Training 2023 Pre-season thread

I can’t see Hipwood or Daniher having the nous to play as intercepting defenders, the strength or skill/discipline to play as key defenders, or the agility to play as rebounding defenders.

Keep them where they are!
Wouldn't they need more footy nous to play as a KPF?

I can’t see Hipwood or Daniher having the nous to play as intercepting defenders, the strength or skill/discipline to play as key defenders, or the agility to play as rebounding defenders.

Keep them where they are!

Hipwood was a better defender as a junior I thought than a forward. His marking was noticeably better at the back and going forward he got to use his kicking skills more. If we had to throw him back in an emergency I think he would do fine if he was not wrestling in the goal square.

Maybe but you need heaps more discipline as there is a very fine line between being a hero and a bumbling villain.

Uhh...the line is not that fine.
KFP goes for the mark instead of bringing it to ground and fails ... other team gets a rebound 50
KPD goes for the mark instead of punching it out of bounds and fails ... other team gets a goal.

KPF loses focus and starts ball watching ... his opponent is freed up to help out his mates and makes it harder for us to score
KPD loses focus and starts ball watching ... his opponent gets into space and gets a scoring opportunity.

KPF is just not into it today ... has a meh game and others hopefully pick up the slack and we still win
KPD is just not into it today ... has a meh game and others trying to pick up the slack kills of the system, blows the defensive synergy and the other team has a really fun day!

KPF spends a career doing three awesome things a game but nothing else ... gets a bigger contract or headhunted
KPD spends a career doing three awesome things a game but nothing else ... delisted after a much shorter career.

So some lines are fine and some are yawning gaps and some are black holes. In any case there is much more forgiveness for a KPF's mistake than for a KPD's mistake (just like in cricket a bowler can make a lot of mistakes but one mistake from the batsman and he's out)

Anyone else loving how much we’re being underrated again despite being a prelim team with one of the best off seasons in recent memory?

I’m not complaining just to be clear, I’d love to be flying under the radar. But it’s pretty funny still

KFP goes for the mark instead of bringing it to ground and fails ... other team gets a rebound 50
KPD goes for the mark instead of punching it out of bounds and fails ... other team gets a goal.

KPF loses focus and starts ball watching ... his opponent is freed up to help out his mates and makes it harder for us to score
KPD loses focus and starts ball watching ... his opponent gets into space and gets a scoring opportunity.

KPF is just not into it today ... has a meh game and others hopefully pick up the slack and we still win
KPD is just not into it today ... has a meh game and others trying to pick up the slack kills of the system, blows the defensive synergy and the other team has a really fun day!

KPF spends a career doing three awesome things a game but nothing else ... gets a bigger contract or headhunted
KPD spends a career doing three awesome things a game but nothing else ... delisted after a much shorter career.

So some lines are fine and some are yawning gaps and some are black holes. In any case there is much more forgiveness for a KPF's mistake than for a KPD's mistake (just like in cricket a bowler can make a lot of mistakes but one mistake from the batsman and he's out)
Respectfully dis-agree with all of that. It's no different to how accountable you are in any position on the ground. Maybe some supporters think like that (which i dont think they do) but coach's & team mates definitely do not.

Hipwood was a better defender as a junior I thought than a forward. His marking was noticeably better at the back and going forward he got to use his kicking skills more. If we had to throw him back in an emergency I think he would do fine if he was not wrestling in the goal square.
With a couple more years of experience in his bank and a more mature body, wrestling in the goal square one on one will be one of his advantages. (in my opinion)

Surely a prime Hippy’s main role won’t involve him doing much wrestling in the goal square. The only guy I’d really feel comfortable with playing that kind of style consistently is probably Rayner due to the fact that 9 times out of 10 he’ll have a pretty significant size, strength and athleticism advantage on his defender.

Agreed. All he'd need to do is break even and he'll have a big advantage on the ground.

Eric's best form in his first (listed) year in the twos was as a defender. Had plenty more opportunities down back, mind. My god that team was AWFUL.

LMFAO, I'm not sure if that's a troll post or if you're serious.

Meant to post this the other day. Obviously forgot to hit the “post reply” button.

One thing I think I have noticed, is that a most of the boys appear to have leaned out a bit, dropped some of the muscle.
Probably in response to the "team defence" that we will be focusing on this season. Increased endurance, increased running means they probably need to drop some muscle so as to not fatigue earlier.

G'day all - long time lurker, first time poster. Apologies if there is a more suitable thread for this question. Looking at a Lions membership for the first time in 2023, wondering if you have the ability to select your own seat or even section? Beyond the different price brackets I can't seem to find a step in the process to select a preferred seat - I'm assuming it's randomly assigned?

If you call the club they basically offer you what seats are available in the price band you are after so you can sort of say where you would like to sit

Meant to post this the other day. Obviously forgot to hit the “post reply” button.

One thing I think I have noticed, is that a most of the boys appear to have leaned out a bit, dropped some of the muscle.
It's something that's apparent in the vision I've seen so it's good to get that feedback from someone who's seen them in the flesh.

EDIT: Apologies for this post as i did my research very early (mid October) as i wanted to change my seats
At the time there was no way to find available seats other than ringing up membership
If you are looking at purchasing seats now you can see what's available
A follow up post below

I believe if you do it via the website it is random.
Might be what they think is best available but that may be quite different to what you think is best available

As Mighty_Lions mentioned if you want more input into choosing a seat you will have to call the club. Open hours 10am-4pm Mon-Fri
They are quite busy at this time of the year so do a bit of research before you call.
Do not go out to Brighton Homes Arena thinking you can talk directly to someone from membership

See Lions website for pricing packages in the seating zones. Available in Adult, Concession, Youth aged 15-17 & Young lion under 15
The image below has the seating zones being GA the cheapest then Standard, Prime & Premium being the dearest although there are others dearer
Note the grey/darker arears are for "Cricket Club Membership"
Seating goes A being the front row back to Z or the latest letter needed
Top tier is AA front to ZZ back

Below image indicates the seating zones

Also, a link to The Gabba seating view. Disregard their colour coding but the sections are the same
Click on a section and you are able to see the view from that section. Able to move left/right/up/down.
This enables you to get a reasonable idea to where rows and seat numbers are located

Once you have a handle on what you are hoping for, have both these open on a PC/laptop then give them a ring
Good luck in your quest for a seat to your liking

screen-shot-2020-10-30-at-1-30-20-pm-png.998718

Welcome. I added an extra member via phone about a month ago and earlier this week I received an email giving me the opportunity to choose my seat online. The online process was pretty easy and I grabbed the seat next to me. So yes, phone membership, purchase your tickets and they will direct you from there.

Can you advise that online process as i did not think that was available??

EDIT: I should have read your post properly
Looks like
(a) you added a member via phone
(b) later the club sent you an email to choose a seat
(c) There was still a seat available next to you

Did that email give you a direct link to choose your extra seat??

Training 2023 Pre-season thread