Preview 2023 Mid Season Draft Discussion Thread

Bit harsh having a VIC kid move to WA for 5 months on basically no money, though the plus would be he gets a game every week. Not guaranteed even with us or the Roos.
Most of the top prospects have nominated for 18 month contracts.. so clubs picking have to think long and hard.. not a 6 month free hit

mentioned same here
the key bits are here from above link is

There were 19 players in the first group of players who nominated under longer-term contract lengths through to the end of 2024. Players who nominate for the 18-month term cannot be offered a shorter term by the club that selects them.

It means clubs who are weighing up players will have to have the longer-term contracts on their list until the end of next season, with a handful of players over previous mid-season drafts being cut after only six months.

Potential top pick Ryan Maric, from the Gippsland Power, has nominated under a longer-term contract, as has Downie and Richmond VFL pair Luke Teal and Beau Tedcastle.

Here is a current list of players that have nominated for the Mid Season Draft. Players have until the 31st of May to nominate.

Players of note include: Jack Buller, William Elliot, Max Hall (Box Hill), Ryan Maric, Quintin Narkle, Ethan Phillips, Luke Teal, Jaylon Thorpe (Box Hill), Clay Tucker, Triston Waak (Box Hill), Kai Windsor (Box Hill)

Notable absentees from the list include: Callum Brown (Box Hill), Sam Naismith, Jed Rule, Ethan Stanley (Box Hill)

do you think they will have to ask for Ethan Stanley to be allowed to nominate? i think they did that the last couple of years for guys who didnt nominate the year prior, i think he has a chance to get drafted.

Was at City Oval on the weekend and loved the way Maric went about it. He was always a chance in the air, despite Southport being the Spacejam Monstars of the VFL. And his field kicking was elite. Considering looming delistings and retirements at the end of the year - I'd not only welcome Maric of merit alone...

But taking a KPP in the mid season draft probably balances our list enough (along with McCabe) to safely take Watson with our first pick. Something tells me he's going to end up the best player of the draft
you might be Adrian Dodoro because he was at City Oval on the weekend. :D

i like the Spacejam Monstars reference for Crossley too :D

Yep - reckon he’s worth a shot.

Mature body, 200cm, good agility and has kicked bags at VFL level this year.

Could do a lot worse.
Hasn’t been playing footy for long either, so they must think he can come on a bit.

Has some unique tricks for a man his size. I thought that Ramsdan was the dominant big man when they met a few weeks ago , but they could form a formidable duo at box hill this year. We will have to wait and see if it translates to good senior football as VFL level is miles off AFL level.

I've played country footy with two different Brandon Ryan's. Both would be have to be in their 40's by now.

How mature are we talking here?

Hang on he's on smoko I'll have to ask him when he's back.

The bloke creating YouTube channel “Footy Stuff” is churning out video supercuts of prospective National draft players. Consider subscribing.

He has just added Jack Buller's highlights for MSD and it ain't bad. Seems quite mobile and skilled for such a tall bloke.

if Eagles pass on him, hope we take a good hard look.

My position on the MSD is we should try to get Ryan Maric from Gipps a 193cm kpf in development or Ethan Stanley a 188cm? Winger from Box Hill, both have impressed me in multiple games, there's another guy I have liked named Rye Penny from Calder as an overeager, he played hbf last year, but had an injury interrupted year, but has impressed again in a different role going through midfield, he would be my 3rd option, other than that I don't know the state leagues so I won't comment on those guys and whether we should look at them or not.

Those Jack Buller highlights look good though, I wonder if he's a target as well?

My position on the MSD is we should try to get Ryan Maric from Gipps a 193cm kpf in development or Ethan Stanley a 188cm? Winger from Box Hill, both have impressed me in multiple games, there's another guy I have liked named Rye Penny from Calder as an overeager, he played hbf last year, but had an injury interrupted year, but has impressed again in a different role going through midfield, he would be my 3rd option, other than that I don't know the state leagues so I won't comment on those guys and whether we should look at them or not.

Those Jack Buller highlights look good though, I wonder if he's a target as well?
Ethan Stanley was real good against Southport. I reckon he will end up interstate.

Preview 2023 Mid Season Draft Discussion Thread