Preview 2023 Rd 11 Carlton vs Sydney Friday May 26 7:50PM @ SCG

Team is in:-

IN:
Tom De Koning, Brodie Kemp
OUT: Ed Curnow, Jack Silvagni, Lewis Young

After starting last weekend as sub, George Hewett has been elevated to the starting 22.

Backs:Sam DochertyJacob WeiteringNic Newman
Half-backs:Brodie KempMitch McGovernAdam Saad
Centreline:Blake AcresPatrick CrippsOliver Hollands
Half-forwards:Matthew KennedyHarry McKayTom De Koning
Forwards:Corey DurdinCharlie CurnowJesse Motlop
Followers:Marc PittonetGeorge HewettSam Walsh
Interchange:Jordan BoydAdam CerraMatthew Cottrell
Matthew Owies
Emergencies:Ed CurnowLachie FogartyJack Silvagni
Lewis Young

In - dow, binns

Out - mcgovern. Acres

Doc back to half back to give midfeild minutes to dow. My impression is doc kicks in hope while under pressure too much of the time to be a good option out of the centre. We look like a better team when we run with handpasses. Dow gives us more in this department.

Acres turns the ball over way too much and just makes silly decisions. Sure he works hard but is obviously low on confidence. Binns works hard/has a high footy IQ and might give the team a spark.

Mcgovern is not the future. Perenially injured and unreliable. Need to move past him.

Acres went at around 90% efficiency Sunday however he was just hitting short chip kicks and looked too scared
to take anything more on . (can you blame him after last few weeks?)

To me that is the problem, we look like we are playing too scared to make a mistake and this pressure we are putting on ourselves
is in fact causing errors.

Walshy was probably our worst offender last week.

Voss needs to take the pressure off and get them enjoying it more I feel.
This is what McRae has done with great effect.
Guys like Gov, Weiters , Acres, Cerra and even Saady would benefit IMO.

And yes, fully agree on Dow and Binns being given opportunity but would be Hollands, Ed or Durdin out for mine.

Not sure why we are favourites in this game. Syd aren’t playing well but, are still at home against a team that’s won one out its last five games.
Even worse 8 of their last 23. We are currently a bottom 8 team on form - against better teams it takes about the first 5 mins before we’re out of the game.

50/50 for me, which says more about us then them at this stage

I have no problems with us bringing TDK in, but if you watched TDK’s game his best work was all done in the ruck and taking intercept marks. So if we bring him in and plonk him in the forward line then it completely defeats the purpose of playing him. Play him in the ruck and then drop him behind play to take intercept marks but don’t play him as a forward, as he isn’t a provider or goalkicker, and has no forward nous which we’ve seen many times.

Bring in Kemp as the intercept and play McGovern forward. What was the point of Voss playing him forward for 5mins and then moving him back. Make the move with chest instead of doing it half-heartedly for 5mins. Otherwise drop/manage Gov because he was garbage on the weekend, and I don't trust his body off a 5 day break.

I have no problems with us bringing TDK in, but if you watched TDK’s game his best work was all done in the ruck and taking intercept marks. So if we bring him in and plonk him in the forward line then it completely defeats the purpose of playing him. Play him in the ruck and then drop him behind play to take intercept marks but don’t play him as a forward, as he isn’t a provider or goalkicker, and has no forward nous which we’ve seen many times.

Bring in Kemp as the intercept and play McGovern forward. What was the point of Voss playing him forward for 5mins and then moving him back. Make the move with chest instead of doing it half-heartedly for 5mins. Otherwise drop/manage Gov because he was garbage on the weekend, and I don't trust his body off a 5 day break.
Govs lack of commitment at the ball on the weekend should result in him not playing another game imo absolutely unforgivable in any game but especially against the filth … I’d bring kemp straight in for an extended period to play back initially and then send him forward when Marchbank is back … Marchbank takes Govs spot …

I’m not pinning any hope on Marchy…needs a solid month in the VFL

Agree with you on Gov…I’ve been to one game this year(brizzy) and I thought he was very very poor
He has been flying well below the radar for poor performances for weeks…doesn’t do enough to influence the contest. Playing bruise free footy

Here's your chance to come and see the Blues at our Captain's Run at the SCG.

Kicking off at 3pm (AEST), Carlton fans will have the opportunity to watch a light-training session before the team takes on Sydney in the Marngrook game on Friday night.

Please register your attendance using this form.

Sydney Captain's Run:

Date: Thursday 25 May, 2023
Time: 3pm-4pm (AEST)

*Please note training times are subject to change. We will do our best to communicate these changes. There may be limited opportunities for signing given player schedules.

Gee I would love to see us be unpredictable. In our pattern of play.

Would love to see a player look like they’re going down the line then snap back in board for a punchy 30m pass that opens options.

Then go back out. Or go shirt inside 50.

Then the next time go longer. Just mix it up a lot.

Game plan: unpredictable.

Defence: be ready for turnover if you’re not involved in offence. One of the other. Either attack or structure up as a player. Don’t do neither.
Based on what I've seen in the breakdowns of our gameplan this week, unpredictability is exactly the issue.

An individual wins the ball and there's no predictable game plan in retaining possession and going forward. Specifically v Collingwood it was shown that when they win the footy they instantly set up the same way and the ball winner should know he has mates here, here and here around him. Whereas when our guy won the footy our guys were who knows where, there was no predictability for the guy winning the footy. That means he has to work out who's where in an unpredictable manner while under high level AFL pressure.

What we need is predictability around the contest, we need the guy winning the ball to know where his first mate should be. If not, then where is second mate is and then what his bail-out option is.

We look predictable now because we win the footy and just bomb long in hope. The reason we do that really is that we win the footy and have no idea where the support is a hope to find it, when it's not there we bomb. Looks like it's just a predictable bang forward, but really, it's the result of unpredictability in the contest.

It's also why the skill looks worse than perhaps it should. If you know instinctively where your team mate should be, then spotting that pass is much easier. If you're scrambling for an option, once you spot one it's not an instinctive disposal as it's reactive which makes it less reliable.

Five day break necessitates fresh legs.
Kemp for McGov.
TDK for Pitt.
Binns for Hollands.
Cincotta for Hewitt.
Dow as sub.

those extra 2-3 hours the VFL boys have really makes them fresh legs.....🤔😜

especially on a windswept williamstown oval.....

Based on what I've seen in the breakdowns of our gameplan this week, unpredictability is exactly the issue.

An individual wins the ball and there's no predictable game plan in retaining possession and going forward. Specifically v Collingwood it was shown that when they win the footy they instantly set up the same way and the ball winner should know he has mates here, here and here around him. Whereas when our guy won the footy our guys were who knows where, there was no predictability for the guy winning the footy. That means he has to work out who's where in an unpredictable manner while under high level AFL pressure.

What we need is predictability around the contest, we need the guy winning the ball to know where his first mate should be. If not, then where is second mate is and then what his bail-out option is.

We look predictable now because we win the footy and just bomb long in hope. The reason we do that really is that we win the footy and have no idea where the support is a hope to find it, when it's not there we bomb. Looks like it's just a predictable bang forward, but really, it's the result of unpredictability in the contest.

It's also why the skill looks worse than perhaps it should. If you know instinctively where your team mate should be, then spotting that pass is much easier. If you're scrambling for an option once you spot one it's not an instinctive disposal it's reactive which makes it less reliable.

Collingwood do a couple of interesting things, they send a lot of numbers to be near the ball at a contest to force a turnover, then they will always move forward and they set up what looks like a rugby line across the ground so initially there is a handball/short kick chain until it's out in space then that player has time to deliver without having to bomb it blindly under pressure.

They don't run forward of the ball during this scenario they run in a wave with the ball carrier until they have it under control so if they cough it up players aren't already committed down the ground and can get back to cover.

Us on the other hand win the ball and everyone bolts forward of the ball for a receive and no one has stayed to help out the guy with ball in hand, it gets turned over and our players are out of position down the ground and can't impact the turnover in any way.

I also thought I heard one of the commentators say that either Macrae or one of the players said they don't really have a plan when attacking just let the players free wheel and play on instinct.

I get the need for defensive structures but agree re attack, it you structure too much in attack it becomes so predictable (hmmm who does that sound like)

We win the clearance but are often then smothered and turn over the next possession, our structure outside the clearance is terrible at the moment. It's one thing our midfield was doing well early last season particularly at centre bounces where numbers are limited, one hand ball, two hand balls then a long kick deep into the forward 50.

Think our defensive strategy is too conservative in terms of players covering grass behind the ball, relying on too few players at the contest to win the ball and when we do everyone running away from the ball with limited options for the ball carrier in closer.

Reckon Voss has over reacted to teams kicking multiple goals in quick succession against us last year and has gone too defensive, thereby negating our one woods forward. Guys like Motlop and Durdin are virtually unsighted in dangerous positions these days because they're way up the ground all the time.

I just don't care anymore. It's all so grim.
Oh come on Browny, yes it has been a season, so far of disappointment largely. But, it's not the end of the world. Maybe I have been around the block a few more times than you, just need to be invested in a few other things, other than just following the Blues.
Personally, I find family very important. Always something to deal with or sort out, with two young men still with us at home.
Having elderly parents still here, trying to spend quality time with them when I can, will not have them forever.
That's just me, the woes of our team will not get me down, it is only a game in many way's.
Things are never as bad as they seem, we will bounce back.

Out: McGovern, Motlop, E Curnow, Acres, Hollands
In: Kemp, Cincotta, Dow, O'Brien, Fisher

Cincotta, Weitering, Saad
Cottrell, Young, Docherty
Boyd, Cerra, O'Brien
Silvagni, Curnow, Kemp
Owies, McKay, Durdin

Pittonet, Cripps, Walsh

Kennedy, Dow, Hewett, Fisher (Hollands sub)

McGovern out on the back of multiple putrid efforts last week.
Motlop had had two stinkers. What was with the 50m checkside?
Ed on balance
Acres on lack of hurt factor and a few brain fades
Hollands purely and simply a freshen up. Nothing to gain slogging around in the VFL - hence, sub.

Kemp and Cincotta should never have made way. Dow ends the most baffling run of ommissions in recent years, and O'Brien and Fisher get somewhat undeserved recalls with the tight SCG requiring all of the foot skill we can muster. Durdin gets a rocket and a chance to hold his spot for another week. Hewett to run with Warner, and Kemp given a forward defensive role on Blakey. Puncher's chance.

DeKoning (ruck/fwd)
Dow (midfield)
Kemp (defender)
Binns (wing/fwd)
Cincotta (defender)

Silvagni (reserves)
Curnow (reserves)
Hewett (reserves)
McGovern (reserves)
Hollands (rest)

Boyd Weitering Kemp
Docherty Young Saad
Acres Walsh Cottrell
Motlop DeKoning Durdin
Curnow McKay Owies

Pittonet Kennedy Cerra

Cripps Dow Newman Binns

Cincotta (sub)

If we can get over the line in this game, then I’d be really interested to see how much confidence that then instills in the team and how we approach the next really big game against Melbourne?
If we win, does it give the boys a massive kick of confidence and we get rolling.
Or
Will it be the same trend as we seeing now, in beat the lower teams and show not a lot against the good teams.