Discussion 2022 General AFL Discussion

Hey all,

Not sure where to put this but just got back from overseas and payed for the watch AFL for a month, still subscribed for the next two weeks if anyone wants to take the risk of ruining their mood for a day of their trip like I did last Friday night watching.

Send me a PM and I’ll give you the log in details, save some cash
It's actually an excellent service too, credit where it's due AFL.

I think it's got more to do with the umpires inability to put the whistle away than the players infringing. Half of the frees paid don't need to be, I would suggest a large majority of supporters would prefer the game to continue in those instances rather than a free kick paid. Like I said, supporters were laughing at the umpires calls and that was also for calls their team had won. I don't think anybody actually cares if the frees are paid against them or for them as long as they are paid as little as possible.

You can list two anomalies that support your view but it pales in comparison to the number of games ruined by bad umpiring and I know you aren't stupid enough to not understand that.

I'll say it again, crowds in years past have been great and Friday night timeslots have remained the same. It's got almost nothing to do with why people aren't turning up in numbers not seen for 25 seasons.

Umpiring isn't suddenly the reason, it's been happening progressively for years and I reckon people are just fed up with it now. The game is over officiated and people smarter than you or I have been talking about it all season so I don't understand the "vocal minority" comment. It's one of the biggest issues in the game.
100%

The match day experience has been on the slide for a long long while. Like one previous post said it's an assault of noise, flashing lights and gambling adds at every opportunity. Personally l find it ultimately offensive.
Coupled with obscene prices for everything I'm sure many punters have long felt that negativity of knowingly getting reamed each time you walk toward a till. That unforgettable sick feeling that comes with being taken advantage of again.

It's just that the value proposition of game day had already passed the tipping point when covid hit.
All those like myself who were shat off with the experience had 2 years to break the habit of the long and expensive trek to the footy.
That on it's own is enough but you add the other factors that are being thrown around and it makes the whole value proposition even worse than it was 3 years ago. It's the inevitable result of the AFLs years of taking the supporters for granted and the death by a thousand cuts that's been perpetrated on match days for as long as l can remember.

Yes the state of umpiring is appalling and by extension it's making the games even less enjoyable. But it's a continuation of a 20 year slide into the abyss, not a new anomaly.

Right now IMHO we're seeing the results from a generation of disrespecting the fans and the game itself. The AFL simply does not deserve our time or money and attendance has undergone a correction that will likely continue or degrade until someone at head office starts giving a shit about the fans and the game again.

The match day experience has been on the slide for a long long while. Like one previous post said it's an assault of noise, flashing lights and gambling adds at every opportunity. Personally l find it ultimately offensive.
Coupled with obscene prices for everything I'm sure many punters have long felt that negativity of knowingly getting reamed each time you walk toward a till. That unforgettable sick feeling that comes with being taken advantage of again.

It's just that the value proposition of game day had already passed the tipping point when covid hit.
All those like myself who were shat off with the experience had 2 years to break the habit of the long and expensive trek to the footy.
That on it's own is enough but you add the other factors that are being thrown around and it makes the whole value proposition even worse than it was 3 years ago. It's the inevitable result of the AFLs years of taking the supporters for granted and the death by a thousand cuts that's been perpetrated on match days for as long as l can remember.

Yes the state of umpiring is appalling and by extension it's making the games even less enjoyable. But it's a continuation of a 20 year slide into the abyss, not a new anomaly.

Right now IMHO we're seeing the results from a generation of disrespecting the fans and the game itself. The AFL simply does not deserve our time or money and attendance has undergone a correction that will likely continue or degrade until someone at head office starts giving a s**t about the fans and the game again.
Each to their own but seriously but what's offensive about the noise or lights and if an Advertisement upsets you , jeeze you must loose it pretty easily.
I do agree about the AFL basically doing what ever they think is right and not giving a toss bag about what supporters want though , how about they give us a decent survey to do instead of their Loaded version so they actually get some proper feedback and not what they want to hear

To me Kayo is the biggest issue. I never would have taken up Foxtel just for footy but Kayo is so cheap you don’t even think about it. I used to have fox in the old days but once premier league ended it was a waste. Kayo makes staying home too tempting to stay gone. When it wasn’t on free to air or only on the phone app it was pub or turn up.
This is a good shout too. I probably watch more footy and NRL than i ever have because its easy to have it on in the background.

Im less engaged but im consuming more

The attraction for a 100 years of Aussie Rules VFL/AFL was that it was affordable for families. A family of four going to the footy would cost $200 after tickets, parking, food etc.
That just went on a rise in mortgage payment.
Gameday 'experience' is just as you described it. It seems we live in an attention deficit age where there can't be quiet. We all have to be patronised by light and sound like we are all children. It is fake and not why we are there. When I go to the movies, I don't expect them to put on a football match.

You point about the habit being broken after two years is excellent. My most enjoyable day at the football this year was Pies v Hawks at the G. Comfortable in the members, wondering about, watching a game I had no vested interest in.
Going to Docklands leaves me cold.

Then the umpiring. 60 frees a game just destroys the flow. 50's nobody has a clue on, almost every contest a free, players being rewarded for leading with their head and getting frees.

The game is a mess and as a club President said, it is just groupthink at the AFL. You can only think one way and no alternatives will be entered into.

The attraction for a 100 years of Aussie Rules VFL/AFL was that it was affordable for families. A family of four going to the footy would cost $200 after tickets, parking, food etc.
Gameday 'experience' is just as you described it. It seems we live in an attention deficit age where there can't be quiet. We all have to be patronised by light and sound like we are all children. It is fake and not why we are there. When I go to the movies, I don't expect them to put on a football match.

You point about the habit being broken after two years is excellent. My most enjoyable day at the football this year was Pies v Hawks at the G. Comfortable in the members, wondering about, watching a game I had no vested interest in.

Then the umpiring. 60 frees a game just destroys the flow. 50's nobody has a clue on, almost every contest a free, players being rewarded for leading with their head and getting frees.

The game is a mess and as a club President said, it is just groupthink at the AFL. You can only think one way and no alternatives will be entered into.

I went to watch VFL and really enjoyed the experience of being at a game where you could smell the lineament and yell at the players over the fence. The experience of a big stadium is so removed that it’s a lot like watching TV but colder and in a less comfortable chair with lines for toilets, food and drinks which are expensive but not frighteningly so.
European football and US sports are properly expensive, AFL is still quite affordable comparatively.

I went to watch VFL and really enjoyed the experience of being at a game where you could smell the lineament and yell at the players over the fence. The experience of a big stadium is so removed that it’s a lot like watching TV but colder and in a less comfortable chair with lines for toilets, food and drinks which are expensive but not frighteningly so.
European football and US sports are properly expensive, AFL is still quite affordable comparatively.
Depends who you ask. A low-middle income family of 2 or 3 kids living in the burbs would have to make it a once or twice a year treat.

Still crazy overseas. A friend took his kids to watch Liverpool in England and 4 of them cost $900 to a regular season premier league match which was “packaged” which was a drink and a bucket of chips each or something. They scalp out the tickets to third party on sellers who ransom them.

When we did the states we saw the Rangers (NHL) and the Knicks (NBA Preseason) at Madison square garden pretty cheap. I think the Giants at MetLife was pretty exy ($200 a ticket for cheap seats) and then paid heaps for the Patriots at Foxborough.

If you’ve got 2 adults and 2 kids with tickets and food for an Afl game I doubt you’re getting much change from $250, it’s not sheep stations but it’s unaffordable for a lot.

That’s part of the issue though. Do you want him getting the ball in our defensive half or in our forward 50?

We hit him up 13% of the time going inside 50m. To me that’s way out of whack.
if you watch him at games he works very hard from one forward flank to the other 50-60 meter sprints providing an option

Each to their own but seriously but what's offensive about the noise or lights and if an Advertisement upsets you , jeeze you must loose it pretty easily.
I do agree about the AFL basically doing what ever they think is right and not giving a toss bag about what supporters want though , how about they give us a decent survey to do instead of their Loaded version so they actually get some proper feedback and not what they want to hear
Well, when I use the AFL site I switch the betting odds off coz I simply don't want to see it, and given the number of kids that would access it I think it's akin to big tobacco targeting children like that did, and the AFL is complicit in doing so. I'd happily take a cricket bat to the league executives that signed off on that one in all honesty.
I also don't listen to commercial radio and didn't own a tele for 10 years till the Darl moved in with her throng of streaming services.

I used to enjoy the slow build up of noise that preceded a game. Get there early so you can sink a few drinks and get your first reasonably priced pie which was stinking hot and not luke warm in case some entitled effwit sues the MCG for scalding their child's upper pallet. Getting the opportunity to catch up with the people you meet there and actually hear what they're saying, then the crowd raise to a roar as the teams come out. Sit through a game where you actually knew the bloody rules, then watch the under 5's and 6's at half time without the loud speaker blaring out the halftime odds followed by some other God awful shit. Finish up the game and leave bemoaning the free kicks that actually didn't get paid. It used to be call the Footy and it was friggn great. Almost what you might call a cultural experience. People here under the age of about 25 would have little idea what I'm talking about.
The current "experience" is a limp homogeneous medium for corporate advertising and raping the wallets of those attending. It's lost any traces of what made it special and now with an enforced break the public has realized at some subconscious level that it's not worth the price of admission like it once was. All things are connected. The AFL sold the soul of the game (our game) to the advertisers, now it's their game and it's shit.

Well, when I use the AFL site I switch the betting odds off coz I simply don't want to see it, and given the number of kids that would access it I think it's akin to big tobacco targeting children like that did, and the AFL is complicit in doing so. I'd happily take a cricket bat to the league executives that signed off on that one in all honesty.
I also don't listen to commercial radio and didn't own a tele for 10 years till the Darl moved in with her throng of streaming services.

I used to enjoy the slow build up of noise that preceded a game. Get there early so you can sink a few drinks and get your first reasonably priced pie which was stinking hot and not luke warm in case some entitled effwit sues the MCG for scalding their child's upper pallet. Getting the opportunity to catch up with the people you meet there and actually hear what they're saying, then the crowd raise to a roar as the teams come out. Sit through a game where you actually knew the bloody rules, then watch the under 5's and 6's at half time without the loud speaker blaring out the halftime odds followed by some other God awful s**t. Finish up the game and leave bemoaning the free kicks that actually didn't get paid. It used to be call the Footy and it was friggn great. Almost what you might call a cultural experience. People here under the age of about 25 would have little idea what I'm talking about.
The current "experience" is a limp homogeneous medium for corporate advertising and raping the wallets of those attending. It's lost any traces of what made it special and now with an enforced break the public has realized at some subconscious level that it's not worth the price of admission like it once was. All things are connected. The AFL sold the soul of the game (our game) to the advertisers, now it's their game and it's s**t.
The money that gambling sponsorship and the like has brought in has grown the game and turned the braodcast into one of the best presentations going.

I appreciate the nostalgia of the outer and suburban grounds and the like but if it stayed that way the game would be dead or at least in a tonne of debt.

I was at the Pies v Hawks in the members too and it was probably the most enjoyable time for a while, probably because I can get a proper beer and pie in the bar and retreat in there whenever I like. Can't stand the Docklands. Awful place.

The money that gambling sponsorship and the like has brought in has grown the game and turned the braodcast into one of the best presentations going.

I appreciate the nostalgia of the outer and suburban grounds and the like but if it stayed that way the game would be dead or at least in a tonne of debt.
With due respect you can FO with that. Go and give cigarettes away outside the local primary school. The broadcast is shit too.

With due respect you can FO with that. Go and give cigarettes away outside the local primary school. The broadcast is s**t too.
Lol rightio.

Im 35 so im old enough to remember Waverley and the good old days.

The broadcast is 100 times better than what it was. I dont like the gambling sponsorship either and im not advocating for it, just pointing out that nostalgia for the good old days doesnt mean they were better (we also used to be sponsored by a cigarette company so was that better too)?

When we did the states we saw the Rangers (NHL) and the Knicks (NBA Preseason) at Madison square garden pretty cheap. I think the Giants at MetLife was pretty exy ($200 a ticket for cheap seats) and then paid heaps for the Patriots at Foxborough.

If you’ve got 2 adults and 2 kids with tickets and food for an Afl game I doubt you’re getting much change from $250, it’s not sheep stations but it’s unaffordable for a lot.
Daughter and Partner did Maple Leafs when in Canada, $350 each.

Supply and demand. In AFL we are oversupplied so the costs have to remain cheap enough for the family. Also it is a provincial game with a small population potentially attending. Not the luxury of 400 million in Europe or 350 million North Americans for their sports.

Daughter and Partner did Maple Leafs when in Canada, $350 each.

Supply and demand. In AFL we are oversupplied so the costs have to remain cheap enough for the family. Also it is a provincial game with a small population potentially attending. Not the luxury of 400 million in Europe or 350 million North Americans for their sports.
Even in the states it’s big market small market. Games in NYC and Boston are expensive, wanna go see the Grizzlies in Memphis or the Wizards in Washington it’s gonna be cheap and accessible.

Discussion 2022 General AFL Discussion