Preview 2023 Goodbye (To 2024) New; Preseason Discussion

The consistent repetitive gripers of say 100 posters max as a guess, represent a percentage of 0016% recurring of 60000 members. Now it could be argued that this sample is representative of the population and statistically have a much higher percentage number but in reality sampling methods do not work that way.

Statistically remarkable that every single member critical of the koch/hinkley regime is an active poster on bigfooty

The consistent repetitive gripers of say 100 posters max as a guess, represent a percentage of 0016% recurring of 60000 members.

this is the preseason thread mate try to keep your lunacy to a notepad document

Please tell us more about how sampling methods work.

Umpires warmed up. Drones out. 24 minute countdown clock on the big screen. Looks like some match sim this morning 🤞
How did we go? Was Sinner's breakthrough win last night an omen for our own Sinn(er)'s emergence from purgatory? Did big Hugh Jackson show Butters and Rozee who's the boss of this midfield now? Did Frank the Tank prove he's going to be the biggest X in 'why are we playing Mac & Cheese over X, 2024 edittion'?

There’s been plenty of positive stuff in this thread. I don’t see anything wrong with highlighting some of the negatives too - the club puts out enough propaganda of its own.

So here are some notes from today’s match sim. It’s my own opinions - sowwy if anything makes you fweel bad. Be the change you like to see in the world 👍

//

Started the session in two groups with some defensive pressure drills. One at the back of centre square, and another in defensive 50. A lot of rotations in this.

A few brief cameos from Narkle, K Marshall, Dixon and Georgiades who ran laps.

Match sim started soon after.

First thing I noticed is Soldo didn’t have his usual no contact cap on. Despite this he still played majority forward with a few cameos in the ruck…for the weaker side.

Jordon Sweet was again the #1 ruck. Not sure if there’s a load build up for Soldo, but Sweet is certainly taking his chance. Flushed a nice goal from outside 50 too.

Dante Visentini spent his time as the main ‘weaker’ side ruck. He moves so well for a young ruckman, and he’s pretty good by foot too. He’s up there for players that have impressed me most this preseason.

Through the midfield were the main culprits of Butters, JHF and Wines for the stronger side. Drew, Mead and a heavy rotation for 3rd mid for the weaker side.

I’m starting to repeat myself but Butters is in for a big year. Gains about 80m on every kick with his willingness to take on his opposition, generally gets past too. There was one clearance with Butters that reminded me of Robbie Gray vs St Kilda but at 2x speed. It shouldn’t be possible to get to and collect the ball at the speeds he does.

I’d back JHF in a footrace against any player. So slick, so clean, runs on top of the grass. Can’t wait to watch him this year.

I’ve mentioned this a few times but Ollie Wines is visibly slimmer. What I haven’t made mention of is how nimble he looks within the contest - looks to have a lot more confidence in his body. Hasn’t lost his strength through the contest either. Was in the top running group when the condition began - has this always been the case?

Rozee appears to be on load management, missed a few sessions of late. Didn’t participate in match sim, and when the team started doing some running drills, Rozee practiced his set shots at goal.

On the wings were Farrell and Burgoyne wings for the stronger side. Lorenz and Clurey for the weaker side. None of them got particularly involved albeit a trade mark run-around-the-back 60m shot at the goals from Farrell. It hit the post.

Francis Evans has caught my eye a bit. Works very hard up and down the ground and gets involved a bit. Think he’ll surprise a few this season.

Sinn lined up at half back for the stronger side. Is this a sign of things to come? I hope not. His ball drop is shocking, which results in some seriously poor kicking. Needs a skills coach ASAP. On a positive note, defensively he was quite good.

On the other half back flank was Dylan Williams.

Lachie Jones has impressed me all preseason, but still a bit more fumbly than I’d like. Looks to be playing a high pressure offensive role rather than lock down.

Miles Bergman however is just so clean. Does a little bit of everything and wouldn’t surprise me to see him top 5 BNF this year.

Speaking of which my very early call is that we’ll be seeing a John Cahill medal around Esava’ neck come end of year. So good defensively and makes his presence known both amongst his team mates and opposition.

Willie Rioli is going to be dangerous for opposition teams. Works extremely hard off the footy despite looking a bit laconic with it. Doesn’t affect his execution though - finds the goals or a teammate in a better position nearly every time. Our best kick going inside 50 in my opinion.

Another that is really impressing me is Tom Anastasopolos. He moves just like Connor Rozee. Lacks a bit of penetration in his kicking at the moment but wouldn’t surprise me to see him jag a few games this season. Was another that was in the top running group, so he’s clearly got the tank.

Tom Scully still very raw and skinny but does all the right things.

Finally, some notes on game style and how we look as a group. I want to be positive here but it’s a bit grim.

Our skills are pretty average bar a select few. We often make silly decisions with the footy, choosing to go inwards 45s to team mates that are surrounded by opposition. It’s a definite confidence killer, because we then start to revert to long low percentage kicks down the line. Maybe this is part of the strategy as I’d back our midfield group to win the ball at throw in stoppages.

There are still too many times where we rely on individual brilliance to move the footy forward. One trend I keep seeing is this holding pattern at half forward as the boys struggle to find short targets inside 50. A majority of our goals come from outside 50, or sneaking out the back of a defender playing too far in front. To be fair Dixon wasn’t out there. That all being said I thought defensively on both sides, in all areas of the ground, we are very good. So I’ll take that as positive.

And you lot wonder why the club doesn't listen to you. They just went out and addressed our two biggest deficiencies in the off-season for a team that still managed to finish top four and you're already writing them off as if it doesn't matter.
All we’ve done is address structural issues, which is a continuous process that every club undertakes every year.

Our biggest issues are mental preparation for big games, and we don’t even bother to address that anymore. 10 years on from paying the price in the 2013 semi final for going into our shell after half time, we arrived at “finals are scary” in 2023. We were duly thumped in two finals. Yay for progress!

And you lot wonder why the club doesn't listen to you. They just went out and addressed our two biggest deficiencies in the off-season for a team that still managed to finish top four and you're already writing them off as if it doesn't matter.
I mean, i dont have a problem with the list changes for the most part. What I do have a problem with is wasting it with boofhead at the helm.

For bonus points would you like to apply your superb statistical skills to Hinkley's record in big games like knock out finals and Showdowns?

And when you add Ken Hinkley to the mix, Port Adelaide's odds of winning a premiership drastic go down

Great data anal-cyst dumberclod.

You have made the assumption that the only people that are unhappy with the clown show post on Bigfooty

You don't take the number from a subset (i.e. number of posters who think the club is a clown show, 100 in your example) and compare it with the total number of PAFC members.

You compare the number of "clown show call-outers" to the total number of posters on the Port Adelaide Bigfooty board. You then extrapolate that to the number of Port supporters/members.

It could be argued that Hinkley has already cracked your head open and feasted on the goo inside.

Great data anal-cyst dumberclod.

You have made the assumption that the only people that are unhappy with the clown show post on Bigfooty

You don't take the number from a subset (i.e. number of posters who think the club is a clown show, 100 in your example) and compare it with the total number of PAFC members.

You compare the number of "clown show call-outers" to the total number of posters on the Port Adelaide Bigfooty board. You then extrapolate that to the number of Port supporters/members.

It could be argued that Hinkley has already cracked your head open and feasted on the goo inside.
Yeah. The original take is horrible and seems pretty lacking in knowledge of how statistics work. The reality is, that you can't extrapolate much in either direction from representation on the bigfooty forums. There are so many cavets, it's basically pointless. You CAN perform some sort of statistical analysis of the bigfooty membership. It's just as pointless to extrapolate what you see on Facebook, for different reasons again. Some of these things are self selecting sets to a certain degree. There's also the fact that people who are happy with something are LESS likely to post something about it... but this is warped based on the context. Overwhelming negative comments may influence people to post MORE or exagerate their position in defence of some point of view. It's really pointless. Beyond a general satisfaction survey among general Port supporting members of the public (not the club), it's very difficult to say. This is you have go back to the facts and the facts look worse by the year for Hinkley. The argument needs specificity. If it's about performance, there are objective stats. If it's about perception or satisfaction, you need to specify among whom.

Yeah. The original take is horrible and seems pretty lacking in knowledge of how statistics work. The reality is, that you can't extrapolate much in either direction from representation on the bigfooty forums. There are so many cavets, it's basically pointless. You CAN perform some sort of statistical analysis of the bigfooty membership. It's just as pointless to extrapolate what you see on Facebook, for different reasons again. Some of these things are self selecting sets to a certain degree. There's also the fact that people who are happy with something are LESS likely to post something about it... but this is warped based on the context. Overwhelming negative comments may influence people to post MORE or exagerate their position in defence of some point of view. It's really pointless. Beyond a general satisfaction survey among general Port supporting members of the public (not the club), it's very difficult to say. This is you have go back to the facts and the facts look worse by the year for Hinkley.
It's all pointless as either they are a troll or have an intellectual disability but I tried to keep it as simple as possible and brush over all the relevant factors that would skew data.

lol . We’ve been around the mark . It wouldn’t have taken too much luck to snag one
True - but luck plays less of a part if the basic playing culture, system & structure, sustainable game plan, attention to detail and ruthless never-say-die ferocity are in place.

I reckon those are areas where we fall a bit short, and have exhibited little propensity over a period of time to close that gap.

There’s been plenty of positive stuff in this thread. I don’t see anything wrong with highlighting some of the negatives too - the club puts out enough propaganda of its own.

So here are some notes from today’s match sim. It’s my own opinions - sowwy if anything makes you fweel bad. Be the change you like to see in the world 👍

//

Started the session in two groups with some defensive pressure drills. One at the back of centre square, and another in defensive 50. A lot of rotations in this.

A few brief cameos from Narkle, K Marshall, Dixon and Georgiades who ran laps.

Match sim started soon after.

First thing I noticed is Soldo didn’t have his usual no contact cap on. Despite this he still played majority forward with a few cameos in the ruck…for the weaker side.

Jordon Sweet was again the #1 ruck. Not sure if there’s a load build up for Soldo, but Sweet is certainly taking his chance. Flushed a nice goal from outside 50 too.

Dante Visentini spent his time as the main ‘weaker’ side ruck. He moves so well for a young ruckman, and he’s pretty good by foot too. He’s up there for players that have impressed me most this preseason.

Through the midfield were the main culprits of Butters, JHF and Wines for the stronger side. Drew, Mead and a heavy rotation for 3rd mid for the weaker side.

I’m starting to repeat myself but Butters is in for a big year. Gains about 80m on every kick with his willingness to take on his opposition, generally gets past too. There was one clearance with Butters that reminded me of Robbie Gray vs St Kilda but at 2x speed. It shouldn’t be possible to get to and collect the ball at the speeds he does.

I’d back JHF in a footrace against any player. So slick, so clean, runs on top of the grass. Can’t wait to watch him this year.

I’ve mentioned this a few times but Ollie Wines is visibly slimmer. What I haven’t made mention of is how nimble he looks within the contest - looks to have a lot more confidence in his body. Hasn’t lost his strength through the contest either. Was in the top running group when the condition began - has this always been the case?

Rozee appears to be on load management, missed a few sessions of late. Didn’t participate in match sim, and when the team started doing some running drills, Rozee practiced his set shots at goal.

On the wings were Farrell and Burgoyne wings for the stronger side. Lorenz and Clurey for the weaker side. None of them got particularly involved albeit a trade mark run-around-the-back 60m shot at the goals from Farrell. It hit the post.

Francis Evans has caught my eye a bit. Works very hard up and down the ground and gets involved a bit. Think he’ll surprise a few this season.

Sinn lined up at half back for the stronger side. Is this a sign of things to come? I hope not. His ball drop is shocking, which results in some seriously poor kicking. Needs a skills coach ASAP. On a positive note, defensively he was quite good.

On the other half back flank was Dylan Williams.

Lachie Jones has impressed me all preseason, but still a bit more fumbly than I’d like. Looks to be playing a high pressure offensive role rather than lock down.

Miles Bergman however is just so clean. Does a little bit of everything and wouldn’t surprise me to see him top 5 BNF this year.

Speaking of which my very early call is that we’ll be seeing a John Cahill medal around Esava’ neck come end of year. So good defensively and makes his presence known both amongst his team mates and opposition.

Willie Rioli is going to be dangerous for opposition teams. Works extremely hard off the footy despite looking a bit laconic with it. Doesn’t affect his execution though - finds the goals or a teammate in a better position nearly every time. Our best kick going inside 50 in my opinion.

Another that is really impressing me is Tom Anastasopolos. He moves just like Connor Rozee. Lacks a bit of penetration in his kicking at the moment but wouldn’t surprise me to see him jag a few games this season. Was another that was in the top running group, so he’s clearly got the tank.

Tom Scully still very raw and skinny but does all the right things.

Finally, some notes on game style and how we look as a group. I want to be positive here but it’s a bit grim.

Our skills are pretty average bar a select few. We often make silly decisions with the footy, choosing to go inwards 45s to team mates that are surrounded by opposition. It’s a definite confidence killer, because we then start to revert to long low percentage kicks down the line. Maybe this is part of the strategy as I’d back our midfield group to win the ball at throw in stoppages.

There are still too many times where we rely on individual brilliance to move the footy forward. One trend I keep seeing is this holding pattern at half forward as the boys struggle to find short targets inside 50. A majority of our goals come from outside 50, or sneaking out the back of a defender playing too far in front. To be fair Dixon wasn’t out there. That all being said I thought defensively on both sides, in all areas of the ground, we are very good. So I’ll take that as positive.

Thanks for you efforts , sounds like a top 8 finish with a pathetic finals exit again

Which is why we were so inept in the finals. Don't win the stoppages and the skills and gameplan are ordinary - huge losses incoming.

We're setting all sorts of records for our coaches tenure given his lack of success, to think this wouldn't elicit a unique and unpredictable response from our supporters is just idiotic.

The entire history of the AFL and the psyche of AFL supporters has been developed for over a century now with change at the top a common factor in sparking hope and inspiring players and supporters. You only have to look at what Hinkley did for us in 2013-2014. What McRae has done, Voss at Carlton, etc. new coaches breathe life into clubs. It may be short-lived but it is an indisputable fact that change is extremely important at a club. To then completely underestimate the impact of making no change, setting records for pointless stability, amongst what is a unprecedented and groundbreaking period, that no other club has ever endured, and that therefore no one could ever understand the impact of, well those people are as clueless as they seem.

I'm supposed to applaud them for addressing deficiencies when all they did was cry about not getting Esava the previous year with no back up plan & thus going into a season with an undersized defence that was never gonna hold up.

We are talking a project defender too as much as everyone loves his beard 'n muscles.

Deficiencies that are of the coaches own making as he refused to play and develop young players in those positions while he gave a ****load of games to cooked underperforming players in the same positions (see lycett / Jonas) and traded away young players in those positions as well.

Preview 2023 Goodbye (To 2024) New; Preseason Discussion