List Mgmt. 2023 List Management thread

Mod notice after Mr Bob did a lot of annoying work in moving days of posts out of here. As we are heading into offseason, this thread is for 2023 list management only. Getting upset on previous trades can be taken to the vent thread. Lets keep this thread on track in the part of the year it's actually relevant

6,11,25 is probably
Ben King, Jordan Clark* and Bobby Hill

* as we got Jordan Clark for 22 we would of had access to Jessie Motlop

Can you imagine adding King, Hill and Motlop to our forward half and still access to Clark, Amiss, Johnson and Ras

Depressing
You are correct on Ben King, Jordan Clark and Bobby Hill in 2018. We ended up with 2 years of Hogan and traded him out for the pick used on Brandon Walker. Also picked up 17 (Sturt).

Sturt, Hogan/Walker > King, Clark and Hill

With regards to Motlop - that is a long bow. It’s possible. We traded twice from memory (one of the trades was with Collingwood) to get that pick 22. Would we have even done those trades with future picks had we not been trading for Clark? Carlton picked him at 25 which seemed to be the top end range for his selection.

Looking at our list and quick, modern football, and particularly the Adelaide game where Rankine and Rachele hurt us with pace and finishing, it strikes me that a quick, bull of a medium forward who can break the lines and finish with skill is something we are really missing - it would allow us to attack with confidence. Scanning the league the only gettable players I can see that would fit that mould are perhaps Cameron Zurhaar and Kosi Pickett. To my eye, we seem very one paced and slow, and with little Switkowski being thrown into the centre as a last resort to provide burst speed and aggressive attack on the football, for me a Zurhaar trade in particular for one of our many slower ageing midfielders (O'meara/Fyfe) would add another dimension to our side moving forward.

I'm still like, trying to come to terms with how weak we were in those Jackson negotiations. Like, IF he comes on like people think and IF we have another good year then best case scenario, Melbourne would have been stiffed but like, no more than we were stiffed on Langdon and Hogan. Why in the * did we cave. We should have another two 2nds this year, our own, and one back from Melbourne for the two firsts. We could actually work with that hand for this year.

Bell just bends over to whatever Melbourne demand. ******* bizarre
I really do fear bell is showing a penchant for emulating schwabby at trade time.
It’s also probably no coincidence seeing as bell was captain back in those days whilst schwabby ran the show.

His deals for Jackson (and to a lesser extent hogan - and only because I think rosich played a key part with this one as well)reek of just getting your man no matter what .

Scarily If things continue the way they are this year then the heat ,rightly so, will come for him and I just can’t see him not doubling down on the Jackson fiasco by selling the clubs soul for Pickett or Naughton in the future

I have been told he is 100% done with the club and would rather not play another game here. Injury isn’t that bad. Will leave at years end.
If Fyfe left and won a flag at another club, playing a major role in their success and being completely rehabilitated from injury, having spent the previous 3 years having his legacy thrashed here, that would be the final straw for me.
Might as well fold the club if that happens.

Who's your source and why is he done with the club?
I believe the original source of that one is supposedly a mate of one of our new recruits but really, if you think about it for 5 seconds, it’s total rubbish

Probably. I have no idea if it’s true tbh but that’s what I’ve heard. I don’t believe it, but that’s the rumour.

1. He wants out.
2. His “injury” isn’t that bad and could play this weekend if he wanted to.

Probably. I have no idea if it’s true tbh but that’s what I’ve heard. I don’t believe it, but that’s the rumour.

1. He wants out.
Yeah, don’t doubt you heard it, I’d just put that down to people making up shit coz we are going bad.

Might want out but it would be moronic for a guy with chronic injury problems to not be playing if he could during a contract year.

1. He wants out.
I never took Fyfe for a self absorbed sook.
Anyway.
We would get a late 3rd round if we traded him knowing out admin. 🤣

I never took Fyfe for a self absorbed sook.
Anyway.
We would get a late 3rd round if we traded him knowing out admin. 🤣
Unrestricted free agent so it’d be whatever contract he gets. Bulldogs being interested would throw up some wacky Taylor suggestions

1. He wants out.
I’m not willing to believe his injury is not that bad and that he could play this weekend. Just goes against his nature. There was vision of him in the lead-up to the WC game calling all the boys in and giving a decent old rev up.

I wouldn’t be surprised if he moved on at the end of the year. He remains unsigned and prob would rather be playing midfield. He has committed to forward for this year but beyond 2023? He will play his bit this year once he gets on top of his foot issues.

Plantar fasciitis is debilitating. I saw him limping a couple of times against Saints, and struggling to leap off the ground. He didn’t have the agility of the pre-season games. It all made sense once I heard he had PF. There was a moment late in third I think where he showed frustration after being beat to a ball losing a contest to someone. To me he was annoyed his foot was holding him back.

I don't know if I'd trust any rumours about Fyfe coming from whispers around the club because even a large amount of "fans" love to pile shit on him. But at the same time I don't think it's ludicrous to believe he'll be at another club next year. I'm not even sure we'd have an offer tabled to him at the moment.

In a sense the way he was managed by the club was poor. Won a brownlow as a midfielder in 2019 and then immediately the next few years we try and phase him out of the middle completely to facilitate the development of the Brayshaw and Cerra. Obviously that shoulder injury mid 2021 was the start of the end but I'm sure he'd feel hard done by in some sense.

Obviously very frustrating having an injury free pre season and looking dangerous up forward and then the moment the season starts he's broken down again. Don't think he's coming back from this one. But would be nice if the club could be straight forward about it.

"Oh he'll be out for two weeks"

"Nah that was premature he could play this week"

"He came really close to playing last week he'll be a test again this week"

"Yeah he's still a few games away"

You are correct on Ben King, Jordan Clark and Bobby Hill in 2018. We ended up with 2 years of Hogan and traded him out for the pick used on Brandon Walker. Also picked up 17 (Sturt).

Sturt, Hogan/Walker > King, Clark and Hill

With regards to Motlop - that is a long bow. It’s possible. We traded twice from memory (one of the trades was with Collingwood) to get that pick 22. Would we have even done those trades with future picks had we not been trading for Clark? Carlton picked him at 25 which seemed to be the top end range for his selection.
We were keen on Jessie at our pick after 21 but knew he would be gone as Carlton had one much earlier. With pick 22 we may of taken him, we were also into Josh Goater who went the pick after Johnno so who knows

I have been told he is 100% done with the club and would rather not play another game here. Injury isn’t that bad. Will leave at years end.
Sums up most of your posts on here of late.

You'd have to be a complete idiot to entertain that for half a second let alone parrot it as fact.

Looking at our list and quick, modern football, and particularly the Adelaide game where Rankine and Rachele hurt us with pace and finishing, it strikes me that a quick, bull of a medium forward who can break the lines and finish with skill is something we are really missing - it would allow us to attack with confidence. Scanning the league the only gettable players I can see that would fit that mould are perhaps Cameron Zurhaar and Kosi Pickett. To my eye, we seem very one paced and slow, and with little Switkowski being thrown into the centre as a last resort to provide burst speed and aggressive attack on the football, for me a Zurhaar trade in particular for one of our many slower ageing midfielders (O'meara/Fyfe) would add another dimension to our side moving forward.

No one wants a slow aging player being the sticking point with that one I think

Every team looks slow when you are losing , it’s a mind warp

I don't know if I'd trust any rumours about Fyfe coming from whispers around the club because even a large amount of "fans" love to pile s**t on him. But at the same time I don't think it's ludicrous to believe he'll be at another club next year. I'm not even sure we'd have an offer tabled to him at the moment.

In a sense the way he was managed by the club was poor. Won a brownlow as a midfielder in 2019 and then immediately the next few years we try and phase him out of the middle completely to facilitate the development of the Brayshaw and Cerra. Obviously that shoulder injury mid 2021 was the start of the end but I'm sure he'd feel hard done by in some sense.

Obviously very frustrating having an injury free pre season and looking dangerous up forward and then the moment the season starts he's broken down again. Don't think he's coming back from this one. But would be nice if the club could be straight forward about it.

"Oh he'll be out for two weeks"

"Nah that was premature he could play this week"

"He came really close to playing last week he'll be a test again this week"

"Yeah he's still a few games away"
I think that's a bit of revisionist history, he wasn't phased out of the midfield he was perpetually injured. This is the first year we have moved him and I reckon it's more to do with prolonging his career than anything right now.

If Fyfe wants to leave at the end of the season he's a legend of the club and would wish him well but it would also save a headache on his contract. I actually think hes more likely to retire than anything at this stage.

I think that's a bit of revisionist history, he wasn't phased out of the midfield he was perpetually injured. This is the first year we have moved him and I reckon it's more to do with prolonging his career than anything right now.

If Fyfe wants to leave at the end of the season he's a legend of the club and would wish him well but it would also save a headache on his contract. I actually think hes more likely to retire than anything at this stage.
Nah definitely started playing less midfield from 2020 he said it himself. 2021 was a 65/35 split too.

I think our first round pick, which will go to the Dees will be Duursma.
Watching him dominate is going to be a bitter pill to swallow.
Freo have to take credit, and the two premierships before 2025 for Melbourne
Only proves that they were saved be the bell.
If freo finishes the season low enough for the dees to take Duursma I’d be very surprised

Even losing Tucker was a stuff up last year - he would have been a very serviceable wing option compared to what we currently have available to us so far this season.
Tucker is Kmart JOM. Sure he's younger but I doubt he'll ever be as good and even JOM isn't good enough to lose sleep over.
From one of the biggest WC flogs on BF but it does look bad written out

Lose

Lobb
Logue
Acres
Meek
Tucker
Pick 13
Future 1st
Future 2nd

Gain

Jackson
O’Meara
Future 2nd
It looks bad because it is.
Footy classified suggesting Fyfe might leave at end of the year. Saints, Dogs and Brisbane all mooted as possibilities.
I'm ok with this if that is what Fyfe wants. Good luck to him.

I'm certainly not interested in paying 600-800k for a bloke who doesn't play anymore.