Autopsy 2022 Rd 9 Blues show Giant heart to win interstate

Who played well for the Blues in Round 9 vs the Giants?

Ok, serious man love for Jack Silvagni. Just competes, smart as f*** out there and is the prototypical clubman! Every generation of Silvagni has won a flag, I’ll cry a river WHEN Jack wins his. Won’t win a Normie but will be instrumental in making others better and Carlton winning #17. Steve might even crack a smile!

Only gets a game because of his surname :laughv1:

Loving our I50 pressure.

No easy ball for opposition to waltz out from defence.

Huge piece of the puzzle
Durdin and Owies... my god do they hunt well together. No defender is going to waltz the ball out of our forward line if one or both of those two are close by.

This photo got me thinking about the hand fate can sometimes deal you in life.

Durdin
Horne-Francis

Both SA boys, drafted to Vic clubs.

Durdin : lands at a big, traditionally powerful and successful club to be mentored by a legend in Voss and burgeoning legend Cripps.

Horne-Francis : lands at the beleaguered north with under siege coach Noble and washed up skipper Ziebell.

Timing is everything in sport and in life …

When I saw this kids juniors highlight video after we drafted him. I was straight onto his bandwagon. I could see he had something special... and he's actually exceeded my high expectations of him.

Watched him a fair bit in the SANFL and am absolutely thrilled for him. Quality person too.

I was just a medium wrap on Durdin as a player when we drafted him. It was when i saw an interview with his parents a few days later that i thought "yeah, this kid is a big chance".

I'm not big on the emotion of those kinda interviews and stuff. As a matter of fact i find most of them cringey.

But there was a realness and a drive about his parents in that short interview. I dunno, i just thought "yeah, fair dinkum".

Up against it win
Strong start
Arm wrestle for the next couple
Came home strongly when it was on the line
****ing proud as, everyone had a crack
DURDIN not only in the best handful on the ground but the entirety of his game pressure wise tonight was first class for a kid who’s played as many games as he has is a joy to watch, again this kid is going to be a ripper…
Go the mighty baggers 👍

Said during the week it was exciting to see what this team has to offer. Well we showed it!

Super super impressed with the performance. Ticked so many boxes. Love so many performances from so many players.

Against Freo our bottom 10 players didn't show up.

First interstate game since and our bottom 10 players were all were great.

Plowman, Fisher, Durdin, Cottrell, O'Brien, Newnes were all fantastic.

7 - 2 Baby!!!

Jack Silvagni.

20 touches, 8 marks, chopped out in the ruck and two sensational, skilful, clutch goals.

Guy is a beast.
He is the energiser bunny... he just keeps going!

Jack Silvagni.

20 touches, 8 marks, chopped out in the ruck and two sensational, skilful, clutch goals.

Guy is a beast.
He's not only living up to his name, he is forging his own! Heart and Soul that man!

If Docherty doesn’t make the All Australian team at the end of the year they need to sack all selectors
They need to sack all the selectors anyway.

Just watching the match again... second quarter, about the 8 minute mark, as the Giants exited our forward line. One of the GWS players had both arms wrapped around Durdin to stop him from tackling his team mate. That's the very definition of holding the man.

Autopsy 2022 Rd 9 Blues show Giant heart to win interstate