Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

I reckon this is more trades than usual for day one. We’ll get a few things done. But suspect we’ll hold out for more for Grundy and crows for McAdam. We may be in an awkward spot for McAdam trade. Especially seeing they got 19 for Doedee. We’ll probably fling them a future pick or maybe we can give the one to help trade up this year.

Good to see ol mate Timmy saying to the media we would be happy to keep Grundy if we don’t get a pick we are looking for.

We hold the ace up the sleeve on this one and would really **** Sydney up if we held Grundy and leave them with egg on there face.

Good to see ol mate Timmy saying to the media we would be happy to keep Grundy if we don’t get a pick we are looking for.

We hold the ace up the sleeve on this one and would really * Sydney up if we held Grundy and leave them with egg on there face.

Sounds like he already had buyer's remorse after committing to Fullarton!

Thats the spirit, FMD.
Anyone else concerned our list is going backwards this off-season?

No, we were a bees knee from making a Prelim and will have a good draft hand this year.

I would suggest you wait until the Trade Period is over before making assertions.

Thats the spirit, FMD.

No, we were a bees knee from making a Prelim and will have a good draft hand this year.

I would suggest you wait until the Trade Period is over before making assertions.
I hope you're right but after last years debacle can you blame us for wanting to melt. And the last year we've been anything but trustworthy.

We've been arrogant, complacent, toxic and just plain unlikable. Everyone needs to pull their collective heads in.

It's been said a million times but not making a play for Chol or Koschitzke is baffling.
Koschitzke has had a handful of decent games across his career. Chol has now been dropped by three coaches in a calendar year, after being traded once before. There are clear knocks on his workrate, which has been affirmed by Hardwick preferring an ancient Casboult or a first year Walter to partner King/back up Witts.

I'm equally as keen as others to feast on the goo inside the collective heads of the MFC after another dropped season, but complaining about Chol and Kosi as if they're any kind of answer just shows how difficult our problem is to solve.

Hope we are in Mcclugages ear. Free agent next year, formally from Victoria. We should have cap space.

Even if it’s for a 2024 play. I am sick of doing **** all when it comes to bringing in free agents.

Every year clubs benefit from free agents or the compo while we sit and watch on patting ourselves on the back about 2021.

If we do that, it means we would've spent four first-rounders on KPFs over the course of 3-4 years (JVR in 2021, Jefferson in 2022 and Caddy in 2023/24).

Huge investment when we have a dearth of young midfield talent on the list. Caddy isn't the sort of player I'd want to spend two first-rounders on, personally. Has talent, but is more of a 'tweener' type who can go missing for long periods.
Worked for the Hawks when they added Dowler and Thorp as first round picks in the two years after they picked up Roughead and Franklin. Law of averages that 2/4 would turn out ok :$

I am sick of doing * all when it comes to bringing in free agents.
Agree with this. Our inaction in this market is bizarre. Perhaps still burned by the 5 year 500k deal for Tommo to play on the wing.

I hope you're right but after last years debacle can you blame us for wanting to melt.

Grundy was a risk but how many at the time disagreed with the trade?

This years trade period seems to be about opportunity cost as clubs are willing to pay more for draft talent (as per the Bulldogs) thanks to stupid academy rules and North's welfare picks. The risk is you can end up like Fremantle or lessor extent Richmond when trading multiple picks does not work out.

We have a pretty good record and drafting talent with later picks and I dont buy the argument there are "no good players" after the top 20 as we seem to say this every year. Our list management team would have considered this prior to trade period and will recruit on a needs basis.

Sadly there is no Key forward we can just "trade in" but if we can draft some good mids with kicking skills and a key defender/ruck for post May and Max then we should have everything else covered.

You can't "set the tone" during the trade period mate. Its not a game of footy, its a game of poker.
You can because it shows inaction, passiveness, complacency and a level of unearned satisfaction.

100% agree. Schultz is basically better than Pickett imo. Thats how high I rate him.
Keen to see this be justified. Very good player, but has never once had a better season than Pickett by any real metric.

You can because it shows inaction, passiveness, complacency and a level of unearned satisfaction.
No, it doesn't. Maybe to people who listen to Trade Radio and hang on their every word, do you? You, like me, have no idea what moves we're making behind the scenes. Melbourne have held their cards close to their chest for a decade at the trade table now, why should that change? There is absolutely no reason at all why Melbourne not making a trade on day one should suggest that the list management team is going to be passive or inactive.

Bunch of dinky picks in the 30s ain’t getting us pick 10
This is an argument based entirely upon supporting a team without an academy.

Gold Coast will trade based on points available, not the vibe of the pick feeling "worth it". If anything, lower picks are better - reduces the risk of another team forcing them to match bids high up the order.

Picks 22 + 23 = 1660 pts
Picks 32+33+34 = 1689 pts

You'd burn down Casey Fields if we traded two early seconds for three late ones in an open draft, but the equivalence doesn't compute for academy picks.

This is an argument based entirely upon supporting a team without an academy.

Gold Coast will trade based on points available, not the vibe of the pick feeling "worth it". If anything, lower picks are better - reduces the risk of another team forcing them to match bids high up the order.

Picks 22 + 23 = 1660 pts
Picks 32+33+34 = 1689 pts

You'd burn down Casey Fields if we traded two early seconds for three late ones in an open draft, but the equivalence doesn't compute for academy picks.

What’s the point of this trade above for GC?

Pick 10 is 1600 points anyway, it’s a moot excercise to do a trade for 80 points. That’s equivalent to a value of pick 87 gain which they could get without trading out pick 10.

That’s why they will ask for a F1 as part of it. North will offer there PP (19), we will offer our F1 which will be 13-16 and Adelaide will offer there first which would be likely 11-14 range which gets them ahead.

Koschitzke has had a handful of decent games across his career. Chol has now been dropped by three coaches in a calendar year, after being traded once before. There are clear knocks on his workrate, which has been affirmed by Hardwick preferring an ancient Casboult or a first year Walter to partner King/back up Witts.

I'm equally as keen as others to feast on the goo inside the collective heads of the MFC after another dropped season, but complaining about Chol and Kosi as if they're any kind of answer just shows how difficult our problem is to solve.
Yeah, zero issues with us not going for either of these blokes for various reasons. There seems to be a hunger to just grab anyone that's delisted from another club or is a forward. Kosi would be my pick out of these two, but Hawks supporters aren't fussed to see him go, and there's a reason why Chol isn't wanted by Hardwick. Both would honestly sit at Casey and clog up our F50 with Brown and Tmac, because JVR and Petty would be ahead of them and neither were moving clubs to be a VFL player.

Schultz though is a player we could have used. Collingwood arguably won the flag this year based on their trading last offseason, and they might do it again this offseason if they nail the Schultz trade. The exact type of aggressive trading we desperately need. So disappointed we really had no one lined up this offseason that could fill a best 22 spot. Lions and Pies look to have boosted their stocks already while we're seemingly sitting on our hands.

Keen to see this be justified. Very good player, but has never once had a better season than Pickett by any real metric.
I think Schultz is much more consistent than Koz. Koz has a far bigger celling and his better games are much better than Schultz. However, Schultz will provide Pies with another manic pressure forward who loves a goal. Only 25 as well. Where were you on this one Tim Lamb??? Quality player

I hope we keep Grundy. Having him on our list gives us some X factor when we play him.

Him on our list makes our list better.

Better than a pick in the 30s will.

And it isn’t as if we have other targets to spend 650k anyway nor a shortage of picks in the 30s

I hope we keep Grundy. Having him on our list gives us some X factor when we play him.

Him on our list makes our list better.

Better than a pick in the 30s will.

And it isn’t as if we have other targets to spend 650k anyway nor a shortage of picks in the 30s
I respectfully think you are an idiot.

He does not make us better as evidenced by our year and how he was effectively dropped.

He also doesn't want to be here. He wants to play seniors and be the main man.

As for the money, no-one knows who we are targeting or if we are going to rejig some contracts with the freed up cash.

Hold out for pick 23. Will be more like 27 or 28 which is about right. Surely we won't cave in. He's contracted and Sydney have gone all in with him. Hold firm, f* 'em.