Player Watch 2023 Father Son player watch - McCabe, Dear and Maginness

Guys, I keep deleting posts referencing this, but can we move away from suggesting or making juvenile jokes about the bloodlines of players.

This is a public forum and parents of players do read here.

The first 5 contests are of him falling over, missing the footy allowing a goal from the goal square or being out marked

Good for the opposition maybe
I noticed that a lot of his team mates gave him bad handballs and he was good below his knees for 197cm, I also noticed good run, a really nice mark, good kicking, halved nearly all of his contests, was out marked once and that at one point the strongest 17 year old on Earth in Harley Reid could not push him away. Did Reid cleverly knock the ball out of his hands for his goal square goal too? I can’t recall. Nearly another great mark though and it could have fallen to anyone really. I guess we just see what we are looking for though.

Again not many “highlights” in a highlights package

Tbh I’m left disappointed again

Too many fumbles, falls over, overruns the ball, gives many poor handballs to players already covered, out marked on most occasions

Temper expectations if this is his game

You're watching this expecting him to simply dominate, which isn't realistic.

These are the best of the best in this age group in Australia. The pressure will be higher than he's accustom to.

You've also ignored the fact that in the first 90 seconds alone, he's shown to be clean below his knees, good at reading the ball in flight, super athletic for his size and has a superb, natural kicking style.

THAT'S what recruiters want to see.

There weren't any super exciting highlights of Josh Weddle from last season either, and look how that's turning out.

These are the best of the best in this age group in Australia. The pressure will be higher than he's accustom to.

You've also ignored the fact that in the first 90 seconds alone, he's shown to be clean below his knees, good at reading the ball in flight, super athletic for his size and has a superb, natural kicking style.

There weren't any super exciting highlights of Josh Weddle from last season either, and look how that's turning out.
No I’m not expecting him to dominate at all, I’m expecting him to compete and early he looked all at sea as a KD

The best of the best in his age group and he struggled early, badly, but credit to him he picked up later on
He has good skills below his knees and can definitely run, but he’s playing as a Key Defender and looked out of sorts
Just 1 game, but the 2nd package of him that I’ve been underwhelmed

I am with you. His athleticism and speed in particular are very exciting. Has got good kicking skills too and will not just be a negating stopper. I think we have a very exciting prospect.

No I’m not expecting him to dominate at all, I’m expecting him to compete and early he looked all at sea as a KD

The best of the best in his age group and he struggled early, badly, but credit to him he picked up later on
He has good skills below his knees and can definitely run, but he’s playing as a Key Defender and looked out of sorts

It's fine to have a difference of opinion, but I'm not sure the package showed him being uncompetitive as a KPD early on.

Positioning is much easier to refine within an elite system with strong leaders and coaches assisting you.

The positives of his performance, which I mentioned in my previous post, are largely genetic athletic traits and strong skill fundamentals. The kind of stuff that is much harder to teach or correct as a player matures.

I genuinely believe the positives within those highlights FAR outweigh the negatives when we're talking about a draftees prospects.

The first 60 seconds he fumbles/overruns the ball like twice? both times he did plenty right and just mucked up in a small moment, very fixable and he had won the contest up until that point. That's much more of a positive than anything. This was a down game, and he was still good.

As mentioned Weddle didn't have an amazing highlights reel and look how good he's been. People just need to relax, and look at it from in particular, scouting POV.

Too many fumbles, falls over, overruns the ball, gives many poor handballs to players already covered, out marked on most occasions

Each to their own. I think it looks like a good game. Many more contests won or halved than lost, plus he gets plenty of the ball and uses it pretty well. I'm stoked we get first dibs on him.

G

Glad you aint near recruiting

Maybe steer clear of this thread if you have opinions like that

Jeezus

i think it’s important to recognise the videos posted are involvements not highlights. Involvements are the best to watch because highlights can be so misleading. But also keep in mind these are 17 year old boys and they are all still developing. Even Reid! So involvements at this level are going to look worse than highlights and a lot worse than what we expect from afl players. McCabe is a 197cm super athlete. Every club is going to want him on their list, it’s just a matter of at what pick they would use to take him.

Yeh there were.

The funny thing is, I watch his video and I see that the moment the ball looks like going to a team mate he start looking to take off and make an option. It doesn’t always work out but if this kid gets the ball on the outside at afl level they won’t catch him and he has the foot skills to hit targets efficiently. He looks like the perfect chb for Sam’s aggressive game plan.

G

Glad you aint near recruiting

Maybe steer clear of this thread if you have opinions like that

Jeezus
Why?
Because its contrary to your view.

In that package of clips, McCabe played just a game.
His disposal was pretty neat, especially his hands.

But otherwise it was pretty unremarkable.
That's not being critical to say that. Its what it was.

Why?
Because its contrary to your view.

In that package of clips, McCabe played just a game.
His disposal was pretty neat, especially his hands.

But otherwise it was pretty unremarkable.
That's not being critical to say that. Its what it was.
Its an Under 18's game

McCabe shows elite traits that need to be refined

People are looking for a finished product

I liked that vision of McCabe's game, other than a few bad bounces that evaded him earlier in the video and 1 kick that went 30m down the line that got turned over, it looked like he had a good game when it came to spoiling, marking, creating options for team mates by running past them out wide, good contested work ect, I originally had him at pick 30 about 12 months ago after the u16s champs, but I think his range would be something in the area of 15-35 if I had to guess right now.

The biggest problem is that most people just don't know how to accurately judge defenders because they either subconsciously or consciously place more emphasis on a contest win from the forward than a contest halved by the defender.

Just because a defender doesn't mark the ball, doesn't mean they haven't won the contest.
I'm unsure on the highlights package of Weddle as I don't remember seeing it but I watched numerous games that he played in last year and he was extremely impressive.

McCabe was very solid defensively in the last game while also grabbing 19 disposals. That is a fantastic outcome for a key defender.

The funny thing is, I watch his video and I see that the moment the ball looks like going to a team mate he start looking to take off and make an option. It doesn’t always work out but if this kid gets the ball on the outside at afl level they won’t catch him and he has the foot skills to hit targets efficiently. He looks like the perfect chb for Sam’s aggressive game plan.
I like Weddle at CHB. From the accounts posted, I reckon McCabe could become a Grant Birchall type. Best position depends on attributes rather than size, as we have learnt with Nash.