Opinion 2023 AFL Draft Prospects

Who do you want for our first pick at the AFL Draft?

I'm completely happy with Sanders if thats what we end up with. For those who haven't seen his highlights package they probably should. He's not remotely slow as some seem to think. has a great step in traffic, uses the ball well delivering inside 50 and pops up for a few goals. In a lot of ways he's exactly what we need in preparation for the post-Libba, Treloar, Macrae times which are coming like a freight train. He's also ready to go, he'd play round 1

No way he is like Macrae or more so T Mitchel, I'm actually torn between who id rather out of him and Watson

I have a feeling that nth take mckercher and duursma then hawks take Watson and we have a choice of Curtin or Sanders,

A very hard choice for me Curtin can play straight away on back flank/pocket before a midfield transition allowing others to play elsewhere,

Sanders is better performed mid can play straight away but where do we put him if not in the midfield and who misses out if we put him there

I have a feeling that nth take mckercher and duursma then hawks take Watson and we have a choice of Curtin or Sanders,

A very hard choice for me Curtin can play straight away on back flank/pocket before a midfield transition allowing others to play elsewhere,

Sanders is better performed mid can play straight away but where do we put him if not in the midfield and who misses out if we put him there
Yeah this would be a hard choice for me too. A lot pends on Libba for me. We suck without Libba. He's 32 and done 2 knees. But to be fair I have also been worried about him for 3 years unnecessarily.

Macrae "should" be able to step in, but his form this year worries a bit. Not confident we can fully rely on West filling the gap.

But if Libba is fine all year, Macrae's form is strong, West too, and Baz stays then Sanders isn't so urgent.

Club needs to invest in crystal balls

Watching Sanders highlights. Some of his handballs out of the packs do remind me of Libba. Pretty smart player and has a good read on the game.

Macrae is probably a better kick at his best. He kicks them low and hard. The thing I have noticed about some of Sanders kicks, and it is probably just the sh*ty angles and visions provided.

He seems to place them in good spots and is pretty accurate. But some of the kicks feel like they hang in the air a fair bit, slow looping kicks, instead of hard and low. Could be intercepted easily inside 50 vs good teams. Almost like how we kick the footy inside 50 anyway, lob it high and pray Naughton can mark it amongst a pack at low odds.

Sanders is definitely much quicker and more mobile than Macrae though. Could also be potential leadership material.

I would love Watson for the impact and excitement, will add another dimension to the forward line.

We are to tall up front for Duursma unless he plays more MID, but his biggest impact is around goals. And Coffields addition, probably means Curtin will just crowd the defence more with Busslinger and JOD already there. Even though we still need a big bodied shut down type like Jones.

But the smart pick might be Sanders from a long term list perspective. If Smith did leave, we have no one coming through at all.

Hope McKercher slides. Club probably did the right thing moving up.

Who would we take if we are stuck with picking between Curtin and Duursma?

Watching Sanders highlights. Some of his handballs out of the packs do remind me of Libba. Pretty smart player and has a good read on the game.

Macrae is probably a better kick at his best. He kicks them low and hard. The thing I have noticed about some of Sanders kicks, and it is probably just the sh*ty angles and visions provided.

He seems to place them in good spots and is pretty accurate. But some of the kicks feel like they hang in the air a fair bit, slow looping kicks, instead of hard and low. Could be intercepted easily inside 50 vs good teams. Almost like how we kick the footy inside 50 anyway, lob it high and pray Naughton can mark it amongst a pack at low odds.

Sanders is definitely much quicker and more mobile than Macrae though. Could also be potential leadership material.

I would love Watson for the impact and excitement, will add another dimension to the forward line.

We are to tall up front for Duursma unless he plays more MID, but his biggest impact is around goals. And Coffields addition, probably means Curtin will just crowd the defence more with Busslinger and JOD already there. Even though we still need a big bodied shut down type like Jones.

But the smart pick might be Sanders from a long term list perspective. If Smith did leave, we have no one coming through at all.

Hope McKercher slides. Club probably did the right thing moving up.

I think it completely depends on whether we think Curtin has genuine midfield potential, as I think it will for any club deciding on him. If we don't, I think we'd take Duursma even though he's a pretty bad fit for us.

Curtin could very likely take on the gorilla forwards even if it's not his current game or best use. The kid is already 197cm and 95 kgs but looks thin and wirey still! He's gonna be beast sized and is still athletic. If his footy is good enough then he'll be scary in any position.

The rookie me central site finally has all the draft write ups. Has Lual going at 39..that'd be tragic!

Not about us but who are the three Gold Coast should take ahead of all the rest?
Jed Walter been the obvious must take, but I believe I read that you can’t match on more than 3 Academy players within the first round or something like that

Not about us but who are the three Gold Coast should take ahead of all the rest?
Jed Walter been the obvious must take, but I believe I read that you can’t match on more than 3 Academy players within the first round or something like that

I believe that’s only if a side makes finals. Ethan Read’s a super mobile ruck and Jake Rogers is a pocket rocket midfielder.

They have three that'll go first round (Read, Walter & Rogers).
If a team makes finals then you can only match two first round bids.

We are to tall up front for Duursma unless he plays more MID, but his biggest impact is around goals.
Dont understand this. He is 189cm, 6ft 2 in the old measurement. To put that in perspective that is the same height as Ollie Henry who plays with Hawkins and Cameron. Who is a player who i think his role would be more similar to at AFL level but perhaps higher ceiling.

Other examples of this height working in forwardlines

Similar height as Rayner (187) who plays with Danniher and Hipwood.

Same height as Callum M Brown (188) with Hogan and Riccardi.

Michito Owens is 191cm with Max King and Membrey or whatever mediocre forward they roll with week to week. Cordy at one stage.

Will Hayward (186) who is also a pretty good afl comparison stylistically with Buddy and McDonald/McLean/Amartey.

I could go on but my point is if they are dynamic enough its not a problem because they can lead up, cover ground and pressure. Score both lead up and ground ball goals, with his leap and forward craft he would make it really hard for defenders such as Idun, Blakely and Isaac Quaynor to zone off and double team our key forwards. Cant go wrong with either him or Watson in our team IMO both add heaps to the forwardline.

I also dont think we can really go wrong with either of these two.

Curtain is a smooth mover and like him more and more each highlight I see (i know not an expert opinion). Agree as a key back it doesnt make much sense with JOD and Buss but could be better than both. Could be a mid. Could be anything.

Duursma better fit. Curtain best available perhaps but marginal. Duursma for me but happy either way

Dont understand this. He is 189cm, 6ft 2 in the old measurement. To put that in perspective that is the same height as Ollie Henry who plays with Hawkins and Cameron. Who is a player who i think his role would be more similar to at AFL level but perhaps higher ceiling.

Michito Owens is 191cm with Max King and Membrey or whatever mediocre forward they roll with week to week. Cordy at one stage.

Will Hayward (186) who is also a pretty good afl comparison stylistically with Buddy and McDonald/McLean/Amartey.

I could go on but my point is if they are dynamic enough its not a problem because they can lead up, cover ground and pressure. Score both lead up and ground ball goals, with his leap and forward craft he would make it really hard for defenders such as Idun, Blakely and Isaac Quaynor to zone off and double team our key forwards. Cant go wrong with either him or Watson in our team IMO both add heaps to the forwardline.

Curtain is a smooth mover and like him more and more each highlight I see (i know not an expert opinion). Agree as a key back it doesnt make much sense with JOD and Buss but could be better than both. Could be a mid. Could be anything.

Duursma better fit. Curtain best available perhaps but marginal. Duursma for me but happy either way
Re: Duursma, I think their point was we need smaller pressure players and crumbers in the forward line, not another lead and mark forward (and yes, I know that’s not all he is). JUH, Naughton, Lobb/Darcy is too tall for Duursma to really thrive alongside them. He’d be a better player elsewhere

We have three talls inside 50 sometimes, and always three tall forwards on match days in general. That is my point that people miss. Two talls and Duursma can work no worries, I have no issue with that. That is almost like a traditional set up.

Three talls and Duursma, probably too many. He will likely grow to be over 190cm at some point as well, he is still young and growing. Doubt there is any teams playing with four forwards over 190cm, at least not the best ones. We got burnt bad by that in the early rounds by being too top heavy up front, by not being quick enough to lock the ball in. And stop teams once they got a run on, or when the ball hit the ground.

The best teams have a couple of talls and a decent fleet of small guys under them. Geelong with Cameron, Hawkins and Henry is pretty much us with Naughton, JUH and Lobb.

We need to go smaller not taller, up front. But given Lobb likely has only a couple years left. Duursma could step in and be that third forward, so I am not against us picking him personally. Just stating with our current set up, he would need to get used to the midfield fast, or ride the bench until Lobb retires or something. Which I doubt we want to spend a top 5 pick for someone do to. We are looking for someone to impact and play round one.

Also need to remember Darcy is penciled in as Lobbs replacement. For it to work, we'd need two of Naughton, Jamarra, Darcy on the field, and one of them on the bench rotating. Duursma then can play the third tall there. Need to be mindful, the modern game is all about run and gun at the moment.

Personally I'd prefer his skill set to Lobb. But Lobb is our only decent back up ruck, so he won't be going anywhere soon. Going by Powers comments about classy high forwards, Duursma will definitely be on our radar, in consideration for our pick. We'd just need to move the magnets a bit.

The rookie me central site finally has all the draft write ups. Has Lual going at 39..that'd be tragic!

Rankings not phantom draft. By the time it comes to the pick 30s+ the teams will be drafting for needs anyways so He's likely to be outside 40.

Good links.

Taking those at face value, I feel like McKercher is a perfect fit in terms of team needs, but Duursma just seems to be that upside talent that could be anything.

Alas I cant see one of them falling to us because of friggin norf

prefs would have to be:

Duursma (kind of feel like of the gettables, he is the best available)
McKercher
Sanders (Cant split watson and Sanders, so have gone for needs)
Watson
Curtin

Curtin is such an exciting prospect. His floor is an elite defender but I can see him making the transition to being an inside mid in the mould of Bont down the track.

Would play round 1 as an intercept defender / third tall.

Yeah agreed, and he’s probably my least wanted option to be honest. We really are in a great position here, can see why we were so keen to move up - actually pretty lucky how it turned out that we had the extra late first rounder & Croft this year so we could justify the move up and make the most out of our hand. The top end quality compared to next rung looks huge

I think a lot of the next batch after the top prospects look as if they’ll be quality role players to
Players like Hardeman, De Mattia,
Tholstrup and Archie Roberts

Opinion 2023 AFL Draft Prospects