 21.3d 6m 1.8t 5.83i50s 1.2 goals

I know they largely play up the ground in NAB league, but all three have had good games forward and have some top traits. They all just need to tidy up their field kicking. I'm especially fond of Clarke's movement at the bottom of packs close to goals. He has a very composed head and knows when to draw a player and shoot a handpass but also when to just yam it on the boot.

Great insight!
I’m a big Sheezel fan, but geeze, the Chad (Retscke) stats (4 goals per game) seem crazy.
I’ve not seen much written up about him compared to others - is there a reason he’s not being talked about as much?
might be that he lacks a little bit in the athletic category, but for a guy 187cm 88kg he is a good lead and contested mark, heres his hudl to check out how he plays.

also a side note, the sanfl u18 comp is a fair bit weaker in general than the NAB League, but his 3 goals against men in the reserves was a good indication he can play under more physical pressure

Someone hasn't heard the Ginnivan news...

What do you think of Charlie Clarke, Jaxon Binns, and Blake Drury as 3rd/4th round selections?
Charlie Clarke - 182cm 75kg - 14gms 19.4d 3.7m 3.6t 4.4i50s 2.07 goals
Blake Drury - 178cm 73kg - 7gms 18.7d 6.1m 2.1t 5i50s 1 goal
Jaxon Binns - 182cm 73kg - 6gms 21.3d 6m 1.8t 5.83i50s 1.2 goals

I know they largely play up the ground in NAB league, but all three have had good games forward and have some top traits. They all just need to tidy up their field kicking. I'm especially fond of Clarke's movement at the bottom of packs close to goals. He has a very composed head and knows when to draw a player and shoot a handpass but also when to just yam it on the boot.
oh no i heard, i just think we need more to replace Gunston and Breust in coming years, even Gunston and Breust isnt enough and im not sure on the other small forwards we have, also who knows if Brockman leaves also?

you're right i forgot Clarke, i always miss someone when i do these things in a hurry, Binns and Drury are ok options too

*edit in * Charlie Clarke - Sandringham - 14gms 29.19 19.5d 3.5m 3.5t

Chad Reschke - Sturt - 17 gms 68.22 9d 5m(2cm) 1t (medium sized forward who kicked 68 goals in the u18s and kicked 3 goals in 1 reserves sanfl game)
For someone spoken about very highly Konstanty doesn't hit the scoreboard much.

oh no i heard, i just think we need more to replace Gunston and Breust in coming years, even Gunston and Breust isnt enough and im not sure on the other small forwards we have, also who knows if Brockman leaves also?

you're right i forgot Clarke, i always miss someone when i do these things in a hurry, Binns and Drury are ok options too
Thanks for the insight really good info. I haven’t seen footage on many of these players but for 2022 Clarke seems like the player we need (outside the dream of sheezel of course). What’s he like in terms of afl attributes and what draft range do you think he falls in? Similar question on delean for 2023?

Charlie Clarke is more a midfielder who plays forward, think a Gresham or Billings type, can probably get him in the 2nd round unless he rises which he might?, Delean has been compared to Heeney, but this season wasn't as great as he would've liked.

At the moment he plays as a receiver from D'Aloia in the majority of his games rather than an in-and-under clearance winning mid. It could come with another year of development, but he isn't a pack crasher and seems to take knocks pretty hard. Nothing really major, but at the top end you have to nitpick.
What's your opinion on D'Aloia. To me he seems to be a great inside workhorse, really good hand skills who rarely fumbles. He appears to be a performer on the big occasions and from his captaincy appointments last year looks to be regarded as a leader. Hasn't played a lot this year but has performed well in his limited games in the SANFL reserves. He looked to be highly regarded last year, but with limited games this year, he has slipped a long way down the list of prospects. Would he be a worthwhile pick with our current second round pick?

Personally, I like him. He presents as a valiant leader and a smart, fundamental footballer. I like his fast hands in particular, if you watched Lachie Neale against Richmond he would rarely be tackled without getting his hands off to a runner. The questions around his athleticism are worrying, more so than others. He is a single-pace player and works hard but without the burst to clear contests and a smaller tank than you'd expect from a midfielder without much burst. I'd happily take him with our second pick onwards but expect a Liam Shiels or Brad Sewell after a season or two at Box Hill rather than a superstar.

ok found out 2 more Hawks supporting draftees, the list of Hawks supporting draftees include

Harry Sheezel - Sandringham
Cam MacKenzie - Sandringham
Coby Burgiel - Gippsland - dad was on the Hawks list in late 90's, Hayden Burgiel
Luke Teal - Oakleigh
Jonti Schuback - Gippsland
Jakob Ryan - Glenlg

Ed Allan - Claremont - not sure if Hawks supporter, but his dad was a great player for the Hawks until Fremantle entered the AFL and he went to play for them in their first team. Ben Allan