hawkers10
- Apr 23, 2023
- AFL Club
- Hawthorn
60k is definitely possible but I don’t see saints bringing 30k for the game. I reckon they will bring 26k tops.It is a Richmond home game so 60K is possible depending on the weather.
60k is definitely possible but I don’t see saints bringing 30k for the game. I reckon they will bring 26k tops.
Mate, i think you misread his post. collingwood23 made a typo that saints vs saints will be a bit closer to the 60k mark
and Billy Ray, tongue in cheek said both supporters bringing exactly 30k each?
Jokingly as saints v saints
Now there's Buckley and none that the Saints will even bring 26K, more like 15K tops. Richmond home game so even though we are a game and a half out of the 8 (12th on the ladder) we'll get a spring up for winning the last couple and Cotchins 300th, likely 40-45K tigers.
It’s a fascinating one. It would probably draw 26-27,000 at Marvel. Weather on matchday will be a factor with possible early showers. Around 30,000 I agree.interesting one is that this is the first time Carlton and Gold Coast have played at the G. Very little to go on for crowds, personally think it may still reach 30k and be the last straw for Carlton’s fan base
With us having the bye, I need my footy fix this weekend so I'm planning to attend this game with a friend.It’s a fascinating one. It would probably draw 26-27,000 at Marvel. Weather on matchday will be a factor with possible early showers. Around 30,000 I agree.
36,316 in Adelaide.
That is a bloody good crowd for Port on a Thursday night!36,316 in Adelaide.
Looked like way more on TV36,316 in Adelaide.
And you are a living example of why the MCG gets bigger crowds than Marvel for a given fixture! MCC / AFL members can easily just walk in and watch a game of footy. And with MCC provisional and restricted members categories growing in number, the MCC reserve is more crowded for most games nowadays, enhancing the difference and a factor driving the really strong crowds this year.With us having the bye, I need my footy fix this weekend so I'm planning to attend this game with a friend.
PAX number according to the MCC guest pass I purchased today was around 24,000 if that's a potential clue to the crowd number.
And you are a living example of why the MCG gets bigger crowds than Marvel for a given fixture! MCC / AFL members can easily just walk in and watch a game of footy. And with MCC provisional and restricted members categories growing in number, the MCC reserve is more crowded for most games nowadays, enhancing the difference and a factor driving the really strong crowds this year.
A good example will be this Saturdays Tigers / Saints game. Between them, these clubs have about 6,000 AFL members. Test the AFL members will be more than 25% full as visitors and AFL members not following either team just want to see an interesting match.
I won’t rest anything, this is a crowds thread in case you weren’t aware and comparing crowds, stadiums and driving factors is part of this threads subject bundle. If all we’re doing is quoting crowd figures, it would be quite boring. Let’s not get too prissy..Oh FFS, man give it a rest!
It is highly debatable that Marvel has a significant impact on Essendon crowds apart from at the top end. Most Melbourne based Essendon supporters (and all regional ones for that matter) would live on train lines that would have better access to Marvel stadium. This is the opposite for Richmond and St Kilda fans for instance.
There is an AFL members section at Marvel.
Essendon fans have a stronger incentive to buy a season reserved ticket than other clubs (given the increased number of potential games that could get to capacity) which could only help with the smaller games' attendances
That is a really really low Pax number wow. That number includes all the reserved seat members which ave already been sold. That could be close to 15K for Carlton and it will probably be less than half full on the day.With us having the bye, I need my footy fix this weekend so I'm planning to attend this game with a friend.
PAX number according to the MCC guest pass I purchased today was around 24,000 if that's a potential clue to the crowd number.
I won’t rest anything, this is a crowds thread in case you weren’t aware and comparing crowds, stadiums and driving factors is part of this threads subject bundle. If all we’re doing is quoting crowd figures, it would be quite boring. Let’s not get too prissy..
And it’s not debatable there’s a material difference the stadiums have on crowds. In particular for blues / Bombers who have the large AFL / MCC followings. The bigger the game, the bigger the bearing has on the competitions the bigger the difference. Even for AFL members, they are limited in access to Marvel given it usually sells out early and frankly for many, it’s not as accessible or easy to attend.
Anyhow, it will be interesting to see what it draws. I don’t know what the PAX means however if conditions are fine I doubt it will draw as low as 24,000. Let’s see.
I disagree with this completely. MCG crowds always tend to average more than if a match was to be played at Marvel, irrespective of the home team, not just Essendon.I am certainly not getting prissy, I am just pointing out you are coming across as a bore
Obviously capacity crowds at Marvel would have drawn more at the MCG
Not true of non-capacity Essendon crowds
Agree to disagreeI am certainly not getting prissy, I am just pointing out you are coming across as a bore
Obviously capacity crowds at Marvel would have drawn more at the MCG
Not true of non-capacity Essendon crowds
Who are you referring to?You probably don't realise it but to many neutrals reading this thread, you come across as a biased chest puffing yet constantly whinging kind of bloke.
Probably me!Who are you referring to?
Both clubs need to get their act together on this. Last week most areas seemed quite full but the western stand had a lot of empty seats.It looked good on tv, but why can't s.a crowds crack 40k these days? It's weird as both teams are flying.
We could go around in circles on this.Some clubs are more accepting of marvel tho than the mcg.
The marvel home tennet clubs are more accepting of marvel than the mcg clubs.
Carlton have drawn the best crowds this year at marvel than any club with a couple of crowds over 45,000.
Essendon drew over 40,000 at marvel against north on Sunday twilight.
Then compare that with Richmond and collingwood who have 100,000 members whose supporter bases hate marvel. Richmond played the suns on a Sunday in front of 23,000. At the mcg the game would of drawn 35,000!
Collingwood played North Melbourne on Sunday for Sidebottom 300th. Game was sold out 1 week from the game and only drew 39,000! If it was played at the mcg there would of been 55,000.
I can see why Collingwood are trying to get out of playing any home games at marvel. Collingwood who have been the best drawing club this year are averaging 75,000 to there 8 games at the mcg this year yet could only draw 39,000 v North Melbourne I’m a game that was sold out??
Pies fans have really detest marvel since the ticketing fiasco when in round 22 Collingwood played Adelaide in front of 49,000 yet 10,000 people were locked out the ground many of them members with reserved seat holders couldn’t get a ticket. Since then Collingwood’s home crowds at marvel have been very average at best.
The issue is tho who will make way for Essendon to play more home games at the mcg?We could go around in circles on this.
Overall, your point that Blues / Bombers are more accepting of Marvel than Tigers / Magpies is true. However, that doesn’t mean the former two clubs games at Marvel wouldn’t draw better at the MCG. To varying degrees, they would and do.
And the Pies / Tigers wanting to not play home games at Marvel is actually shared by Bombers fans broadly too. Evidence below () of a sample size of thousands of Bomber fans indicating around 80% rather play at the G. Their membership surveys indicate the same, thsts why it wants to increase its MCG allotment in its next agreement. And its crowds at the G support this assertion.
Last year, Essendon (16th on ladder at the time) drew nearly 43,169 to MCG against the Swans. At that point last season that was a 33-36,000 Marvel type crowd based on last season situation and where Bombers were ladder wise. It drew 20% better at the G with more casuals and MCC / AFL Bombers fans (and Swans) capitalising on not needing to pre book seats, get shut out of the small AFL members section etc. It is what it is.
Whilst some fans prefer Marvel of course, many more fans prefer the MCG, pound for pound. That’s all clubs btw.
Survey (Nov 22)
View attachment 1714112