Autopsy 2023 Elimination Final Blues hold on in a thriller

Who played well for the Blues in the Elimination Final vs the Swans?

Of course I'm happy with winning, but didn't think we looked anywhere near as good as we've been lately.
This team is capable of playing much better.
Agree. And that was also due to how good Swans are and their pressure style. But were they better than us?
I think they weren't.
We didn't win by luck.

Of course I'm happy with winning, but didn't think we looked anywhere near as good as we've been lately.
This team is capable of playing much better.
That's a good thing to have up your sleeve mate.

So about that Swans shot around the corner after the quarter time siren. I didn't think you could do that. Surely as soon as you run off the line, it's play on, the quarter ends, and you don't get your kick. No?

Could have been an important point too.

They changed the rule a couple of years ago.

Agree. And that was also due to how good Swans are and their pressure style. But were they better than us?
I think they weren't.
We didn't win by luck.
Were they better than us?
It was a lot closer than I expected, was looking forward to a mild shellacking.

Of all the matchups in this years final 8, I think facing Sydney at the MCG was the least difficult one.

Absolutely.. I reckon though if his kicking was 10% better, there's no way we get him for the proverbial packet of chips we did.
It’s still outrageous what we got him for. He was terrific for them last year. In my view he sits second (behind Gulden) in AFL best wings. He’s all heart. Was in enormous pain last night. Didn’t care. That kick and chase in the last was incredible.

They changed the rule a couple of years ago.
Thanks, must have missed it when that happened.

Found it in the laws, it's 20.5.1 (b):

20.5.1 Line of The Mark
Where a Player from the Attacking Team is Kicking for a Goal after being awarded a Mark or a Free Kick, the Kick shall be taken along a direct line from The Mark to the centre of the Attacking Team’s Goal Line, except in the following cases:
(b) where the Kick will occur after the siren, the Player shall be entitled to approach The Mark from any direction, as long as the location of the Kick does not improve the angle to the goal posts.

I really hope Vossy shows the Marchy the disgusting and insulting comments BT made about him during the game and gives Caleb even more motivation and incentive to play well.

I am seriously thinking of emailing Channel 7's footy media department and roast them and Brainless Brain over his absolutely pathetic and harsh words about a player who has had such a awful run of rotten luck with injuries and worked his bloody backside off to earn his spot in our finals team and was damn fantastic (yes he made one or two mistakes but so did many of his more celebrated teammates last night

Well done Marchy again though ! Really proud of him
What did he say??

Yes and no.

We gifted them two easy goals from our kick ins.
We missed two gimmes.
The two turnovers in the final quarter brought them back into it.

We gave it up just as much as they botched it.

This exactly what I have been saying with so many turnovers, defensive errors and missed scoring chances, I know it doesn't necassarily work that way, but it could been easily a 4 goal diiferential our way ... and an easy win.

What does I'm done with him even mean? You won't support the team if he is playing? Strange reaction to a player who tried his guts out but just has the yips.
Mate, the guy is a professional athlete in a high performance environment. He is on record saying it's not a problem and he doesn't need any help. They weren't 50 / 50 shots. They were both in the goal square.

The fact it hasn't been addressed after all this time is a ****ing embarrassment.

Enough of the negativity but it's the little things that kill you against teams like Sydney, Melbourne, Collingwood etc.

Finals are cut throat, the bare minimum basic things need to be done and kicking goals from the goal square fall into that category.

So many mistakes ... i know the Swans played better in the 2nd half ... but we let them back into the game so many times with our basic defensive errors. And bloody Harry ... TBH he is liability and maybe its a plus (not for him of course) he is concussed and missing next week. If we can play any where near our best, we can win this.
Genuine genuine flog behaviour right here. Seriously happy one of our players is concussed? GTFO here. He set up multiple goals, rucked in the F50, and took bodies off Curnow who was completely nullified and had to play so high up after Harry came off.

I'm so ****ing sick of simplistic, reactionary moronic takes on here. Thank god there's an ignore function.

I really hope Vossy shows the Marchy the disgusting and insulting comments BT made about him during the game and gives Caleb even more motivation and incentive to play well.

I am seriously thinking of emailing Channel 7's footy media department and roast them and Brainless Brain over his absolutely pathetic and harsh words about a player who has had such a awful run of rotten luck with injuries and worked his bloody backside off to earn his spot in our finals team and was damn fantastic (yes he made one or two mistakes but so did many of his more celebrated teammates last night

Well done Marchy again though ! Really proud of him
Was at the game what did he say ?

Autopsy 2023 Elimination Final Blues hold on in a thriller