Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

Shame Melb are the drunk guy who sits down at the table at 1am on a Sat night and doesn't know the rules. Actually a more apt poker analogy of Melb both under Goodwin and in our list management atm is a player who sits down and is a total nit, plays a VPIP of 4 over 2 weeks, playing an average of 2 hands every 3 days and then check folding on the flop unless they flop the nuts.

Get a lil spicy pls Melb, 3 bet that 89s, go get TomaHawk and offer him 2 yrs, Schultz wants to get home but has nominated Coll? How back you ring his agent and say we'll offer an extra yr and an extra 100k each yr. You know, do some stuff that gives us the possibility of improving our team. Honestly feel like i could do a better job than Tim Lamb, i dont think all that much of myself but i think very very little of what Melb have done the past few years.

We won a flag on the back of taking risks, we traded a future first for the pick that netted us Kozzy, we traded 2 1sts, to get Lever, traded a first to get May, we were continually aggressive and along with some astute drafting it won us a premiership. Now we still have Jason Taylor and i have every faith he'll keep nailing what picks he has but we have to keep our foot on the pedal and get a few deals done to improve our team lest we find ourselves back in the middle of the pack next yr. It isn't rocket science, we have over a million a yr coming off the books with Grundy, Jordan. Harmes, Hibberd all coming off the books, we have to use that cap space i dont see why we wouldnt use it on Schultz & then a short term deal for one of TomaHawk or Darling, while we wait for our young guys to come on.

In regards to Schultz, he has said he wants to come back to VIC for family reasons, just because hes currently nominated COLL doesnt mean his mind cant be changed, Freo are currently saying that he's contracted and won't be traded and i have to think we have far more draft capital to offer them than Coll do. if we make a far better offer than Coll and Freo say to him you can go to Melb but not Coll because theyve offered us more then if he really wants to go home for family reasons he'll do it. Be ruthless dees, take risks, its how we became a force for all of 18 months, im worried weve gone back to being too nice again.

I miss online poker in Australia.

I know some of these words.

nit = tight player
VPIP = Voluntarily put money in the pot
nuts= best possible hand

Youre ready to go pro Legs. Sell the house and move to Vegas.

I know some of these words.
Lol its poker lingo mate, trade week was compared to poker and given i had a deep love for the game and used to make my living off it for a decade or so i thought id embrace the poker analogy. Currently Melb are either playing terribly or playing so well that they've got us fooled that they're a fish. (a bad player) We'll know which it is in a week and a half.

nit = tight player
VPIP = Voluntarily put money in the pot
nuts= best possible hand

Youre ready to go pro Legs. Sell the house and move to Vegas.
Hit me

I miss online poker in Australia.
Ah mate you have no idea how much i miss Pstars and the big sites, they stripped me of my income. We dont even have the Aussie Millions anymore its really sad whats become of the non-existent scene here in Aus. The only way to play online here is via Ignition which is a total POS site but its all we've got. Even if Crown just started running some tournament series again here in Melb so i could quench my live tournament hunger without having to get on a plane. :(

Yeah, I played tourney's. Was making some good money the final 2 years before it got shut down after grinding lower stakes for fun for a couple of years

I wonder with Shultz if we might get a similar situation to bobby hill. Forced to the final year of he's contract and then nominates someone else in next years trade period

Yeah, I played tourney's. Was making some good money the final 2 years before it got shut down after grinding lower stakes for fun for a couple of years
Yeh i mostly played low/mid stakes SNGs & MTTs froom 2010-2018 or whenever it was that the legislation came in. Sadly i didnt move up to nosebleeds when i had the chance & the bankroll so i never was able to move to being a live MTT crusher at high stakes. Still made a pretty good hourly at low and mid stakes. Totally diff game these days, you use to be able to print $ just by playing lots of tables and playing solid, ppl just handed you their money, not to mention rakeback was fantastic, was good times. If i had my time again id have been way more aggressive moving up and putting in 80 hr weeks when the going was good and then moved to live in 2013. Hindsight is 2020 i guess.

This about sums up Kozzy's issues tbh. He can be the best small fwd in the comp if he addressed a few things and he's still so young. Rkn he needs to watch how Charlie Cameron plays and learn a few things. He needs to stop flying for marks, he literally jumps for every single mark when he should never be jumping and should be front and centre or out the back. Would kick 30 goals a yr more if he stopped freaking flying for marks not to mention he just gets in the way of guys like JVR or Smith etc who actually have a chance at taking the mark. Anyways its not a Kozzy thread but man he needs to get smarter.
So he kicks 70 odd goals a year and wins the Coleman every year basically?
Please some of the rubbish on here

Wouldn't be able to poker. Don't have a good poker face and I am horribly unlucky.
Depending on the games, luck actually evens out if you play a large enough sample, though not with big field tournaments it doesn't. I did most of my work from the comfort of my room and so a poker face was unnecessary. It's only necessary in live poker. But ye regardless, you wouldnt be able to poker because the federal Govt decided to make it illegal for online poker and then covid came along and destroyed the live scene too. Poker is so hard these days anyways as people are far far better than they were early on when the internet was still young.

Anyways back to footy lol, ive gotten sidetracked with poker talk lol. Back to shouting at Tim Lamb! Rabble rabble rabble

I wonder with Shultz if we might get a similar situation to bobby hill. Forced to the final year of he's contract and then nominates someone else in next years trade period
Collingwood much better at getting these sorts of deals done than Essendon you feel but not sure Freo is satisfied with a late first for him. Interesting couple of weeks ahead.

i am so sick of players wanting to go to collingwood. Like they dont need small fwds, why are u asking to go there... I wonder how the narrative would be had we kicked straight and made the most of our entries against them and won the GF & Coll were just chokers in prelims 2 yrs in a row. Amazing how quickly the narrative changes in footy.

i am so sick of players wanting to go to collingwood. Like they dont need small fwds, why are u asking to go there...
it’s probably because Collingwood wanted him to go there, they went after him.

Right, but if he rly just wants to go home for family reasons hed be open to other clubs. But i get you, Melb should give it a try sometime, call a players agent, its pretty wild i know.
Melbourne do, we are getting Shane McAdam

i am so sick of players wanting to go to collingwood. Like they dont need small fwds, why are u asking to go there... I wonder how the narrative would be had we kicked straight and made the most of our entries against them and won the GF & Coll were just chokers in prelims 2 yrs in a row. Amazing how quickly the narrative changes in footy.
They want a long term replacement for Elliott whose better than Ginnivan. Makes heaps of sense for them. He'd definitely get a game there.

Interesting how as a contracted player this came out of nowhere and he immediately nominated them. They must have headhunted him. You'd think his manager would be keen to shop him around a bit.

10 pages since I went to bed and all that I've read is we should lock Grundy in the basement and feed him fish heads, also go and get Schultz and Hawkins and force Petty and Koz out and that I really wanna play poker
Trade period, baby!

Yeh i mostly played low/mid stakes SNGs & MTTs froom 2010-2018 or whenever it was that the legislation came in. Sadly i didnt move up to nosebleeds when i had the chance & the bankroll so i never was able to move to being a live MTT crusher at high stakes. Still made a pretty good hourly at low and mid stakes. Totally diff game these days, you use to be able to print $ just by playing lots of tables and playing solid, ppl just handed you their money, not to mention rakeback was fantastic, was good times. If i had my time again id have been way more aggressive moving up and putting in 80 hr weeks when the going was good and then moved to live in 2013. Hindsight is 2020 i guess.

I wasn't a nose bleed tourney player but made some good money in the $33 to $215 range, id just try and satellite my way in to anything higher if I really wanted to play something