List Mgmt. 2023 Draft Thread - Part I

Even with a gun head recruiter picking the lights out, all those ‘sleeper’ stars were passed over at least once by every recruiter so its pretty clear it’s mostly pot luck at that range. Is that a fair assessment?

To test the theories, it would be best to look at who went pick 2-5 in those drafts (obvs never going to get pick 1).

2013 J Kelly Billings Bontempelli Kolodjashnij
2014 Petracca Brayshaw J Pickett De Goey
2015 Shache Mills Oliver Parish
2016 Taranto McCluggage Ainsworth Setterfield
2017 Brayshaw Dow LDU Cerra

Just a small sample size (I want to do something else now so I stopped there) but 13/20 you would consider worth the investment. That’s a strong hit rate.

Compare that to maybe 1 or 2 which reach those levels per draft from picks 6-20? Say 2/14 so even if you had three picks in that range, the odds are roughly 2/14, 2/13, 2/12. We’ve consistently followed that trend missing every time as well as missing with our really high picks bar once with King so that obviously doesn’t help.

All those first round picks pretty much line themselves up in the media before the draft.
If we didn't pick Billings someone was going to , and it was probably going to be before Bont. Someone was going to pick Kolodjashnij as well.

The second round picks are leaving a lot more open to the recruiter, and his ability to spot talent within a kid.
I don't see a team which is wonderfully better than everyone else at it, but the Saints seem to have been worse than everyone else at it.

IMO McKercher will be better then Reid. Usually the types of players who dominate the year like him do not have the skill or athelcism that he has. He just has no flaws in his game. Moves beautifully in traffic, can kick like very few and can fend off. The issue for him will going to Tassie ina few years.

I know a few Tassie born Victorians. Most seem to say they'll head home but when they are older and ready to slow life down. I doubt a young guy is going to get too excited about heading home to play when they've spent a few years here.

Has zero outside game. Less then Dunstan

He's only just completed his third year. I reckon he's be a great get if you could get him cheap. He was rated very highly in his draft year.

All those first round picks pretty much line themselves up in the media before the draft.
If we didn't pick Billings someone was going to , and it was probably going to be before Bont. Someone was going to pick Kolodjashnij as well.

The second round picks are leaving a lot more open to the recruiter, and his ability to spot talent within a kid.
I don't see a team which is wonderfully better than everyone else at it, but the Saints seem to have been worse than everyone else at it.

Good recruiters don't just look at Knightmare's power rankings as their order though. You don't have to follow the media order. We followed them for Billings then jumped off for Paddy.

The order isn't exact , but it'll be there abouts, unless someone loses their shit and goes full Boekhurst.

I wonder, after this years draft, will the recruiters be telling us next year's draft will be a cracker.

Then, this time next year, they'll be telling us after the first round it's bordering on a spudfest.

I wonder, after this years draft, will the recruiters be telling us next year's draft will be a cracker.

Then, this time next year, they'll be telling us after the first round it's bordering on a spudfest.

Yeah basically happens every year. "Next year's a superdraft!" "Oh yeah it wasn't sorry, we were wrong."

I think they say it just so it makes future pick trading more palatable.

Yep, I think people look past weaknesses when they are Unders. “Wow, they’re playing and getting the ball”. Some of those gun mids aren’t great kicks or lack speed (or aren’t available like Ashcroft).

I'd trust the stats over theory personally and especially so given our history no matter who's currently holding the gun.

Pick 2 = 80% hit rate
Pick 3 = 60%
Pick 4 = 60%
Pick 5 = 60%

Average = 65% star hit rate.

That is a hell of a lot better chance than what we've done so far with any first round pick.

How we have used our 1st round pick since 2003:

- We got bits and pieces back for some of the trades but they all failed or at least proved, in different ways, not worth trading the pick (ie. Wright, White, Allison, Howard, Butler, Ryder, Jones etc).

- Drafted players that we traded I have not counted as a positive overall for obvious reasons but some were good picks initially.

- Some players I have crossed may well have been the best player within 6-7 picks either side but still did not achieve the level in which a first round pick ought to.

Clarke 8 :heavymultiply:
McQualter 17 1696246516368.gif :heavymultiply:
Watts 17 :heavymultiply:
Armitage 9 :heavycheck:
McEvoy 9 :heavycheck: eventually turned :heavymultiply:
Lynch 13 :heavymultiply:
Lee 12 :heavymultiply:
Hickey 13 :heavymultiply:
Billings 3 :heavymultiply:
Dunstan 18 :heavymultiply:
Acres 19 :heavymultiply:
McCartin 1 :heavymultiply:
Gresham 18 :heavymultiply:
Clark 7 :heavymultiply:
Coffield 8 :heavymultiply:
King 4 :heavycheck:
Hill, Howard, Jones, Ryder, Butler 6 :heavymultiply: Bad use in the end. Should have kept pick 6, which would have got us Young or Serong.
Higgins 17 :heavymultiply: Tough.. but we should've kept it and drafted Max Holmes. Allison 25 :heavymultiply:
NWM 11 :heavycheck: Great signs but pretty early still - Coffield, Gresham & Billings looked just about as impressive early.
Phillipou 10 :heavycheck: Same as above. Clearly we we're pretty lucky to get him at 10 so I'm really hopeful he becomes a top 5 level mid.

Even when counting the last 2 drafts, a 4/20 (20%) hit rate on 1st round picks all things considered over two decades is grim. However I'd be surprised if it was totally removed from the average.

Whilst we're only tracking at 33% in this sample on top 5 picks, the above is more evidence for taking the approx 65% chance on a top 5 pick even if it costs you three 12+ picks (what I'm essentially proposing). Doesn't mean it all comes off but I think worth a crack.

From our 12+ picks, we are 0/9.

I'd trust the stats over theory personally and especially so given our history no matter who's currently holding the gun.

Pick 2 = 80% hit rate
Pick 3 = 60%
Pick 4 = 60%
Pick 5 = 60%

That is a hell of a lot better chance than what we've done so far with any first round pick.

- We got bits and pieces back for some of the trades but they all failed or at least proved, in different ways, not worth trading the pick (ie. Wright, White, Allison, Howard, Butler, Ryder, Jones etc).

- Drafted players that we traded I have not counted as a positive overall for obvious reasons but some were good picks initially.

- Some players I have crossed may well have been the best player within 6-7 picks either side but still did not achieve the level in which a first round pick ought to.

McQualter 17 View attachment 1820389:heavymultiply:
Hill, Howard, Jones, Ryder, Butler 6 :heavymultiply: Bad use in the end. Should have kept pick 6, which would have got us Young or Serong.
Higgins 17 :heavymultiply: Tough.. but we should've kept it and drafted Max Holmes. Allison 25 :heavymultiply:
NWM 11 :heavycheck: Great signs but pretty early still - Coffield, Gresham & Billings looked just about as impressive early.
Phillipou 10 :heavycheck: Same as above. Clearly we we're pretty lucky to get him at 10 so I'm really hopeful he becomes a top 5 level mid.

Even when counting the last 2 drafts, a 4/20 (20%) hit rate on 1st round picks all things considered over two decades is grim. However I'd be surprised if it was totally removed from the average.

Whilst we're only tracking at 33% in this sample on top 5 picks, the above is more evidence for taking the approx 65% chance on a top 5 pick even if it costs you three 12+ picks (what I'm essentially proposing). Doesn't mean it all comes off but I think worth a crack.

Very harsh on Gresham and Dunstan. They're end of first round picks who exceeded the average games played by a pick 18 by considerable margins. Also Higgins being hard done by, Holmes is good but looked out of his depth as a midfielder this year. He isn't going to a noticeable difference to our side

Pick 2 = 80% hit rate
Pick 3 = 60%
Pick 4 = 60%
Pick 5 = 60%

McQualter 17 View attachment 1820389:heavymultiply:

Wow, that’s sobering

Anyone able to get the below? Have heard we are pretty keen on Ben Hopkins. Flanker type, bit a of bolter by the sounds. Obviously a later pick would be used. Haven't seen any vision of him (not sure there is any at the moment).

AFL Draft: Dandenong Stingray Ben Hopkins brings the recruiters running​

Ben Hopkins started the Talent League season as an unknown but finished it as a rising AFL draft hope, PAUL AMY reveals just why the young Dandenong Stingray is so sought after.

Paul AmyPaul Amy
Follow

@paulamy375

4 min read
September 7, 2023 - 12:00PM

0 Comments

Young Stingrays star Ben Hopkins is making AFL scouts pay attention. Picture: Getty Images)

The way Dandenong Stingrays coach Nick Cox tells it, no one knew much about Ben Hopkins at the start of the Coates Talent League season.
“People wouldn’t have known him if he popped up in their Cornflakes,’’ he says.

They would now, AFL recruiters among them.
In his first year in the CTL, the 188cm Hopkins came through as a dashing defender for the Stingrays, whose season ended last Sunday with a wildcard-round loss to Gippsland Power.
Hopkins, a product of Langwarrin Football Netball Club, was “pretty shattered’’ with the result, especially after the Rays sprayed 7.14.
His own numbers were better.
He finished with the flourish of 24 possessions and six marks, and averaged 19.8 disposals from his 14 games.
“He jumped out of the ground this year,’’ Cox says of Hopkins.
“Good size, nice kid and he just kept improving. He did some things that raised the eyebrows of some very astute talent ID people.
“I think it’s becoming very serious for Ben. He might be one who jumps the queue of a few of them.
“It was his first year in an elite program, so he’s only going to improve. He’ll be back with us as a 19-year-old if he doesn’t get anything (drafted). But I really believe he’s a big chance to go, given the level of interest in him.’’
Benjamin Hopkins appeared in all 14 matches for the Stingrays in the Coates Talent League this year. Picture: Getty Images

Hopkins has been invited to the state combine in October, and earlier in the season he played in two Vic Country Under 18 trial matches.
The Year 12 Elizabeth Murdoch College student admits his performances this year exceeded his expectations.
He was invited to pre-season training after winning the best and fairest for Langwarrin Under 17s and finishing second in the league count, a vote behind joint winners Hudson Rigg and Corey Braden (both of whom were also promoted to the Stingrays’ list in 2023).
Hopkins says he set his sights no further than getting through the pre-Christmas training block.
“That was a pretty big relief when I made it,’’ he says. And it was a “big thrill’’ when he made the list and then the Rays’ Round 1 side.
“Most kids in this region dream of playing for the Stingrays,’’ he says.
“I was pretty stoked when they gave me that first game.’’
Hopkins went on to appear in all 14 matches.
He hit a purple patch of form with more than 30 possessions against Gippsland Power in Round 12 and carried it through to the wildcard.
“I think I grew as a player … I had a couple of games where I wasn’t as good but later in the year I put together some good games and I guess got noticed,’’ he says.
He says Cox and the other coaches helped him strike a balance between minding his opponent and finding the ball.
“All offence’’ at the start of the season, he improved his defensive side without losing his “run and carry’’.
“I love to run,’’ Hopkins says.
Ben Hopkins likes to run. Picture: Instagram

Cox says Hopkins is versatile enough to play in the forward line and on the wing but stood out as a “high half back’’.
“He finds a really good mix between defence and attack, he’s got good speed and his running ability is exceptional – he had over 1000m of high-speed running last week,’’ he says.
“His last few weeks for us were tremendous. He’s become a very nice player.’’
In between his Stingrays’ commitments, Hopkins played three senior matches for Langwarrin in the Mornington Peninsula league, twice being named best-afield in his first outings against men.
Langy were down the ladder but had a rousing win over the undefeated Dromana, with the Stingray having 25 touches across half-back.
Josh Beard, Langy’s senior coach, coached Hopkins in his Under 9, 10 and 11 seasons and was an assistant coach of the Under 17 team when Hopkins dominated.
Beard says his young charge is “super-talented, with an extraordinary running capability, a beautiful reader of the ball, a great interceptor and a really good decision-maker’’.
“But I think his standout is his quality as a teammate and a person,’’ he says. “The way he approached his footy, his family and his friends hasn’t changed since day one.
“He’s the most selfless and caring person you’ll find. He was so unselfish as a junior. If anything it was a deficiency because he’d give it to any kid in the right spot. If they fumbled or made a mistake he’d go and clean it up and go again.’’
Ben Hopkins with his Stingrays jumper.

Hopkins enjoyed those senior games and is thankful for Langy’s part in his rise.
He asks that any write-up on him make mention of his father, Russell.
“He’s always tried to push me forward in sport and as a person as well. He’s a big role-model for me and an inspiration too. It would be nice to give him a little bit of recognition.’’
Jacob Grant was another Stingray who rose sharply in his first year with the Under 18 squad, gaining selection for Vic Country against WA.
The 192cm forward is from Southern league Division 3 club Endeavour Hills.
“His improvement was exceptional too,’’ Cox says.
“He does some stuff that makes people go, ‘There’s something there’. He runs well, he launches at the footy.’’
The coach jokes that ‘Hopkins and Grant’ sounds like a law firm but they are two players he enjoyed coaching this season.

gifting-float

Anyone able to get the below? Have heard we are pretty keen on Ben Hopkins. Flanker type, bit a of bolter by the sounds. Obviously a later pick would be used. Haven't seen any vision of him (not sure there is any at the moment).

AFL Draft: Dandenong Stingray Ben Hopkins brings the recruiters running​

Ben Hopkins started the Talent League season as an unknown but finished it as a rising AFL draft hope, PAUL AMY reveals just why the young Dandenong Stingray is so sought after.

Paul AmyPaul Amy
Follow

@paulamy375

4 min read
September 7, 2023 - 12:00PM

0 Comments

The way Dandenong Stingrays coach Nick Cox tells it, no one knew much about Ben Hopkins at the start of the Coates Talent League season.
“People wouldn’t have known him if he popped up in their Cornflakes,’’ he says.

In his first year in the CTL, the 188cm Hopkins came through as a dashing defender for the Stingrays, whose season ended last Sunday with a wildcard-round loss to Gippsland Power.
Hopkins, a product of Langwarrin Football Netball Club, was “pretty shattered’’ with the result, especially after the Rays sprayed 7.14.
He finished with the flourish of 24 possessions and six marks, and averaged 19.8 disposals from his 14 games.
“Good size, nice kid and he just kept improving. He did some things that raised the eyebrows of some very astute talent ID people.
“I think it’s becoming very serious for Ben. He might be one who jumps the queue of a few of them.
“It was his first year in an elite program, so he’s only going to improve. He’ll be back with us as a 19-year-old if he doesn’t get anything (drafted). But I really believe he’s a big chance to go, given the level of interest in him.’’

Hopkins has been invited to the state combine in October, and earlier in the season he played in two Vic Country Under 18 trial matches.
The Year 12 Elizabeth Murdoch College student admits his performances this year exceeded his expectations.
He was invited to pre-season training after winning the best and fairest for Langwarrin Under 17s and finishing second in the league count, a vote behind joint winners Hudson Rigg and Corey Braden (both of whom were also promoted to the Stingrays’ list in 2023).
Hopkins says he set his sights no further than getting through the pre-Christmas training block.
“That was a pretty big relief when I made it,’’ he says. And it was a “big thrill’’ when he made the list and then the Rays’ Round 1 side.
“Most kids in this region dream of playing for the Stingrays,’’ he says.
He hit a purple patch of form with more than 30 possessions against Gippsland Power in Round 12 and carried it through to the wildcard.
“I think I grew as a player … I had a couple of games where I wasn’t as good but later in the year I put together some good games and I guess got noticed,’’ he says.
He says Cox and the other coaches helped him strike a balance between minding his opponent and finding the ball.
“All offence’’ at the start of the season, he improved his defensive side without losing his “run and carry’’.

Cox says Hopkins is versatile enough to play in the forward line and on the wing but stood out as a “high half back’’.
“He finds a really good mix between defence and attack, he’s got good speed and his running ability is exceptional – he had over 1000m of high-speed running last week,’’ he says.
“His last few weeks for us were tremendous. He’s become a very nice player.’’
In between his Stingrays’ commitments, Hopkins played three senior matches for Langwarrin in the Mornington Peninsula league, twice being named best-afield in his first outings against men.
Langy were down the ladder but had a rousing win over the undefeated Dromana, with the Stingray having 25 touches across half-back.
Josh Beard, Langy’s senior coach, coached Hopkins in his Under 9, 10 and 11 seasons and was an assistant coach of the Under 17 team when Hopkins dominated.
Beard says his young charge is “super-talented, with an extraordinary running capability, a beautiful reader of the ball, a great interceptor and a really good decision-maker’’.
“But I think his standout is his quality as a teammate and a person,’’ he says. “The way he approached his footy, his family and his friends hasn’t changed since day one.
“He’s the most selfless and caring person you’ll find. He was so unselfish as a junior. If anything it was a deficiency because he’d give it to any kid in the right spot. If they fumbled or made a mistake he’d go and clean it up and go again.’’

Hopkins enjoyed those senior games and is thankful for Langy’s part in his rise.
“He’s always tried to push me forward in sport and as a person as well. He’s a big role-model for me and an inspiration too. It would be nice to give him a little bit of recognition.’’
Jacob Grant was another Stingray who rose sharply in his first year with the Under 18 squad, gaining selection for Vic Country against WA.
The 192cm forward is from Southern league Division 3 club Endeavour Hills.
“He does some stuff that makes people go, ‘There’s something there’. He runs well, he launches at the footy.’’
The coach jokes that ‘Hopkins and Grant’ sounds like a law firm but they are two players he enjoyed coaching this season.

gifting-float

If you don't mind straight text, here it is below

‘JUMPING THE QUEUE’: HOPKINS HOPS UP THE DRAFT PECKING ORDER

The way Dandenong Stingrays coach Nick Cox tells it, no one knew much
about Ben Hopkins at the start of the Coates Talent League season.

“People wouldn’t have known him if he popped up in their
Cornflakes,’’ he says.

In his first year in the CTL, the 188cm Hopkins came through as a
dashing defender for the Stingrays, whose season ended last Sunday
with a wildcard-round loss to Gippsland Power.

Hopkins, a product of Langwarrin Football Netball Club, was “pretty
shattered’’ with the result, especially after the Rays sprayed

He finished with the flourish of 24 possessions and six marks, and
averaged 19.8 disposals from his 14 games.

“Good size, nice kid and he just kept improving. He did some things
that raised the eyebrows of some very astute talent ID people.

“I think it’s becoming very serious for Ben. He might be one who
jumps the queue of a few of them.

“It was his first year in an elite program, so he’s only going to
improve. He’ll be back with us as a 19-year-old if he doesn’t get
anything (drafted). But I really believe he’s a big chance to go,
given the level of interest in him.’’

Hopkins has been invited to the state combine in October, and earlier
in the season he played in two Vic Country Under 18 trial matches.

The Year 12 Elizabeth Murdoch College student admits his performances
this year exceeded his expectations.

He was invited to pre-season training after winning the best and
fairest for Langwarrin Under 17s and finishing second in the league
count, a vote behind joint winners Hudson Rigg and Corey Braden (both
of whom were also promoted to the Stingrays’ list in 2023).

Hopkins says he set his sights no further than getting through the
pre-Christmas training block.

“That was a pretty big relief when I made it,’’ he says. And it
was a “big thrill’’ when he made the list and then the Rays’
Round 1 side.

“Most kids in this region dream of playing for the Stingrays,’’
he says.

He hit a purple patch of form with more than 30 possessions against
Gippsland Power in Round 12 and carried it through to the wildcard.

“I think I grew as a player … I had a couple of games where I
wasn’t as good but later in the year I put together some good games
and I guess got noticed,’’ he says.

He says Cox and the other coaches helped him strike a balance between
minding his opponent and finding the ball.

“All offence’’ at the start of the season, he improved his
defensive side without losing his “run and carry’’.

Cox says Hopkins is versatile enough to play in the forward line and
on the wing but stood out as a “high half back’’.

“He finds a really good mix between defence and attack, he’s got
good speed and his running ability is exceptional – he had over
1000m of high-speed running last week,’’ he says.

“His last few weeks for us were tremendous. He’s become a very
nice player.’’

In between his Stingrays’ commitments, Hopkins played three senior
matches for Langwarrin in the Mornington Peninsula league, twice being
named best-afield in his first outings against men.

Langy were down the ladder but had a rousing win over the undefeated
Dromana, with the Stingray having 25 touches across half-back.

Josh Beard, Langy’s senior coach, coached Hopkins in his Under 9, 10
and 11 seasons and was an assistant coach of the Under 17 team when
Hopkins dominated.

Beard says his young charge is “super-talented, with an
extraordinary running capability, a beautiful reader of the ball, a
great interceptor and a really good decision-maker’’.

“But I think his standout is his quality as a teammate and a
person,’’ he says. “The way he approached his footy, his family
and his friends hasn’t changed since day one.

“He’s the most selfless and caring person you’ll find. He was so
unselfish as a junior. If anything it was a deficiency because he’d
give it to any kid in the right spot. If they fumbled or made a
mistake he’d go and clean it up and go again.’’

Hopkins enjoyed those senior games and is thankful for Langy’s part
in his rise.

“He’s always tried to push me forward in sport and as a person as
well. He’s a big role-model for me and an inspiration too. It would
be nice to give him a little bit of recognition.’’

Jacob Grant was another Stingray who rose sharply in his first year
with the Under 18 squad, gaining selection for Vic Country against WA.

The 192cm forward is from Southern league Division 3 club Endeavour
Hills.

“He does some stuff that makes people go, ‘There’s something
there’. He runs well, he launches at the footy.’’

The coach jokes that ‘Hopkins and Grant’ sounds like a law firm
but they are two players he enjoyed coaching this season.

I'm getting in early before #gringo2011 tries to add boy number 1528 to his stable , I have first dibs on Adrian Cole from next years draft , know nothing about him but i just like the look of him and he is not a stick insect

Does anyone know if we have any father sons on the way or are we rooted until a Riewoldt lad bails on Texas A&M?

List Mgmt. 2023 Draft Thread - Part I