Preview 2023 Rd 11 Carlton vs Sydney Friday May 26 7:50PM @ SCG

Team is in:-

IN:
Tom De Koning, Brodie Kemp
OUT: Ed Curnow, Jack Silvagni, Lewis Young

After starting last weekend as sub, George Hewett has been elevated to the starting 22.

Backs:Sam DochertyJacob WeiteringNic Newman
Half-backs:Brodie KempMitch McGovernAdam Saad
Centreline:Blake AcresPatrick CrippsOliver Hollands
Half-forwards:Matthew KennedyHarry McKayTom De Koning
Forwards:Corey DurdinCharlie CurnowJesse Motlop
Followers:Marc PittonetGeorge HewettSam Walsh
Interchange:Jordan BoydAdam CerraMatthew Cottrell
Matthew Owies
Emergencies:Ed CurnowLachie FogartyJack Silvagni
Lewis Young

Gee I would love to see us be unpredictable. In our pattern of play.

Would love to see a player look like they’re going down the line then snap back in board for a punchy 30m pass that opens options.

Then go back out. Or go shirt inside 50.

Then the next time go longer. Just mix it up a lot.

Game plan: unpredictable.

Defence: be ready for turnover if you’re not involved in offence. One of the other. Either attack or structure up as a player. Don’t do neither.

Ins: cincotta, binns, TDK, and Dow (sub)

Outs: Jsos, Gov, Hewitt, Ed

Lots of run and dash in plus TDK and I personally feel Dow is the perfect sub and it’s the ideal role for him given his endurance limitations at this level.

Playing an extra defender also allows doc to play a bit higher and if we can’t get some run and gun from Saad, Boyd and Cincotta, we never will!

Hey guys and gals. As it happens I will be in sydney for the weekend and am keen to go watch the baggers at the SCG.

I havn't been to Steak n Kidney for almost 20 years. So I need a few pointers

1, how do I get tickets? Can I contact CFC as a member and see what they can do? or just ticketek?
2, best way to get there? We are staying in Parramatta, which is, of course on the wrong side of town. What is public transport like?
3, anything else?

thanks in advance
Depends on how much you like walking. Train from Parra to central is easy then it's a nice walk to the scg or an easy asf change to the light rail from central to Moore Park.

That would mean Nick Graham should have been in the Carlton side every second week.

I understand the sentiment, but Dow was told he was surplus to needs last year and no one would take him on. With that in mind, the club has been fairly honest with him.

I admire his professionalism not to drop his head, but his weaknesses haven’t been improved.

Eh Nick Graham tried his best and we ping ponged him in and out of the side.

Richmond lapped up Kane Lambert who we considered "not good enough" and he got 3 flags with Richmond.

Not sure why we are favourites in this game. Syd aren’t playing well but, are still at home against a team that’s won one out its last five games.

Hey guys and gals. As it happens I will be in sydney for the weekend and am keen to go watch the baggers at the SCG.

I havn't been to Steak n Kidney for almost 20 years. So I need a few pointers

1, how do I get tickets? Can I contact CFC as a member and see what they can do? or just ticketek?
2, best way to get there? We are staying in Parramatta, which is, of course on the wrong side of town. What is public transport like?
3, anything else?

thanks in advance
If you've got the time take the ferry down the Parramatta River to the city. So relaxing in comparison to schlepping it on the roads.

Good . I hope we play him for a big block through the middle Andrew let’s see.
I want Kemp on a wing as well. That his spot, although he can play the McGovern role as well

If Dow does get selected (haven't watched the VFL game yet), then best for him and the club to play a block of games

Kemp isn't being developed to play on a wing, moreso as a defender at the moment, but should be considered for the JSos role.

No where near the talent or nous of Gov, but Gov's care factor is non-existent at the moment.

That would mean Nick Graham should have been in the Carlton side every second week.

I understand the sentiment, but Dow was told he was surplus to needs last year and no one would take him on. With that in mind, the club has been fairly honest with him.

I admire his professionalism not to drop his head, but his weaknesses haven’t been improved.

Graham and Dow are not the same beast and regardless of whether he was told to look around, currently he’s still an employee of the Carlton football club and should be treated the same way as every other employee.

It borders on shameful that he is not at the very least given a go based on vfl performances to date.

I must be missing something with Ed Curnow because yesterday he kept Nick Daicos to his least effective game for the season, Daicos had 27 possessions but 4 were kick ins so really 23 that Ed could have any influence on, he had only 6 score involvements, 2 inside 50s, didn’t take a mark so wasn’t linking up that way and maybe for the first time was getting visibly frustrated on the field even throwing a jumper punch which will probably see him get a fine.
All the while Ed had 21 possessions used the ball well inside 50 and had 7 score involvements I don’t think much more could be asked of him especially when the pies go out of their way to get the ball in daicos’s hands at every opportunity.

Yeah Curnow took him out of the game in the 2nd half. When the game was already over and Daicos had made his impact.

Ed's been a great servant for the club but I'd rather see him looking after the kids in the VFL side.

Don’t even know what I’ve posted any more….

Felt TDK was superb in ridiculous conditions at Williamstown.

No idea why they play any level of football there but that’s another matter.

His intensity was sky high. Remain of no doubt he would make an awesome, dominant key defender. He’s a sensational athlete and very competitive. A backline of Marchy, Weiters and TDK would be awesome to build around. Why not make a real weapon out of him?

Anyway TDk will be back in as back up ruck and forward this week and won’t do much but will be better than SOS.

Voss was an uncompromising hard nosed player.

Simply must drop Gov for that pathetic one arm attempt alone. Can’t be tolerated. Send a message.

Kemp in. He can replace Gov for the rest of the year. He’s the future. It’s time.

Dow in. Don’t care about his shortcoming. You can’t ignore those numbers he is putting up.

TDK in. Jsos was murdered in there. Need that 2nd ruck playing.
i reckon we get Ray Shoesmith. Anywhere will do. No opposition player will come near him.

FB- Newman Young Boyd
HB- Docherty Weitering Cincotta
C- Hollands Cerra Saad
HF- Walsh C.Curnow Kennedy
FF- Durdin McKay Owies
R- TDK Cripps Hewett
INT- Cowan Dow Kemp Binns
Sub Silvagni
EMG Cottrell McGovern Fisher Pittonet Acres

Stick with rewarding form and giving blokes like Dow Boyd Binns and Cincotta a 4 week block to show that they belong in our rotational 22 for 2024 and beyond.

Let TDK and Harry take the ruck duty's with Jack there as sub if it's not working
Gives Harry the chance to get involved up the field and TDK to find his feet and do the 1%ers

Move Saady up the field playing more defensive wing

Put Bam Bam back in the forward line, his bloody affective down there

Bugger this bomb to contest because we have tall timber, if you can't find a target your confident in find the nearest contest and give your teamate the best possible chance of winning possession.

Charlie will always draw attention first when we're going inside 50 as will Harry...
So get them to draw the attention of the defenders in a certain direction towards a pocket and have our smalls and or anyone who's floated forward of the ball at the top of the square and in space or 1 on 1s where we can catch the defence off guard because we are far to easy to defend inside 50.
Bit more chaos makes it abit harder for a defence to plan for.

Cotters, Fish, Acres, Pitters, Gov and E.Curnow are all good depth and can play big roles against certain teams when there's a role for them to play.

Cunners, Martin, Marchbank if any are ever fit enough to actually line up are all more than capable if they can... like be available.

We need another capable ruckman not a project, We need outside midfielders not contested ball winners but players always in and around the contest
We need a medium forward.

We need to stick with Voss, not point fingers and turn on our own.
Would rather find out now changes in the way we play and set up are needed to get to September rather than go through last year again.

If Dow comes in, wouldn’t mind Kennedy playing forward/HF, maybe for Durdin, and rotating through the midfield.

TDK would be a good addition- JSOS might need a spell. Although I like the Kemp forward idea, as well.

If these three do come in, I’d like to see them stay for the block of games before the bye. Would give us a better understanding of their role & future in the team going forward.

never say never but my mate rarely gets it wrong. But like everything in footy things change.
Does your mate have any insight into what the club internally thinks is going wrong at the moment? To most outside it looks like its game plan but i'm curious if they recognise this or are ignorant or defiant to that fact?

I've been a Gov defender for a long time, but I hope we drop him this week. Finally gets fit, finally gets a string of games played, and then in one of biggest games, when the club is struggling, when we're mounting something of a fightback and getting the game on our terms for a period, he dishes up some really really poor defensive efforts. Drop him.