Preview 2023 Rd 11 Carlton vs Sydney Friday May 26 7:50PM @ SCG

Team is in:-

IN:
Tom De Koning, Brodie Kemp
OUT: Ed Curnow, Jack Silvagni, Lewis Young

After starting last weekend as sub, George Hewett has been elevated to the starting 22.

Backs:Sam DochertyJacob WeiteringNic Newman
Half-backs:Brodie KempMitch McGovernAdam Saad
Centreline:Blake AcresPatrick CrippsOliver Hollands
Half-forwards:Matthew KennedyHarry McKayTom De Koning
Forwards:Corey DurdinCharlie CurnowJesse Motlop
Followers:Marc PittonetGeorge HewettSam Walsh
Interchange:Jordan BoydAdam CerraMatthew Cottrell
Matthew Owies
Emergencies:Ed CurnowLachie FogartyJack Silvagni
Lewis Young

All this talk about Dow has me perplexed.

People talking about, who does he replace? and what other strings does he have to his bow?

How about find a way to get him into the team and reward the kid who is tearing it up in the 2's?

FWIW he could easily walk in and replace Curnow or Hewitt, both have offered nothing this year and both are midfielders only.

Tomorrow night they'll name Ed are the sub and ill genuinely spew up. What does the selection team see in him that we can't see?
Agree... Dow DESERVES a go! No to Ed as sub.... which could see Dow get a go!
If Voss can treat Dow and his form like this.... other players must be thinking wtf?
Voss will lose the players, as leaders lead by example and their words and actions match each other.

I doubt anyone on this forum dislikes Dow. Everyone would be thrilled if he makes it
Voss was really strong when discussing Carlton’s focus (defending) in the post Collingwood game press conference and maybe it’s why he will not consider Dow yet.

I would love to see him in the team, but considering those comments it may just not his time.

I agree he is not a quick thinker. I recall there were 2 or 3 times last week when he had a mark or free and every filth player peeeled off him, not even manning the mark, he was 30-40 mts in the clear and just stood there, waiting for them to fill the space. Dumb, stupid, idiotic, but not proof he doesnt try.

Brackets just doesnt give a feck, paycheck guaranteed.

Gov will likely be at WC next year. Maybe Vossy keeps playing him so his value doesn't drop...

McGov played some great football last year, I was so pumped for him to dominate this year. Incredible just how many players we have playing below their best. In 2023c, think only Charlie, Doc, Newman, Cerra & Owies have been in consistent good form. (Leaving Hollands out because it is his first year)

5 players isn't great; it's only my opinion and maybe I missed one or two more, but as a team we have a lot of players off their best at the moment.

I'm reckon the Swans will come out fired up tomorrow thinking they have a good chance to roll us

Gov seems to be holding back so as not to re injure the hammie. Seems to have affected his game all round, not backing himself very often. He went through the same issues up forward as well. Shame, as he’d really found his spot early last year. Dow is heading for the Setterfield and Stocker result. Buy high, sell low. I would have preferred he got a run at it personally.

Agree... Dow DESERVES a go! No to Ed as sub.... which could see Dow get a go!
If Voss can treat Dow and his form like this.... other players must be thinking wtf?
Voss will lose the players, as leaders lead by example and their words and actions match each other.
I wouldn't wanna be a kid on draft night getting selected to go to Carlton. I'd be thinking to myself gee, why would I wanna go to a club that doesn't reward their kids who are busting their backsides in the VFL? Ollie Hollands of course.

Hope Hollands goes well, looks to be needing a weeks off break for a little freshen up…

Or just a can of Lynx will do the trick…

Calfreezy GIF by Lynx

See this is just downright incorrect and bias. Hewett and Ed don't play other positions. They have both been tried and found out elsewhere, which is something most ignore. Dow can play half forward for instance, if given the opportunity, as he has more carry and run than both the other 2. I really didn't want to get into these discussions, but the narrative that keeps getting pushed about the guy being a one position player, where others aren't, is just false. So untrue. Good luck to Dow next year and like Setters and Stock, I'm sure he'll be fine. We on the other hand will keep coming up short with full of excuses......
Ed has been playing HFF more than on ball - you probably haven't noticed he has been the most effective HFF in the team which isnt saying much but speaks volumes about what Voss has to choose from on the list
Hewett hasn't been a FT on baller all year and btw he is still not 100% fit - again you probably haven't noticed.

As for referencing players no longer at the Club - I'm a Carlton supporter- I don't wish non-Carlton players anything except weekly losses.

Ed or Hewitt! The old bloke who is slow as a wet week & can barely tag anymore- not that tagging helps us anyway. Or the slow horribly out of form bloke who does nothing with the ball.
We know exactly who he could & should replace!
U rest Crippa/Kennedy forward - not sure if you’ve noticed but Crippa is ******* huge & would upset a defence as u have to cover him & Kennedy is a great mark & kick for goal. Both have also done this very well in the past.
This isn’t about who he replaces it’s about Voss & his stupid ******* “system” he wants it slow - one thing Dow isn’t is slow & defensive with his disposal, he’s the opposite of the system hence he doesn’t even get named emergency.

Dow only plays once Voss abandons his game plan- the one that’s currently losing games, boring AF to watch & bleeding the confidence out of the players!
It’s no coincidence that those who back Dows non selection are also the most ardent “back the coach, club & the system supporters” according to a lot of them there’s nothing wrong with the system/game plan it’s just the players can’t execute.
The system is flawed, we are going backwards, some of us want to see change before this season is written off too.
Let’s see how much damage this does to the club when u stubbornly stick to a losing formula.
I dont tell the Club what to do - what are you on about?

My argument in terms of that is three fold:

1. Dow can play a simple lead up half-forward if required, can absolutely rove packs, that makes him a solid rotation for how Owies and Jack play, and the same can be said of Cripps, Cerra, Kennedy and Kemp.

So you agree with the notion that players need to be able to play more than one position - good so do I all the best teams have about double the on ball rotations that Carlton does.
2. We should have 2nd ruck duties shared amongst Jack (mid), Cripps (mid), McKay (fwd), C.Curnow (fwd), Young (def), and Pittonet or TDK's rotation should be timed around being available for the centre bounce.

I see Jack as a forward /mid rotation - fringe in both but has some great attributes- ruck? nope.
3. Our ruck system at the centre bounce should be built around control the fall of the ball without seeking to leap over the opponent, thereby reducing stress on the knees, which slows a player down over the course of a game & season.

I think we've mildly experimented with all 3 of these things at various times, but never committed to them together. The problem is that when we do, we need to lose a ruck, or we need genuine forward impact from at least one of the rucks, and Jack gets dropped.

We try to cover for the 2 ruck setup with a stupid Auskick level marking screen on the wing to make them feel useful, despite neither one really sticking their marks.
I don't have a problem with a 2 ruck set-up as long as at least one of them can play forward or back with AFL levels of competence. Clearly the Club wishes to keep TDK - as one of those options- but it looks like he is not as committed judging by the walk on egg shells statements from Voss re TDK. I don't see either as a top4 finals quality ruck.

Personally this week I would have dropped Pittonet for TDK, as I think Pittonet had tired, but now Voss finally gets the system he wants, and he can see what it looks like in the pressure cooker of the SCG, somewhere that Jack does his best work on average, and clearly would suit his strengths while covering his weaknesses.

yeh nahhh
It's a strange choice, but maybe tomorrow night is the first time we try all of these things, just without Dow or Jack involved. We're going to lose so many talented players because we're so stubborn about how we use Cripps, rucks, and Walsh. This mentality is killing our team instead of enriching it.

You might consider letting the Dow thinking go - the Club decided about him before the season ended - last year ...I have no axe to grind on Dow in saying this - it is just a fact who knows why ?- I don't and you don't - no one seems to know why...but looking to criticise Voss because 'Dow' like a lot on here is frankly speaking - laughable. Looking to criticise Hewett ( people have given up on bagging Kennedy) and some even wanting to get rid of Cripps and Walsh I read on here...I mean who exactly is your audience - do you really want to go there...eh?

Voss is putting it on every player he can - to be better - some may not be up to being as good as genuine top4 sides opponents are- well no surprises there - at least teh coach has a clue- maybe - just maybe Voss is dragging the CLub to higher standards - whilst carrying teh burden of a botched rebuild?

Ever thought of that?

maybe just maybe ( and teh stats back this up) execution - in particular whole of field defensive effectiveness and basic kicking deficiency is just not finals quality. -- that is on teh players not any coach.

I agree - I've made the point a few times. The bigger problem with the non-selection of Dow is what it says to the rest of the list. He's mates with all the guys on that list (Walsh in particular) and they'd all be sitting there looking at the situation and feeling a sense of injustice for their mate who can kill it in the seconds as much as he likes but simply will not get picked. If the match committee can do that to Paddy maybe one day they'll do that to me.

It is such a poor message to send to the whole group - pretty shameful really.
If Fish gets picked this week we are a serious rabble. The MC is a huge problem with their selections week in week out literally all season. WTF are we continually picking Ed? Don’t get me wrong I love the guy but let’s get down to brass tacks, if the MC had any integrity in the selection process, which lets be frank, weaves itself into the fabric of the club non performers (Ed, Hewitt) and passengers (McGov) should be out this week.

Dow with his week in week out consistent effort in the 2s should be a shoe in, along with Kemp (who needs a good 3-5 week block).

WTH happened to TDK? A few weeks ago he was ready to sign and now he looks like leaving. Could it be he wants to leave such a shit show of a club with no selection integrity.

Just seems Voss with his handling of selection is alienating players. From all reports Fish played a stinker in the 2s and strikes me as one of the cancers at the club, talented yes, conditional absolutely.

Who is driving the standards at the club?

If I have to see more shit from the aC, already losing a game before the ball is bounced, I’ll literally have a god damn aneurism
To trade a contracted player, everyone has to agree - the player and both clubs.
That outcome wasn’t achieved with Dow during the last off season.
The club was very honest with him before and during the trade period that going elsewhere might present him with better opportunities at AFL level.
Instead, the club effectively gave up Setterfield and was hampered in improving our draft position.
Voss doesn’t rate him and the footy dept is probably a little disappointed about the off season outcome. Even more disappointing that Dow will go for zero return at the end of this year.
Thus I’m not surprised by Dow playing a lot of VFL this year.
Say all that is 100% true, it still does not excuse the MC on its selection integrity. Fact is our midfield is playing like shit and Dow is tearing it up in the VFL. Last I remember this is AFL footy where the object ofthe game is to make finals not throw your toys out of the pram.

Ifwhat you are sayi gis true then it’s no wonder we are a basket case of a club.

So you agree with the notion that players need to be able to play more than one position - good so do I all the best teams have about double the on ball rotations that Carlton does.

I see Jack as a forward /mid rotation - fringe in both but has some great attributes- ruck? nope.

I don't have a problem with a 2 ruck set-up as long as at least one of them can play forward or back with AFL levels of competence. Clearly the Club wishes to keep TDK - as one of those options- but it looks like he is not as committed judging by the walk on egg shells statements from Voss re TDK. I don't see either as a top4 finals quality ruck.

yeh nahhh

You might consider letting the Dow thinking go - the Club decided about him before the season ended - last year ...I have no axe to grind on Dow in saying this - it is just a fact who knows why ?- I don't and you don't - no one seems to know why...but looking to criticise Voss because 'Dow' like a lot on here is frankly speaking - laughable. Looking to criticise Hewett ( people have given up on bagging Kennedy) and some even wanting to get rid of Cripps and Walsh I read on here...I mean who exactly is your audience - do you really want to go there...eh?

Voss is putting it on every player he can - to be better - some may not be up to being as good as genuine top4 sides opponents are- well no surprises there - at least teh coach has a clue- maybe - just maybe Voss is dragging the CLub to higher standards - whilst carrying teh burden of a botched rebuild?

Ever thought of that?

maybe just maybe ( and teh stats back this up) execution - in particular whole of field defensive effectiveness and basic kicking deficiency is just not finals quality. -- that is on teh players not any coach.
Midfielders who don’t push back, small forwards that don’t tackle or kick goals, backmen who squib it, and no selection integrity.

I think you have a bit too much faith in Voss.

McGov played some great football last year, I was so pumped for him to dominate this year. Incredible just how many players we have playing below their best. In 2023c, think only Charlie, Doc, Newman, Cerra & Owies have been in consistent good form. (Leaving Hollands out because it is his first year)

5 players isn't great; it's only my opinion and maybe I missed one or two more, but as a team we have a lot of players off their best at the moment.

I'm reckon the Swans will come out fired up tomorrow thinking they have a good chance to roll us
He was good last year... for the 7 games that his body allowed him to play

Fogarty actually would inject leg speed. At the SCG though, the focus should be ball control, so it might be Jack or Ed. Emergencies reflect that we're going a bit short in defence, and that we like to have at least 1 forward, 1 mid, 1 defender, and that there's a ruck option in the mix.

Hollands did sit out half the game, but I agree he should have been rested. Rucks will drift back into defence if their ruck pushes forward, and probably just do so anyway in the system when they aren't on the bench or resting forward.

My argument in terms of that is three fold:

1. Dow can play a simple lead up half-forward if required, can absolutely rove packs, that makes him a solid rotation for how Owies and Jack play, and the same can be said of Cripps, Cerra, Kennedy and Kemp.

2. We should have 2nd ruck duties shared amongst Jack (mid), Cripps (mid), McKay (fwd), C.Curnow (fwd), Young (def), and Pittonet or TDK's rotation should be timed around being available for the centre bounce.

3. Our ruck system at the centre bounce should be built around control the fall of the ball without seeking to leap over the opponent, thereby reducing stress on the knees, which slows a player down over the course of a game & season.

I think we've mildly experimented with all 3 of these things at various times, but never committed to them together. The problem is that when we do, we need to lose a ruck, or we need genuine forward impact from at least one of the rucks, and Jack gets dropped.

We try to cover for the 2 ruck setup with a stupid Auskick level marking screen on the wing to make them feel useful, despite neither one really sticking their marks.

Personally this week I would have dropped Pittonet for TDK, as I think Pittonet had tired, but now Voss finally gets the system he wants, and he can see what it looks like in the pressure cooker of the SCG, somewhere that Jack does his best work on average, and clearly would suit his strengths while covering his weaknesses.

It's a strange choice, but maybe tomorrow night is the first time we try all of these things, just without Dow or Jack involved. We're going to lose so many talented players because we're so stubborn about how we use Cripps, rucks, and Walsh. This mentality is killing our team instead of enriching it.
MC as per usual has shit the bed … literally tiresome week in week out

For the first time this season I would’ve actually liked to see Dow in the side. Understand why he isn’t but the midfield isn’t working and although he doesn’t address our problems, he probably deserves a chance over Hewett who hasn’t helped the side since rd 1. We still have 13 games left this season but so I’m not going to kick and scream as there is still time. He may also not be hitting a defensive KPI or something which instantly puts a line through his name.
Gov lucky.
Young needed to happen, I don’t know if he will ever find the intensity needed to be a solid player when not in form.
TDK for JSOS was obvious for me.
I would’ve liked to see Binns in to give Hollands a rest but the club will know how he is travelling a lot better then me

Sydney have been horrible this season so no excuses. Carlton by 25