Review 2023 National Draft Review Thread II [McKercher, Z.Duursma, Goad, W.Dawson, Hardeman, Maley]

Four guys who barely played in 2023.

If we take midfielders at the pointy end of the draft we need to realise that it doesn't likely mean a guy like Shiels or Tucker loses a spot; it more accurately means a guy like Powell or Phillips.

And I for one am not ready to give up on their development yet. ESPECIALLY Phillips, who I still think is/can be a really special player.
14, 18,16, and 5

3 of those players played over half a season.

Tucker only missed 5 games.

I genuinely don't think I've seen a single NMFC fan on here overly enthusiastic about trading up for 1.

The overwhelming consensus seems to agree that sitting at 2 and 3 is the smart move.
I reckon close to half of us are happy to trade up to 1 as long as we keep 3 and don't overdo the later picks.

Did anyone else just here that d/head Cornes regarding our assistance package and compensation for McKay?

Total lack of facts once again.

Oh and apparently, we took McKay in the draft with pick 50 something! Lol

My level of hate for this flog is higher than anything I ever felt for that vermin Caro.

I wouldnt give up pick 2 and 3 for 1

2x players is better than one imo. I know Reid is a star but maybe i have scars from the sooky flog JHF
No club with picks 2 and 3 would trade it for 1. Neither would the fans of that club.

It's a stupid discussion to be having really.

If we take midfielders at the pointy end of the draft we need to realise that it doesn't likely mean a guy like Shiels or Tucker loses a spot; it more accurately means a guy like Powell or Phillips.

And I for one am not ready to give up on their development yet. ESPECIALLY Phillips, who I still think is/can be a really special player.
If Phillips or Powell are going to be kept out of the side next year by a first-year player, they weren't the answer. That's not going to happen.

Correct. And it’s even more stupid that people think wce would trade pick 1 for 2 & 11.
Then put me in the stupid category.......2 and 11 for 1 is terrific. It's not 6 and 11 for 1, it's the next pick and 11, so WC get who they want. Anyway, fk em, they are dreaming at 2&3, what a joke.

I'm happy with Powell, Phillips, Warlord, LDU, Jy, TT and McKercher fighting it our for a CBAs over the next five years.

We need to get a KPD in the first round imo. The top 4 remaining teams all had at least one elite KPD and there's a lot of them available for us. Sick and tired of this 'best talent available' when we can't squeeze them all into their preferred positions/roles so they just end up not fulfilling their potential.

How do we get all of Sheezel, Phillips, LDU, Wardlaw, Thomas, McKercher, Sanders, etc to play their best footy?

I did read that you mentioned it.

But then I read other posters still talking about him as a potential draft target here, and I wondered if what you wrote was understood by all.

Except your post was directed at me as shown by beginning the sentence with 'You' while quoting me and suggesting I should 'know better.'

It was directly at me, not others.

Just admit you were looking for a reason to be condescending for some reason and move on.

Except your post was directed at me as shown by beginning the sentence with 'You' while quoting me and suggesting I should 'know better.'

It was directly at me, not others.

Just admit you were looking for a reason to be condescending for some reason and move on.
Souup who do you really think we take at 2 and 3? Think WC are kiddin themselves, if what they are requesting is true.

Are you still on the Watson train?

Personally I would go for McKercher and Curtin as I think Curtin could seriously become a weapon. I get Bont vibes from him.

We need to get a KPD in the first round imo. The top 4 remaining teams all had at least one elite KPD and there's a lot of them available for us. Sick and tired of this 'best talent available' when we can't squeeze them all into their preferred positions/roles so they just end up not fulfilling their potential.

How do we get all of Sheezel, Phillips, LDU, Wardlaw, Thomas, McKercher, Sanders, etc to play their best footy?
Tend to agree, although it doesn't need to be picks 2 and 3. But if we don't solve some key position needs at the port pick and the assistance pick you'd have to see that as a fail.

Souup who do you really think we take at 2 and 3? Think WC are kiddin themselves, if what they are requesting is true.

Personally I would go for McKercher and Curtin as I think Curtin could seriously become a weapon. I get Bont vibes from him.

I think we'll go Mckercher + Curtin if we hold onto pick 2 and 3.

Yep still on the Watson train but it seems unlikely he lands at North.

I don’t remember anything about the Bont in his draft year other than one or two nice goals at the u18 champs.

His pre draft profile is eye opening though

Didn’t have a great champs and ave just over 20 possessions and 1.6 goals per game at NAB league level

Certainly nothing there to suggest the player he’d become.

I don’t remember anything about the Bont in his draft year other than one or two nice goals at the u18 champs.

His pre draft profile is eye opening though

Didn’t have a great champs and ave just over 20 possessions and 1.6 goals per game at NAB league level

Certainly nothing there to suggest the player he’d become.
That written profile feels eerily similar to Curtin don't ya think? Amazing how wrong it's ended up being though too, Bont is an elite inside mid.

For sure. If you compared the midfield play of Curtin vs Bont at the u18 champs, and im just going off stats and the fact bont didn’t make the all Aust team, Curtin is well infront at the same stage.

I think we'll go Mckercher + Curtin if we hold onto pick 2 and 3.

Yep still on the Watson train but it seems unlikely he lands at North.
Ok:
2: McKercher
3: Curtin
15 & 21: Best KPD/KPF?

Review 2023 National Draft Review Thread II [McKercher, Z.Duursma, Goad, W.Dawson, Hardeman, Maley]