2023 Crowds and TV/Streaming

Summer solstice is literally the middle of summer, hence why it's the longest day (most time of sunlight) of the year.

I've swam on Mornington Peninsula/Surf Coast beaches in November many of times (including the Melbourne cup public holiday which is first Tuesday of November). Never would do/have done it in March in or near Melbourne because the weather isn't hot enough to justify swimming in the really cold Melbourne waters. If March was truly hotter than November the AFL and NRL wouldn't be playing afternoon games then.

If the AFL were serious about getting the girls out of the heat, they wouldn't be playing in November let alone December.
And that's before going into the fact that the women's grand finals can't be played in front of big crowds anymore because most of the grounds used for AFL men's games are being used for cricket, you know an actual summer sport, for that time of the year.

What the hell is this?

Have you just moved to Australia?

There are still some tickets left in the AFL Members for Carl / Syd. Basically a handful of single seats and some standing room bays. Should sell out before too long.

The Saints/Giants match has sold very little in the AFL Members. A couple of bays are still left on the bottom level, but basically the entirety of the top deck is unsold. There will probably be a fair amount of walk ups on the day, but it's not a great start.

Considering we are a small interstate club versing a team who will have about 50 fans at the game, anything over 60k would be a huge result IMO

What the hell is this?

Have you just moved to Australia?
Literally lived in Australia almost my whole life, apart from the few months overseas I taught English.

Why do the AFL and NRL play afternoon games in March? Why do people wear beanies and hoodies to the footy in Melbourne in March? Hell I've experienced jacket weather in Sydney in March and 42 degree heat in Newcastle in November.

March is not the hottest month or anywhere near it despite what people who stay in their basement or air con offices think.

More people will be at the beach in around Melbourne cup than the start of AFL season, because November is simply hotter than March (fake data doesn't prove anything, anyone saying otherwise doesn't go outdoors).

Ask any tradie, miner or any outdoor worker what month they prefer to work (when I was still living in Queensland I'd so as far to say March and April were my favourite months to work, because the temperature dropped down significantly in March but didn't start getting cold for Queensland standards yet - now I live in Melbourne it's definitely September and October because it stops being unbearably cold during the day but the horrid Melbourne dry heat doesn't kick in yet).

Here's an article about a sporting event in Newcastle, Australia taking place in a 40 degree day. I know how hot that day was because I was in Newcastle that weekend with one of my Kiwi mates. A major sporting event taking place on a 40 degree day, or near 40 degrees, has never happened in March in this country.

IMG_20230831_052916.jpg

IMG_20230831_052930.jpg

Note how it says Nov on the blog.

There has never been an AFLW game in March that has taken place in that sort of heat. But there eventually will be in November if the AFL insist on playing in this time of the year.

I consider November still Winter down here. I hate when Cricket Aus has international cricket matches anytime before X-mas, as our weather is very unpredictable till after the solstice.

You wouldn't know the AFLW starts in tmw. You would think the AFL would have it on its homepage or something. Instead, it has a countdown for next weeks finals and that is basically 90% of the website. I just wonder if this is the best time of year for interest in the comp.

I consider November still Winter down here. I hate when Cricket Aus has international cricket matches anytime before X-mas, as our weather is very unpredictable till after the solstice.

You wouldn't know the AFLW starts in tmw. You would think the AFL would have it on its homepage or something. Instead, it has a countdown for next weeks finals and that is basically 90% of the website. I just wonder if this is the best year for interest in the comp.

2 of 3 stories on the main AFL page are AFLW leads. AFLW has its own website linked as well

There has been a substantial promotion and there's heaps of socials. Round 1 is stacked. It will get 70K people which will generate its own momentum

2 of 3 stories on the main AFL page are AFLW leads. AFLW has its own website linked as well

There has been a substantial promotion and there's heaps of socials. Round 1 is stacked. It will get 70K people which will generate its own momentum
No there isnt.

The main article, the one with the biggest picture (ATM) is about potential trades. The banners are all about the AFL finals. The countdown to matches are all for the next week finals.

Sure, there is some AFLW articles around the place. But with the main advertising outer all about "8 stories, 1 ending" banner, you have to go hunting. And it is not just that. No tipping comp on the main page. I only just saw the AFLW tab so change things around. It is a tough find

It should be better. Have links to the AFLW section, and not go hunting for one little tab in the corner. The finals are next week and are hype themselves. use that banner space for something which starts this week.

No there isnt.

The main article, the one with the biggest picture (ATM) is about potential trades. The banners are all about the AFL finals. The countdown to matches are all for the next week finals.

Sure, there is some AFLW articles around the place. But with the main advertising outer all about "8 stories, 1 ending" banner, you have to go hunting. And it is not just that. No tipping comp on the main page. I only just saw the AFLW tab so change things around. It is a tough find

It should be better. Have links to the AFLW section, and not go hunting for one little tab in the corner. The finals are next week and are hype themselves. use that banner space for something which starts this week.

The balance is fine given it has its own website. Tipping is a "much harder find" for the men's than the AFLW tab is. The fantasy content is completely integrated on the main AFL site. 3 of the 4 visible "fantasy news" articles are AFLW

More generally:

There is a stack of very professionally produced content

There is a stack of social media activity and promotion.3

There is a stacked round 1 on a stand alone weekend that will generate its own momentum

There is the

Some people will obviously never be happy. Some people want to use the AFLW as another mechanism to attack the AFL and don't really care about it all. Even worse, some are just trying to drown it in negativity because they are threatened by it.

I am personally really positive about the season. By the end of the weekend there will be footage of packed grounds in 5 of 6 states (Tassie won't be) and the season will be on course for a 50% uplift on last season.

The balance is fine given it has its own website. Tipping is a "much harder find" for the men's than the AFLW tab is. The fantasy content is completely integrated on the main AFL site. 3 of the 4 visible "fantasy news" articles are AFLW

More generally:

There is a stack of very professionally produced content

There is a stack of social media activity and promotion.3

There is a stacked round 1 on a stand alone weekend that will generate its own momentum

There is the

Some people will obviously never be happy. Some people want to use the AFLW as another mechanism to attack the AFL and don't really care about it all. Even worse, some are just trying to drown it in negativity because they are threatened by it.

I am personally really positive about the season. By the end of the weekend there will be footage of packed grounds in 5 of 6 states (Tassie won't be) and the season will be on course for a 50% uplift on last season.
first thing, I am a big supporter of womens sport. So you can take your not too subtle digs at me somewhere else. As for Tassie, I posted the reasons I find playing at Blundstone queer the in the AFLW section of this website. Of course, a team which isnt Tasmanian isnt going to fill out a 14K stadium in the suburbs, even though it will be free entry.

You remind me so much of an old poster around here. He was a bit of a noob and very annoying.

first thing, I am a big supporter of womens sport. So you can take your not too subtle digs at me somewhere else. As for Tassie, I posted the reasons I find playing at Blundstone queer the in the AFLW section of this website. Of course, a team which isnt Tasmanian isnt going to fill out a 14K stadium in the suburbs, even though it will be free entry.

You remind me so much of an old poster around here. He was a bit of a noob and very annoying.

I just disagreed with you. You remind me of a lot of people I have come across (on the internet and in real life) who take things so very very personally that weren't personal at all. Just someone having a different opinion.

If the Tassie thing was what you took personally, I was just qualifying, from looking at the fixture, that that would be the only game that won't look at least half full. Obviously "Tasmanian isnt going to fill out a 14K stadium in the suburbs" with two smaller Melbourne clubs. I wasn't having a go at Tasmania

You finding "playing at Blundstone queer" is just more negativity though no? Its great you identify as "a big supporter of womens sport" but I have only seen negativity towards the AFLW from what I've read of your posts here. Your choice to be negative but maybe don't take it so personally when people disagree with you

Let's talk about crowds again.

3 finals sold out within a day, the 4th final being saints and giants all category 1 and 2 sold out (bottom level) around the whole ground, top level southern and ponsford seems seats remaining in about 6 sections. In mcc members it says all tickets gone, but dunno if I searched that correctly.

Overall seems pretty decent, but those more experienced in this might be able to estimate a crowd for the Saturday game?

Let's talk about crowds again.

3 finals sold out within a day, the 4th final being saints and giants all category 1 and 2 sold out (bottom level) around the whole ground, top level southern and ponsford seems seats remaining in about 6 sections. In mcc members it says all tickets gone, but dunno if I searched that correctly.

Overall seems pretty decent, but those more experienced in this might be able to estimate a crowd for the Saturday game?

Seem to be cheap tickets - only ones remaining are $35, and they’re not that bad (top level behind the goals). Could be a fantastic crowd.

yep. GWS V Saints. Lot´s of neutrals will go because its at the MCG

Can´t believe the crying about it not being at Marvel Stadium. This is why it is at the G-the crowd could be 70k ish

Seems like the middle/back of the top deck for each stand may not have been put on sale yet so the amount that’s showing as available might be an underestimate.

Nevertheless, you’d think it indicates that well over half the tickets are gone and if that’s the case it’ll be an extremely healthy crowd.

The 5 best aggregates in week 1 of a final series:

1693522775519.png

We're a chance of getting 180k across the first 2 matches and we should be good for low thirties for the Gabba game, so we'd need 65-70k to the Saints game to break the record. It might be a bit of a reach to get to #1 but #2 is very achievable and #3 should be a given.

Seems like the middle/back of the top deck for each stand may not have been put on sale yet so the amount that’s showing as available might be an underestimate.

Nevertheless, you’d think it indicates that well over half the tickets are gone and if that’s the case it’ll be an extremely healthy crowd.

The 5 best aggregates in week 1 of a final series:

View attachment 1791508

We're a chance of getting 180k across the first 2 matches and we should be good for low thirties for the Gabba game, so we'd need 65-70k to the Saints game to break the record. It might be a bit of a reach to get to #1 but #2 is very achievable and #3 should be a given.
In previous years, they sold all categories concurrently, and so in low selling games you’d have instances of the back ten rows of the top level full, but the lower rows that were more expensive empty. This approach to fill from the bottom first and at the same price seems more sensible

Looks better on tv too, I'd be filling the top of southern stand as much as possible before the Olympic stand for that reason.

I think they should sell the top-deck as general admission tickets and let people sit wherever they like up there.
That way you don't have so many blocks of empty seats.

The problem with this data is it all depends on where the games are played.

If you get 1 at Gabba and1 in Sydney you are ****ed straight away

Four finals at the mag and obviously records will be broken

Sure, but 4 of those 5 top aggregates only had 2 games at the G, ahead of a few years that had 3 MCG games. And 4 of the 5 contain at least 1 game in either Sydney or Brisbane.

If 2023 did have 1 in Brisbane and 1 in Sydney and was Coll v Melb, Bris v Port, Carl v StK/GWS and Syd v Stk/GWS I'd argue it would still get around the 3rd best ever.

I think 3 games at the G with a 4th in Perth is the ideal combo for a large aggregate.

For the record:

1693535768698.png

Also, the record number of people attending the MCG in 1 finals week (top 8 system):

1693536199801.png

We are every chance of beating that record as well.

The problem with this data is it all depends on where the games are played.

If you get 1 at Gabba and1 in Sydney you are ****ed straight away

Four finals at the mag and obviously records will be broken

Meanwhile in Sydney they are complaining that all the money they spent on the new stadiums is pointless, as they aren't playing finals at the upgraded stadia. V'landy's too embarrassed by the look of half empty stadiums for finals, he prefers using local suburban venues like it's a bush league comp.

Have the AFL ****ed up the scheduling for the Brisbane final? Broncos lost to the Storm last night, which means they'll finish 2nd should the Panthers beat the Cowboys.

This could lead to a scheduling clash, and resulting lower Gabba attendance and Queensland-focused TV viewership.

2023 Crowds and TV/Streaming