Preview 2023 Goodbye (To 2024) New; Preseason Discussion

We haven't taken 16 years to make another grand final, it's 16 and counting with no indication that this will not extend well beyond 16.
This year is the year. Last year was the year but then it wasn't. And the year before that until it wasn't.

And pray tell, what was the 'last one' of those clubs?

St Kilda - 1997 - 2009 (12 years) - another GF appearance in 2010
Western Bulldogs - 1961 - 2016 (55 years) - another GF appearance in 2021
Fremantle - N/A - 2013 (joined the AFL in 1995) (18 years)
Adelaide - 1998 - 2017 (19 years)
Melbourne - 2000 - 2021 (21 years)

West Coast - 2006 - 2015 (9 years) - another GF appearance in 2018
Sydney - 2006 - 2012 (6 years) - GF appearances in 2014, 2016 and 2022
Geelong - 2008 (1 year) - GF appearances in 2009, 2011 and then 2020 (9 years) and 2022
Collingwood - 2003-2010 (7 years) - GF appearances in 2011, 2018 and 2023

Hawthorn - 1991- 2008 (17 years) - GF appearances in 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015
Richmond - 1982 - 2017 (35 years) - GF appearances in 2019 and 2020
GWS - N/A - 2019 (8 years)
Brisbane - 2004 - 2023 (19 years)

Port Adelaide - 2007 - present (16 years)

So in reality, you're annoyed that Port Adelaide isn't:

1. The biggest club in the country (Collingwood)
2. The wealthiest club in the country (West Coast)
3. In the biggest market in the country (receiving the concessions that go along with that) (Sydney)
4. The best run club in the country (Geelong)

Because every other club as taken as long as we have, if not longer, to make another GF at some point.
No I'm annoyed that literally every other club that was in a drought actually actively did things to change their destiny while we sit on our hands.

As an example, Hawthorn's 17 year drought:
Alan Joyce 1991-1993
Peter Knights 1994-1995
Ken Judge 1996-1999
Peter Schwab 2000-2004
Alastair Clarkson 2005-2008

They tried a new look five times before they got it right. They learned each time, and when they got it right they were rewarded with four flags as a result.

If they'd held on to any of the first four coaches "for stability" would they have never seen the success they have. We have a handbrake in the coaching box and our approach seems to be that if we can just get every single other thing absolutely perfect we might be able to steal one, one day. We should have spent the past 5 years testing and trying to get the next Craig McRae/Alastair Clarkson/Damien Hardwick/Adam Kingsley.

I've said it a few times. A club each year sells itself on one of three things: Hope, Success or Change. Port Adelaide is the only club in AFL/VFL history that refuses to be in one of these categories, and realistically hasn't been since 2019.

Edit: And I'm even more annoyed that this bullshit 11 years has involved:
-****ing over the captaincy tradition, claiming it will bring success so its worth it, then having zero accountability when its the least successful season in the entire period
-Club admin and players openly taking potshots at fans, or sending media dogs to do it for them
-The motto of the club being diluted to take pressure off
-Players that are clearly concussed being sent back on the field potentially causing lifelong problems just to save a coach's contract
-Animal cruelty and gambling being pushed throughout the playing group
-Constant lying and gaslighting from those in leadership positions, both about the club and past players
-Nepotistic and boys clubs appointments in to key roles rather than getting the best candidate
-Having a chairman that talks down the club on the national stage and thought we went out in straight sets in 2002 and 2003

I could go on but honestly **** it. It's such a ridiculous suggestion that people are annoyed because we aren't winning a flag every year with millions of dollars in the bank. People are annoyed because of the endless bullshit we've had to endure for 11 years that seems to show no light at the end of the tunnel.

Geelong - 2008 (1 year) - GF appearances in 2009, 2011 and then 2020 (9 years) and 2022

3. In the biggest market in the country (receiving the concessions that go along with that) (Sydney)

Because every other club as taken as long as we have, if not longer, to make another GF at some point.
Yes I'm annoyed that Port isn't the best run club in the country. Why wouldn't we be?

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

No I'm annoyed that literally every other club that was in a drought actually actively did things to change their destiny while we sit on our hands.

As an example, Hawthorn's 17 year drought:
Alan Joyce 1991-1993
Peter Knights 1994-1995
Ken Judge 1996-1999
Peter Schwab 2000-2004
Alastair Clarkson 2005-2008

They tried a new look five times before they got it right. They learned each time, and when they got it right they were rewarded with four flags as a result.

If they'd held on to any of the first four coaches "for stability" would they have never seen the success they have. We have a handbrake in the coaching box and our approach seems to be that if we can just get every single other thing absolutely perfect we might be able to steal one, one day. We should have spent the past 5 years testing and trying to get the next Craig McRae/Alastair Clarkson/Damien Hardwick/Adam Kingsley.

I've said it a few times. A club each year sells itself on one of three things: Hope, Success or Change. Port Adelaide is the only club in AFL/VFL history that refuses to be in one of these categories, and realistically hasn't been since 2019.

Edit: And I'm even more annoyed that this bullshit 11 years has involved:
-******* over the captaincy tradition, claiming it will bring success so its worth it, then having zero accountability when its the least successful season in the entire period
-Club admin and players openly taking potshots at fans, or sending media dogs to do it for them
-The motto of the club being diluted to take pressure off
-Players that are clearly concussed being sent back on the field potentially causing lifelong problems just to save a coach's contract
-Animal cruelty and gambling being pushed throughout the playing group
-Constant lying and gaslighting from those in leadership positions, both about the club and past players
-Nepotistic and boys clubs appointments in to key roles rather than getting the best candidate
-Having a chairman that talks down the club on the national stage and thought we went out in straight sets in 2002 and 2003

I could go on but honestly * it. It's such a ridiculous suggestion that people are annoyed because we aren't winning a flag every year with millions of dollars in the bank. People are annoyed because of the endless bullshit we've had to endure for 11 years that seems to show no light at the end of the tunnel.

Can’t like this post enough !!

No, he's annoyed that Port Adelaide hasn't sacked Hinkley.

We haven't taken 16 years to make another grand final, it's 16 and counting with no indication that this will not extend well beyond 16.
And you lot wonder why the club doesn't listen to you. They just went out and addressed our two biggest deficiencies in the off-season for a team that still managed to finish top four and you're already writing them off as if it doesn't matter.

Gee! When you put it that way, I should be happy we haven't won a flag!

Do you know how many cycles of this we have had in his tenure as coach, we are forever finding missing pieces to this grand puzzle.

On moto g62 5G using BigFooty.com mobile app
Success is an endless puzzle that can never be properly solved by some people, no matter how many pieces are inserted.

And you lot wonder why the club doesn't listen to you. They just went out and addressed our two biggest deficiencies in the off-season for a team that still managed to finish top four and you're already writing them off as if it doesn't matter.
Yea there’s a new addiction in town find more ways to attack the club . Must be exhausting.
Id be happy to have a new coach too but for a quite possible reason that I’m not privy to the coach hasn’t changed
We have a poncey chairman .O.K. Not ideal but he’s been successful in his own way , maybe not ruthless enough , sure I’d rather someone else but that stuff doesn’t turn me off the footy gawd no , it’s one of my main forms of entertainment, gives me feel good chemicals when we win , sure get down when we lose but I don’t blame anyone, it’s my own stupid fault if I get down about my team losing , it’s a game , I should be better than that .
The old school stuff that runs through our veins just hasn’t quite translated on a national level Yet . We’ve got the aura in Adelaide but not really nationally , young players coming in unless they were from a Port family wouldn’t have that bulletproof feeling when they put the guernsey on like the old days .
We just have to keep striving , keep pursuing excellence and develop that thing a young player would feel walking into Collingwood or Geelong , once we achieve that I reckon the players will be forced to become mentally stronger .
Im frustrated too but not enough to make me turn on the club

No we did not… Hinkley is still coaching and we are doing everything to keep a fresh outlook off the board?

Yea there’s a new addiction in town find more ways to attack the club . Must be exhausting.
Id be happy to have a new coach too but for a quite possible reason that I’m not privy to the coach hasn’t changed
We have a poncey chairman .O.K. Not ideal but he’s been successful in his own way , maybe not ruthless enough , sure I’d rather someone else but that stuff doesn’t turn me off the footy gawd no , it’s one of my main forms of entertainment, gives me feel good chemicals when we win , sure get down when we lose but I don’t blame anyone, it’s my own stupid fault if I get down about my team losing , it’s a game , I should be better than that .
The old school stuff that runs through our veins just hasn’t quite translated on a national level Yet . We’ve got the aura in Adelaide but not really nationally , young players coming in unless they were from a Port family wouldn’t have that bulletproof feeling when they put the guernsey on like the old days .
We just have to keep striving , keep pursuing excellence and develop that thing a young player would feel walking into Collingwood or Geelong , once we achieve that I reckon the players will be forced to become mentally stronger .
Yes.

It was your own fault for getting down about getting speed bagged in the 2021 where everything that could go wrong for our opposition did go wrong, other than playing a Hinkley-coached Port.

Or getting dummied in the Russell Ebert tribute game loss against a rebuilding Hawthorn.

Or going out in straight sets after a thirteen game win streak that was sufficient to extend the life of our perennial loser.

Chris Davies recommended to the board that hinkley be reappointed as per whatever criteria, information etc. They decided on 2 years so he is the head coach for the next 2 years. That is not a delusional mirage. Contract/ageement signed. Davies recommendation agreed upon and his position is tenable and remains as was.
This seems all clear imo it is what it is. Some supporters might not agree, but 60,000 will probably be members and commercially that could be considered satisfactory along with the support from mg etc. Accept the reality enjoy the wins and we will see!
You are a d!ckhead mate. My comment was in reply to your line "The AFL IS a different reality and it is so much harder to get into the window of winning the big game." Followed by 'but this year will be different.' !!!!

I mean, what utter delusional bullcrap! We have got "into the window" on multiple occasions under Hinkley - then failed to fire a shot! Yes we have the players, the team has the ability, and we have a good list again, but the coaching and administration are tainted with the "it's a tough competition," "finals are scary," and it has spread to the playing group.

"Hey but no worries ... lets just keep doing the same thing over and over, and we will have a different outcome this year." The very essence of "delusional!"

That is why this club is stuffed atm ... Koch, Davies, Richardson, and Hinkley are all complicit and have to go for us to break through this ceiling that they have created for the club..

Koch and co should appoint you as their new spin doctor you'd be a hit at press conferences because you've got an excuse for everything

On moto g62 5G using BigFooty.com mobile app

We addressed our two biggest deficiencies in the playing group, and effectively so.

We haven't addressed our biggest deficiency, which is the coaching. We play as less than the sum of our parts in every big game and fall apart with any injuries at all for this reason.

In our first 10 years we won more games than any other club and made two grand finals, winning a flag. It translated right up until we had a couple of down years, like every club does, and installed people who don't believe in us.

Which of Soldo, Sweet, Esava or BZT is going to be our senior coach this year?

So when is the first internal trial for the public ?

Family Day is Saturday 10 February, 4pm, but not sure if that has a trial game.

Internal Trial
Friday, 16 February 5.30pm
Alberton Oval
Free entry, no ticket required, subject to capacity
Grandstand seating available - first come, first served
Kick and catch post-game

Preview 2023 Goodbye (To 2024) New; Preseason Discussion