Training 2023 pre-season

Heard Horse say today
"We expect with Tom Hickey at the moment having a calf injury that (McAndrew) will certainly be looking at some game time at some point early in the season."

Heard Horse say today
"We expect with Tom Hickey at the moment having a calf injury that (McAndrew) will certainly be looking at some game time at some point early in the season."
I know it's only cause we've got injuries in the ruck department, but I absolutely did NOT see McAndrew potentially playing round 1 this year. Would there have ever been a more unlikely round 1 debutant for us?

A very measured use of language when talking about Campbell. My interpretation was that they think Campbell has played enough to show what he can do, but we are only seeing glimpses here and there, so he needs to develop from here (or...).
True, but Horse also typically doesn't give players a mention publicly unless they've absolutely warranted it. To me it suggests a pretty high level of confidence that Campbell will deliver.

I wonder if Edwards will debut early (assuming that Reid, amartey, McLean, ladhams, hickey don’t get up). Seemed really versatile in match sim and does have a big body on him.

I know it's only cause we've got injuries in the ruck department, but I absolutely did NOT see McAndrew potentially playing round 1 this year. Would there have ever been a more unlikely round 1 debutant for us?

Not many. Cam Owen comes to mind. Also Sheather (due to his injuries and the amount of depth in this position). Maybe Vickery - I have high hopes for him but am not expecting him to debut this year.

I was going to suggest 1982, when the great Silvio Foschini turned out in round 1 against Melbourne.

However, it transpires that Silvio played a game for South the previous year - so it wasn't actually a debut.

On that basis - yes, I think McAndrew would be the most unlikely debutant in Swans history!

I wonder if Edwards will debut early (assuming that Reid, amartey, McLean, ladhams, hickey don’t get up). Seemed really versatile in match sim and does have a big body on him.
I reckon he's still got a lot of developing to do. If he ends up being a swiss army knife kind of KPP/backup ruck that'd be huge for us but I doubt he's there yet

Not many. Cam Owen comes to mind. Also Sheather (due to his injuries and the amount of depth in this position). Maybe Vickery - I have high hopes for him but am not expecting him to debut this year.

Sorry, I misread the question. Didn't read it properly and thought it was was there anyone on our list now who would have been a more unlikely call up.

That would also be a fair question! And I think you're spot on, there wouldn't be too many I'd have had as more unlikely to debut in round 1 at the start of this year than McAndrew, but Owen, Sheather and Vickery would probably be the three. Maybe Rankin & Hall-Kahan based on their size as well.

I suppose there was always gonna be a decent chance of McAndrew playing senior footy, given we only have two decent full-time rucks on the list (not including the cameo rucks like Reid, Amartey.)

But to his credit, McAndrew meeting the challenge head-on and actually being decent would've had something to do with it. I suspect if he was a disaster and didn't look ready at all, he wouldn't be in the frame, no matter how dire our ruck situation was (akin to the way Horse didn't turn to Michael Knoll back in 2019, even when we had no other rucks.)

That would also be a fair question! And I think you're spot on, there wouldn't be too many I'd have had as more unlikely to debut in round 1 at the start of this year than McAndrew, but Owen, Sheather and Vickery would probably be the three. Maybe Rankin & Hall-Kahan based on their size as well.

I suppose there was always gonna be a decent chance of McAndrew playing senior footy, given we only have two decent full-time rucks on the list (not including the cameo rucks like Reid, Amartey.)

But to his credit, McAndrew meeting the challenge head-on and actually being decent would've had something to do with it. I suspect if he was a disaster and didn't look ready at all, he wouldn't be in the frame, no matter how dire our ruck situation was (akin to the way Horse didn't turn to Michael Knoll back in 2019, even when we had no other rucks.)
Knoll was usually injured I thought?

I was going to suggest 1982, when the great Silvio Foschini turned out in round 1 against Melbourne.

However, it transpires that Silvio played a game for South the previous year - so it wasn't actually a debut.

On that basis - yes, I think McAndrew would be the most unlikely debutant in Swans history!

.... And here was I thinking Dean Towers was the most improbable Deb. Still think it is close.

He is Cat B rookie. So we need a retirement or LTI for him to be elevated to play too.
Quite excited by Edwards' game on Friday. Not that he ripped it apart but he showed athleticism, courage, decent skill and endurance in a non-preferred role.
Heaps to work with.
Definitely one to watch.

Quite excited by Edwards' game on Friday. Not that he ripped it apart but he showed athleticism, courage, decent skill and endurance in a non-preferred role.
Heaps to work with.
Definitely one to watch.
They way the game is going it might be preferred , hybrid rucks that play like ruck rovers

because I was bored in the pre-season, I wrote down the players weights. The Swans have just updated the current weights of all the players..
here's a table of change from last year to this (draftees from weight at draft to current)
Some players have been hitting the weights, and others running laps around the SCG. Some both

Name
2022kg - 2023kg

The Chad
82-82
Logan
92-95
Florent
81-84
Ladhams
101-103
Rampe
91-89
Sheldrick
88-86
Sheather
87-86
Owen
94-95
HHK
78-82
McLean
98-99
Rowbum
82-82
Mills
87-86
Reid
98-96
Vickory
72-73
Tom Mac
97-99
Roberts
84-86
Rankin
73-77
McAndrew
101-104
Stephens
78-80
Hayward
84-83
Campbell
79-80
Gulden
78-77
Parker
88-88
Paddy Mac
95-100
Mitchell
80-81
Fox
84-84
Cunningham
78-78
Clarke
83-86
Francis
92-93
Gould
97-102
Blakey
84-83
JMac
84-83
Hickey
97-104
Amartey
100-100
Melican
100-99
Wicks
82-82
Heeney
87-88
Paps
80-77
Konstanty
73-74
Buddy
106-102
Edwards
100-100
Magor
76-76
Corey Warner
71-77
Lloyd
80-81

Highlighted a few big and/or interesting changes..
Hickey wins with a weight gain of 7kg,, Corey W not far behind
Gulden and Blakey both lost weight ???

Training 2023 pre-season