2023 Crowds and TV/Streaming

February was a good time of the year to start it, just play the first month or so only at night. It's a time of year where people are actually itching for the footy to be back. Then you can have finals in June working around the men's bye weeks.

I will concede January was too early though.

November is definitely one of the hottest times of the year. If you work outdoors you'd know that.
In most parts of the country November is the 5th hottest month of the year. Not sure why people would need to work outdoors to know that.

I think the "work outdoors" was a device to get around the awkward fact that November is the 5th warmest month......and you prescribing that the limited clean air window for the AFLW should be the second hottest month

If Melbourne and Sydney could get 78K in finals in a year where crowds were down then you would think Carlton and Sydney should get well over 85K this year.

It will sell out being Carlton's first final in a decade

I reckon crowds had recovered by finals last year. It was the first half of the year where crowds were still really depressed

As in, Richmond's first home prelim in 35 years?

I see your point and agree, that Richmond Prelim was something else, not even Collingwood could replicate in 2019 and we know the power they have.

Carlton though aren’t far off that same position. 20+ years of crap, I would say a bigger club and off the inflated crowds of this year, anything less than a sell out would be disappointing for any of the big 4 Melbourne clubs against the likes of GWS and GC.

vF1Rv0f99OYjCpBo0e1Vf4HtZZ_4o2ENM3SEiaujiWW8XW5BiIBHjKBtJTK0kEV-EgIbo-cQS2xT-bomMZvGCVVN-ewDar8QkE2gFX2PEgWvFMHwGWug6D-5F63xreLlbArU-YLy80meKw6vZPcqqGf6-o6fwA=s0-d-e1-ft

2023 Toyota AFL FINALS Series
Week One Ticketing Update

Thursday, September 7
First Qualifying Final, Collingwood vs Melbourne, 7:20pm, MCG
SOLD OUT

Ticket Agent: Ticketek
ALL Club Member, AFL Member and General Public ticket allocations are exhausted for the Qualifying Final Collingwood v Melbourne. There will be limited walk-up capacity on matchday in the MCC for eligible members.

Should further tickets become available as a result of unused Club or other allocations, they will be released via Ticketek on Wednesday, September 6 at 11am (AEST).

Limited premium hospitality packages remain via the AFL Event Office at
www.afl.com.au/eventoffice

Saturday, September 9
Second Qualifying Final, Brisbane Lions vs Port Adelaide, 7:25pm, The Gabba

Ticket Agent: Ticketmaster

Limited inventory remains for Club members and the general public for the Brisbane Lions v Port Adelaide match at the Gabba. Tickets can be purchased via Ticketmaster.

ON SALE: Wednesday, August 30
Friday, September 8
First Elimination Final, Carlton vs Sydney Swans, 7:50pm, MCG
9:00am: MCC Members
10:00am - 2:00pm (unless sold out prior): Competing Club Members
12:00pm: AFL Members
3:00pm: General Public

ON SALE: Wednesday August, 30
Saturday, September 9
Second Elimination Final, St Kilda vs GWS GIANTS, 3.20pm, MCG
9:00am: MCC Members
10:00am - 2:00pm (unless sold out prior): Competing Club Members
12:00pm: AFL Members
3:00pm: General Public

As in, Richmond's first home prelim in 35 years?
This is going to be Carlton's first home final in 12 year - And alot of people would have missed the last 2 because they were against Richmond and Essendon so for Most fans they havent seen a final in 23 years.

(Also it was only 22 years between home Prelims).

There are still some tickets left in the AFL Members for Carl / Syd. Basically a handful of single seats and some standing room bays. Should sell out before too long.

The Saints/Giants match has sold very little in the AFL Members. A couple of bays are still left on the bottom level, but basically the entirety of the top deck is unsold. There will probably be a fair amount of walk ups on the day, but it's not a great start.

Hopefully we may get two 90,000 + crowds.
The one that could disappoint is the St Kilda V GWS maybe between 55 -65,000.

I reckon if they get 55-65k for a Saints v GWS elimination final would be a cracking crowd and should be a ripper atmosphere on a Sat Arvo.

I was at the Saints last home elimination final and it against sydney who bring a large South Melbourne following to help. That game only got 39k at Marvel in 2011 when the saints were up and about.

I think the "work outdoors" was a device to get around the awkward fact that November is the 5th warmest month......and you prescribing that the limited clean air window for the AFLW should be the second hottest month
LOL November isn't the fifth hottest month. Definitely in the top 4. November is closer to the actual summer solstice (December 21) than February is.

Playing in November and December especially for the finals is worse than starting in February.

I've experienced 35+ degree heat in November in both Brisbane and Melbourne, never that in March.

If Richmond/GWS can sell out, there's no excuse for any match against bigger Interstate sides tbh.
St Kilda does not have the drawing capacity of the Richmond Army!
I reckon if they get 55-65k for a Saints v GWS elimination final would be a cracking crowd and should be a ripper atmosphere on a Sat Arvo.

I was at the Saints last home elimination final and it against sydney who bring a large South Melbourne following to help. That game only got 39k at Marvel in 2011 when the saints were up and about.
I may be on the generous side at 55-65k for a Saints v GWS elimination final. I did say maybe and it would rely on a lot of neutral people rocking up.

LOL November isn't the fifth hottest month. Definitely in the top 4. November is closer to the actual summer solstice (December 21) than February is.

Playing in November and December especially for the finals is worse than starting in February.

I've experienced 35+ degree heat in November in both Brisbane and Melbourne, never that in March.

Haha, sorry but "assertions of anonymous know-all on footy forum" doesn't trump 160 years of weather data....

St Kilda does not have the drawing capacity of the Richmond Army!

I may be on the generous side at 55-65k for a Saints v GWS elimination final. I did say maybe and it would rely on a lot of neutral people rocking up.

I reckon there will be a decent neutral roll up as its probably going to be the only game that can of the 3 MCG games. I will be going for a look with 10 others who don't follow either team so hopefully a few do the same.

Huh? The summer solstice (Dec 22) is the start of summer. March is usually hotter then November. No one is swimming in November without a heated pool.

Summer solstice is literally the middle of summer, hence why it's the longest day (most time of sunlight) of the year.

I've swam on Mornington Peninsula/Surf Coast beaches in November many of times (including the Melbourne cup public holiday which is first Tuesday of November). Never would do/have done it in March in or near Melbourne because the weather isn't hot enough to justify swimming in the really cold Melbourne waters. If March was truly hotter than November the AFL and NRL wouldn't be playing afternoon games then.

If the AFL were serious about getting the girls out of the heat, they wouldn't be playing in November let alone December.
And that's before going into the fact that the women's grand finals can't be played in front of big crowds anymore because most of the grounds used for AFL men's games are being used for cricket, you know an actual summer sport, for that time of the year.

Summer solstice is literally the middle of summer, hence why it's the longest day (most time of sunlight) of the year.

I've swam on Mornington Peninsula/Surf Coast beaches in November many of times (including the Melbourne cup public holiday which is first Tuesday of November). Never would do/have done it in March in or near Melbourne because the weather isn't hot enough to justify swimming in the really cold Melbourne waters. If March was truly hotter than November the AFL and NRL wouldn't be playing afternoon games then.

If the AFL were serious about getting the girls out of the heat, they wouldn't be playing in November let alone December.
And that's before going into the fact that the women's grand finals can't be played in front of big crowds anymore because most of the grounds used for AFL men's games are being used for cricket, you know an actual summer sport, for that time of the year.
Are you seriously still arguing against the Bureau of Meteorology's climate data? Melbourne Novembers are significantly cooler than March on average.

In Brisbane, November is marginally cooler than March.

If you're arguing that the AFLW should be played in winter then you may have a point...

It's amazing what some people on here try to get away with.

Average temperature of AFLW games from season 1 to 6 (from temp reading at the start and end of games) was 24.4°C. 15% of games played in 30°C+ ave temp.

Average temperature of AFLW games in season 7 (from temp reading at the start and end of games) was 16.2°C. 0% of games played in 30°C+ ave temp.

A crowd like that is a distinct possibility. Even people who don't usually go to games will come. The final is unlikely to be missed.

2023 Crowds and TV/Streaming