Player Watch 2023 Father Son player watch - McCabe, Dear and Maginness

Guys, I keep deleting posts referencing this, but can we move away from suggesting or making juvenile jokes about the bloodlines of players.

This is a public forum and parents of players do read here.

Has anyone got footage of McCabe?

196cm last year. In an ideal world he would have grown a few cm and could become our version of Darcy Moore/SDK. A tall, athletic KPD with good arial ability - those are listed as his strengths.

Below are his stats from u18s at SANFL last year as an underager. Not sure if he was playing forward or back.
I thought he was playing u16s as an overager last year.

He played in the 2022 U16 National Championships for South Australia as an overager, where I believe he played as a defender and won their MVP award for the tournament. He played in the SANFL for Central District's U18s.

Correct, thanks mate. Yes these stats are from SANFL u18s. Write up on national championships is:

Tall athletic defender who also can go forward. Very competitive player who excels one-on-one and uses the ball effectively on the rebound. Son of former Hawthorn player Luke McCabe, who played 138 games after being selected at pick 15 in the 1993 National Draft. Played as an approved overage player in the Championships, so is eligible father-son to the Hawks in 2023.

11. Calsher Dear (Old Brighton Grammarians VAFA)
Potential father-son to Hawthorn (son of Paul). Strong marking key forward who is excellent at ground level for his size. Has played basketball to a high level but now concentrating more on football.

14. Ned Maginness (East Brighton Vampires JFC)
Potential father-son to Hawthorn (son of Scott). Has grown enormously over the past 18 months, to now be nearly 188cm (similar to his brother). Plays midfield and works hard contest to contest to impact the play. Has developed over pre-season as much as any player on the list.

11. Calsher Dear (Old Brighton Grammarians VAFA)
Potential father-son to Hawthorn (son of Paul). Strong marking key forward who is excellent at ground level for his size. Has played basketball to a high level but now concentrating more on football.

14. Ned Maginness (East Brighton Vampires JFC)
Potential father-son to Hawthorn (son of Scott). Has grown enormously over the past 18 months, to now be nearly 188cm (similar to his brother). Plays midfield and works hard contest to contest to impact the play. Has developed over pre-season as much as any player on the list.
Last sentence on Maginness is very encouraging

Image 23-3-2023 at 5.24 pm.jpeg
Here is an image of Ned Maginness from the Coates Talent League Boys Testing Day, via the Instagram page of the Sandringham Dragons. I know it has been posted here in days gone by, but I just thought I would reupload it for clarification regarding his stature.

View attachment 1637303
Here is an image of Ned Maginness from the Coates Talent League Boys Testing Day, via the Instagram page of the Sandringham Dragons. I know it has been posted here in days gone by, but I just thought I would reupload it for clarification regarding his stature.
Has a great build for a midfielder. Can’t wait to see how he goes this year.

View attachment 1637303
Sammy is right, he is a good looking rooster.

View attachment 1637303

Not sure on height but has the Day look about his size build.

Dear and Maginness debuting for Sandy right now

You can stream games this year on the 'Coates Talent League' app. I'm picking it up most of the way through the second Q

Number 11 for Clasher, 14 for Ned.

Will tune in for the second half with a bit of a write-up. Same with the Northern v GWS game, although less to talk about there.

Interesting half of football from Sandy vs Eastern. I'll focus on the three main players of interest:

Calsher Dear
Cal looked strong out there, playing from the goal square and taking ruck contests inside the forward 50. Got one goal on the end of a coast-to-coast, but set up a few with some nice hands below his knees and solid tapwork. One play in the third he met the contest just outside 50, the ball spilled to the ground, and he beautifully and cleanly picked it up from the ground in one hand, did a 180 do face the goals again, and unleashed a handpass wide to Ashcroft or Sanders (?) that lead to a goal. He had a few chances to really outmuscle his opponent that just went missing, often getting his hands to it just a second late. It's not going to get him three votes, but a good game to build on for the season, just need to see some more goals from the kid.

Ned Maginess
Ned looked really clean and crisp with the footy in hand today. Took a few nice intercepts, has a really sharp eye for open players, and has a beautiful handball on him. He really does look like Will Day for mine, string bean off the wing with superb spacial awareness and vision. He seems a bit lost when playing the wing, he looks a lot better when he gets to be at the fall of the ball instead of 15 meters outside of it, but his spread and defensive efforts helped Sandy get over the line in the end. Another half that was good without being great.

Last edited by a moderator:
Interesting half of football from Sandy vs Eastern. I'll focus on the three main players of interest:

Calsher Dear
Cal looked strong out there, playing from the goal square and taking ruck contests inside the forward 50. Got one goal on the end of a coast-to-coast, but set up a few with some nice hands below his knees and solid tapwork. One play in the third he met the contest just outside 50, the ball spilled to the ground, and he beautifully and cleanly picked it up from the ground in one hand, did a 180 do face the goals again, and unleashed a handpass wide to Ashcroft or Sanders (?) that lead to a goal. He had a few chances to really outmuscle his opponent that just went missing, often getting his hands to it just a second late. It's not going to get him three votes, but a good game to build on for the season, just need to see some more goals from the kid.

Ned Maginess
Ned looked really clean and crisp with the footy in hand today. Took a few nice intercepts, has a really sharp eye for open players, and has a beautiful handball on him. He really does look like Will Day for mine, string bean off the wing with superb spacial awareness and vision. He seems a bit lost when playing the wing, he looks a lot better when he gets to be at the fall of the ball instead of 15 meters outside of it, but his spread and defensive efforts helped Sandy get over the line in the end. Another half that was good without being great.

Nick Watson
I'll say this, the kid is unreal as a forward. Deft touch, has plenty of strength and speed, and knows how to drop his knees and when to fly high for a grab. As a midfielder, he was alright, great at getting his hands on it and bursting through when left unchecked. A few times he opted for a bit of a panic handpass after taking contact that he really could stand through, but all around a good game. I didn't see the first half but apparently, he was outstanding there as well.

I won't be able to watch Harley Reid live this arvo, but I'll comb through the replay and go through the notes later. Will post stats as well when Coates get the accountants out of bed.
Thank you, appreciate your time and effort in sharing this with us.

Sounds like both Calsher and Ned had solid games and exciting prospects for us.

Will McCabe in the win against Moir's Tigers:
13 Disposals (12k 1h)
2 goals
7 marks
2 i50s

0 rebound 50s is interesting for McCabe, might be playing as a CHF full-time. Would like to see if he gets a reserves or league call-up at some point this year.
Yeah, seems to be playing CHF for school and SANFL. Played FB in the u17s futures game and thought he looked good there which is where I would prefer to see him played.

We absolutely want to see him up forward.

Will McCabe in the win against Moir's Tigers:
13 Disposals (12k 1h)
2 goals
7 marks
2 i50s

0 rebound 50s is interesting for McCabe, might be playing as a CHF full-time. Would like to see if he gets a reserves or league call-up at some point this year.

Hopefully he plays CHF all year even if he gets called up to the higher levels of competition.