Rumour 2022 Rumour Discussion Thread

He said didn't we offer something and they refused? You have agreed with that.

Then given we offered something more than what we got him for, we clearly offered overs.

Another bad take from you.
I can't remember if it was 28 or 38 that we offered but the decision to turn us down was weird. I had heard that GWS didn't intend to go deep into the draft that year, so they essentially saw Adelaide's offer of a second rounder as being worthless. When I look at the 2020 draft board though, they ended up using picks 58 and 59.

Neither of you post enough gif responses to be me.
youre right GIF

Wasn't he shifted out a game or two after his best,somewhat dominant performance?
He played well enough to be given more games in there, but we had to get Crouch back in. Then Nicks quite ridiculously kept him on the wing. It was insane coaching and only topped when he played Crouch on the wing against the Hawks.

That’s why there a question marks on Nicks, he’s capable of some baffling decisions.

On what planet is Hately a winger let alone Crouch?

I’d like one of the club ambassadors on here to try and justify this, BACCS and Mego Red want to try?

Wasn't he shifted out a game or two after his best,somewhat dominant performance?
Somewhat dominant performance?

Maybe check out his Contested Possession/Uncontested possessions for a 191cm 91kg inside mid, then compare them with a 177cm 78kg inside mid Rory Laird...nothing dominant about those numbers...

Or better still compare them with a 2nd year player 182cm 83kg Sam Berry.

Or even a 180cm 80kg Jake Soligo a 1st year player..

He played well enough to be given more games in there, but we had to get Crouch back in. Then Nicks quite ridiculously kept him on the wing. It was insane coaching and only topped when he played Crouch on the wing against the Hawks.

That’s why there a question marks on Nicks, he’s capable of some baffling decisions.

On what planet is Hately a winger let alone Crouch?

I’d like one of the club ambassadors on here to try and justify this, BACCS and Mego Red want to try?
Aside from the Crouch stuff and Dawson in the backline, the most baffling coaching decision all year, IMO

Seemed to totally lose some of the confidence he’d built up playing in the guts when moved to the wing

Somewhat dominant performance?

Maybe check out his Contested Possession/Uncontested possessions for a 191cm 91kg inside mid, then compare them with a 177cm 78kg inside mid Rory Laird...nothing dominant about those numbers...

Or better still compare them with a 2nd year player 182cm 83kg Sam Berry.

Or even a 180cm 80kg Jake Soligo a 1st year player..

Without looking at the stats(because I really couldnt give a rats arse about meaningless figures), all I remember was he stood out well amongst our mids. Better positioning, better hard ball gets, cleaner first use, standing up in tackles before moving the ball forward, clean 1 touch takes yada,yada,yada. You know, a productive, proactive inside mid doing his job.

I'm not sure if it was the game before he was shifted or two games?

Whatever it was, he was building in that position to the point where he finally looked comfortable, if not better than OUR average. This was a short time before they shunted him for some batshit crazy idea that we needed Mrouch back in the mix.
But hey, if stats are all that matter to you, then your boy Waddles should be a starting mid lock right up until he retires right?

Laird, Keays, Mrouch can rack up 35 touches and still have sweet F.A influence on a game,and regular do.

BTW, I'm no Hately fan boi trust me, but you stick with your stats and I'll just watch the games.

Aside from the Crouch stuff and Dawson in the backline, the most baffling coaching decision all year, IMO

Seemed to totally lose some of the confidence he’d built up playing in the guts when moved to the wing
For an inside mid of his physique he does not win near enough hard ball when he's played in there.

Without looking at the stats(because I really couldnt give a rats arse about meaningless figures), all I remember was he stood out well amongst our mids. Better positioning, better hard ball gets, cleaner first use, standing up in tackles before moving the ball forward, clean 1 touch takes yada,yada,yada. You know, a productive, proactive inside mid doing his job.

I'm not sure if it was the game before he was shifted or two games?

Whatever it was, he was building in that position to the point where he finally looked comfortable, if not better than OUR average. This was a short time before they shunted him for some batshit crazy idea that we needed Mrouch back in the mix.
But hey, if stats are all that matter to you, then your boy Waddles should be a starting mid lock right up until he retires right?

Laird, Keays, Mrouch can rack up 35 touches and still have sweet F.A influence on a game,and regular do.

BTW, I'm no Hately fan boi trust me, but you stick with your stats and I'll just watch the games.
Better hard ball gets...you're joking.

Solid, yet totally irrelevant comparison.
If Hately wants to play midfield he has to start using his physical advantage way way more than he does and win a lot more contested football, if he doesn't he's not going to ever be a full time midfielder at AFL level and I'm not too sure if he has other strings to his bow to make a success of other roles.

Yes I agree 100%.

He's pretty much a 1 dimensional footballer,much like MCrouch.
In saying that, if we are going to keep him on our list,then where do you play a 1 dimensional footballer?
Answer- You play him in that 1 dimension, and as he steadily improves, you persist with playing him there despite the temptation of playing another, more mature 1 dimensional footballer who has absolutely no chance of making any meaningful difference to a future flag tilt.

Use the same logic you have used to defend Ned and apply to Hately.

Yes I agree 100%.

He's pretty much a 1 dimensional footballer,much like MCrouch.
In saying that, if we are going to keep him on our list,then where do you play a 1 dimensional footballer?
Answer- You play him in that 1 dimension, and as he steadily improves, you persist with playing him there despite the temptation of playing another, more mature 1 dimensional footballer who has absolutely no chance of making any meaningful difference to a future flag tilt.
Currently on what I saw of Zac Taylor this year he should be the next inclusion in our midfield, wins plenty of his footy inside the contest, uses it better than any of our regular AFL mids already both by hand and foot. Unless Hately has a big preseason and starts winning a lot more contested footy Taylor will quickly put himself above Hately in the pecking order as well.

Yeah mate look, like I said, I'm no Hately fan boi. Even though I'm defending his performance and criticising our near sighted,chook raffle selection policy, he should never have made up part of that particular midfield rotation ever.
It has been a terrible, grunt-hack heavy mix for all but half a season of Nicks tenure IMHO.

I love what I see in Taylor, just as I do with Soligo, Rachele and Pedlar.
I agree with you all day every day that Taylor trumps Hately, but that's based on what I perceive to be an ideal midfield mix.
I'm still not convinced that my vision matches that of our selection committee though, so when talking Hately,I'm just trying to work with what they seem to see as their ideal mix.

Rumour 2022 Rumour Discussion Thread